DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The amendments and arguments filed 10/22/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended; claim 3 has been added; no claims have been canceled or withdrawn. Claims 1-3 are now pending and under consideration.
The previous objection to claim 2 has been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to the claim.
Applicant asserts on pages 4-5 of the remarks that the current prior art rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0066257 to Ochocinski et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0063430 to Yu et al. cannot be maintained in view of the amendments to the claim. The examiner does not disagree, as the Ochocinski and Yu, alone or in combination, do not fully teach the last four lines of amended claim 1. However, upon further consideration, amended claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochocinski in view of Yu, and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0156020 to Masuda.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “vehicle control device” in claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0066257 to Ochocinski et al. (hereinafter: “Ochocinski”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0063430 to Yu et al. (hereinafter: “Yu”), and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0156020 to Masuda (hereinafter: “Masuda”).
With respect to claim 1, Ochocinski teaches a vehicle control device (apparent from at least Fig. 1) mounted on a vehicle (10) capable of external charging (e.g., via 36), the vehicle control device being configured to: control a state of the vehicle to a first state, in which a movement of the vehicle is prohibited (e.g., via 64), when receiving an instruction signal (e.g., via 62) from a charging device (e.g., 36), which connects a charging connector (e.g., 38) to a charging port (32) (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2); determine whether there is a request for releasing the first state by a user of the vehicle while the vehicle is controlled under the first state [as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0014-0015, 0018-0032 & 0037-0039, an electronic control unit (ECU) 30 and/or a battery charger of the “vehicle control device” determine(s) whether a vehicle user generates a vehicle start request (e.g., at 68) while the vehicle 10 is prevented from starting and moving (e.g., “first state”), including when an evaluated plug status of the vehicle 10 is one of faulty or unknown (e.g., via 62)]; based on a determination of the request for releasing the first state by the user of the vehicle while the vehicle is controlled under the first state, determine whether the charging connector is connected to the charging port [as depicted by at least Figs. 2 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0030-0035 & 0037-0039, the ECU 30 and/or the battery charger of the “vehicle control device” determine(s) whether a plug status of the electrical coupler 38 is unplugged (e.g., at 72 or 74) in response to determining that the vehicle user generated the vehicle start request while the vehicle 10 is prevented from starting and moving, including subsequent to the evaluated plug status of the vehicle 10 being the one of faulty or unknown]; and based on a determination that the charging connector is not connected to the charging port, control the vehicle to release the first state [as depicted by at least Figs. 2 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0030, 0033 & 0037-0039, the ECU 30 and/or the battery charger of the “vehicle control device” controls enabling of the vehicle 10 to start and move (e.g., at 66), thereby releasing the prevention of the vehicle 10 from starting and moving, in response to determining that the plug status of the electrical coupler 38 is unplugged (e.g., at 72 and/or 74), including subsequent to the evaluated plug status of the vehicle 10 being the one of faulty or unknown].
Ochocinski appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the vehicle control device is configured to control the state of the vehicle to the first state when receiving the instruction signal from an automatic charging device, which automatically connects the charging connector to the charging port.
Yu teaches an analogous vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle capable of external charging, the vehicle configured to charge via an automatic charging device, which automatically connects a charging connector to a charging port; and not charge via the automatic charging device when the charging connector is not connected to the charging port (apparent from at least Figs. 1-5B in view of at least 0001-0005).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle corresponding to the vehicle control device of Ochocinski with the teachings of Yu to be configured to also charge via an automatic charging device, which automatically connects the charging connector to the charging port, and to have modified the vehicle control device of the vehicle of Ochocinski with the teachings of Yu such that the vehicle control device is configured to control the state of the vehicle to the first state when receiving the instruction signal from the automatic charging device, which automatically connects the charging connector to the charging port, because Ochocinski further teaches that such a configuration beneficially enables hands-free charging in the alternative to conventional manual connection and disconnection of a charging cable to a vehicle.
Ochocinski also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the vehicle control device is configured to: based on the determination that the charging connector is not connected to the charging port, determine whether there is an obstacle in a traveling direction of the vehicle; and based on a determination that there is no obstacle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, control the vehicle to release the first state [note that the ECU 30 and/or the battery charger of the “vehicle control device” of Ochocinski controls the enabling of the vehicle 10 to start and move (e.g., at 66), thereby releasing the prevention of the vehicle 10 from starting and moving, regardless of whether there is an obstacle in a traveling direction of the vehicle 10].
Masuda teaches an analogous vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control device being configured to: determine whether there is an obstacle in a traveling direction of the vehicle based on a determination of a request for releasing a first state by a user of the vehicle while the vehicle is controlled under the first state; and based on a determination that there is no obstacle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, control the vehicle to release the first state (apparent from at least Figs. 1-2 in view of at least ¶ 0002-0009 & 0016-0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle corresponding to the vehicle control device of Ochocinski with the teachings of Masuda such that the vehicle control device is further configured to determine whether there is an obstacle in a traveling direction of the vehicle based on the determination that the charging connector is not connected to the charging port, and control the vehicle to release the first state based on a determination that there is no obstacle in the traveling direction of the vehicle to beneficially prevent collision between the vehicle and the obstacle when the obstacle is out of view and/or to beneficially prevent blowing exhaust gases against a person or flammable object at a rear part of the vehicle.
With respect to claim 2, Ochocinski modified supra teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle control device is further configured to: determine whether there is the request for releasing the first state by the user by detecting an operation by the user on a screen of a car navigation device (e.g., 50 of Ochocinski) of the vehicle while the vehicle is controlled under the first state (e.g., via 70 & 72 of Ochocinski) (apparent from at least Figs. 1-3 in view of at least ¶ 0032-0039 of Ochocinski).
With respect to claim 3, Ochocinski modified supra teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle control device is further configured to: control the vehicle to release the first state and move to a second state in which the movement of the vehicle is permitted when receiving a release signal from the automatic charging device [as depicted by at least Figs. 2 & 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0030 & 0037-0038 of Ochocinski, the ECU 30 and/or the battery charger of the “vehicle control device” controls enabling of the vehicle 10 to start and move (e.g., at 66), thereby releasing the prevention of the vehicle 10 from starting and moving, in response to determining that the plug status of the electrical coupler 38 is unplugged subsequent to the evaluated plug status of the vehicle 10 being plugged-in (e.g., at 62)]; and release the first state and move to the second state based on the determination of the request for releasing the first state by the user of the vehicle while the vehicle is controlled under the first state, the charging connector being not connected to the charging port, and there being no obstacle in the traveling direction of the vehicle, regardless of whether the release signal was received (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747