Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Binder (US 2014/0222436).
Regarding Claim 1:
Binder discloses a first device (Binder: Fig. 1 104b) comprising:
one or more processors (Binder: Fig. 2 204); and
one or more computer-readable media storing instructions (Binder: Fig. 2 250 memory) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving first audio data representing user speech (Binder: ¶[0013] discloses receiving sound input corresponding to spoken utterance of a user);
performing speech recognition on the first audio data to identify a predefined utterance (Binder: ¶[0007], ¶[0113], discloses detecting trigger sounds by recognizing predefined trigger phrases through pattern matching representations);
establishing, at least partly in response to identifying the predefined utterance, a communication channel with a second device residing in a same environment as the first device (Binder: ¶[0138]-[0139] discloses after trigger detection the device initializes/maintains an active communication link with an external audio system located with the user (same environment));
receiving second audio data representing user speech (Binder: ¶[0020] discloses after the trigger phrase is recognized the assistance wakes, and the user provides follow on speech); and
sending at least a portion of the second audio data to the second device (Binder: ¶[0138] teaches establishing the audio link to an external device and then using it for subsequent audio handling).
Regarding Claim 7:
Binder further discloses the first device as recited in claim 1, further comprising one or more microphones, and the operations further comprising generating the first audio data representing the user speech using the one or more microphones of the first device (Binder: ¶[0053] discloses generating/receiving sound input through microphones and processes it through the audio subsystem).
Regarding Claim 15:
Claim 15 has been analyzed with regard to claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 2-6, 8-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder (US 2014/0222436) in view of Wernaers (US 2014/0162555).
Regarding Claim 2:
Binder further discloses the first device as recited in claim 1, except the operations further comprising closing the communication channel to stop sending the second audio data to the second device. However, Wernaers discloses closing the communication channel to stop sending the second audio data to the second device (Wernaers: ¶[0053] the communication channel is the Bluetooth radio link used to send sampled voice to the receiver, transmission may be halted over that link so no more packets containing the voice/sampled speech are sent).
Binder and Wernaers are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, speech and natural language processing, e.g., both disclose methods for monitoring and transmitting speech samples to electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose closing communication between two devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is: “embodiments of the invention aim at improving the way of reducing the energy consumption of a device using a Bluetooth RTM radio link connection” as disclosed in ¶[0010] of Wernaers.
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Binder and Wernaers further discloses the first device as recited in claim 2, the operations further comprising determining that a portion of the second audio data does not include user speech, and wherein the closing comprises closing the communication channel at least partly in response to determining that the portion of the second audio data does not include user speech. (Binder: ¶[0138] discloses that silence or irrelevant noise is ignored and an active audio link is not created until the trigger word is verified; Wernaers: ¶[0053]-[0055], ¶[0057], ¶[0059] explicitly detects when the sampled voice signal contains non-speech (silence) and halts transmission in response to that determination which meets “does not include user speech” and “closing in response”).
Binder and Wernaers are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, speech and natural language processing, e.g., both disclose methods for monitoring and transmitting speech samples to electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose closing communication between two devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is: “embodiments of the invention aim at improving the way of reducing the energy consumption of a device using a Bluetooth RTM radio link connection” as disclosed in ¶[0010] of Wernaers.
Regarding Claim 4:
Binder and Wernaer’s further discloses the first device as recited in claim 2, further comprising identifying a context in which the predefined utterance was used in the user speech (Binder: ¶[0128] and ¶[0131] explicitly identifies context (orientation, enclosed space, time of day, driving etc.) and uses it to select modes/behavior of the trigger).
Regarding Claim 5:
Binder and Wernaer’s further discloses the first device as recited in claim 1, further comprising a transmitter, and wherein establishing the communication channel with the second device comprises activating the transmitter of the first device (Wernaer’s: ¶[0018] discloses Bluetooth transmission, i.e., a transmitter as claimed; ¶[0027] and ¶[0070] discloses a communication channel for sending voice packets is realized by the Bluetooth radio link, this is effectively activating the transmitter to establish/commence the active communication channel used to send the audio).
Binder and Wernaers are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, speech and natural language processing, e.g., both disclose methods for monitoring and transmitting speech samples to electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose activating a transmitter of the device in order to send speech data to the other device. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is: “embodiments of the invention aim at improving the way of reducing the energy consumption of a device using a Bluetooth RTM radio link connection” as disclosed in ¶[0010] of Wernaers, i.e., only, when necessary, may the transmitter be activated.
Regarding Claim 6:
Binder and Wernaer’s further discloses the first device as recited in claim 1, further comprising a transmitter, and wherein closing the communication channel to stop sending the second audio data to the second device comprises deactivating the transmitter of the first device (Binder: ¶[0014] and ¶[0085] disclose stopping voice transmission and turning off transmitter side components as a power-saving consequence. This means transmission functions are closed which is substantively “deactivating the transmitter”).
Binder and Wernaers are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, speech and natural language processing, e.g., both disclose methods for monitoring and transmitting speech samples to electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose deactivating a transmitter of a first device. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is: “embodiments of the invention aim at improving the way of reducing the energy consumption of a device using a Bluetooth RTM radio link connection” as disclosed in ¶[0010] of Wernaers.
Regarding Claim 8:
Binder and Wernaer’s further discloses the first device as recited in claim 1, the operations further comprising:
determining that an additional portion of the second audio data ceases representing the user speech (Binder: ¶[0110]-[0111] discloses detecting that the stream is no longer speech (or no longer meets threshold) and changing state accordingly); and
refraining from sending the additional portion of the second audio data to the second device (Wernaers: ¶[0057] discloses that speech (i.e., silence is detected) and the system then stops sending additional sampled voice packets over the link).
Binder and Wernaers are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, speech and natural language processing, e.g., both disclose methods for monitoring and transmitting speech samples to electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose deactivating a transmitter of a first device. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is: “embodiments of the invention aim at improving the way of reducing the energy consumption of a device using a Bluetooth RTM radio link connection” as disclosed in ¶[0010] of Wernaers.
Regarding Claim 9:
Binder discloses a first device comprising:
receiving first audio data representing user speech (Binder: ¶[0013] discloses receiving sound input corresponding to spoken utterance of a user);
performing speech recognition on the first audio data to identify a predefined utterance (Binder: ¶[0007], ¶[0113], discloses detecting trigger sounds by recognizing predefined trigger phrases through pattern matching representations);
establishing, at least partly in response to identifying the predefined utterance, a communication channel with a second device residing in a same environment as the first device (Binder: ¶[0138]-[0139] discloses after trigger detection the device initializes/maintains an active communication link with an external audio system located with the user (same environment));
receiving second audio data representing user speech (Binder: ¶[0020] discloses after the trigger phrase is recognized the assistance wakes, and the user provides follow on speech); and
sending at least a portion of the second audio data to the second device(Binder: ¶[0138] teaches establishing the audio link to an external device and then using it for subsequent audio handling).
Binder fails to teach closing the communication channel to stop sending the second audio data to the second device.
However, Wernaers discloses closing the communication channel to stop sending the second audio data to the second device (Wernaers: ¶[0053] the communication channel is the Bluetooth radio link used to send sampled voice to the receiver, transmission may be halted over that link so no more packets containing the voice/sampled speech are sent).
Binder and Wernaers are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, speech and natural language processing, e.g., both disclose methods for monitoring and transmitting speech samples to electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose closing communication between two devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is: “embodiments of the invention aim at improving the way of reducing the energy consumption of a device using a Bluetooth RTM radio link connection” as disclosed in ¶[0010] of Wernaers.
Regarding Claim 10:
Claim 10 has been analyzed with regard to claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above.
Regarding Claim 11:
Claim 11 has been analyzed with regard to claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above.
Regarding Claim 12:
Claim 12 has been analyzed with regard to claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above.
Regarding Claim 13:
Claim 13 has been analyzed with regard to claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above.
Regarding Claim 14:
Claim 14 has been analyzed with regard to claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above.
Regarding Claim 16:
Claim 16 has been analyzed with regard to claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above.
Regarding Claim 17:
Claim 17 has been analyzed with regard to claim 9, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness used above. It is noted that Binder discloses one or more processors and computer readable medium in Figs. 1 and 2.
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Binder and Wernaers further discloses the first device as recited in claim 17, wherein establishing the communication channel with the second device is based at least in part on identifying the predefined utterance (Binder: ¶[0011] discloses trigger words being identified by the device).
Regarding Claim 19:
The combination of Binder and Wernaers further discloses the first device as recited in claim 18, the operations further comprising analyzing, at least partly before establishing the communication channel with the second device, the predefined utterance to determine whether the predefined utterance is valid (Binder: ¶[0011] discloses using predetermined conditions and thresholds to verify a word was spoken).
Regarding Claim 20
The combination of Binder and Wernaers further discloses the first device as recited in claim 17, further comprising:
determining that an additional portion of the audio data ceases representing the user speech (Binder: ¶[0110]-[0111] discloses detecting that the stream is no longer speech (or no longer meets threshold) and changing state accordingly); and
refraining from sending the additional portion of the audio data to the second electronic device (Wernaers: ¶[0057] discloses that speech (i.e., silence is detected) and the system then stops sending additional sampled voice packets over the link).
Binder and Wernaers are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, speech and natural language processing, e.g., both disclose methods for monitoring and transmitting speech samples to electronic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose closing communication between two devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so is: “embodiments of the invention aim at improving the way of reducing the energy consumption of a device using a Bluetooth RTM radio link connection” as disclosed in ¶[0010] of Wernaers.
Conclusion
/IAN SCOTT MCLEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654