DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 7/31/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagarajan et al (US 2022/0386373 A1) in view of Elkotby et al (US 2024/0284456 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thyagarajan teaches a method for monitoring a control channel, characterized in that the method comprises:
receiving a power saving signal from a network device wherein the power saving signal is used to determine a monitoring mode for the control channel (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Thyagarajan does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering.
Elkotby teaches wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode (Elkotby: Figs. 4, 10, [0133] coding of ULP signal LP-WUS/power saving signal different from coding scheme of legacy signal, i.e. PDCCH; [0378[-[0383], LP-WUS signal/power saving signal used to determine monitoring mode of legacy PDCCH) and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering (Elkotby: [0134] feedback using backscattering).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Thyagarajan wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering as disclosed by Elkotby to provide a system for supporting idle/inactive RRC states paging using ultra-low power receivers (Wang: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Thyagarajan teaches a terminal comprising a wake-up receiver (Thyagarajan: [0087], UE with a wake-up receiver), wherein the wake-up receiver is configured to receive a power saving signal from a network device, wherein the power saving signal is used to determine a monitoring mode for the control channel (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Thyagarajan does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering.
Elkotby teaches wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode (Elkotby: Figs. 4, 10, [0133] coding of ULP signal LP-WUS/power saving signal different from coding scheme of legacy signal, i.e. PDCCH; [0378[-[0383], LP-WUS signal/power saving signal used to determine monitoring mode of legacy PDCCH) and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering (Elkotby: [0134] feedback using backscattering).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Thyagarajan wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering as disclosed by Elkotby to provide a system for supporting idle/inactive RRC states paging using ultra-low power receivers (Wang: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Thyagarajan teaches a network device comprising a transmitter, wherein the transmitter is configured to send a power saving signal to a terminal, wherein the power saving signal is used to determine a monitoring mode for the control channel (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Thyagarajan does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering.
Elkotby teaches wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode (Elkotby: Figs. 4, 10, [0133] coding of ULP signal LP-WUS/power saving signal different from coding scheme of legacy signal, i.e. PDCCH; [0378[-[0383], LP-WUS signal/power saving signal used to determine monitoring mode of legacy PDCCH) and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering (Elkotby: [0134] feedback using backscattering).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Thyagarajan wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering as disclosed by Elkotby to provide a system for supporting idle/inactive RRC states paging using ultra-low power receivers (Wang: Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Thyagarajan teaches a chip comprising a programmable logic circuitry and/or program instructions that, when run by the chip, implement:
receiving a power saving signal from a network device wherein the power saving signal is used to determine a monitoring mode for the control channel (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Thyagarajan does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering.
Elkotby teaches wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode (Elkotby: Figs. 4, 10, [0133] coding of ULP signal LP-WUS/power saving signal different from coding scheme of legacy signal, i.e. PDCCH; [0378[-[0383], LP-WUS signal/power saving signal used to determine monitoring mode of legacy PDCCH) and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering (Elkotby: [0134] feedback using backscattering).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Thyagarajan wherein a transmission parameter of the power saving signal is different from a transmission parameter of the control channel, and the transmission parameter comprises at least one of a waveform, a coding mode or a multiple access mode and the method further comprises: sending a response signal of the power saving signal to the network device through back-scattering as disclosed by Elkotby to provide a system for supporting idle/inactive RRC states paging using ultra-low power receivers (Wang: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 18, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein power saving information carried in the power saving signal indicates at least one of: channel occupation information (Thyagarajan: fig. 3; [0058], [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3); or skipping information of a monitoring occasion for the control channel.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein the power saving information indicates the channel occupation information, and the method further comprises: monitoring the control channel by using a first search space set or a first search space set group according to the power saving information, wherein the first search space set or the first search space set group is a search space set used during a channel occupation time (This limitation is not required to be perform as it depends on an alternative limitation “channel occupation information” of claim 2 that is not selected for rejection. However, Thyagarajan teaches in Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3 for the COT).
Regarding claim 4, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein the monitoring the control channel by using the first search space set or the first search space set group according to the power saving information comprises: determining a remaining channel occupation time according to the power saving information; and monitoring, during the remaining channel occupation time, the control channel by using the first search space set or the first search space set group (This limitation is not required to be perform as it depends on an alternative limitation “channel occupation information” of claim 2 that is not selected for rejection. However, Thyagarajan teaches in Figs. 3-4; [0056]-[0061] switching search space sets in a remaining COT).
Regarding claim 5, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches not monitoring the control channel during a time other than the channel occupation time (This limitation is not required to be perform as it depends on an alternative limitation “channel occupation information” of claim 2 that is not selected for rejection).
Regarding claim 6, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches monitoring the control channel by using a second search space set or a second search space set group during a time other than the channel occupation time (This limitation is not required to be perform as it depends on an alternative limitation “channel occupation information” of claim 2 that is not selected for rejection. However, Thyagarajan teaches in Figs. 3 [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein the power saving information indicates the switching information of the search space set for the control channel or the search space set group for the control channel, and the method further comprises: switching from a third search space set to a fourth search space set according to the power saving information, and monitoring the control channel by using the fourth search space set; or switching from a third search space set group to a fourth search space set group according to the power saving information, and monitoring the control channel by using the fourth search space set group (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein each of the third search space set and the fourth search space set is a search space set among at least two pre-configured search space sets; and each of the third search space set group and the fourth search space set group is a search space set group among at least two pre-configured search space set groups (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein the power saving information indicates not skipping a monitoring time for the control channel; or the power saving information indicates skipping a monitoring time for the control channel; or the power saving information indicates skipping a monitoring time for the control channel and a skipping time (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein a time delay exists between a time of the power saving signal carrying power saving information and an effective time of the monitoring mode for the control channel (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Thyagarajan in view of Wang teaches wherein the power saving information indicates switching from a third search space set to a fourth search space set; or the power saving information indicates switching from a third search space set group to a fourth search space set group (Thyagarajan: Figs. 3-4; [0061], UE receives a trigger to switch to monitoring PDCCH corresponding with search space SS2 with lower granularity to save power, see Fig. 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478