DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1–10 in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11–20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the target chamber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. See also claim 6. Please also correct these in the method claims in case they are ultimately rejoined.
Claim 4 recites “the target launch mechanism,” which is an apparatus, but then recites “launching the non-stationary ICF target through the target shutter before entering the detonation chamber at a precise time and positional orientation,” which is a method step. Therefore, the claim recites both the apparatus and a step of using it. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II). Each of claims 5–10 is also rejected for reciting both an apparatus and step(s) of using it.
Claims 4 and 5 recite the limitation "the target shutter". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It is unclear if the target shutter is the same as, or distinct from, the laser shutter (claim 3) and/or the sensor shutter (claim 6). Please also correct these in the method claims in case they are ultimately rejoined.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkwood (US 2025/0149192).
Regarding claim 1, Kirkwood discloses a system (fig. 11) for pointing and tracking a non-stationary target reaching an aimpoint within an Inertial Confinement Fusion (ICF) system, the system comprising: a non-stationary ICF target (26; Kirkwood discloses an IFE facility, ¶ 6, which use injected ICF targets; “to drive the fusion target,” ¶ 38); a detonation chamber (“target chamber,” ¶ 28) that receives the non-stationary ICF target; a seed laser (71) that emits a laser light (70) having a low-pulse energy toward the detonation chamber; one or more steering mirrors (80; ¶ 55), wherein the one or more steering mirrors manipulate the laser light from the seed laser toward the non-stationary ICF target; a target launch mechanism, wherein the target launch mechanism launches the non-stationary ICF target into the detonation chamber to reach an aimpoint (Kirkwood discloses an IFE facility, ¶ 6, which use injected ICF targets); one or more tracking sensors (Kirkwood discloses an IFE facility, ¶ 6, which use injected ICF targets whose movement must necessarily be tracked1), wherein the one or more tracking sensors observe a position and angular orientation of the non-stationary ICF target as the non-stationary ICF target moves closer to and reaches the aimpoint (id.; this is implicit to how a tracker works for IFE); and a processing system, wherein the processing system controls the one or more steering mirrors, the target launch mechanism, and the one or more tracking sensors (Kirkwood discloses an IFE facility, ¶ 6, which necessarily utilizes a processing system to control all the components).
The Figure 11 embodiment does not explicitly disclose a laser gain medium/amplifier. However, Kirkwood describes this in relation to figs. 7A-B, which he states may be used with other disclosed systems (¶ 43). Kirkwood teaches a laser gain medium (52) that amplifies the laser light emitted by the seed laser from a low pulse energy to a high pulse energy, and wherein the laser gain medium (52) is positioned between the one or more steering mirrors (80 in fig. 11 and 20 in figs. 7A-B) and the detonation chamber (around target 26).
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate Kirkwood’s amplification stage 52 into the system of fig. 11 because, as he describes in ¶ 43, “Models show a second stage plasma optic can further compress the nanosecond beams to become 10's picoseconds and may thus potentially deliver 10's kJ with existing lasers … [which] could provide the highest intensity/fluence on assembled fusion fuel.”
Claims 2–5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkwood (US 2025/0149192) in view of Moses (US 11,387,007).
Regarding claims 2–5, Kirkwood teaches all the elements of the parent claim but does not explicitly suggest an LED, laser shutter, or target shutter.
Moses does. Moses is also in the art area of fusion reactors and teaches a light source (“light beams,” claim 6) that illuminates the detonation chamber (“light beams … and enter the fusion chamber,” claim 6) [as the non-stationary ICF target is launched into the detonation chamber from the target launch mechanism] (this is an intended-use limitation; the cited light source is capable of being used in this manner); a laser shutter (“shuttered opening,” col. 6, l. 8) located between one or more optical structures (e.g., shown schematically in fig. 4) and the target chamber (“a shuttered opening in the top of the chamber,” col. 6, ll. 7-8); wherein the target launch mechanism further comprises: launching the non-stationary ICF target before entering the detonation chamber at a precise time and positional orientation (already taught in Kirkwood, who discloses an IFE facility, ¶ 6, which use injected ICF targets whose movement must necessarily be tracked and precisely timed2; this is implicit to how a tracker works for IFE) wherein the launching is through a target shutter (Moses, “the injection system 225 which injects targets down into the center of the chamber, and which is protected by a shutter [not shown],” col. 6, l. 52); and wherein the processing system further comprises: controlling the target shutter (id.; as is known in the art, a shutter in a fusion reactor is controlled by a processing system—it is not controlled manually by a human hand).
The use of the light source and shutters as suggested by Moses within the system of Kirkwood would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as they produce no unexpected results. In view of the prior art teachings of Kirkwood, a person of ordinary skill would have predicted that combining Moses’ light source and shutters with Kirkwood's fusion system would have produced Applicant's claimed invention of a fusion system for a non-stationary ICF target powered by lasers with target trackers, wherein the lasers and target injection sites had openable and closeable shutters.
The skilled person’s motivation for the combination would have been the expectation of, for the light source, to enter the fusion chamber to illuminate it (claim 6), for the target shutter, to protect it “from the neutron flow” (col. 6, ll. 50-53), and, for the laser shutter, to be able to open/close the target injection and therefore the fusion reactions (col. 6, ll. 6-11).
Further regarding the cited “light source”: Moses does not explicitly suggest that his “light beams” may be LEDs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have used an LED for the light beam of Moses, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known type of light on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. The skilled artisan would not have been surprised by the light produced from an LED versus any other type of commonly available illumination source.
Claims 6–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkwood with Moses, as combined above, further in view of Li (Development of Robot System for Sensor Adjustment in ICF Research).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Kirkwood in view of Moses teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Kirkwood further discloses wherein the one or more tracking sensors further comprises: sensing the position and orientation information from the non-stationary ICF target located within the target chamber (Kirkwood discloses an IFE facility, ¶ 6, which use injected ICF targets whose movement must necessarily be tracked3; this is implicit to how a tracker works for IFE).
Kirkwood in view of Moses does not explicitly teach a controlled sensor shutter.
Li does. Li is also in the art area of ICF reactors and teaches a sensor with a controllable shutter (protecting mechanism, 2, fig. 3).
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have utilized Li’s protection slider for the ICF sensor in order to prevent sensor damage (“So there must be some protection designs to avoid sensor damage … a protecting mechanism that can open and close automatically is attached … When the sensor is moved ahead the protecting gate opens automatically … When the sensor is moved back it closes automatically,” end of § II.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kirkwood teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Kirkwood further discloses wherein the processing system further comprises: controlling the one or more steering mirrors to direct the laser light from the seed laser to the aimpoint within the detonation chamber at a desired time (“the use of a plasma or gas grating 80 is configured such that all the solid-state optical elements in shielded areas, with the driving laser steered around a debris shield,” ¶ 49; “The specific targets 26 considered in the hot spot ignition scenario, for example, described in Ref. [4, 5, 6], can be driven with a plasma optic 20 that can be placed, for example, from 2 cm to 80 cm from the target to achieve the desired space,” ¶ 36).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kirkwood teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Kirkwood further discloses wherein the processing system further comprises: controlling the target launch mechanism to direct the non-stationary ICF target to arrive at the aimpoint within the detonation chamber at a desired time (“A laser facility to drive the fusion target such as the one that can deliver 10 to 20 ns pulses of 351 nm laser light to produce fusion reactions in the target,” ¶ 38; “The specific targets 26 considered in the hot spot ignition scenario, for example, described in Ref. [4, 5, 6], can be driven with a plasma optic 20 that can be placed, for example, from 2 cm to 80 cm from the target to achieve the desired space,” ¶ 36).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kirkwood teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Kirkwood further discloses wherein the processing system further comprises: controlling the one or more tracking sensors to identify a position and orientation of the non-stationary ICF target within the detonation chamber at a desired time (Kirkwood discloses an IFE facility, ¶ 6, which use injected ICF targets whose movement must necessarily be tracked4; this is implicit to how a tracker works for IFE).
Conclusion
Please be aware that, as of October 1, 2025, the PTO has implemented a policy of one interview per round of examination. Additional interviews require managerial approval.
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 As known in the art, e.g., see https://ifestar.org/research-areas/target-technology or https://doi.org/10.13182/FST07-A1534
2 As known in the art, e.g., see https://ifestar.org/research-areas/target-technology or https://doi.org/10.13182/FST07-A1534
3 As known in the art, e.g., see https://ifestar.org/research-areas/target-technology or https://doi.org/10.13182/FST07-A1534
4 As known in the art, e.g., see https://ifestar.org/research-areas/target-technology or https://doi.org/10.13182/FST07-A1534