DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restriction filed on October 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-33 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected without traverse SEQ ID NO:1 from List I and alpha species (B.1.1.7 lineage) in the reply filed October 6, 2026.
The restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL in this office action. Claims 1-33
are examined on the merits of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, First Paragraph
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treatment of COVID-19 patients with instant SEQ ID NO:1, Applicants are not enabled for the entire scope of the claimed genus which encompasses preventing coronavirus infection (any variant thereof) and preventing endothelial dysfunction in patients with active or previous Sars CoV-2 infection. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
To comply with the enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, a specification must adequately teach how to make and how to use a claimed invention throughout its scope, without undue experimentation. Plant Genetic Systems N.V. v. DeKalb Genetics Corp., 315 F.3d 1335, 1339, 65 USPQ2d 1452, 1455 (Fed. Cir. 2003). There are a variety of factors which may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation. These factors include: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The Nature of the Invention/ The breadth of the claims
The claims are broad because they encompass prevention treatment and amelioration of SARS-CoV-2 induce endothelial dysfunction at different stages of disease, including established dysfunction and post acute conditions. Claim 18 additionally encompasses treatment and prevention of coronavirus infections beyond SARS-CoV-2 (see claim 33). The claims further encompass a variable peptide genus rather than being limited to SEQ ID NO:1 or other experimentally characterized peptides. Thus, the claims are broad The claims concern treatment, prevention of complex viral infections associated conditions involving endothelial dysfunction, oxidative stress and vascular injury. Production of inflammatory markers in culture cells does not necessarily establish prevention or reversal of clinically manifested endothelial dysfunction or prevention/treatment of coronaviruses broadly.
The State of the Prior Art
The prior art demonstrates that PIP polypeptides can inhibit phospholipase A2 activity and reduce NOX2 associated Ros production and oxidative pulmonary injury (see Fisher). The art also recognizes oxidative stress and endothelial dysfunction as features of COVID-19 (see Morris and Violi below). However, the existence of a proposed therapeutic rationale does not alone establish the full range of claims peptides and treatment/prevention conditions to achieve the claimed therapeutic effects which is inclusive to preventing endothelial dysfunction and preventing treating coronaviruses broadly.
The Predictability or Unpredictability of the Art/ The Relative Skill of Those in the Art
One of ordinary skill in the art would possess knowledge of peptide therapeutics, pulmonary or vascular biology and oxidative and inflammatory signaling and would be capable of conducting routine biochemical and cellular assays. Such a person could reproduce or disclose in vitro experiments and evaluate additional peptide possibilities. However, the ability to perform these experiments does not establish that the skilled artisan could identify effective embodiments across the entire claim scope without substantial experimentation. Accordingly, the relatively high level of skill in the art does not overcome the identified deficiencies.
Amount of Guidance/ The Presence or Absence of Working Examples
The specification provides guidance regarding the preparation and administration of certain PIP polypeptides and describes their ability to reduce oxidative and inflammatory responses in an endothelial cell model. However, the disclosure provides limited guidance for selecting effective peptides and treatment conditions across the full scope of the claim methods. In particular, the specification does not provide a sufficiently established relationship between the disclosed and feature responses and therapeutic efficacy in subjects having SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction or any coronavirus infection. Although the incorporated prior disclosure provides additional information concerning PIP peptides and pulmonary injury, it does not necessarily resolve the uncertainties associated with the full breadth of the claimed coronavirus therapeutic indications. The specification contains working examples showing that liposome encapsulated PIP2 reduces ROS production in inflammatory markers, including ICAM1, NLRP3 and caspase-1, in cultured human pulmonary microvascular endothelial cells exposed to COVID-19 patient serum. The examples support the disclosed cellular effects. However, the specification does not provide working samples demonstrating treatment or prevention of SARS Cov-2 associated endothelial dysfunction in an infected animal or human subject or treatment or prevention of coronavirus infection itself. The working examples do not establish therapeutic effectiveness across the entire claim polypeptide genus.
The Quantity of Experimentation Necessary
The claims broadly encompass administering polypeptides within SEQ ID NO:4 to treat, ameliorate or prevent SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction or coronavirus infection. The specification demonstrates the effects of liposome encapsulated PIP2 in cultured human pulmonary microvascular endothelial cells exposed to serum obtained from COVID-19 patients. To practice the entire scope of the claim methods, one of ordinary skill would need to determine which encompassed peptide sequences are therapeutically effective, suitable dosing regimens, administration routes and whether the treatments are effective across the claim infections and disease conditions. Such work would not be routine and would require substantial additional experimentation. Accordingly claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of enablement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11, 17, 27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 27 recite a reduction in reactive oxygen species and Ros production, respectively, of “100% or more”, while claims 11 and 29 recite a reduction in ICAM-1, NLRP3 and caspase-1 expression of “100% or more”. The phrase “100% or more” renders the scope of the claims unclear because 100% reduction represents complete elimination of the measured quantity and a reduction exceeding 100% is not mathematically possible for non-negative quantity. Thus, it is unclear what additional reduction is encompassed by “or more” rendering the scope of the claimed limitations indefinite and the metes and bounds of claims 9, 11, 27 and 29 are unclear.
Claim 17 recites SARS CoV-2 variants followed by parenthetical lineage designations. However, it is unclear whether the parenthetical designations limited the claim variance to the specified lineages or merely provide non limiting examples. For example, it is unclear whether the recitation of the omicron variant encompasses all omicron lineages or is restricted to B.1.1.529 and the specifically identified BA lineages. Similarly, it is unclear whether the recitation of alpha and beta encompass all lineages classified within those variants or only the lineages specifically identified in the claim. Accordingly, the meats and bounds of claim 17 cannot be determined with reasonable certainty because the scope of the recited variance and their lineage designations is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 18-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US20210315964, cited in Applicant’s IDS) in view of Morris (WO2022204517) and Violi (Redox Biology 36 (2020) 101655).
Claim interpretation of claim 1: The preamble of claim 1, recited a method of treating ameliorating and or preventing endothelial dysfunction caused by SARS-CoV-2, is considered limiting because it identifies the condition for which the recited effective amount of polypeptide is administered. The specification defines treatment and treating to encompass both prophylactic and therapeutic applications, including prevention or delay of symptoms, inhibition of disease progression, in relief of existing disease (see paragraph 0094). Accordingly, claim 1 encompasses administration to prevent SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction as well as administration to ameliorate existing dysfunction. Active SARS-CoV-2 infection at the time of administration is not required by claim 1.
Fisher teaches polypeptides including PIP-2, PIP-4 and related PIP polypeptides encompassed by the peptides of instant claim 1 and instant SEQ ID NO:4 (see claim 1). Fisher teaches that these polypeptides inhibit PLA 2 activity and reduce NOX2 associated reactive oxygen species production in the lungs, thereby protecting against oxidative stress and inflammatory pulmonary injury (see Fisher, Figures 4-5, 8, 9A-B, Example 5, “inhibition of lung ROS production by PIP”). Specifically, Fisher teaches that administration of PIP-2 reduced stimulated Ros production and isolated perfused mouse lungs by approximately 75% (see figure 8). Fisher further demonstrates that PIP-2 substantially reduce the increase PLA2 activity an ROS production resulting from LPS administration (see Figures 9A-9B). Fisher additionally discloses administering liposomal encapsulated PIP-2 intratracheal or intravenously to mice (Example 2). Fisher demonstrates prevention of LP's induced acute lung injury and protection when PIP-2 is administered 12 or 16 hours after exposure (see Example 3). Thus, Fisher teaches administration of the disclosed polypeptides to prevent or treat oxidative and inflammatory pulmonary injury. Fisher also teaches dosing is determined “as a function of the viral load, to a level at which the improved disease is retained. In certain embodiments, patients require intermittent treatment on a long-term basis upon any recurrence of symptoms and/or infection” (see paragraph 0156).
Fisher is silent to administering the disclosed polypeptide specifically to treat ameliorate or prevent antithetical dysfunction caused by SARS CoV-2.
Morris Teaches that SARS-CoV-2 infection is associated with endothelial dysfunction, oxidative injury, and pulmonary and vascular complications. Morris further identifies endothelial dysfunction as a therapeutic target in COVID-19 and contemplates therapeutic approaches directed towards coronavirus associated inflammatory and vascular complications (Morris, Abstract, Summary; detailed description, under “methods of use”).
Violi teaches that NOX2 activation is increased in patients with COVID-19 and is associated with oxidative stress, disease severity, in thrombotic complications (see abstract, Results and Discussion). Violi further teaches that NOX2 contributes to ROS production and oxidative vascular injury, establishing the relevance of NOX2 associated oxidative stress to COVID-19 pathology.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing days the claimed invention to administer the PLA2 inhibitory PIP polypeptides disclosed by Fischer to a subject to treat, ameliorate or prevent endothelial dysfunction caused by SARS CoV2 in view of Morris and Violi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Morris identifies SARS CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and pulmonary injury as therapeutic concerns, while Violi establishes that increased NOX2 activation in ROS production contribute to COVID-19 associated oxidative pathology. Fisher teaches that administration of the disclosed PIP polypeptides inhibits PLA2 activity, reduces NOX2 associated ROS production in the lungs, and protects against oxidative and inflammatory pulmonary injury all of which would be beneficial in treating patients with SARS COV- 2 and endothelial dysfunction. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that administering Fisher's known ROS reducing polypeptides would provide a predictable approach for preventing or ameliorating the oxidative component of endothelial dysfunction associated with SARS-CoV2 and SARS-CoV2 infection in general. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher experimentally demonstrates substantial reductions in lung ROS production following administration of PIP2, including approximately 75% reduction in stimulated ROS production and production against pulmonary oxidative injury in vivo. In view of Morris's identification of SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and Violis demonstration of an increase NOX2 to activation in COVID-19 patients, the skilled artisan would reasonably have expected the known polypeptides to reduce oxidative stress and thereby prevent or ameliorate at least the oxidative component of SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and SARS CoV-2 infection.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Fisher teaches PIP-2 which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 (see paragraph 0076).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Fisher teaches liposome encapsulated PIP peptides (see Example 1, claim 15).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Fisher discloses pharmaceutical formulations containing PIP peptides and acceptable carriers (claims 4-6).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Fisher teaches wherein the peptide is administered via aerosol inhalation (see claim 6).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Morris identifies endothelial dysfunction as a complication of SARS CoV-2 infection, while Violi teaches NOX2-Associated oxidative and inflammatory vascular pathology. In view of Fisher's inhibition of NOX2 mediated oxidative signaling, the skilled artisan would have reasonably expected amelioration of oxidative inflammatory endothelial activation.
Regarding claims 7 and 25, Morris expressly associates endothelial dysfunction with COVID-19 related lung injury. Fisher discloses protection against pulmonary oxidative an inflammatory injury. Accordingly, targeted pulmonary endothelial tissue would have been an obvious application of the combined teachings as endothelial dysfunction is known to occur in pulmonary tissue and the lungs are a main target of treatment in patients with Sars-CoV2 infection.
Regarding claims 8-11 and 26-29, the additional limitations recite results of administering the claim polypeptides to the same patient population. Fisher teaches that administration of the disclosed PIP polypeptides inhibits phospholipase A2 activity and reduces NOX2 mediated reactive oxygen species production in oxidative injury in the lungs (see Fisher, Example 5, Figures 8, 9). Fisher reports approximately 75% inhibition of stimulated lung Ros production (see Figure 8). Morris teaches that SARS CoV-2 infection is associated with endothelial dysfunction and inflammatory injury, while Violi teaches that NOX2 activation and oxidative stress are associated with COVID-19. As discussed above, the combined teachings of Fisher, Morris and Violi render obvious administering the same polypeptides the same population for treating SARS Cov-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and SARS CoV-2 infection. Accordingly, to the extent that the reductions in ROS production in inflammatory markers were cited in claims 8-11 and 26-29 necessarily result from such administration, these limitations would be inherent in practicing the method rendered obvious by the combined references, even if the prior did not explicitly recognize or measures those results.
Regarding claims 12-14 and 30-32, Fisher teaches administration to humans (see paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 15, the combined references of Fisher, Morris and Violi render obvious treatment of endothelial dysfunction in patients with active Sars-Cov-2 infection.
Regarding claims 18 and 33, The preamble reciting a method of treating or ameliorating a coronavirus infection in a subject in need thereof is considered limiting and consistent with the specification, encompasses treatment or prevention of coronavirus infection. As discussed above regarding claim 1, the combined teachings of Fisher, Morris, and Violi render obvious administering the claim polypeptides to treat endothelial dysfunction caused by SARS-CoV-2 and thus treating patients with SARS CoV-2. The combined references render obvious treating coronavirus infection (including SARS CoV-2) in a subject thereby meeting the limitations of claim 18.
Regarding claim 23, the combined references of Fisher, Morris and Violi render obvious treatment of endothelial dysfunction caused by a coronavirus with the instant peptides (see above teachings and motivation).
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US20210315964, cited in Applicant’s IDS) in view of Morris (WO2022204517) and Violi (Redox Biology 36 (2020) 101655), as applied to claims Claim(s) 1-15, 18-33 above, in further view of Milara (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2022, 23, 14518).
The teachings of Fisher in view of Morris and Violi are provided in the above rejection. The combined references are silent to wherein the subject has a SARS-CoV2 variant such as the alpha variant (B.1.1.7).
Milara teaches that B.1.1.7 alpha variant of SARS CoV 2 is associated with increased NLRP3 inflammasome activation and oxidative and inflammatory responses in COVID-19 patients (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the PIP polypeptides of Fisher to subjects infected with the B.1.1.7 alpha variant, as taught by Milara. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to reduce oxidative stress and inflammatory injury associated with SARS-CoV-2 infection, including the alpha variant, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher demonstrates that PIP polypeptides reduce ROS production and oxidative injury in the lungs, while Milara establishes the oxidative inflammatory responses are associated with alpha variant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-28 of copending Application No.18/773968 (reference application) in view of Fisher (US20210315964), Morris (WO2022204517), Violi (Redox Biology 36 (2020) 101655) and Milara (see above citation).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims A method of treating or preventing endothelial dysfunction caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a polypeptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 4 X1X2X3X4X5LX6X7X8X9HQIL (see claim 1). The instant application further claims treating coronaviruses with SEQ ID NO:4 (see claim 18). The instant application further claims specific peptides SEQ ID Nos:1-7 (claim 2); treating humans (claims 12-14, 30-32); active SARS COV-2 infection (claim 15, 33); liposome formulations (claims 3 and 20); aerosol or intratracheal administration (claims 5 and 22); functional limitations of the method (desired results of administering) (claims 8-11, 26-29); SARS COV-2 variants (claims 16-17).
Co-pending Application 18/773968 claims “A method of treating acute lung injury in a subject, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a polypeptide comprising:SEQ ID NO: 4 X1X2X3X4X5LX6X7X8X9HQIL and a carrier” (see claim 17). Co-pending Application 18/773968 further claims SEQ ID Nos:1-7 which are identical to instant SEQ ID Nos:1-7; liposomal formulations (claim 25); aerosol inhalation (claim 26). The subjects of the co-pending application are defined to include humans. Co-pending Application 18/773968 is silent to treating SARS COV-2 and variants thereof.
Fisher teaches polypeptides including PIP-2, PIP-4 and related PIP polypeptides encompassed by the peptides of instant claim 1 and instant SEQ ID NO:4 (see claim 1). Fisher teaches that these polypeptides inhibit PLA 2 activity and reduce NOX2 associated reactive oxygen species production in the lungs, thereby protecting against oxidative stress and inflammatory pulmonary injury (see Fisher, Figures 4-5, 8, 9A-B, Example 5, “inhibition of lung ROS production by PIP”). Specifically, Fisher teaches that administration of PIP-2 reduced stimulated Ros production and isolated perfused mouse lungs by approximately 75% (see figure 8). Fisher further demonstrates that PIP-2 substantially reduce the increase PLA2 activity an ROS production resulting from LPS administration (see Figures 9A-9B). Fisher additionally discloses administering liposomal encapsulated PIP-2 intratracheal or intravenously to mice (Example 2). Fisher demonstrates prevention of LP's induced acute lung injury and protection when PIP-2 is administered 12 or 16 hours after exposure (see Example 3). Thus, Fisher teaches administration of the disclosed polypeptides to prevent or treat oxidative and inflammatory pulmonary injury.
Morris teaches that SARS-CoV-2 infection is associated with endothelial dysfunction, oxidative injury, and pulmonary and vascular complications. Morris further identifies endothelial dysfunction as a therapeutic target in COVID-19 and contemplates therapeutic approaches directed towards coronavirus associated inflammatory and vascular complications (Morris, Abstract, Summary; detailed description, under “methods of use”).
Violi teaches that NOX2 activation is increased in patients with COVID-19 and is associated with oxidative stress, disease severity, in thrombotic complications (see abstract, Results and Discussion). Violi further teaches that NOX2 contributes to ROS production and oxidative vascular injury, establishing the relevance of NOX2 associated oxidative stress to COVID-19 pathology.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing days the claimed invention to administer the peptides of AN18/773968 to a subject to treat ameliorate or prevent endothelial dysfunction caused by SARS CoV2 in view of Morris and Violi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Morris identifies SARS CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and pulmonary injury as therapeutic concerns, while Violi establishes that increased NOX2 activation in ROS production contribute to COVID-19 associated oxidative pathology. Fisher teaches that administration of the disclosed PIP polypeptides inhibits PLA2 activity (which are identical to the co-pending Application peptides), reduces NOX2 associated ROS production in the lungs, and protects against oxidative and inflammatory pulmonary injury all of which would be beneficial in treating patients with SARS COV- 2 and endothelial dysfunction. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that administering the polypeptides of the co-pending application would provide a predictable approach for preventing or ameliorating the oxidative component of endothelial dysfunction associated with SARS-CoV2 and SARS-CoV2 infection in general. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher experimentally demonstrates the same peptides reduce lung ROS production following administration of PIP2, including approximately 75% reduction in stimulated ROS production and production against pulmonary oxidative injury in vivo. In view of Morris's identification of SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and Violis demonstration of an increase NOX2 to activation in COVID-19 patients, the skilled artisan would reasonably have expected the known polypeptides to reduce oxidative stress and thereby prevent or ameliorate at least the oxidative component of SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and SARS CoV-2 infection.
Furthermore, Milara teaches that B.1.1.7 alpha variant of SARS CoV 2 is associated with increased NLRP3 inflammasome activation and oxidative and inflammatory responses in COVID-19 patients (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the peptides of the co-pending application to subjects infected with the B.1.1.7 alpha variant, as taught by Milara. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to reduce oxidative stress and inflammatory injury associated with SARS-CoV-2 infection, including the alpha variant, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher demonstrates the same peptides reduce ROS production and oxidative injury in the lungs, while Milara establishes the oxidative inflammatory responses are associated with alpha variant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12070483 in view of Fisher (US20210315964), Morris (WO2022204517), Violi (Redox Biology 36 (2020) 101655) and Milara (see above citation).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims A method of treating or preventing endothelial dysfunction caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a polypeptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 4 X1X2X3X4X5LX6X7X8X9HQIL (see claim 1). The instant application further claims treating coronaviruses with SEQ ID NO:4 (see claim 18). The instant application further claims specific peptides SEQ ID Nos:1-7 (claim 2); treating humans (claims 12-14, 30-32); active SARS COV-2 infection (claim 15, 33); liposome formulations (claims 3 and 20); aerosol or intratracheal administration (claims 5 and 22); functional limitations of the method (desired results of administering) (claims 8-11, 26-29); SARS COV-2 variants (claims 16-17).
US Patent No. 12070483 claims “A method of treating acute lung injury in a subject, the method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a polypeptide comprising:SEQ ID NO: 4 X1X2X3X4X5LX6X7X8X9HQIL and a carrier” (see claim 7). US Patent No. ‘483 further claims SEQ ID Nos:1-7 (claim 8) which are identical to instant SEQ ID Nos:1-7; liposomal formulations (claim 10); aerosol inhalation (claim 11). The subjects of the co-pending application are defined to include humans. US Patent No. 12070483 is silent to treating SARS COV-2 and variants thereof.
Fisher teaches polypeptides including PIP-2, PIP-4 and related PIP polypeptides encompassed by the peptides of instant claim 1 and instant SEQ ID NO:4 (see claim 1). Fisher teaches that these polypeptides inhibit PLA 2 activity and reduce NOX2 associated reactive oxygen species production in the lungs, thereby protecting against oxidative stress and inflammatory pulmonary injury (see Fisher, Figures 4-5, 8, 9A-B, Example 5, “inhibition of lung ROS production by PIP”). Specifically, Fisher teaches that administration of PIP-2 reduced stimulated Ros production and isolated perfused mouse lungs by approximately 75% (see figure 8). Fisher further demonstrates that PIP-2 substantially reduce the increase PLA2 activity an ROS production resulting from LPS administration (see Figures 9A-9B). Fisher additionally discloses administering liposomal encapsulated PIP-2 intratracheal or intravenously to mice (Example 2). Fisher demonstrates prevention of LP's induced acute lung injury and protection when PIP-2 is administered 12 or 16 hours after exposure (see Example 3). Thus, Fisher teaches administration of the disclosed polypeptides to prevent or treat oxidative and inflammatory pulmonary injury.
Morris Teaches that SARS-CoV-2 infection is associated with endothelial dysfunction, oxidative injury, and pulmonary and vascular complications. Morris further identifies endothelial dysfunction as a therapeutic target in COVID-19 and contemplates therapeutic approaches directed towards coronavirus associated inflammatory and vascular complications (Morris, Abstract, Summary; detailed description, under “methods of use”).
Violi teaches that NOX2 activation is increased in patients with COVID-19 and is associated with oxidative stress, disease severity, in thrombotic complications (see abstract, Results and Discussion). Violi further teaches that NOX2 contributes to ROS production and oxidative vascular injury, establishing the relevance of NOX2 associated oxidative stress to COVID-19 pathology.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing days the claimed invention to administer the peptides of US Patent No. 12070483 to a subject to treat ameliorate or prevent endothelial dysfunction caused by SARS CoV2 in view of Morris and Violi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Morris identifies SARS CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and pulmonary injury as therapeutic concerns, while Violi establishes that increased NOX2 activation in ROS production contribute to COVID-19 associated oxidative pathology. Fisher teaches that administration of the disclosed PIP polypeptides inhibits PLA2 activity (which are identical to the US Patent No. 12070483 peptides), reduces NOX2 associated ROS production in the lungs, and protects against oxidative and inflammatory pulmonary injury all of which would be beneficial in treating patients with SARS COV- 2 and endothelial dysfunction. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that administering the polypeptides of the US Patent No. 12070483 would provide a predictable approach for preventing or ameliorating the oxidative component of endothelial dysfunction associated with SARS-CoV2 and SARS-CoV2 infection in general. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher experimentally demonstrates the same peptides reduce lung ROS production following administration of PIP2, including approximately 75% reduction in stimulated ROS production and production against pulmonary oxidative injury in vivo. In view of Morris's identification of SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and Violis demonstration of an increase NOX2 to activation in COVID-19 patients, the skilled artisan would reasonably have expected the known polypeptides to reduce oxidative stress and thereby prevent or ameliorate at least the oxidative component of SARS-CoV-2 associated endothelial dysfunction and SARS CoV-2 infection.
Furthermore, Milara teaches that B.1.1.7 alpha variant of SARS CoV 2 is associated with increased NLRP3 inflammasome activation and oxidative and inflammatory responses in COVID-19 patients (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the peptides of US Patent No. 12070483 to subjects infected with the B.1.1.7 alpha variant, as taught by Milara. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so to reduce oxidative stress and inflammatory injury associated with SARS-CoV-2 infection, including the alpha variant, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher demonstrates the same peptides reduce ROS production and oxidative injury in the lungs, while Milara establishes the oxidative inflammatory responses are associated with alpha variant.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654