DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 21-35 are pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues: (1) claims 21, 26, and 31 have been amended to include subject matter indicated as allowable by the examiner.
The examiner notes that claims 22, 27, and 32 were indicated as allowable based on the entirety of said claims, and not the portion that applicant has moved into the independent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 26, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 11, and 17, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,039,000 B2, in view of Bradford et al (hereinafter Bradford), US 20190042248 A1.
The differences between the claims are highlighted below by italicizing all limitations that differ and bolding limitations that conflict.
Please note that in the interest of time, the examiner is selecting only one of the independent claims from the instant application and U.S. Patent for the table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,039,000 B2
Claim 21. An apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry to: examine a message descriptor associated with an instruction to determine a type of matrix layout manipulation operation that is to be executed;
examine a message header associated with the message descriptor, wherein the message header is associated with the instruction having parameters;
retrieve one or more blocks associated with matrix data from the memory based on parameters associated with the instruction; and
store the one or more blocks associated with the matrix data using a set of registers.
Claim 1. An apparatus comprising:
accelerator hardware to execute an instruction to:
examine a message header included in the instruction having a plurality of parameters that define a two-dimensional (2D) memory surface that is to be retrieved, wherein a parameter comprises an array length attribute that indicates a quantity of memory blocks to retrieve from memory;
retrieve one or more blocks of matrix data based on the plurality of parameters; and
store the one or more blocks of the matrix data.
Claim 2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the accelerator hardware further executes the instruction to examine a message descriptor included in the instruction to determine a type of matrix layout manipulation operations that is to be executed.
‘000 does not explicitly disclose the storing using a set of registers.
However, Bradford discloses storing using a set of registers [see fig. 3A and paragraph 39, where the blocks are stored in Load Buffer; “Execution circuitry 110 also includes load buffer 114, which in some embodiments is an array of registers”; fig. 3A also shows storing the blocks in destination matrix 308; paragraph 38 disclosing a matrix to be stored in a collection of registers, locations in memory (e.g., as strided rows), or in other storage accessible to execution circuitry)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Bradford in the apparatus of ‘000 to implement, the storing using a set of registers, in order avoid the slowdown and code size that would be associated with a software implementation, and provide more flexible and expandable transpose circuits [Bradford, paragraph 37].
Claims 22, 27, and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 11, and 17, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,039,000 B2, in view of Bradford, and further in view of Dale.
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 13, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,039,000 B2, in view of Bradford, and further in view of Dale.
Claims 21, 26, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 16, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,593,454 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every claim limitation in the application under examination is recited in the conflicting reference patent claims.
The differences between the claims are highlighted below by italicizing all limitations that differ and bolding limitations that conflict.
Please note that in the interest of time, the examiner is selecting only one of the independent claims from the instant application and U.S. Patent for the table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,593,454 B2
Claim 21. An apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry to: examine a message descriptor associated with an instruction to determine a type of matrix layout manipulation operation that is to be executed;
examine a message header associated with the message descriptor, wherein the message header is associated with the instruction having parameters;
retrieve one or more blocks associated with matrix data from the memory based on parameters associated with the instruction; and
store the one or more blocks associated with the matrix data using a set of registers.
Claim 1. An apparatus to facilitate machine learning matrix processing, comprising:
a memory to store matrix data;
one or more processors to execute an instruction to:
examine a message descriptor included in the instruction to determine a first of a plurality of types of matrix layout manipulation operations that is to be executed;
examine a message header included in the instruction having a plurality of parameters that define a two-dimensional (2D) memory surface that is to be retrieved, wherein the parameters comprise an array length attribute indicating a quantity of 2D memory blocks to retrieve from memory;
retrieve one or more blocks of the matrix data from the memory based on the plurality of parameters; and
a register file including a plurality of registers, wherein the one or more blocks of the matrix data is stored within a first set of the plurality of registers.
Claims 22, 27, and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 16, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,593,454 B2.
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 12, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,593,454 B2.
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 15, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,593,454 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 25-26, 30-31, and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al (hereinafter Luo), US 20200034306 A1, in view of Bradford et al (hereinafter Bradford), US 20190042248 A1.
Referring to claims 21, 26, and 31, taking claim 21 as exemplary, Luo discloses an apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry [fig. 6A, element 502] to:
examine a message descriptor associated with an instruction to determine a type of matrix layout manipulation operation that is to be executed [paragraphs 34-35, 47, “The set of instructions may be a command with beginning ‘Read’ or ‘Write’”; An instruction of the set of instructions may be structured as: ‘COMMAND (P, M, N, L)…M may indicate a type of memory command; such as…M=3 being for a submatrix memory command; “As an example of an instruction, a row memory command to read a row of stored memory may be structured as: READ (P, 0, 10); which indicates that the data is to be read at starting address P along a row of the stored memory for 10 data points. As another example, a submatrix memory command to write a submatrix of stored memory may be structured as: WRITE (P, 3, 5, 5); which indicates that data is to be written at a starting address P in a 5×5 submatrix”; hence Luo discloses a 2D block read operation when specifying a READ with M=3, where READ and M are equivalent to the message descriptor; Luo also discloses a read command that may be a diagonal memory command, as part of a series of tensor operations, to read a diagonal of memory units 540. The diagonal read command may comprise a diagonal memory operation, a starting address for the diagonal memory operation, and a dimension of a tensor for the diagonal memory operation];
examine a message header associated with the message descriptor, wherein the message header is associated with the instruction having parameters [paragraphs 34-35, 47, “An instruction of the set of instructions may be structured as: ‘COMMAND (P, M, N, L); where P is the starting address, M is an integer number indicating the type of matrix command being provided, and N is the length of data associated with the type of memory command. L is another length of data that may be a parameter provided, if the type of memory command being provided is a submatrix memory command, such that the memory command indicates to access an N×L submatrix of stored memory”; hence Luo discloses a dimension of the submatrix being accessed, with N and L equivalent to the claimed message header, since N and L indicate the dimensions (width and height) of the submatrix being accessed];
retrieve one or more blocks associated with matrix data from the memory based on parameters associated with the instruction [paragraphs 34-35, 47, reading/retrieving submatrix according to COMMAND (P, M, N, L), specifically parameters N and L (N x L submatrix) for retrieving one block; see fig. 6A and reading/retrieving from 540]; and
store the one or more blocks associated with the matrix data [fig. 6A, paragraph 48, the memory controller 510 reads the first data from the memory units 540…At (4), that read data…is written to the data buffer 530].
Luo does not explicitly disclose storing using a set of registers.
However, Bradford discloses storing using a set of registers [fig. 3A, paragraph 39, [see fig. 3A and paragraph 39, where the blocks are stored in Load Buffer; “Execution circuitry 110 also includes load buffer 114, which in some embodiments is an array of registers’”; fig. 3A also shows storing in destination matrix 308; paragraph 38 disclosing a matrix to be stored in a collection of registers, locations in memory (e.g., as strided rows), or in other storage accessible to execution circuitry)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Bradford in the apparatus of Luo to implement, storing using a set of registers, in order to efficiently transpose data within a matrix with a single instruction [Bradford, paragraph 35].
Referring to claims 25, 30, and 35, taking claim 25 as exemplary, the modified Luo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the processing circuitry is coupled to a memory [Luo, fig. 5, elements 530, 540], the processing circuitry comprising one or more of graphics processing circuitry or application processing circuitry [Luo, paragraph 83, The various illustrative blocks and modules described in connection with the disclosure herein may be implemented or performed with…an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)].
Referring to claim 33, the modified Luo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the parameters comprise attributes defining one or more of a width, a height [Luo, paragraphs 34-35, 47, reading/retrieving submatrix according to COMMAND (P, M, N, L), specifically parameters N and L (N x L submatrix) for retrieving one block; see fig. 6A and reading/retrieving from 540], or a pitch associated with one or more blocks of the quantity of blocks, wherein the message description to indicate a 2D block read [Luo, paragraphs 34-35, 47] with transpose operation to be executed [Bradford, fig. 3A, Matrix Transpose Instruction 301].
Referring to claim 34, the modified Luo discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the operations further comprise performing a transpose operation on the one or more blocks and storing the transposed matrix using the set of registers [Bradford, fig. 3A, Matrix Transpose Instruction 301 and seeing storing in 308].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 27, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims AND if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Claims 23-24 and 28-29 are objected to by virtue of their dependency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Farley Abad/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181