DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8, 12-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al (hereinafter Carter) US 20150026728 in view of Low et al (hereinafter Low) US 20120239529.
Referring to claim 2, Carter discloses a computer system for providing in-video shopping functionality, the computer system comprising:
memory and at least one physical processor in communication with the memory and configured with executable instructions (see Fig. 31 and Paragraph 0122) that cause the at least one physical processor to:
receive a first request from a client device to load, within a first user interface, an interactive shopping overlay that presents information regarding one or more items available for purchase during playback of a video (see Figs. 29-30, Abstract, and Paragraphs 0042-0043, 0092-0093, 0096-0098, and 0119-0129 for disclosing a first request from a client device/tablet computer to load a video for playback within an interface on the tablet computer, wherein an overlay is presented atop the video playback that enables shopping for items available for purchase);
send code and data to the client device to cause the client device to present the interactive shopping overlay over the video within the user interface (see Figs. 29-30, Abstract, and Paragraphs 0042-0043, 0097-0098, 0119-0120 for disclosing the requested application information/code is sent to the tablet computer and the interactive watching application (IWA) causes generation of a [video player layer/”Video” section of tablet computer seen in the left of section A of Figs. 29-30], wherein the video player layer is positioned beneath an [initial layer/overlay element 1005 of Figs. 29-30] associated with the previously selected code space and further causes initialization of an interactive content portion within the overlay layer that displays interactive content over the video player layer based on communications between a [interactive watching environment (IWE)/video player component] and received information/code associated with the overlay element, wherein a display area of the video player layer within the first page at least partially overlaps/overlays a display area of the overlay element within the first page);
during playback of the video on the client device, receive an indication that a user has requested to complete a purchase of one or more items via user interaction with the interactive shopping overlay (see Paragraphs 0065, 97-98, and 119-120 for disclosing the user of the tablet computer is able to issue an acquisition request for the item in the overlay element from within the overlay element, wherein Paragraph 0065 cites an example of the user selecting a single-touch purchase mechanism in an overlay display to complete a purchase of a song (no redirection, no interruption), further noting Paragraph 0098 discloses that the TV show can continue playing while the interactive interface in the overlay element is being displayed (while Paragraph 0098 also discloses pausing the video while obtaining further information related to the TV show, this is merely an example));
a first and second payment option (see Paragraph 0084);
initiate one or more transactions with a service to complete purchase of the one or more items during playback of the video on the client device and without interrupting playback of the video (see Paragraphs 0048-0050 and 0120 for disclosing initiating a transaction with a service (e.g., Coca Cola or local pizza service) (e.g., the user is able to initiate a purchase of pizza from a local pizza service, further noting see Paragraphs 0065, 97-98, and 119-120 for disclosing the user of the tablet computer is able to issue an acquisition request for the item in the overlay element from within the overlay element, wherein Paragraph 0065 cites an example of the user selecting a single-touch purchase mechanism in an overlay display to complete a purchase of a song (no redirection, no interruption), further noting Paragraph 0098 discloses that the TV show can continue playing while the interactive interface in the overlay element is being displayed (while Paragraph 0098 also discloses pausing the video while obtaining further information related to the TV show, this is merely an example)).
Carter is unclear as to a checkout process, based on the indication, cause presentation within the interactive shopping overlay of at a first selectable payment option and a second selectable payment option, wherein the first selectable payment option identifies a first third-party payment processing service, wherein the second selectable payment option identifies a second third-party payment processing service that is different than the first third-party payment processing service, receive, based on user selection of one of the first or second selectable payment options, an indication of a selected payment processing service from among the first and second third-party payment processing services, cause one or more updates to the interactive shopping overlay that enable the user to provide credentials previously established for an account of the user with the selected payment processing service via one or more calls to an application programming interface (API) associated with the selected payment processing service, receive tokenized payment information associated with the user as generated by the selected payment processing service, and initiate one or more transactions with selected payment processing service, wherein the one or more transactions are completed based on the tokenized payment information.
Low discloses a checkout process (see Paragraph 0047);
cause presentation within the interactive shopping overlay of at a first selectable payment option and a second selectable payment option, wherein the first selectable payment option identifies a first third-party payment processing service, wherein the second selectable payment option identifies a second third-party payment processing service that is different than the first third-party payment processing service (see Fig. 2);
receive, based on user selection of one of the first or second selectable payment options, an indication of a selected payment processing service from among the first and second third-party payment processing services (see Paragraphs 0029-0032);
cause one or more updates to the interactive shopping overlay that enable the user to provide credentials previously established for an account of the user with the selected payment processing service via one or more calls to an application programming interface (API) associated with the selected payment processing service (see Paragraphs 0032-0034 and 0068);
receive tokenized payment information associated with the user as generated by the selected payment processing service (see Paragraphs 0074-0075); and
initiate one or more transactions with selected payment processing service, wherein the one or more transactions are completed based on the tokenized payment information (see Paragraphs 0029-0035, 0068, and 0074-0075).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the third party payment processor of Low with the system of Carter in view of Low in order to attain the advantage of making it easier for prospective consumer to conduct secure transactions through a TV (see Low, Paragraph 0006).
Referring to claim 3, Low discloses the at least one physical processor is configured to initiate at least a first transaction with the first third-party payment processing service and a second transaction with the second third-party payment processing service (see Fig. 2 and Paragraphs 0031, 0105, and 0167).
Referring to claim 4, Carter in view of Low discloses the interactive shopping overlay is presented on the client device in which the interactive shopping overlay presents content in synchronization with a video player layer that presents video content of the video as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Carter in view of Low is unclear as to the use of a single page application (“SPA”).
Official Notice is taken that the use of SPA in web documents is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carter in view of Low to use SPA in order to enhance the speed of the user experience and also consume less resources at the server through an efficient API.
Referring to claim 5, Carter discloses the one or more transactions are initiated and completed without redirecting a browser or application operating on the client device away from presentation of the video as seen in the rejection of claim 1. Low additionally discloses this concept as seen in Figs. 2-6.
Referring to claims 6 and 7, Carter in view of Low discloses identifying the one or more items as items for purchase in the one or more transactions as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Carter in view of Low is unclear as to use of a cookie including a session or user identifier obtained from the client device.
Official Notice is taken that the user of a cookie including a session or user identifier obtained from the client device is notoriously well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carter in view of Low to use cookies including a session or user identifier obtained from the client device in order to take advantage of the capabilities of a widely used feature of the widely used HTTP protocol.
Referring to claim 8, Carter discloses the video comprises a live stream broadcast comprising live video captured by a video camera of a streamer device, where frames of the live video are uploaded from the streamer device to a video hosting platform substantially in real time as the frames are captured by the video camera, and wherein the client device accesses the live stream broadcast from the video hosting platform (see Fig. 2 and Paragraphs 0054-55, 0060-0061, 0097-0098, and 0119-0120 for disclosing the video is a live event/stream broadcast comprising live video captured by a video camera of a streamer device (interpreted as a video camera, which is necessary for the capturing and video streaming/broadcasting of a baseball game in live/in real time), where video (i.e., frames) of live video are uploaded from the capture/camera/streamer device to a video hosting platform (e.g., server/IWE/application platforms 200/205) and wherein the client device 210 access the live stream broadcast from the server/IWE).
Claims 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2, further noting Carter in view of Low discloses the method performed by the computer system seen in the rejection of claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Referring to claim 21, Low discloses the one or more items comprise a digital content item (see Paragraph 0029), the method further comprising causing the digital content item to be delivered to the client device after purchase via the interactive shopping overlay (as seen in the rejection above, further noting Paragraph 0021 discloses delivering the digital merchandise).
Claims 9-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al (hereinafter Carter) US 20150026728 in view of Low et al (hereinafter Low) US 20120239529, and further in view of Burbank et al (hereinafter Burbank) US 20200196018.
Referring to claim 9, Carter in view of Low discloses the one or more transactions are initiated as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Carter in view of Low is unclear as to initiating a transaction based at least in part on processing a vocal utterance of the user of the client device, wherein the vocal utterance matches a predetermined phrase previously configured to trigger a product purchase action.
Burbank discloses initiating a transaction based at least in part on processing a vocal utterance of the user of the client device, wherein the vocal utterance matches a predetermined phrase previously configured to trigger a product purchase action (see Paragraphs 0011-0012 and 0035-0040).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the vocal commands of Burbank with the system of Carter in view of Low in order to attain the desirable solution for enabling a user to conveniently purchase a good or service associated with a given media content segment (see Burbank, Paragraph 0035).
Referring to claim 10, Carter in view of Low, and further in view of Burbank discloses the vocal utterance is determined to match the predetermined phrase by code associated with the interactive shopping overlay, executed on the client device, that is configured to identify the predetermined phrase in audio data based on a sound signature (see Paragraphs 0060-0061).
Referring to claim 11, Burbank discloses the vocal utterance is determined to match the predetermined phrase at least in part by the computer system applying speech-to-text functionality with respect to audio data received from the client device (see Paragraphs 0060-0061).
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS T CORBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
09/23/2025