DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (and claims 2-9 by dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, a flat-push type emergency door lock is undefined as to what is required to satisfy “type”. As written, one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine what is required by the applicant. Review of the specification shows no clarification or definition of the recitation as written in the claim. Claims are interpreted broadly until otherwise clarified in light of the identified specification discrepancy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2021/0381278).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a switching device for delayed unlocking function, disposed at a flat-push type emergency door-lock device, the flat-push type emergency door-lock device being disposed at an emergency door board, the flat-push type emergency door-lock device including a door-lock base (annotated Fig.2) and a flat-push rod (22) disposed at the door-lock base, the switching device for delayed unlocking function comprising:
a switching-device base (21 parallel portion to annotated door lock base), fixed on the door-lock base;
a mobile assembly (2b), movably disposed at the switching-device base, including a stopper (23), wherein when the mobile assembly is driven, the stopper is moved between a stop position (Fig.5B) and an avoidance position (Fig. 5C), wherein the stopper is switchably (moveable) at the avoidance position in a delayed unlocking function disabled state and is preset at the stop position in a delayed unlocking function enabled state;
a linkage rod (24), pivoted to the door-lock base (about 241), connected to the flat-push rod in a coherent manner;
a sensing assembly (including sensor/switch 27), fixed on the switching-device base, sending an unlocking-triggering signal in the delayed unlocking function enabled state when sensing that the flat-push rod is pushed and starts to move along a push-down driving stroke;
a timing control assembly ([0043]), electrically connected to the sensing assembly, thereby sending a state-switching signal after the unlocking-triggering signal is received and a predetermined delay time is passed; and
an electromagnetic traction assembly ([0042]), disposed at the switching-device base, dragging the mobile assembly to move the stopper from the stop position to the avoidance position after receiving the state-switching signal;
wherein when the stopper is at the stop position (Fig.5b), the linkage rod is blocked to prevent the flat-push rod from continuing to move along the push-down driving stroke and prohibit unlocking; wherein when the stopper is at the avoidance position, the linkage rod is avoided to allow the flat-push rod to continue to move along the push-down driving stroke to complete unlocking.
Annotated Figure taken from Lin (US 2021/0381278)
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 1, wherein the mobile assembly further includes:
a mobile frame (28) of assembly, including a mobile frame body and the stopper (23) fixed on the mobile frame body; and
a fixing pin (pin or rod extending from 25) , plugged and fixed on the mobile frame body and the electromagnetic traction assembly, thereby the stopper is dragged in conjunction when the electromagnetic traction assembly drags the mobile frame body.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 2, wherein the switching-device base includes:
a base (20), fixed on the door-lock base; and
a protection cover (sides of 21 perpendicular to switching device base), fixed on the base, including at least one stroke limiting groove (between 210) to limit the movement of the mobile frame, thereby the stopper is limited to move between the stop position and the avoidance position.
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 1, wherein the timing control assembly includes:
a circuit board (26), disposed at the door-lock base;
a controller (2b, electric control assembly), disposed at the circuit board, electrically connected to the sensing assembly, used to generate a timing signal after receiving the unlocking-triggering signal in the delayed unlocking function enabled state; and
a timer ([0015]), electrically connected to the controller, used to start timing after receiving the timing signal in the delayed unlocking function enabled state, used to send a timing-off signal after the timing reaches the predetermined delay time, thereby causing the controller to send the state-switching signal.
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 7, further including a buzzer (alarm [0056]), the buzzer electrically connected to the controller, the controller further generating an alarm signal after receiving the unlocking-triggering signal(alarm [0056]) in the delayed unlocking function enabled state, the controller transmitting the alarm signal to the buzzer to cause the buzzer to issue an alarm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2021/03812787) in view of Szerszen (10,669,740).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 1, further including:
a delayed unlocking function switching lock (abstract), disposed at the door-lock base, driven to move between a function-enabled position and a function-disabled position; and
an on/off position-detecting module (51), disposed at the door-lock base, electrically connected to the timing control assembly, thereby when sensing the delayed unlocking function switching lock is at the function-enabled position, a function-on signal ([009]-[0010]) is sent to the timing control assembly, so that the timing control assembly enters the delayed unlocking function enabled state; thereby when sensing the delayed unlocking function switching lock is at the function-disabled position, a function-off signa([009]-[0010]) l is sent to the timing control assembly, so that the timing control assembly enters the delayed unlocking function disabled state.
Lin does not disclose: a key.
Szerszen teaches a key for the purpose of the expected benefit of activating or deactivating a device as is old and known in latching a door.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin with a key as taught by Szerszen for the expected benefit of activating or deactivating a device as is old and known in latching a door.
Regarding claim 5, Lin as modified by Szerszen shows the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 4, wherein the on/off position-detecting module further includes a first micro-switch sensor (27), wherein when the delayed unlocking function switching lock is at the function-enabled position, the first micro-switch sensor contacts with the delayed unlocking function switching lock to generate and send the function-on signal ([009]-[0010]) accordingly, wherein when the delayed unlocking function switching lock is at the function-disabled position, the first micro-switch sensor is separated from the delayed unlocking function switching lock to generate and send the function-off signal accordingly.
Regarding claim 6, Lin as modified by Szerszen shows the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 5, further including a lever (3), the lever being disposed at the door-lock base and being driven by the delayed unlocking function switching lock, wherein when the delayed unlocking function switching lock is at the function-enabled position, the lever contacts with the first micro-switch sensor so that the first micro-switch sensor detects that the delayed unlocking function switching lock is at the function-enabled position.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2021/03812787).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses the switching device for delayed unlocking function of claim 1, wherein the sensing assembly includes a second micro-switch sensor, the second micro-switch sensor being disposed at the switching-device base and contacting with the flat-push rod, wherein when the flat-push rod is pushed in the delayed unlocking function enabled state so that the second micro-switch sensor contacts with the flat-push rod and sends the unlocking-triggering signal.
Lin discloses the claimed invention except for a second micro switch sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify a second microswitch sensor, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 24 May 2024 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
All positively recited structure in claim 1 of the instant application is present in the prior art of Lin (US 2021/03812787). In the previous office action some of the structure identified appeared inaccurately labeled. For that reason clarifications are made and the office action is made as a Non-final. Applicant has failed to provide positive recitation which would distinguish the instant application over the prior art of reference. The applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues “switchable” but fails to recite a “switch”. Recitation is taken broadly any element that is moveable will be considered switchably meeting the current recitation.
Applicant’s argument, page 1; a mechanical mechanism does not change position instantaneously. In any physical system there is a delay between initial action and subsequent mechanism movement. Absent positive recitation of structure that would enable a function that the prior art cannot achieve it is reasonable that the interpretation of the prior art discloses the applicant’s invention as currently claimed.
Applicant’s argument, page 1; regarding connection in “a coherent manner”, any assembly of individual components is connected in some way. Where the applicant fails to articulate a positive structural recitation as to what is required, the interpretation is broadly applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675