DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 30 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kennington et al. (US 2015/0103335 A1, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claim 1, Kennington discloses: a system comprising: a first surface (distance sensor, 104a-104c, par. [0045]); a second surface (platform, 102) disposed opposite the first surface by a predetermined distance (known distance between the surface of platform 102 and the corresponding distance sensor, par. [0045]); a depth-measuring system having at least one optical sensor disposed facing the first (distance sensor, par. [0045]) and second surfaces (platform, 102), the at least one optical sensor having a field of view covering at least a portion of the second surface, the at least one optical sensor being configured to measure distance to the first surface through the second surface (platform comprises a transparent material, par. [0041]) and to measure distance to an object placed on the second surface (object being measured, “cuboidal object”, par. [0044]), the depth-measuring system further including a processor in communication with the at least one optical sensor to receive the measured distances (system controller, par. [0058]), the processor being configured to determine dimensions of the object placed on the second surface based on, in part, a difference in the measured distance to the first surface, a known distance of the second surface from the at least one optical sensor (measurements determined by the distance sensors may be subtracted from a known distance between the surface of platform 102 and the corresponding distance sensor, par. [0045]), and the measured distance to the object on the second surface (calculation described in par. [0045]).
With respect to claim 2, Kennington further discloses a weighing scale, and wherein the second surface sits atop the weighing scale to measure weight of the object placed on the second surface (weight measurement means described in par. [0059]).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Kennington discloses a platform (102) made from a glass material (par. [0041]). Unless otherwise specified, glass is known to be IR transparent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennington.
With respect to claim 4, Kennington discloses light emitters and receivers (par. [0039]), but does not specify the wavelength of the light being emitted. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to select light having a wavelength effective for the desired application (e.g. visible light which may provide a visual indication of where light is incident on the object), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennington, in view of Cool.
With respect to claim 3, Kennington discloses a transparent material for allowing light signals to pass through the platform (102) and be detected by light receivers (par. [0041]). Kennington does not specify an infrared transparent coating. Cool discloses a portable device with a visible light reflective coating that is also infrared-transparent (par. [0040]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include an infrared transmissive coating such as that of Cool, in order to prevent extraneous light from reaching the light receivers, while maintaining transparency for the light being used for measurement (such as infrared).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARK R GAWORECKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 21 July 2026