CTNF 18/674,307 CTNF 81556 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/19/2025, 12/18/2024 and 5/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roh et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2023/0115006 A1) . 07-15-02-aia The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. [Re claim 1] Roh discloses the image sensor comprising: a sensor substrate (110) comprising a plurality of pixels (111-114) configured to sense light; and a nano-photonic lens array (130) configured to separate incident light based on color and condense the separated incident light onto the plurality of pixels, wherein the nano-photonic lens array comprises a plurality of supercells that are periodically two-dimensionally disposed, the plurality of supercells comprising first unit patterns (RGBW 131-134, and see figure 14A pattern disposed at central portion of the array) and second unit patterns (RGBW 131-134, and see figure 14B-14D pattern disposed at peripheral portions of the array), and the first unit patterns and the second unit patterns respectively comprising a plurality of pixel corresponding regions corresponding to the plurality of pixels (111-114), wherein each of the plurality of pixel corresponding regions comprises a plurality of nano-structures (NP) configured to separate the incident light based on color and condense the incident light onto the plurality of pixels, and wherein a cross-sectional size or a cross-sectional shape of a first nano-structure (131B, 134B) (see figure 14A) among the plurality of nano-structures included in the first unit patterns is different from a cross-sectional size or a cross-sectional shape of a second nano-structure (131B, 134B) (see figure 14B-14D), among the plurality of nano-structures in the second unit pattern, at a position corresponding to the first nano-structure (see figure 2C, 4A-4B, 14A-14D and paragraph [0154]-[0159]). [Re claim 2] Roh discloses the image sensor wherein a first cross-sectional size of the first nano-structure included in the first unit pattern is different from a second cross-sectional size of the second nano-structure included in the second unit pattern (see figure 14A-14D). [Re claim 3] Roh discloses the image sensor wherein the first cross-sectional size and the second cross-sectional size are integer multiples of a minimum unit size (see figure 14A-14D and paragraph [0154]-[0159]). [Re claim 14] Roh discloses the image sensor wherein the first unit patterns and the second unit patterns comprise third nano-structures having cross-sectional sizes or cross-sectional shapes that are equal to or different from the cross-sectional sizes or cross-sectional shapes of the first nano-structures and the second nano-structures (see figure 14A-14D). [Re claim 20] Roh discloses the electronic apparatus comprising: a lens assembly configured to form an optical image of a subject; an image sensor configured to convert the optical image formed by the lens assembly into an electrical signal; and a processor configured to process a signal generated by the image sensor, wherein the image sensor comprises: a sensor substrate (110) comprising a plurality of pixels (111-114) configured to sense light; and a nano-photonic lens array (130) configured to separate incident light based on color and condense the separated incident light onto the plurality of pixels, wherein the nano-photonic lens array comprises a plurality of supercells that are periodically two-dimensionally disposed, the plurality of supercells comprising first unit patterns (RGBW 131-134, and see figure 14A pattern disposed at central portion of the array) and second unit patterns (RGBW 131-134, and see figure 14B-14D pattern disposed at peripheral portions of the array), and the first unit patterns and the second unit patterns respectively comprising a plurality of pixel corresponding regions corresponding to the plurality of pixels, wherein each of the plurality of pixel corresponding regions comprises a plurality of nano-structures (NP) configured to separate the incident light based on color and condense the incident light onto the plurality of pixels, and wherein a cross-sectional size or a cross-sectional shape of a first nano-structure (131B, 134B) (see figure 14A) among the plurality of nano-structures included in the first unit pattern is different from a cross-sectional size or a cross-sectional shape of a second nano-structure (131B, 134B) (see figure 14B-14D), among the plurality of nano-structures included in the second unit pattern, at a position corresponding to the first nano-structure (see figure 2C, 4A-4B, 14A-14D and paragraph [0154]-[0159]). Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 4-13 and 15-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYOUNG LEE whose telephone number is (571)272-1982. The examiner can normally be reached M to F, 10am to 6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eliseo Ramos-Feliciano can be reached at (571)272-7925. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYOUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/674,307 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817