DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 12, 13 and 21-25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter of instant claim 1 (and therefore dependent claims), filed on 12/08/2025 is not properly described in the application as filed. In particular, there was no indication in original specification as filed in paragraph 0033, 0050 and 0051 (where the applicant directed support) that “chemical vapor deposition conditions are atomic layer depositions (ALD) and are plasm free” and therefore raise doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. In fact, the instant specification teaches away from using ALD and specifically provides using chemical vapor deposition wherein reactants are used simultaneously.
Applicants are required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, 13 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei (US 2019/0318925 A1).
Lei discloses a method of depositing a silicon precursor on a substrate comprising providing (equivalent to obtaining) a silicon precursor organoamino disilane precursor material (equivalent to co-reactant precursor), such as
and providing another silicon precursor (equivalent to obtaining and silicon precursor of the instant claims), such as hexamethyldisiloxane compound, (wherein A1-A3 and B1-B3= alkyl=methyl) (reads on silicon precursor of claims 1, 2 and 11-14), volatizing silicon precursor and co-reactant to vapor at temperature of about 700C (reads on temperature limitation of the instant claims 12 and 13) and contacting the substrate with volatizing silicon precursor and co-reactant vapor for forming a silicon-containing film using chemical vapor deposition method, such as PEALD (reads on ALD) (abstract and paragraphs 0051-0057, 0077-0079, 0081-0086, 0089-0147 and claims).
Since the process of chemical vapor deposition of the cited prior art forms silicon-containing film, the conditions of the cited prior art are sufficient and reads on the instant claims.
With regard to the limitation, “wherein the contacting is sufficient---deposition rate ---TEOS control; step coverage--- TEOS control”, since the cited prior art teaches same precursor compound, co-reactant precursor, same contacting conditions, same method as in instant claims, the method of the prior art must be capable of “wherein the contacting is sufficient---deposition rate ---TEOS”; step coverage--- TEOS control”. Further, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000). Additionally, as the cited prior art teaches same precursor compound, co-reactant precursor, same contacting conditions, same method as in instant claims, the method of the prior art must be capable of achieving result of such method compared to the control, whether or not compared by the cited prior art or not “wherein the contacting is sufficient---deposition rate ---TEOS control; step coverage--- TEOS control”. Thus, the cited prior art reads on all limitations of the instant claims.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 12, 13 and 22-25, these claims are anticipated.
Claims 1, 12, 13, 21, 23-25 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei (US 2018/0127592 A1).
Lei discloses a method of depositing a silicon precursor on a substrate comprising providing (equivalent to obtaining) a silicon precursor material (same as the elected species in the instant claims), such as
(wherein compound:
is same as elected species) (reads on silicon precursor of claims 1, 2 and 11-14), and providing another co-reactant precursor material such as N2O, NO, etc., (same as co-reactant precursor of the instant claims) volatizing silicon precursor and co-reactant to vapor at temperature of 600C or higher, such as 800C (reads on temperature limitation of the instant claims 12 and 13) and contacting the substrate with volatizing silicon precursor and co-reactant vapor for forming a silicon-containing film using chemical vapor deposition method (Entire application, especially abstract and paragraphs 0014-0057, 0073-0078, 0083-0104, 0121-0143 and claims).
Since the process of chemical vapor deposition of the cited prior art forms silicon-containing film, the conditions of the cited prior art are sufficient and reads on the instant claims.
With regard to the limitation, “wherein the contacting is sufficient---deposition rate ---TEOS control; step coverage--- TEOS control”, since the cited prior art teaches same precursor compound, co-reactant precursor, same contacting conditions, same method as in instant claims, the method of the prior art must be capable of “wherein the contacting is sufficient---deposition rate ---TEOS”; step coverage--- TEOS control”. Further, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000). Additionally, as the cited prior art teaches same precursor compound, co-reactant precursor, same contacting conditions, same method as in instant claims, the method of the prior art must be capable of achieving result of such method compared to the control, whether or not compared by the cited prior art or not “wherein the contacting is sufficient---deposition rate ---TEOS control; step coverage--- TEOS control”. Thus, the cited prior art reads on all limitations of the instant claims.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 12, 13, 21, 23-25, these claims are anticipated.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks and amendments filed on 12/08/2025 and 01/07/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant argued over Lei (US 2019/0318925 A1).
This is not found persuasive. Applicants’ argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicants didn’t argue over Lei 2018/0127592 A1). Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623