Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 15-16, 19, 24-26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schuerman et al., US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0358568, hereinafter, ‘Schuerman’.
Consider Claims 10, 19 and 26, Schuerman teaches a system (e.g., see system and hardware architecture in at least figure 1 ), comprising: one or more processors; and a computer-readable memory comprising instructions (e.g., see system and hardware architecture in at least figure 1 )that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations to: access service data associated with a service and associated with a group of geographical regions (e.g., see at least 0030 and 0044 – “The server may thus generally comprise a tile generator that has access to a database of digital map data, as well as tile parameters indicative of the way in which the digital map data should be sorted into the tiles. The tile generator may be implemented by a digital map compile…” );for each of a set of map tiles: assign at least some of the service data of the group of geographical regions corresponding to the map tile (e.g., see at least 0013, 0027 and 0044- see map tile data structure); and generate an initial batch of service data corresponding to the map tile, thereby generating initial batches of service data (e.g., see at least 0030 -0033); receive, from a mobile device, a request to download map data corresponding a geographical area (e.g., see 0008 and 0049 – client and NAV app.); determine one or more map tiles corresponding to the geographical area (e.g., see map tiles 0008 and 0017); determine a subset of the initial batches associated with the one or more map tiles corresponding to the geographical area; and provide, to the mobile device, the subset of the initial batches responsive to the request associated with the one or more map tiles corresponding to the geographical area; and providing, to the mobile device, the subset of the initial batches responsive to the request (e.g., see at least 0008 and 0049 – delivery of map data ).
Consider Claims 15 and 24, Schuerman teaches wherein the geographical area is determined by a user input (this is met based on the discussion regarding handling via a suitable client in 0008-0009).
Consider Claims 16, 25 and 30, Schuerman teaches wherein the service data is organized according to the set of map tiles prior to assigning the at least some of the service data to the set of map tiles(e.g., see at least 0013, 0027 and 0044- see map tile and data structures ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14, 17, 20-23 and 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not specifically teach determining that two or more of the initial batches comprise a set of shared data; generate a synthetic batch comprising the set of shared data associated with the two or more of the initial batches; remove the set of shared data from the two or more of the initial batches; determine that the synthetic batch corresponds to the geographical area of the request; and provide the synthetic batch to the mobile device responsive to the request. Nor does it teach wherein determining the subset of the initial batches further comprises: determining an expected wireless network coverage level associated with each of the one or more map tiles associated with the geographic area; generating a total expected wireless network coverage level by combining the expected wireless network coverage level of each map tile; and determining that the total expected wireless network coverage level is below a threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190164319 A1 teaches a computer-implemented method of presenting a graphical user interface (GUI) map feature, the method being performed by a computing device and comprising: determining a set of anchor coordinates for the GUI map feature, wherein the GUI map feature comprises a map layer and a visual data layer; retrieving, based, at least in part, on the set of anchor coordinates, a set of map tiles for generating the map layer and service data for generating the visual data layer, wherein the service data includes a first set of service data associated with a map area to be illustrated by the GUI map feature and a second set of service data associated with a buffer area that is not a part of the map area, and wherein the second set of service data is retrieved based further on an image processing parameter; generating the visual data layer by creating a bitmap using the service data and performing, based on the image processing parameter, one or more image processing functions on the bitmap, wherein the bitmap includes a first portion corresponding to the map area and a second portion corresponding to the buffer area; and presenting, on a display of the computing device, the GUI map feature by overlaying the visual data layer with the map layer.
US 20120158762 A1 teaches modifying, via a processor, a geographical database based in part on adding a plurality of items of data arranged in a plurality of fields based on analyzing one or more values corresponding to geometry information associated with each of a plurality of geographical records of the geographical database; determining a set of tiles, for each of the records, at a predetermined zoom level that comprises at least a portion of the geographical information of respective records; updating each of the records to include data associated with minimum and maximum x and y values of the tiles that correspond to the geometrical information of a corresponding record; and determining that the minimum and maximum x and y values define one or more rectangular blocks of map tiles.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646