DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman (US 20150265507) in view of Patel (US 8,992,899) and Lange (US 20080193404).
Norman teaches an oil in water anionic emulsion for eyelashes comprising (a) a continuous phase comprising 35 to 55% by weight of water based on the total weight of the emulsion; (b) a discontinuous phase comprising 15 to 25% by weight of a combination of waxes, wherein the combination of waxes comprises paraffin wax, carnauba wax, beeswax, and candelilla wax based on the total weight of the emulsion; and (c) 5 to 15% by weight of the emulsion of an anionic surfactant system comprising stearic acid, palmitic acid, myristic acid, polyethylene glycol-40 (PEG-40) stearate, and stearyl stearate, wherein the oil-in-water anionic emulsion is capable of thickening the appearance of eyelashes (Claim 1). Additional agents include 0.1 to 2% by weight VP/eicosane copolymer, 0.1 to 2% by weight silica, 5 to 15% by weight iron oxide, tocopherol acetate and panthenol are suitable for the anionic emulsion, capryryl glycol, hydroxyethylcellulose, disodium EDTA, benzyl alcohol (¶ 7). Mascara products are applied to eye lash hairs using a mascara wand from a container (¶ 8).
Norman does not teach polyethylene as part of the wax system, nor the film forming polymers. Norman also does not teach the various excipients of the dependent claims.
Patel teaches waxes suitable for mascaras include polyethylene waxes (claim 8). Common excipients include benzyl alcohol (¶ 54), isododecane (¶ 31), and non-volatile silicone oils for example, non-volatile polydimethylsiloxanes (¶ 65).
Lange teaches the use of triacontany and polyvinylpyrrolidone as components for mascara formulations (¶¶ 147, 154, 155, 156, 159, 208). Known excipients include trisiloxane (¶ 200), disteardimonium hectorite (¶ 523), aminomethylpropanol (¶ 590), and propylene carbonate (¶ 525).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary waxes used in the mascara based on waxes known in the art to be suitable for mascara products.
Further, it would have been obvious to add additional excipients to the mascara of the primary reference, such as those taught by the other references, where they are added to provide known cosmetic properties.
Note, it appears the claims are directed to well known components of mascara products which are used for their known uses. Absent a showing of unexpected results, their inclusion is obvious as their use is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to vary the amount of each component, given they are disclosed for specific functions, i.e. providing a wax component, etc, and varying the amount will result in varying the properties of the resulting mascara product, such as adherence to the lash and stability after application. While the primary reference specifically teaches 15% as the lower end, it is reasonably expected that varying the waxes used will vary the amount needed in the end product. As such, it would be obvious to reduce the amount when various combination of wax materials are used to produce the desired cosmetic properties.
Finally, where the composition made obvious is a mascara product, it would have been obvious to apply the composition to the eyelash using a mascara wand, given that is the basic functional and application for mascara products as taught by Norman.
Claim 3, 4, 8, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman (US 20150265507), Patel (US 8,992,899) and Lange (US 20080193404), in view of Feng (US 20070212316).
Norman, Patel and Lange are discussed above but do not teach the inclusion of acrylates/ethylhexyl acrylate copolymer or polyvinylpyrrolidone.
Feng teaches wax based mascara compositions can include acrylates/ethylhexyl acrylate copolymers (claims 8 and 16). Further teaches mascaras commonly have film forming polymers, such as polyvinylpyrrolidones, cellulose, and quaternized polymers, such as polyquaternium bentonites (¶ 17). Common mascara excipients include glycerol stearate (¶ 6), propanediol and potassium salts (¶ 16), phetnoxyethanol (¶ 32).
It would have been obvious to add additional agents to the wax system based on what is well known in the cosmetic field, such as taught by Feng.
Claim 12, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman (US 20150265507), Patel (US 8,992,899) and Lange (US 20080193404), in view of Schlossman (US 20090257966).
Norman, Patel and Lange are discussed above but do not teach the inclusion of hydrogenated cyclopentadiene.
Schlossman teaches hydrogenated cyclopentadienes were known polymers for wax compositions used as mascara (¶¶ 10 and 28). Thermoplastics, such as polyimide may be used (¶ 20). Colorants include isopropyl titanium triisostearate (¶ 103). Xantham gum is used as a stabilizer (¶ 116).
It would have been obvious to add additional agents to the wax system based on what is well known in the cosmetic field, such as taught by Schlossman.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman (US 20150265507), Patel (US 8,992,899) and Lange (US 20080193404), in view of Gupta (US 20060110415).
Norman, Patel and Lange are discussed above but do not teach the inclusion of triethyl citrate, ethylhexylglycerin, hexylene glycol, or salicylic acid.
Gupta teaches cosmetics, such as mascaras (¶ 80), can include triethyl citrate (¶ 27), ethylhexylglycerin (¶ 113), hexylene glycol (¶ 33), and salicylic acid (¶ 32).
It would have been obvious to add additional agents to the wax system based on what is well known in the cosmetic field, such as taught by Gupta.
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman (US 20150265507) in view of Patel (US 8,992,899), Lange (US 20080193404), Feng (US 20070212316), Schlossman (US 20090257966), and Gupta (US 20060110415).
The references are discussed above and provide motivation for obviousness. As the references are relied upon for specific claim limitations, they can also be relied on in combination here to show the cosmetic field of mascara development is well known and have many well-known excipients and additional ingredients which may be included. The skilled artisan would find it obvious to vary any and all these well-known excipients to produce mascara products with varying properties. As such, absent a showing of unique and unexpected results, the combinations disclosed in the prior art appear to all be obvious variants.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,857,079 in view of Patel (US 8,992,899), Lange (US 20080193404), Feng (US 20070212316), Schlossman (US 20090257966), and Gupta (US 20060110415). Patent ‘079 corresponds to US 20150265507, discussed above, and the claims are obvious for the reasons recited above.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612