DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 3/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/24/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two sets of signals supplied at two separate periods of time wherein the second set of signals have one or more frequencies, pulse widths and amplitudes less that corresponding features of the first set of signals at the first predetermined period of time and the ramping down of one or both sets of signals according to the claim language of Claims 3-5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Fig.9 is currently believed to be the closets figure to the claimed invention but only shows one signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 3, Applicant claims “at least one medical lead and one or more electrodes”. It is unclear if the “one or more electrodes” are part of the “at least one stimulation electrode” of Claim1 or if it is different. It is unclear exactly how many electrode are being claimed within the scope of Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 5, Applicant claims “generating first electrical stimulation signals” and “generating second electrical stimulation signals”. Applicant then claims “as one or more of the frequencies, pulse widths, and amplitudes of the electrical stimulation signals provided to the patient…”. It is unclear if “the stimulation signals” are referring to the first stimulation signals, the second stimulation signals or both the first and second stimulation signals.
Additionally, Claim 5 includes the step of “continue to be successively reduced”. However, there is not a previous mention of successively reducing any stimulation signal so it is unclear what this step is a continuation of. It is further unclear what signal (the first, second or both) is being reduced and when the initial reduction is supposed to take place so that the step of continuing to reduce the signal can occur as claimed. For the purposes of examination, the Claims will be interpreted as a set of stimulation signals that can start at a high value and be ramped down over time (see Fig. 9 for an example of a single signal that can be successively reduced). Appropriate clarification and/or correction is respectfully requested.
Claim 6 states “is further configured to provide, on the basis of the frequency, pulse width, and amplitude parameters determined to be associated with reduced or lost efficacy in treating the one or more gastrointestinal disorders of the patient, generating and providing to the patient chronic electrical stimulation signals…”. This limitation is confusing and awkwardly worded. It is also unclear which signals are being referred to with “the frequency, pulse width, and amplitude parameters”. Is it for the first signals only, second signals only or both?
Claim 20 sets forth “the method further comprises one or more GPOEM steps, techniques or methods.” Applicant has not firs set forth the full name of the acronym GPOEM. It is also unclear what steps this would include and how said steps would integrate with the already claimed method. The metes and bounds are unclear. Applicant is essentially setting forth the use of a process “without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced” (see MPEP §2173.05(q)).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected due to their dependence on indefinite Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Starkebaum et al. (2011/0071589).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Starkebaum discloses implanting a gastric stimulator 12 having a stimulation module 28 and stimulation electrodes 24, 26 operably connected thereto via leads 18-20 (Fig. 1, 2) for delivering stimulation. Starkebaum further disclose endoscopically implanting portions of the system (such as leads 18, 20) in submucosal layer (par. [0075]). The Examiner notes the language “configured to fit within a first space…”; “configured to be advanced into the first space”; and “configured to be implanted in at least a portion of the second space…” are all intended use limitations. The Examiner notes a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Starkebaum discloses the claimed structure and therefore the Examiner contends the structure is equally capable of the claimed function. If there are other structural details that make these functions possible, the Examiner suggests positively reciting such structural features to overcome the current interpretation.
In regard to Claims 8 and 11, Starkebaum discloses containing the stimulation module 28 in the housing and having one electrode formed on the housing (par. [0075-0076]).
With regard to Claims 9 and 19, Starkebaum discloses electrical stimulation electronics and a power source therein ( see elements 28-36 in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Starkebaum discloses a telemetry interface 34 that wirelessly connects to programmer 14 (Fig. 2).
In regard to Claim 13, Starkebaum discloses an embodiment where leads 18, 20 have multiple electrodes 56A-E (Fig. 4B).
With regard to Claims 14 and 15, Starkebaum discloses using unipolar, bipolar or multi-polar configurations sing the leads (par. [0063]), wherein bipolar and multi-polar configurations involve at least one electrode being a return electrode.
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Starkebaum discloses anchoring the device with fixation members such as tines (barbs) helical structures, etc. (par. [0079]).
Claims 1, 12, 13, 16, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bitton et al. (2008/0065168).
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Bitton discloses an ingestible, temporary stimulator 30 that is configured to be set within an ingestible capsule 34 that can be guided with an endoscope and secured with a tine (hook) (Fig. 1A-C, 4A; par. [0179-0180, 0204]). The device is configured to treat obesity such as by increasing feelings of satiety (par. [0002, 0039]) by applying electrical signals to electrodes 38. The Examiner notes the language “configured to fit within a first space…”; “configured to be advanced into the first space”; and “configured to be implanted in at least a portion of the second space…” are all intended use limitations. The Examiner notes a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Starkebaum discloses the claimed structure and therefore the Examiner contends the structure is equally capable of the claimed function. If there are other structural details that make these functions possible, the Examiner suggests positively reciting such structural features to overcome the current interpretation.
Regarding Claims 12, 13, 16 and 21, Bitton discloses leads 37, 40 are configured to dissolve after a time so that the stimulator can safely pass through the digestive tract after use (par. [0139, 0183]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starkebaum et al. (2011/0071589).
Regarding Claims 2 and 4, Starkebaum discloses applying signals to the electrodes, the signals having frequencies ranging from 0.5 Hz to 40 Hz (par. [0011, 0124]); pulse widths ranging from 0.5 milliseconds to 20 milliseconds; and amplitudes from 1 to 25 milliamps (par. [0124]). Starkebaum does not disclose the exact parameters ranges of frequencies between 2-120 Hz; pulse widths of 100 microseconds to 10 milliseconds; or amplitudes between 0.1mA and 20 mA. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to use values in these ranges, since it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90.
With regard to Claim 3, Starkebaum further discloses applying multiple signals, wherein a first signal in a first time has a greater amplitude than a second signal in a second time (see PW7, PW8 in Fig. 6B).
In regard to Claims 5 and 6, Starkebaum discloses using a processor to adjust stimulation parameters to maintain optimal parameters/promote efficacy (par. [0082, 0102, 0105]). These adjustments can be increased values or decreased values. The claims recite intended use limitations of the stimulator and the Examiner notes Starkebaum is capable of performing these adjustments to parameters due to its closed loop nature and programmability.
Regarding Claim 7, Starkebaum discloses providing earl satiety to treat obesity (par. [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Torgerson (2019/0099601), Dobak (US Patent 7,937,145).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796