Detailed Action
This application is a divisional application of US application 16/625342, now US patent 11993627, filed December 20, 2019, which is a national stage application of PCT/US2018/040774, filed July 3, 2018, which claims benefit of provisional application 62/528243, filed July 3, 2017. Claims 1-13 are pending in this application and examined on the merits herein. Applicant’s preliminary amendment submitted August 14, 2024, is acknowledged wherein claims 3-13 are amended and claims 14-22 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Additionally, claim 12 includes the chemical abbreviation NHFTA, which is not clearly defined in the claim or specification. This is likely a typographical error and was intended to be NHTFA, which refers to trifluoroacetamide.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 12 depends from claim 1, which describes a method of making a synthetic chondroitin sulfate oligosaccharide This oligosaccharide must by necessity be sulfated. However, claim 12 defines the oligosaccharide in terms of one of a number of structures. In particular, the pentasaccharide structure includes embodiments wherein R1=R2=H, which are not sulfated. Therefore claim 12 fails to include all the limitations of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiura et al. (Reference included with PTO-892)
Independent claim 1 is directed to a method of synthesizing a chondroitin sulfate comprising providing a chondroitin backbone, performing elongation steps using KfoC, and/or sulfation using chondroitin sulfate sulfotransferases and PAPS to produce a synthetic chondroitin sulfate oligosaccharide. Dependent claims 3 and 4 require three or four different enzymatic steps. Claims 5, 8, and 9 define the CS oligosaccharide as homogeneous, structurally defined, and unnatural. Claims 6 and 7 specify the length of the oligosaccharide.
Sugiura et al. discloses a library of chondroitin sulfate oligosaccharides having specifically defined length and sulfation patterns, for the study of the molecular interactions of CS. (p. 43391 left column last paragraph – right column first paragraph) The library was constructed by the polymerization of glucuronic acid and N-acetylgalactosamine saccharides onto a chondroitin backbone using the enzyme K4CP, which is the chondroitin polymerase from E. coli K4. (p. 43392 left column last paragraph, see also abbreviations at the bottom of p. 43390, establishing that K4CP is an abbreviation for the same E. coli K4 polymerase recited in the present claims) The backbone was then sulfated using Chondroitin-4-sulfotransferase and chondroitin-6-sulfotransferase enzymes and the sulfate donor PAPS, to form the final oligosaccharides. (p. 43392 right column first paragraph) performing this synthesis using all of these enzymatic steps (see also figure 1 on p. 43394) would anticipate the process of present claims 1 and 3-5. Furthermore because the structures are described as chemically defined the process would anticipate present claim 9. Regarding claim 11, CSA, CSC, CSD, and CSE are all synthesized. (p. 43393 table 1) According to figure 1a on p. 43394, unnatural trisulfated CS is also synthesized.
For these reasons Sugiura et al. anticipates the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura et al. (Reference included with PTO-892) as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, and 11, further in view of Belot et al. (Reference included with PTO-892)
The disclosure of Sugiura et al. is discussed above. Sugiura et al. does not specifically disclose a method of making a substantially homogeneous oligosaccharide or an oligosaccharide having the specific length recited in present claims 6-7, or the specific structure recited in present claim 12.
Belot et al. discloses that there is a need to make precisely chemically defined chondroitin sulfate oligosaccharides for the study of the various biological activities of these molecules. (p. 88 right column first paragraph) Specific oligosaccharides synthesized include 4-O- and 6-O- sulfated oligosaccharides. (p. 89 figure 1) The 6-O-slufated product would furthermore infringe the embodiment of claim 12 wherein R1=sulfate, R2=H, and R3=NHAc, and a process of producing it by making the backbone and then adding sulfates with a sulfotransferase would infringe the embodiment wherein R1=R2=H and R3=NHAc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use chemoenzymatic synthesis as described by Sugiura et al. to produce a homogeneous sample of the specific oligosaccharide recited by Belot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Belot as describing a need to make oligosaccharides such as pentasaccharides for the study of the biological activities of chondroitin sulfate, and furthermore would have seen Sugiura as providing a method for reliably making chemically defined oligosaccharides which would be reasonably expected to be useful for making such oligosaccharides.
Regarding claim 10, while the cited references do not specifically describe making a particular amount of oligosaccharide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make any arbitrarily large amount of the pentasaccharide described by Belit et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Belot as indicating that these oligosaccharides are useful for studying the biological activities of CS and would have been motivated to make as much as is necessary to carry out any relevant experiments for which they are required.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claims 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiura et al. (Reference included with PTO-892) as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, and 11, further in view of Matsumoto et al. (Reference included with PTO-892)
The disclosure of Sugiura et al. is discussed above. Sugiura et al. does not specifically disclose a method of making a substantially homogeneous oligosaccharide or an oligosaccharide having the specific length recited in present claims 6-7.
However, Matsumoto et al. discloses a chemically synthesized hexasaccharide fragment of chondroitin sulfate E. (p. 755 left column second and third paragraphs, also figure 1) This hexasaccharide was also administered to an animal model of rheumatoid arthritis. (p. 544 sections 2.4-2.7) The hexasaccharide was seen to inhibit the severity of RA in treated mice. (p. 758 left column first paragraph)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use chemoenzymatic synthesis as described by Sugiura et al. to produce a homogeneous sample of the specific oligosaccharide recited by Matsumoto et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Matsumoto as describing a need to make oligosaccharides such as the disclosed hexasaccharide as a therapeutic agent for rheumatoid arthritis, and furthermore would have seen Sugiura as providing a method for reliably making chemically defined oligosaccharides which would be reasonably expected to be useful for making such oligosaccharides.
Regarding claim 10, while the cited references do not specifically describe making a particular amount of oligosaccharide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make any arbitrarily large amount of the oligosaccharide described by Matsumoto et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Matsumoto as indicating that these oligosaccharides are useful for studying the biological activities of CS and would have been motivated to make as much as is necessary to carry out any relevant experiments for which they are required.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11633424 (Cited in PTO-892, herein referred to as ‘424) in view of Sugiura et al. (Reference included with PTO-892).
Claim 1 of ‘424 claims a method of treating histone toxicity in a subject comprising administering to the subject a chondroitin sulfate having a specifically defined backbone, length, and sulfation pattern, being a 19-mer or 13-mer. Dependent claim 4 further defines the oligosaccharide as having the same structure as recited in present claim 13.
The claims of ‘424 do not claim a method of making said oligosaccharides comprising the same steps recited in present claims 1 and 3-4. However, as discussed previously under 35 USC 102 and 103, Sugiura et al. does disclose such a process for making CS oligosaccharides.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use chemoenzymatic synthesis as described by Sugiura et al. to produce a homogeneous sample of one of the specific therapeutic CS oligosaccharides used in the method claimed by ‘424. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the claimed method of ‘424 as providing a need to make the disclosed oligosaccharides as a therapeutic agent for histone toxicity, and furthermore would have seen Sugiura as providing a method for reliably making chemically defined oligosaccharides which would be reasonably expected to be useful for making such oligosaccharides.
Regarding claim 10, while the cited references do not specifically describe making a particular amount of oligosaccharide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make any arbitrarily large amount of the oligosaccharide used in the claimed method of ‘424. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the claims of ‘424 as indicating that these oligosaccharides are useful for studying the biological activities of CS and would have been motivated to make as much as is necessary to carry out any relevant experiments for which they are required.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected. Claim 2 is objected to for depending from a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form incorporating all the limitations of the rejected base claim and any intervening claims.
/ANDREA OLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693 9/1/2026