DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on September 8, 2026. Claims 49, 67 and 68 are amended. Claim 58 has been canceled.
Claims 49-57 and 59-68 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed September 8, 2026 concerning claims 49-68 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
Regarding claim 49, on page 10 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant submits that the cited paragraph does not specify that this information is a request from the terminal, nor that it is a multi-path request including a multi-path capability, power-saving information, or a direct/indirect path request.
In response to applicant’s remarks, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wang teaches with Fig. 8 establishing packet routing for sidelink relay. In Paragraphs [0040] and [0041] the ADAPT layer address of a UE, including a remote UE and a relay UE is proposed/requested by the corresponding UE. The ADAPT layer address can be adopted or rejected for packet routing purposes/direct/indirect path request. Therefore, Examiner’s assertion that Wang prior art teaches the cited claim limitation is clear and proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 49-53, 60, 61, 63, 67 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2021/0160956 A1).
5. Regarding claim 49, Wang teaches a wireless communication method (Fig. 8) comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication terminal from a wireless communication node, a
multi-path configuration for at least one of an indirect path or a direct path of the
wireless communication terminal configuration (Fig. 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] gNB sends relay path configuration to UE); and
performing, by the wireless communication terminal, a data transmission via at least one of the direct path or the indirect path according to the multi-path configuration (Fig. 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] packet transmitting and receiving);
wherein the wireless communication terminal transmits a multi-path request to the wireless communication node and the multi-path request comprises at least one of: a multi-path capability, a measurement result for a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for saving power, or a path request for at least one of the direct or indirect path (Fig. 8, Paragraphs [0040] and [0041] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables/path request; the ADAPT layer address of a UE, including a remote UE and a relay UE is proposed/requested by the corresponding UE).
6. Regarding claim 50, Wang teaches, wherein the direct path is a link between the wireless communication terminal and the wireless communication node via a Uu interface (Fig. 1 and 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] relay path, Uu interface);
wherein the indirect path is a path comprising one or more first links and a second link, wherein the first links are wireless-communication-terminal-to-wireless-communication-terminal links, and the second link is between the wireless communication terminal and the wireless communication node via a Uu interface wherein the first links are links based on direct communication technologies (Fig. 1 and 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] gNB sends relay path configuration to UE).
7. Regarding claim 51, Wang teaches, wherein the multi-path
configuration comprises a path indication comprising at least one of:
an indication of at least one of the direct path or the indirect path,
a path identifier,
a relay wireless communication terminal identifier or aggregated wireless
communication terminal identifier, or
an identifier of a corresponding cell or base station (Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables).
8. Regarding claim 52, Wang teaches, wherein the multi-path
configuration comprises a path indication comprising at least one of:
an identifier of SRB or DRB;
a path indication corresponding to at least one of the indirect path or the direct
path, a primary path indication, a secondary path indication,
a path identifier,
a cell group identifier corresponding to a direct path, a primary path or a
secondary path,
a relay wireless communication terminal identifier or aggregated wireless
communication terminal identifier corresponding to an indirect path, a
primary path or a secondary path (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables),
a PC5 RLC channel identifier or a PC5 logical channel identifier corresponding
to the direct path, indirect path, primary path or secondary path,
a Uu logical channel identifier corresponding to the direct path, indirect path,
primary path or secondary path,
a data split threshold, or
a data duplication indication.
9. Regarding claim 53, Wang teaches, wherein the multi-path
configuration comprises a path indication comprising at least one of:
an indication of at least one of the direct path or the indirect path,
a path identifier,
a relay wireless communication terminal identifier or aggregated wireless
communication terminal identifier for indirect path (Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables),
an identifier of a corresponding cell or base station for direct path, or
a CP or UP indication.
10. Regarding claim 60, Wang teaches, wherein the wireless
communication terminal performs at least one of the following operations according to the multi-path configuration: setting up at least one of the direct or indirect path, modifying at least one of the direct or indirect path, or releasing at least one of the direct or indirect path (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables/path request).
11. Regarding claim 61, Wang teaches wherein the wireless
communication terminal receives an activation or deactivation indication, to activate or
deactivate at least one of the direct path or the indirect path;
wherein the activation or deactivation indication comprises at least one of:
a Radio Bearer, RB, identifier,
a path identifier,
an indication for activation or deactivation,
a direct path,
an indirect path,
a primary path,
a secondary path,
an indication of uplink transmission,
an indication of downlink transmission,
a Uu RLC channel identifier or a Uu logical channel identifier, or
a PC5 RLC channel identifier or a PC5 logical channel identifier (Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables).
12. Regarding claim 63, Wang teaches, wherein the wireless
communication terminal receives routing information comprising at least one of: a target
identifier, a path identifier, a next hop node identifier, a next hop node type, a hop count, a priority, or a weight value (Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables).
13. Regarding claim 67, Wang teaches a wireless communication terminal comprising a processor configured to cause the wireless communication terminal to:
receive, from a wireless communication node, a multi-path configuration for at least one of an indirect path or a direct path of the wireless communication terminal configuration (Fig. 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] gNB sends relay path configuration to UE); and
perform a data transmission via at least one of the direct path or the indirect path according to the multi-path configuration (Fig. 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] packet transmitting and receiving);
wherein the wireless communication terminal transmits a multi-path request to the wireless communication node and the multi-path request comprises at least one of: a multi-path capability, a measurement result for a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for saving power, or a path request for at least one of the direct or indirect path (Fig. 8, Paragraphs [0040] and [0041] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables/path request; the ADAPT layer address of a UE, including a remote UE and a relay UE is proposed/requested by the corresponding UE).
14. Regarding claim 68, Wang teaches a computer program product comprising a computer-readable program medium code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to
implement a wireless communication method (Paragraph [0028] UE; processor, memory), comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication terminal from a wireless communication node, a
multi-path configuration for at least one of an indirect path or a direct path of the
wireless communication terminal configuration (Fig. 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] gNB sends relay path configuration to UE); and
performing, by the wireless communication terminal, a data transmission via at least one of the direct path or the indirect path according to the multi-path configuration (Fig. 8 Paragraphs [0036] to [0041] packet transmitting and receiving);
wherein the wireless communication terminal transmits a multi-path request to the wireless communication node and the multi-path request comprises at least one of: a multi-path capability, a measurement result for a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for saving power, or a path request for at least one of the direct or indirect path (Fig. 8, Paragraphs [0040] and [0041] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables/path request; the ADAPT layer address of a UE, including a remote UE and a relay UE is proposed/requested by the corresponding UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54-57, 59, 62 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0160956 A1) in view of Teyeb et al. (US 2024/0080722 A1).
15. Regarding claim 54, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the multi-path
configuration comprises at least one of:
information for setting up, modifying, or releasing the direct or indirect path,
information of conflict-free random access resources corresponding to 4-step or 2-step
random access type of the wireless communication terminal in the direct path,
a Uu RB configuration,
a PC5 Radio link Control, RLC, channel configuration,
a Uu RLC channel or logical channel configuration,
a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the PC5 RLC channel, or
a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the Uu RLC channel.
Teyeb teaches wherein the multi-path
configuration comprises at least one of:
information for setting up, modifying, or releasing the direct or indirect path,
information of conflict-free random access resources corresponding to 4-step or 2-step
random access type of the wireless communication terminal in the direct path,
a Uu RB configuration,
a PC5 Radio link Control, RLC, channel configuration,
a Uu RLC channel or logical channel configuration,
a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the PC5 RLC channel, or
a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the Uu RLC channel (Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0105] to [0112] PC5 RLC; UU; perform random access).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the multi-path
configuration comprises at least one of:
information for setting up, modifying, or releasing the direct or indirect path,
information of conflict-free random access resources corresponding to 4-step or 2-step
random access type of the wireless communication terminal in the direct path,
a Uu RB configuration,
a PC5 Radio link Control, RLC, channel configuration,
a Uu RLC channel or logical channel configuration,
a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the PC5 RLC channel, or
a bearer mapping between the Uu RB and the Uu RLC channel as taught by Teyeb in the system of Wang for improvements as use cases and performance requirement change see Paragraph [0002] of Teyeb.
16. Regarding claim 55, Wang in view of Teyeb teaches wherein the PC5 RLC channel or bearer configuration comprises at least one of:
a corresponding relay wireless communication terminal identifier or aggregated wireless
communication terminal identifier,configurations of logical channel for the PC5 RLC channel, or an identifier of one or more served RBs (Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0105] to [0112] bearer mapping between PC5 RLC and Uu; target configuration; release PC5 link).
17. Regarding claim 56, Wang in view of Teyeb teaches, wherein the Uu RB configuration comprises at least one of:
a Packet Data Convergence Protocol, PDCP, configuration of a Uu SRB of the wireless
communication terminal,
or a PDCP configuration of a Uu DRB of the wireless communication terminal;
or a Service Data Adaption Protocol, SDAP, configuration of a Uu DRB of the wireless
communication terminal;
and wherein the SDAP configuration comprises configurations for mapping of Quality of
Service, QoS, flows to a Uu DRB (Paragraphs [0101] and [0106] Uu SDAP/PDCP; radio bearer).
18. Regarding claim 57, Wang in view of Teyeb teaches, wherein the wireless
communication terminal transmits a data packet corresponding to a Uu RB to at least one of a PC5 interface or a Uu interface of the wireless communication terminal according to the Uu RB configuration (Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0105] to [0112] bearer mapping between PC5 RLC and Uu; target configuration; release PC5 link).
19. Regarding claim 59, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless
communication terminal performs a conflict-free random access procedure on the direct path according to the multi-path configuration.
Teyeb teaches wherein the wireless
communication terminal performs a conflict-free random access procedure on the direct path according to the multi-path configuration (Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0105] to [0112] PC5 RLC; UU; perform random access).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the wireless
communication terminal performs a conflict-free random access procedure on the direct path according to the multi-path configuration as taught by Teyeb in the system of Wang for improvements as use cases and performance requirement change see Paragraph [0002] of Teyeb.
20. Regarding claim 62, Wang teaches, wherein the wireless
communication terminal receives one or more routing identifiers (Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables).
Wang does not explicitly disclose corresponding to a Uu RB and the routing identifier comprises at least one of a target identifier or a path identifier.
Teyeb teaches corresponding to a Uu RB and the routing identifier comprises at least one of a target identifier or a path identifier (Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0105] to [0112] bearer mapping between PC5 RLC and Uu; target configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide corresponding to a Uu RB and the routing identifier comprises at least one of a target identifier or a path identifier as taught by Teyeb in the system of Wang for improvements as use cases and performance requirement change see Paragraph [0002] of Teyeb.
21. Regarding claim 64, Wang teaches, wherein the wireless
communication terminal determines a next hop node according to a routing identifier (Paragraph [0040] gNB allocates an ADAPT layer address for each node; relay path configuration with ADAPT addresses and routing tables).
Wang does not explicitly disclose determines at lease one of a PC5 RLC channel or a Uu RLC channel according to a bearer mapping configuration, and
delivers a data packet of corresponding Uu DRB to at least one of the PC5 RLC channel or Uu RLC channel.
Teyeb teaches determines at lease one of a PC5 RLC channel or a Uu RLC channel according to a bearer mapping configuration, and
delivers a data packet of corresponding Uu DRB to at least one of the PC5 RLC channel or Uu RLC channel (Fig. 8 and Paragraph [0105] to [0112] bearer mapping between PC5 RLC and Uu; target configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determines at lease one of a PC5 RLC channel or a Uu RLC channel according to a bearer mapping configuration, and
delivers a data packet of corresponding Uu DRB to at least one of the PC5 RLC channel or Uu RLC channel as taught by Teyeb in the system of Wang for improvements as use cases and performance requirement change see Paragraph [0002] of Teyeb.
Claims 65 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0160956 A1) in view of Freda et al. (US 2023/0180313 A1).
22. Regarding claim 65, Wang does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless
communication terminal transmits a direct path Radio Link Failure, RLF, indication or an
indirect path RLF indication to the wireless communication node; wherein the direct path RLF indication or the indirect path RLF indication further comprises at
least one of: a relay wireless communication terminal identifier or aggregated wireless
communication terminal identifier corresponding to a PC5 link or wireless communication terminal to wireless communication terminal link, or an MCG identifier or SCG identifier or cell identifier or distributed unit identifier corresponding to a Uu link.
Freda teaches wherein the wireless communication terminal transmits a direct path Radio Link Failure, RLF, indication or an indirect path RLF indication to the wireless communication node; wherein the direct path RLF indication or the indirect path RLF indication further comprises at least one of: a relay wireless communication terminal identifier or aggregated wireless communication terminal identifier corresponding to a PC5 link or wireless communication terminal to wireless communication terminal link, or an MCG identifier or SCG identifier or cell identifier or distributed unit identifier corresponding to a Uu link (Paragraph [0273] RLF, direct to indirect; SL-RLF).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the wireless
communication terminal transmits a direct path Radio Link Failure, RLF, indication or an
indirect path RLF indication to the wireless communication node; wherein the direct path RLF indication or the indirect path RLF indication further comprises at
least one of: a relay wireless communication terminal identifier or aggregated wireless
communication terminal identifier corresponding to a PC5 link or wireless communication terminal to wireless communication terminal link, or an MCG identifier or SCG identifier or cell identifier or distributed unit identifier corresponding to a Uu link.
as taught by Freda in the system of Wang for addressing a relay wireless communication scenario see abstract of Freda.
23. Regarding claim 66, Wang does not explicitly disclose, wherein the direct path RLF
indication is transmitted to the wireless communication node via the indirect path;
wherein the indirect path RLF indication is transmitted to the wireless communication node via the direct path; wherein the direct path RLF indication or the indirect path RLF indication comprises at least one of: a Uu link failure, a PC5 link failure, a wireless communication terminal to wireless communication terminal link failure, or a failure cause.
Freda teaches wherein the direct path RLF
indication is transmitted to the wireless communication node via the indirect path;
wherein the indirect path RLF indication is transmitted to the wireless communication node via the direct path; wherein the direct path RLF indication or the indirect path RLF indication comprises at least one of: a Uu link failure, a PC5 link failure, a wireless communication terminal to wireless communication terminal link failure, or a failure cause (Paragraph [0273] RLF, direct to indirect; Uu RLF).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the direct path RLF
indication is transmitted to the wireless communication node via the indirect path;
wherein the indirect path RLF indication is transmitted to the wireless communication node via the direct path; wherein the direct path RLF indication or the indirect path RLF indication comprises at least one of: a Uu link failure, a PC5 link failure, a wireless communication terminal to wireless communication terminal link failure, or a failure cause as taught by Freda in the system of Wang for addressing a relay wireless communication scenario see abstract of Freda.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466