DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 and the following species (but the election requirement for species 3 is hereby withdrawn upon further consideration) in the reply filed on 12/16/25 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search of the inventions would overlap (not persuasive because there would be non-overlapping search requirements sufficient to constitute burden) and that mutual exclusivity of species is not a basis for the imposition (not true, that is the standard for an election of species requirement) and because it is improper to put the burden on applicant to assert the species are patentably indistinct (also not true, species are presumed patentably distinct absent evidence to the contrary).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/16/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliane (U.S. 2017/0141291) in view of Tatemichi (U.S. 2012/0293909) in view of Wu (U.S. 2012/0141757) in view of Connelly (U.S. 4,879,345) in view of Bissinger (U.S. 2018/0257361).
Regarding claims 1-16, Aliane teaches a dielectric coating composition comprising a fluoropolymer corresponding to the elected species (as in claims 3 and 4, [0028]-[0029]) at an amount overlapping claim 5 ([0061]), with a cyclopentanone solvent ([0060], as in the elected species and claims 11-15) that has an amount adjusted to optimize viscosity based on the coating method ([0061], such that it is obvious to optimize the viscosity to within claim 16 based on the applicable coating application method). Aliane does not disclose the claimed vinyl polymer or silicon compound.
However, Tatemichi and/or Wu each independently render obvious the claimed vinyl polymer in a PVDF coating composition. That is, Tatemichi teaches that acrylate polymers (acrylate being a repeating unit as in claims 8-9) may be added to a dielectric PVDF composition to improve temperature dependent dielectric loss (see abstract, [0013], [0031], [0033]) such that it would have been obvious to have added such an acrylate polymer to Aliane (with the amount being obvious to optimize to within claim 10 as part of optimizing the degree of temperature dependent dielectric loss). Also, Wu teaches that acrylate polymers (acrylate being a repeating unit as in claims 8-9) may be added to a dielectric PVDF composition to lower surface tension and improve wetting/leveling (see abstract, [0048], [0053], [0054]) such that it would have been obvious to have added such an acrylate polymer to Aliane (with the amount being obvious to optimize to within claim 10 as part of optimizing the degree of lower surface tension and improve wetting/leveling).
Additionally, Connelly and/or Bissinger each independently render obvious the claimed silane compound in a PVDF coating composition to promote adhesion (Connelly- see abstract, col. 2, lines 1-60, with the elected silane falling within the disclosed formula I, and Bissinger- [0061]-[0064], [0065], mercaptopropylmethyldimethoxysilane), such that it would have been obvious to have added such a silane compound, as in claim 6, into Aliane with the amount of the silane compound being obvious to optimize to within the range of claim 7 as part of optimizing the degree of improved adhesion, as taught by Connelly and/or Bissinger.
Because the silane and acrylate ingredients disclosed above are obvious to optimize in terms of their amounts in the composition (as explained above), and because of the overlapping amount of fluoropolymer and solvent in Aliane, the amount of claim 2 (which is based on the combined amounts of fluoropolymer, silane compound, acrylate compound and solvent in the overall composition) is also obvious via the above described optimization and overlapping ranges. Furthermore, See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was “unexpectedly good”); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-11, 17-18, 20 of copending Application No. 18/674,593 (the copending application) in view of Aliane (U.S. 2017/0141291). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The two applications recite the same ingredients, except the copending application does not recite a solvent, however, Aliane discloses (citations above) that such PVD based compositions are mixed with a solvent to be more easily formed into a layer (e.g., a monolayer) such that it would have been obvious to have included a solvent as claimed when forming a monolayer as in the copending application (it is noted that the copending application recites uncured ingredients for the monolayer, such that the layer is not a cured product).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787