DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant’s communication filed 22 September 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-6 of the Remarks, filed 22 September 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kirma (US 5619015 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kirma (US 5619015 A), hereinafter referred to as Kirma.
Regarding claim 1, Kirma teaches a flexible electrical conduit, comprising:
a flexible shaping body (25a) providing a continuous open pathway (25a) to allow a flexible electrical conduit (25) to shape and form into different positions, wherein the flexible shaping body (25a) maintains its position until further manipulated;
a first end (26) of the flexible electrical conduit (25) including a first connectable open pathway (27) for connecting to a first rigid conduit (29) (column 4, lines 1-5: each end 26 of the cable has a bushing 27 for connecting to a terminal 29);
a second end (26) of the flexible electrical conduit (25) including a second connectable open pathway (27) for connecting to a second rigid conduit (29) (column 4, lines 1-5: each end 26 of the cable has a bushing 27 for connecting to a terminal 29); and
wherein the continuous open pathway (25a) is configured to permit pulling through of multiple electrical wires as needed, including after the flexible electrical conduit (25) is connected to the first rigid conduit (29) and the second rigid conduit (29) (column 4, lines 40-45: the cable C has multiple conductors 8 which are pulled through jacket 25a).
Regarding claim 2, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the flexible shaping body (25a) is a continuous, open pathway including indentations along the surface of the flexible shaping body (25a) (column 3, lines 65-67: the bend retaining jacket 25a is formed as a corrugated metal hose with ridges and valleys).
Regarding claim 3, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 2, wherein the indentations along the surface of the flexible shaping body (25a) are configured to allow the flexible electrical conduit (25) to shape and form into different positions (column 3, lines 21-22 and column 4, lines 5-10: the jacket 25a is configured to maintain the cable 25 in a bent position once the jacket has bent to form the curve).
Regarding claim 6, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the first connectable open pathway (27) is rigidly mountable to the first rigid conduit (29) (column 4, lines 1-5: each end 26 of the cable has a bushing 27 for connecting to a terminal 29 by slotting).
Regarding claim 8, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein the second connectable open pathway (27) is rigidly mountable to the second rigid conduit (29) (column 4, lines 1-5: each end 26 of the cable has a bushing 27 for connecting to a terminal 29 by slotting).
Regarding claim 10, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 1, wherein each of the flexible shaping body (25a), the first end (26), and the second end (26) is metal (column 3, lines 65-66: the bend retaining jacket 25a is metal; column 4, line 45: components of the terminal 29 are metal).
Regarding claim 11, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 10, further comprising an insulating body (6) disposed between the continuous open pathway and the flexible shaping body (25a) (column 6, lines 47-50: an electrically insulating hose 6 surrounds copper wire 8 to protect the wires 8 from rubbing or chafing the shaping body 25a).
Regarding claim 12, Kirma teaches an electrical conduit, comprising:
a first rigid portion (27) comprising a first inner open pathway (column 4, lines 1-5);
a second rigid portion (27) comprising a second inner open pathway (column 4, lines 1-5); and
a flexible portion (25a) forming a continuous open pathway between the first rigid portion (27) and the second rigid portion (27), a first end including a first connectable open pathway, and a second end including a second connectable open pathway (column 3, lines 64-65: cable provided with jacket 25a); wherein
the flexible portion (25a) maintains its new position until further manipulated (column 3, lines 21-22 and column 4, lines 5-10: the jacket 25a is configured to maintain the cable 25 in a bent position once the jacket has bent to form the curve); and
wherein the continuous open pathway is configured to permit pulling through of multiple electrical wires (8) as needed, including after the electrical conduit is installed (column 4, lines 40-45: cable C which passes through jacket 25a comprises multiple conductors 8).
Regarding claim 13, Kirma teaches the electrical conduit of claim 12, wherein a surface of the flexible portion (25a) includes indentations configured to allow the flexible portion to shape and form into different positions, and wherein the indentations comprise a plurality of peaks and valleys that provide points of flexion and allow bending or shaping of the flexible portion (25a) while maintaining structural integrity (column 3, lines 65-67: the bend retaining jacket 25a is formed as a corrugated metal hose with ridges and valleys).
Regarding claim 14, Kirma teaches the electrical conduit of claim 12, wherein the flexible portion remains rigid once shaped or formed into a position, and maintains its new position until further manipulated (column 3, lines 26-29: once the bend is established, it will not change shape until a new intentional bending occurs).
Regarding claim 15, Kirma teaches the electrical conduit of claim 12, wherein the first inner open pathway of the first rigid portion (27) is connected to the first connectable open pathway of the first end of the flexible portion (25a), and the second inner open pathway of the second rigid portion (27) is connected to the second connectable open pathway of the second end of the flexible portion (25a) (column 4, lines 1-5: the cylindrical bushings 27 are connected to the cable jacket 25a at either end).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bishop (US 4245874 A), hereinafter referred to as Bishop.
Regarding claim 17, Bishop teaches a non-metallic sheathed wire comprising:
a fixed channel (62) including pre-installed electrical wires (64, 66); and
an integrated channel (68) configured to permit pulling through electrical wires (56, 58) including a first end, a second end, and a pulling device for pulling electrical wires (56, 58) through the integrated channel (68) (Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 11-20);
wherein the integrated channel (68) comprises a continuous open pathway or tube (62) formed during the extrusion, molding process, or fabrication process of the non-metallic sheathed wire (64, 66), or integrated, inserted, or attached to the non-metallic sheathed wire, and configured to allow for the pulling through of electrical wires (56, 58) after the non-metallic sheathed wire is installed into the structural framework of a building (Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 11-20: the integrated channel 68, comprising wound coiled wire elements 64, 66, is integrated with the wire elements 64, 66 and configured to allow the wires 56, 58 to be pulled through the channel 68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirma in view of Bishop.
Regarding claim 5, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 1, but does not teach that the flexible shaping body comprises an accordion-like surface capable of extending and contracting in length.
Bishop does teach that the flexible shaping body comprises an accordion-like surface capable of extending and contracting in length (Bishop Fig. 1 and column 5, line 16: the member 62 may easily be expanded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the flexible shaping body of Kirma with an accordion-like surface as taught by Bishop because the accordion-like surface of Bishop allows the flexible shaping body to accommodate all of the dimensions of the bend, including the length between the cable connectors.
Regarding claim 7, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 6, but does not teach that the first connectable open pathway is rigidly mountable to the first rigid conduit by a set screw.
Bishop does teach that the first connectable open pathway (62) is rigidly mountable to the first rigid conduit (26) by a set screw (60) (see Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 5-10: the member 62 is fixed to the housing 26 with a set screw 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the open pathway and rigid conduit of Kirma with a set screw as taught by Bishop because the set screw connection of Bishop provides a sturdy mechanical connection between the two (Bishop column 4, lines 55-60).
Regarding claim 9, Kirma teaches the flexible electrical conduit of claim 8, but does not teach that the second connectable open pathway is rigidly mountable to the second rigid conduit by a set screw.
Bishop does teach that the second connectable open pathway (62) is rigidly mountable to the second rigid conduit (26) by a set screw (60) (see Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 5-10: the member 62 is fixed to the housing 26 with a set screw 60).
It would have ben obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the open pathway and rigid conduit of Kirma with a set screw as taught by Bishop because the set screw connection of Bishop provides a sturdy mechanical connection between the two (Bishop column 4, lines 55-60).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop in view of Fujita et al. (US 20250273362 A1), hereinafter referred to as Fujita et al.
Regarding claim 16, Bishop teaches a cable comprising: a fixed channel (62) including pre-installed electrical wires (56); and
an integrated channel (68) configured to permit pulling through of electrical wires (56) including a first end, a second end, and an opening between the first end and the second end for pulling electrical wires (56) through the integrated channel (Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 15-20: conductors 56 and 58 pass through the passageway 68); wherein
the integrated channel (68) comprises a continuous open pathway or tube formed during the extrusion, molding process, or fabrication process of the cable, or integrated, inserted, or attached to the cable, and configured to allow for the pulling through of electrical wires (56, 58) after the metal clad cable is installed into the structural framework of a building (Fig. 3 and column 4, lines 11-20: the integrated channel 68, comprising wound coiled wire elements 64, 66, is integrated with the wire elements 64, 66 and configured to allow the wires 56, 58 to be pulled through the channel 68).
Bishop does not teach that the cable is a metal clad cable. Fujita et al. does teach that the cable may be a metal clad cable (Fujita et al. paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cable of Bishop with a metal clad cable as taught by Fujita et al. because the metal clad cable taught by Fujita et al. has superior electrical and mechanical performance (Fujita et al. paragraph 29).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop in view of Couture (US 4951923 A), hereinafter referred to as Couture.
Regarding claim 18, Bishop teaches non-metallic sheathed wire of claim 17, but does not teach that the pulling device is fish tape or a string running a length of the integrated channel.
Couture does teach that the pulling device may be a fish tape or a string running a length of the integrated channel (Couture column 4, lines 1-13: fish tape 16 pulls the wires through the conduit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pull the wires of Bishop through the conduit of Bishop with a fish tape as taught by Couture because the tape of Couture reduces pulling and damage to the wires as they are installed (Couture column 2, lines 20-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with the other limitations recited in the claim that the flexible shaping body is no longer malleable after a threshold number of times being shaped or formed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B FREAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847