Claim Status
Pending claims 1-16 are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the mixture" in line 1. As dependent of claim 8, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 10. Only claim 9 defines “a mixture”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jesclard (US20100025054).
Regarding claim 1, Jesclard discloses a fire suppression apparatus (figs. 6-8 showing pouches 214, par. 61-62; or figs. 1-5 showing pockets 109 with fire suppressant compound, par. 41) comprising:
a flexible container (109 in figs. 1 and 5, par. 42; or pouch 214 or inner layer 217; fig. 8; par. 62);
a fire suppression composition (fire suppression compound 211); the flexible container comprising an internal compartment (interior space of 217; see fig. 8) to enclose the fire suppression composition (211); and
the flexible container being configured to tear or puncture at a predetermined pressure so as to release the fire suppression composition (par. 42: “the shell should tear under a ballistic impact, to release such fire suppressant”; par. 61: “A dribble effect may be defined as when a hole is formed in a pocket (e.g. by small-caliber fire), and the fire suppression compound slowly pours out”).
Regarding claim 2, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flexible container comprises a top wall (top wall 217) and a bottom wall (bottom wall 217), and the internal compartment is formed by attaching the top wall and the bottom wall together (see annotation on fig. 8 of Jesclard).
Regarding claim 4, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flexible container is made of plastic (par. 62: “illustrated and exemplary pouch 214 includes 2 mil polyethylene (PE) on the inside layer 217 and 2 mil polyethylene terephalate (PET) on the outside layer 220. The two plastic materials can be joined together, the pouch 214 is made”).
Regarding claim 5, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flexible container has a rectangular shape (see rectangular shape of the pockets 109 in figs. 1, 5-6).
Regarding claim 6, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a thickness of the flexible container is less than one inch (par. 62: “illustrated and exemplary pouch 214 includes 2 mil polyethylene (PE) on the inside layer 217 and 2 mil polyethylene terephalate (PET) on the outside layer 220”; where “2 mil” represents thickness measurement of 0.002 inches of the respective PE and PET film. The quoted description indicates: 1) the flexible container formed by inner layer 217 is 0.004 inches with top and bottom layers combined; or 2) the flexible container 214 with two layers of each 217 and 220 is 0.008 inches; both of which are less than one inch).
Regarding claim 7, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising at least one additional flexible containers (fig. 8 shows one inner layer 217 previously cited as the flexible container in claim 1. Jesclard further shows an additional top and bottom layers 220 corresponding to additional flexible container).
Regarding claim 8, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fire suppression composition is non-toxic (par. 60: “Operable fire-fighting compounds or agents that may be incorporated into a fire suppression blanket nonexclusively include: …, sodium bicarbonate, potassium bicarbonate”, both of which are non-toxic known to be baking soda and its substitute).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jesclard (US20100025054) in view of Zeik (US 20060008601).
Regarding claim 3, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach the internal compartment is vacuum sealed.
Zeik discloses that it is known in today’s market that many products are packaged in sealed containers using vacuum packing (par. 3). The vacuum packing works by reducing gas present in the headspace of a container and in turn reduces the extent to which the product oxidizes and degrades before reaching the consumer (par. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jesclard to incorporate the teachings of Zeik to provide the internal compartment of Jesclard vacuum sealed. Doing so would yield the predictable result of reducing oxidation and degradation of the product before use (See Paragraph 3-4).
Claims(s) 9-11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jesclard (US20100025054) in view of Langselius (WO2022055840).
Regarding claim 9, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach the fire suppression composition comprises a mixture of vinegar, baking soda, and dish soap.
However, Langselius discloses flame retardant and fire extinguishing compositions for preventing and fighting fire in certain materials (Abstract). Langselius discloses on page 8, lines 12-15: “compositions comprising: a surfactant; an inorganic salt; and organic acid;…”. More specifically, Page 8, line 31 indicates “surfactant comprises a soap”; Page 11, line 27 and page 12 line 19 indicates “inorganic salt includes…sodium bicarbonate” (i.e. baking soda); and Page 18, line 32 indicates “the organic acid includes…acetic acid” (i.e. vinegar). Langselius further discloses that the compositions have the intended benefits of binding to a variety of surfaces so that extinguished surfaces cannot reignite during firefighting, products that can be stored in a ready-to-use format over a much longer period of time, and to reduce the environmental impact of firefighting while offering a significant cooling effect (page 3, lines 22-29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jesclard to incorporate the teachings of Langselius to provide the fire suppression composition comprising a mixture of vinegar, baking soda, and dish soap. Doing so would provide for the compositions have the benefits of binding to a variety of surfaces so that extinguished surfaces cannot reignite during firefighting, products that can be stored in a ready-to-use format over a much longer period of time, and to reduce the environmental impact of firefighting while offering a significant cooling effect (page 3, lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 10, Jesclard discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 8, but fails to teach the mixture further comprises sodium chloride.
However, Langselius discloses flame retardant and fire extinguishing compositions for preventing and fighting fire in certain materials (Abstract). Langselius discloses on page 8, lines 12-15: “compositions comprising: a surfactant; an inorganic salt; and organic acid;…”. More specifically, Page 11, line 27 and page 12 line 20 indicates “inorganic salt includes…sodium chloride”. Langselius further discloses that the compositions have the benefits of binding to a variety of surfaces so that extinguished surfaces cannot reignite during firefighting, products that can be stored in a ready-to-use format over a much longer period of time, and to reduce the environmental impact of firefighting while offering a significant cooling effect (page 3, lines 22-29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jesclard to incorporate the teachings of Langselius to provide the fire suppression composition comprising a mixture of vinegar, baking soda, and dish soap. Doing so would provide for the compositions have the benefits of binding to a variety of surfaces so that extinguished surfaces cannot reignite during firefighting, products that can be stored in a ready-to-use format over a much longer period of time, and to reduce the environmental impact of firefighting while offering a significant cooling effect (page 3, lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 11, Jesclard discloses a fire suppression apparatus (figs. 6-8 showing pouches 214, par. 61-62; or figs. 1-5 showing pockets 109 with fire suppressant compound, par. 41) comprising:
a flexible container (109 in figs. 1 and 5, par. 42; or pouch 214 or inner layer 217; fig. 8; par. 62);
a fire suppression composition (fire suppression compound 211); the flexible container comprising an internal compartment (interior space of 217; see fig. 8) to enclose the fire suppression composition (211);
the flexible container comprises a top wall (top wall 217) and a bottom wall (bottom wall 217), and the internal compartment is formed by attaching the top wall and the bottom wall together (see annotation on fig. 8 of Jesclard); and
the flexible container being configured to tear or puncture at a predetermined pressure so as to release the fire suppression composition (par. 42: “the shell should tear under a ballistic impact, to release such fire suppressant”; par. 61: “A dribble effect may be defined as when a hole is formed in a pocket (e.g. by small-caliber fire), and the fire suppression compound slowly pours out”).
Jesclard fails to teach the fire suppression composition comprising a mixture of vinegar, baking soda, dish soap, and sodium chloride.
However, Langselius discloses flame retardant and fire extinguishing compositions for preventing and fighting fire in certain materials (Abstract). Langselius discloses on page 8, lines 12-15: “compositions comprising: a surfactant; an inorganic salt; and organic acid;…”. More specifically, Page 8, line 31 indicates “surfactant comprises a soap”; Page 11, line 27 and page 12 line 19-20 indicates “inorganic salt includes…sodium bicarbonate…, sodium chloride” (sodium bicarbonate is baking soda); and Page 18, line 32 indicates “the organic acid includes…acetic acid” (i.e. vinegar). Langselius further discloses that the compositions have the benefits of binding to a variety of surfaces so that extinguished surfaces cannot reignite during firefighting, products that can be stored in a ready-to-use format over a much longer period of time, and to reduce the environmental impact of firefighting while offering a significant cooling effect (page 3, lines 22-29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jesclard to incorporate the teachings of Langselius to provide the fire suppression composition comprising a mixture of vinegar, baking soda, dish soap, and sodium chloride. Doing so would provide for the compositions have the benefits of binding to a variety of surfaces so that extinguished surfaces cannot reignite during firefighting, products that can be stored in a ready-to-use format over a much longer period of time, and to reduce the environmental impact of firefighting while offering a significant cooling effect (page 3, lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 16, Jesclard, as modified above, discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein the fire suppression composition is non-toxic (Langselius, page 7, lines 9-11: “These features may render the disclosed compositions safe for the environment as compared to other commonly used fire prevention and firefighting products.”).
Claims 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jesclard (US20100025054) in view of Langselius (WO2022055840), further in view of Zeik (US 20060008601).
Regarding claim 12, Jesclard, as modified above, discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 11, but fails to teach the internal compartment is vacuum sealed.
Zeik discloses that it is known in today’s market that many products are packaged in sealed containers using vacuum packing (par. 3). The vacuum packing works by reducing gas present in the headspace of a container and in turn reduces the extent to which the product oxidizes and degrades before reaching the consumer (par. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jesclard to incorporate the teachings of Zeik to provide the internal compartment of Jesclard vacuum sealed. Doing so would yield the predictable result of reducing oxidation and degradation of the product before use (See Paragraph 3-4).
Regarding claim 13, Jesclard, as modified above, discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein Jesclard further discloses the flexible container is made of plastic (par. 62: “illustrated and exemplary pouch 214 includes 2 mil polyethylene (PE) on the inside layer 217 and 2 mil polyethylene terephalate (PET) on the outside layer 220. The two plastic materials can be joined together, the pouch 214 is made”).
Regarding claim 14, Jesclard, as modified above, discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein Jesclard further discloses the flexible container has a rectangular shape (see rectangular shape of the pockets 109 in figs. 1, 5-6).
Regarding claim 15, Jesclard, as modified above, discloses the fire suppression apparatus as claimed in claim 14, Jesclard further discloses a thickness of the flexible container is less than one inch (par. 62: “illustrated and exemplary pouch 214 includes 2 mil polyethylene (PE) on the inside layer 217 and 2 mil polyethylene terephalate (PET) on the outside layer 220”; where “2 mil” represents thickness measurement of 0.002 inches of the respective PE and PET film. The quoted description indicates: 1) the flexible container formed by inner layer 217 is 0.004 inches with top and bottom layers combined; or 2) the flexible container 214 with two layers of each 217 and 220 is 0.008 inches; both of which are less than one inch).
Conclusion
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752