DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and the subject of this NON-FINAL Office Action. This is the first action on the merits.
Claim Notes
Use of “such that” to describe physical components of the claimed system render the language after “such that” mere intended use. Applicants are strongly encouraged to utilize conventional, well-understood language like “configured to”; or better yet, the actual physical structure and/or computer programming.
Individually-controlled diodes are incredibly familiar in the 3D printing art. And multi-plane diode arrangements as in Figure 3C are also well-known. The prior art applied below is this latter type. However, there are innumerable examples of the former type provided in the “Prior Art” section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(A) A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –
(1)the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; or
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HERZOG (US20180326655).
As to claim 1, HERZOG teaches system for additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object, the system comprising: a build platform (Fig. 2); an array of laser diodes 10, each laser diode 10 of the array of laser diodes configured to direct a laser beam toward the build platform (Fig. 2); and a controller 11 communicatively coupled to each laser diode of the array of laser diodes such that control signals are communicated from the controller to each laser diode individually (Figs. 1-2; paras. 0051-52, 0062 & 0106-07).
As to claim 2, HERZOG teaches system of claim 1, wherein the array of laser diodes is arranged such that the laser diodes of the array are in a plurality of rows in a first direction and in a plurality of columns in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, each laser diode spaced from each neighboring laser diode (Figs. 2, 8-11).
As to claim 3, HERZOG teaches system of claim 2, wherein neighboring rows of the plurality of rows are staggered in the first direction (id.)
As to claim 4, HERZOG teaches system of claim 2, wherein neighboring columns of the plurality of columns are staggered in the second direction (id.)
As to claim 5, HERZOG teaches system of claim 2, wherein the array of laser diodes is arranged in a plurality of layers in a third direction perpendicular to both of the first and second directions (id.)
As to claim 6, HERZOG teaches system of claim 1, wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode (Figs. 1-2; paras. 0051-52, 0062 & 0106-07).
As to claim 7, HERZOG teaches system of claim 6, further comprising an optical element 27 disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes, wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode by utilizing the optical element (Fig. 12; paras. 0012-0038, 0099).
As to claim 8, HERZOG teaches system of claim 6, further comprising an optical element disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes, wherein the optical element includes a plurality of optical elements, each of the plurality of optical elements is configured to manipulate the respective laser beam (id.)
As to claim 9, HERZOG teaches system of claim 1, wherein the array of laser diodes is movable in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 1-2 & 8-11).
As to claim 10, HERZOG teaches system of claim 1, wherein each laser diode of the array of laser diodes is movable in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (id.)
As to claim 11, HERZOG teaches system of claim 1, wherein the array of laser diodes is distributed in an area larger than a build surface of the build platform (id.)
As to claim 12, HERZOG teaches system of claim 1, wherein the laser diodes are arranged in a layered two dimensional pattern (id.)
As to claim 13, HERZOG teaches system of claim 12, wherein the laser diodes are arranged in a plurality of layers in a three dimensional pattern (id.)
As to claim 14, HERZOG teaches system of claim 12, wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode (Figs. 1-2; paras. 0051-52, 0062 & 0106-07).
As to claim 15, HERZOG teaches system of claim 14, further comprising an optical element 27 disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes, wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode by utilizing the optical element (Fig. 12; paras. 0012-0038, 0099).
As to claim 16, HERZOG teaches system of claim 14, further comprising an optical element 27 disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes, wherein the optical element includes a plurality of optical elements, each of the plurality of optical elements is configured to manipulate the respective laser beam (id.)
As to claim 17, HERZOG teaches system of claim 12, wherein the array of laser diodes includes another layer of a plurality of laser diodes arranged in a two-dimensional pattern (Fig. 2).
As to claim 18, HERZOG teaches method for additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object, the method comprising: communicating control signals to each laser diode of an array of laser diodes individually (Figs. 1-2; paras. 0051-52, 0062 & 0106-07); and directing a laser beam of each laser diode of the array of laser diodes toward a build platform based on the control signals (Figs. 1-2).
As to claim 19, HERZOG teaches method of claim 18, further comprising: moving the array of laser diodes or each laser diode in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction based on the control signals (Figs. 1-2 & 8-11).
As to claim 20, HERZOG teaches method of claim 18, further comprising: selectively manipulating the laser beam of each laser diode based on the control signals (Figs. 1-2; paras. 0051-52, 0062 & 0106-07).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MATTES (US20160279707).
As to claim 1, MATTES teaches system for additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object, the system comprising: a build platform (Figs. 1-17); an array 110/700 of laser diodes 115/116/117, each laser diode of the array of laser diodes configured to direct a laser beam toward the build platform (Figs. 1-17); and a controller 800 communicatively coupled to each laser diode of the array of laser diodes such that control signals are communicated from the controller to each laser diode individually (claim 19; para. 0035, 0037, 0116-17).
As to claim 2, MATTES teaches system of claim 1, wherein the array of laser diodes is arranged such that the laser diodes of the array are in a plurality of rows in a first direction and in a plurality of columns in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, each laser diode spaced from each neighboring laser diode (Figs. 4-6, 10, 13-17).
As to claim 3, MATTES teaches system of claim 2, wherein neighboring rows of the plurality of rows are staggered in the first direction (id.)
As to claim 4, MATTES teaches system of claim 2, wherein neighboring columns of the plurality of columns are staggered in the second direction (id.)
As to claim 5, MATTES teaches system of claim 2, wherein the array of laser diodes is arranged in a plurality of layers in a third direction perpendicular to both of the first and second directions (para. 0011 (“Furthermore, the printing system may comprise laser modules with different working planes. The latter may be done by placing laser modules at different heights relative to a reference surface and/or by providing different optical elements. Different working planes may be advantageous for three dimensional printing”))
As to claim 6, MATTES teaches system of claim 1, wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode (claim 19; para. 0035, 0037, 0116-17).
As to claim 7, MATTES teaches system of claim 6, further comprising an optical element 175 disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes, wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode by utilizing the optical element (e.g. Fig. 3, claims 1-6, paras. 0005, 0008-14 & 0021).
As to claim 8, MATTES teaches system of claim 6, further comprising an optical element 175 disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes, wherein the optical element includes a plurality of optical elements, each of the plurality of optical elements is configured to manipulate the respective laser beam (id.)
As to claim 9, MATTES teaches system of claim 1, wherein the array of laser diodes is movable in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 1-2 & 8-11).
As to claim 10, MATTES teaches system of claim 1, wherein each laser diode of the array of laser diodes is movable in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 4-6, 10, 13-17)
As to claim 11, MATTES teaches system of claim 1, wherein the array of laser diodes is distributed in an area larger than a build surface of the build platform (id.)
As to claim 12, MATTES teaches system of claim 1, wherein the laser diodes are arranged in a layered two dimensional pattern (id.)
As to claim 13, MATTES teaches system of claim 12, wherein the laser diodes are arranged in a plurality of layers in a three dimensional pattern (para. 0011 (“Furthermore, the printing system may comprise laser modules with different working planes. The latter may be done by placing laser modules at different heights relative to a reference surface and/or by providing different optical elements. Different working planes may be advantageous for three dimensional printing”))
As to claim 14, MATTES teaches system of claim 12, wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode (claim 19; para. 0035, 0037, 0116-17).
As to claim 15, HERZOG teaches system of claim 14, further comprising an optical element 175 disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes (Fig. 3, claims 1-6, paras. 0005, 0008-14 & 0021), wherein the controller selectively manipulates the laser beam of each laser diode by utilizing the optical element (claim 19; para. 0035, 0037, 0116-17).
As to claim 16, MATTES teaches system of claim 14, further comprising an optical element 175 disposed between the build platform and the array of laser diodes, wherein the optical element includes a plurality of optical elements (Fig. 3, claims 1-6, paras. 0005, 0008-14 & 0021), each of the plurality of optical elements is configured to manipulate the respective laser beam (claim 19; para. 0035, 0037, 0116-17).
As to claim 17, MATTES teaches system of claim 12, wherein the array of laser diodes includes another layer of a plurality of laser diodes arranged in a two-dimensional pattern (Figs. 4-6, 10, 13-17).
As to claim 18, MATTES teaches method for additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object, the method comprising: communicating control signals to each laser diode of an array of laser diodes individually (claim 19; para. 0035, 0037, 0116-17); and directing a laser beam of each laser diode of the array of laser diodes toward a build platform based on the control signals (Figs. 4-6, 10, 13-17).
As to claim 19, MATTES teaches method of claim 18, further comprising: moving the array of laser diodes or each laser diode in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction based on the control signals (Figs. 4-6, 10, 13-17).
As to claim 20, MATTES teaches method of claim 18, further comprising: selectively manipulating the laser beam of each laser diode based on the control signals (claim 19; para. 0035, 0037, 0116-17).
Prior Art
There are numerable prior art arrays with individually controlled diodes, among them: US 20210146624; US20180111317; US 20190351615; US 20210023777; US 20180126650; WO 2019186070; US 20180314044; US 20180193955; US 20180215092; US 20180304539; US 20200346403; US 20180281278; US 20180169970; US 20200086388; US 20210129430; US 12202197.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/YUNG-SHENG M TSUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743