DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Semiconductor Package With Self-Healing Polymer Dielectric.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims -19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 6, in claim 5, a list of possible materials that the inorganic particles must include is given, which includes silicate. Claim 6, which depends from this, further limits the material of the silicate “the silicate is a smectite-based material selected from the group consisting of…”. The limitation is unclear as to if applicant intends to further require the particle to be the silicate or as to if it is intended to be a conditional limitation merely required if the silicate is chosen in the preceding claim. Thus, the claim is rendered indefinite. For the purposes of applying prior art, the claim will be interpreted as a conditional limitation required if the silicate is chosen in the preceding claim.
In regards to claims 8 and 19, The term “about” in claims 8 and 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, the thermal conductivity of the dielectric layer must be strictly higher than 0.4 W/mk, or if it can be lower, and by how much. For the purposes of applying prior art, the claim was interpreted as “is 0.4 W/mK or more”.
In regards to claim 16, Claim 16 recites the limitation "the semiconductor chip including second pads" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim previously introduces both a first semiconductor chip and a second semiconductor chip, and thus it is unclear to which semiconductor chip must have the second pads, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of applying prior art, the limitation was interpreted as “the second semiconductor chip including second pads”.
Claims 17-19 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Park et al. ("Self-healable soft shield for γ-ray radiation based on polyacrylamide hydrogel composites"), hereinafter referred to as "Park".
In regards to claim 1, Jang discloses a semiconductor package (1000A in Jang figure 1A) comprising: a first semiconductor chip (200 in figure 1A) including first pads (204 in figure 1A); a second semiconductor chip (100 in figure 1A) including second pads (106 in figure 1A) disposed on a front surface facing the first semiconductor chip and in contact with the first pads (pads 106 are facing and in contact with pads 204), the second semiconductor chip also including through-electrodes electrically connected to the second pads and extending to a rear surface opposite to the front surface (through electrodes 130 including metal electrodes extending down to and including 104 in figure 1A); a dielectric layer (520 in figure 1A) covering at least portions of the respective first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (the encapsulant covers “The lower surface, the upper surface, and the side surface of the chip structure”, paragraph 0025), the dielectric layer having an inner surface facing the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (side facing left or right side of the chips 200 and 100) and an outer surface opposite the inner surface (exterior surface of 520); and bump structures on a portion of the outer surface of the dielectric layer (B2 in figure 1A) and electrically connected to the through-electrodes (connected to the through electrodes via the redistribution layer 512 and 513), wherein the dielectric layer includes inorganic particles (paragraph 0042, the encapsulant may include an inorganic filler), and polymer chains (paragraph 0042, encapsulant may include a thermosetting resin, which has polymer chains)
Jang does not teach that the polymer chains are bonded to the inorganic particles.
Park teaches a nanocomposite with polymer chains which are bonded to at least one side of the respective inorganic particles (Results and Discussion first paragraph. Polymer chains are hydrogen bonded to sides of inorganic particles), and wherein the polymer chains are connected toward the inner surface and the outer surface via the inorganic particles (see figure Park figure 1b, the polymers extend across the substance, connected to each other by the particles). Park also teaches that this yields a composition that has self-healing properties (Park page 2, third paragraph. The polymer chains can diffuse back to the particles after being severed and reconnect via hydrogen bonds, Park Results and Discussion first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond the polymers to the inorganic particles as in Park in order get a self-healing dielectric which can repair itself from minor damage.
In regards to claim 2, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park further teaches that the at least one side of the respective inorganic particles have a negative polarity (Park Results and Discussion first paragraph, “On the surface of the clay […] partially negative charges are widely distributed”), and wherein the polymer chains include functional groups physically bonded to the at least one side (The polymers have Amide groups hydrogen bonded to the negative polarity surfaces, Park Results and Discussion first paragraph).
Park also teaches that these negative charges and physical hydrogen bonds are what allow the nanocomposite to repair itself after damage; the ends of the polymers reconnect to the available negative surface of the nanoclay particles after thermal diffusion (Park Results and discussion first paragraph. Also see figure 1 caption).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inorganic particles have a negative polarity side and the polymer chains have functional groups bonded to the particles as in Park in order to gain the self-healing properties already described.
In regards to claim 3, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Park further teaches that the functional groups are hydrogen bonded to the at least one side (Park Results and Discussion, first paragraph; See benefits above).
In regards to claim 4, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Park further teaches that the functional groups include at least one of nitrogen (N), oxygen (O), and fluorine (F) (the functional groups on the polymers include amides, which contain nitrogen and oxygen, Park Results and Discussion first paragraph). Park also teaches that these side groups are what interact with the nanoclay to form the hydrogen bonds that link the material and help provide the benefits already listed above.
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the functional groups include nitrogen and oxygen as in Park for the benefits already described above.
In regards to claim 7, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Jang further discloses that the polymer chains include at least one of epoxy, polyimide (PI), benzocyclobutene (BCB), polyhydroxy styrene (PHS), polyhydroxyalkanoate (PHB), and polybenzoxazole (PBO) (paragraph 0042, it can be an epoxy or polyimide).
In regards to claim 9, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Jang further discloses that the first semiconductor chip further includes a first insulating layer surrounding the first pads (205 in figure 1A. See paragraph 0032), wherein the second semiconductor chip further includes a second insulating layer surrounding the second pads (107 in figure 1A), and wherein the second insulating layer is in contact with the first insulating layer (they are in contact at the surfaces 100US/200LS in figure 1A).
In regards to claim 10, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Jang further discloses that the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer include at least one of silicon oxide (SiO), silicon nitride (SiN), and silicon carbonitride (SiCN) (the first and second insulating layers 205 and 107 are made of silicon oxide, see paragraph 0032).
In regards to claim 12, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Jang further discloses redistribution pattern layers electrically connecting the bump structures and the through-electrodes (512 and 513 in figure 1A); and an insulating material layer covering the redistribution pattern layers (511 in figure 1A).
In regards to claim 13, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Jang further discloses that the insulating material layer includes a photosensitive resin (Jang paragraph 0039, “the insulating layer 511 may include a photosensitive resin).
In regards to claim 14, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Jang further discloses that at least some of the bump structures do not overlap the second semiconductor chip (far left and far right bumps do not overlap. The redistribution layer redistributes connections to the fan-out region, which does not overlap the chip, see paragraph 0040).
In regards to claim 15, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Jang further discloses through-via structures penetrating through the dielectric layer (bumps B1 in figure 1A) and electrically connecting the at least some of the bump structures and some of the first pads (they connect the bumps B2 to the pads 204 through the redistribution layer and through-electrodes).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (US 20060281833 A1), hereinafter referred to as "Smith".
In regards to claim 5, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Neither Jang nor Park disclose that the inorganic particles include at least one of aluminum nitride (AlN), aluminum oxide (Al2O3), silicon carbide (SiC), silicon nitride (Si3N4), boron nitride (BN), and silicate.
Smith teaches a dielectric with polymer chains and inorganic filler where the inorganic particles include aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, or boron nitride (Smith paragraph 0080). Smith also teaches that these materials increase the thermal conductivity of the composite, which allows for enhanced power rating, reduced insulation thickness, more compact electrical designs and high heat transfer (Smith paragraph 0080).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the higher thermal conductivity materials of Smith in order to gain enhanced power rating, reduced insulation thickness, more compact electrical designs and high heat transfer.
In regards to claim 8, Jang in view of Park discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neither Jang nor Park explicitly gives the thermal conductivity of the dielectric.
Smith teaches a dielectric made of polymer chains and inorganic particles where the thermal conductivity of the dielectric layer is about 0.4 W/mK or more (Smith paragraph 0086, it has conductivity of 0.5 to 5 W/mK). Smith also teaches that this is accomplished with inorganic materials such as aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, or boron nitride, and that the higher thermal conductivity allows for enhanced power rating, reduced insulation thickness, more compact electrical designs and high heat transfer (Smith paragraph 0080).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the materials yielding the higher thermal conductivity of Smith in order to gain enhanced power rating, reduced insulation thickness, more compact electrical designs and high heat transfer.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Park and Smith as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Raman et al. (US 20150034858 A1), hereinafter referred to as "Raman".
In regards to claim 6, Jang in view of Park and Smith teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Smith teaches inorganic particles which are aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, or boron nitride, and thus does not need to meet the limitation further narrowing the silicate (see 112b rejection above).
However, Ramen also teaches a polymer material with an inorganic filler that is a smectite-based material selected from the group consisting of montmorillonite, nontronite, beidellite, volkonskoite, hectorite, saponite, laponite, sauconite, megadiite, and kenyaite, a vermiculite-based material, an illite-based material, and at least one material selected from the group consisting of derivatives thereof (specifically, Raman teaches smectite and vermiculite as suitable fillers for increasing the thermal conductivity of the composite. See Raman paragraphs 0045 and 0050). Raman teaches that these increase the thermal conductivity of the material (Raman paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use smectite or vermiculite as other suitable fillers to increase the thermal conductivity of the dielectric.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20250054926 A1), hereinafter referred to as "Chen".
In regards to claim 11, Jang in view of Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Neither Jang nor Park explicitly teaches that a width of the first semiconductor chip is greater than a width of the second semiconductor chip.
Chen teaches a stacked semiconductor chip package where a width of the first semiconductor chip is greater than a width of the second semiconductor chip (T1 and T2 in figure 6, see paragraph 0029). Chen also teaches that this may result in improved heat dissipation of the complete semiconductor package during operation (paragraph 0029)
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a width of the first semiconductor chip be greater than a width of the second semiconductor chip in order to gain improved heat dissipation of the complete semiconductor package during operation.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Park.
In regards to claim 16, Jang discloses a semiconductor package (100A in figure 1A) comprising: a first semiconductor chip (200 in figure 1A) including first pads (204 in figure 1A); a second semiconductor chip below the first semiconductor chip (100 in figure 1A), the semiconductor chip including second pads in contact with the first pads (106 in figure 1A) and through-electrodes electrically connected to the second pads (through electrodes 130 including metal electrodes extending down to and including 104 in figure 1A); a dielectric layer (520 in figure 1A) covering at least portions of the respective first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip (the encapsulant covers “The lower surface, the upper surface, and the side surface of the chip structure”, paragraph 0025); and bump structures below the second semiconductor chip (B2 in figure 1A ) and electrically connected to the through-electrodes (connected to the through electrodes via the redistribution layer 512 and 513), wherein the dielectric layer is inorganic particles (paragraph 0042, the encapsulant may include an inorganic filler) and polymer chains (paragraph 0042, encapsulant may include a thermosetting resin, which has polymer chains) combined with each other (they are both combined with each other to form the encapsulant).
Jang does not explicitly disclose that this combination is a nanocomposite.
Park teaches a nanocomposite (the inorganic particles include Pb02 nanoparticles and disk-like clumps of clay around a nanometer in thickness, Park Results and Discussion first paragraph) with polymer chains combined with inorganic particles (Results and Discussion first paragraph. Polymer chains are hydrogen bonded to sides of inorganic particles). Park also teaches that this yields a composition that has self-healing properties (Park page 2, third paragraph. The polymer chains can diffuse back to the particles after being severed and reconnect via hydrogen bonds, Park Results and Discussion first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the polymers and inorganic particles be a nanocomposite as in Park in order get a self-healing dielectric which can repair itself from minor damage.
In regards to claim 17, Jang discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Jang does not disclose that the inorganic particles and the polymer chains are bonded by hydrogen bonds.
Park teaches a composite where polymer chains are bonded with inorganic particles by hydrogen bonds (Park Results and Discussion, first paragraph). Park also teaches that this yields a composition that has self-healing properties (Park page 2, third paragraph. The polymer chains can diffuse back to the particles after being severed and reconnect via hydrogen bonds, Park Results and Discussion first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond the polymers with the inorganic particles with hydrogen bonds as in Park in order get a self-healing dielectric which can repair itself from minor damage.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Smith.
In regards to claim 18, Jang discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Jang does not explicitly disclose that thermal conductivity of the nanocomposite is greater than thermal conductivity of the polymer chains.
Smith teaches a composite with polymer chains and inorganic particles where thermal conductivity of the nanocomposite is greater than thermal conductivity of the polymer chains (Smith paragraph 0080. The high thermal conductivity (HTC) particles are added to increase the thermal conductivity of the composite). Smith also teaches that the higher thermal conductivity allows for enhanced power rating, reduced insulation thickness, more compact electrical designs and high heat transfer (Smith paragraph 0080).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the materials yielding the higher thermal conductivity of Smith in order to gain enhanced power rating, reduced insulation thickness, more compact electrical designs and high heat transfer.
In regards to claim 19, Jang in view of Smith teaches all of the limitations of claim 18. Smith further discloses that the thermal conductivity of the nanocomposite is about 0.4 W/mK or more (Smith paragraph 0086, it has conductivity of 0.5 to 5 W/mK).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Park.
In regards to claim 20, Jang discloses a semiconductor package (100A in figure 1A) comprising: a first semiconductor chip (200 in figure 1A) including first pads (204 in figure 1A); a second semiconductor chip below the first semiconductor chip (100 in figure 1A), the second semiconductor chip including second pads in contact with the first pads (106 in figure 1A) and through-electrodes electrically connected to the second pads (through electrodes 130 including metal electrodes extending down to and including 104 in figure 1A); a dielectric layer (520 in figure 1A) below the first semiconductor chip and surrounding a side surface of the second semiconductor chip (the encapsulant covers “The lower surface, the upper surface, and the side surface of the chip structure”, paragraph 0025) and portions of the through-electrodes protruding from a rear surface of the second semiconductor chip (it surrounds portions of the through electrode 104 that protrude from the second chip); and bump structures below the second semiconductor chip (B2 in figure 1A ) and electrically connected to the through-electrodes (connected to the through electrodes via the redistribution layer 512 and 513), wherein the dielectric layer includes polymer chains (paragraph 0042, encapsulant may include a thermosetting resin, which has polymer chains) and inorganic particles (paragraph 0042, the encapsulant may include an inorganic filler).
Jang does not explicitly disclose that the polymer chains are interconnected through the inorganic particles.
Park teaches a composite that includes polymer chains interconnected through inorganic particles (Results and Discussion first paragraph. Polymer chains are attached to inorganic particles via hydrogen bonds. Also see figure Park figure 1b, the polymers extend across the substance, connected to each other by the particles). Park also teaches that this yields a composition that has self-healing properties (Park page 2, third paragraph. The polymer chains can diffuse back to the particles after being severed and reconnect via hydrogen bonds, Park Results and Discussion first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to interconnect the polymers with the inorganic particles as in Park in order get a self-healing dielectric which can repair itself from minor damage.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KURT ELLIOTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899