DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-19 are pending. Applicant’s previous election of Group I, claims 1-2, 5-16 and the following species (but the election requirement for species 3 was withdrawn) still applies and claims 17-19 remain withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 04/13/26 has been entered. Applicant's amendment has necessitated new grounds of rejection and the remarks are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that the solvent or mixture of solvents consists of C, H, and O. It is unclear if this requires every solvent in the mixture to consist of C, H and O or if the overall solvent mixture must consist of these atoms (but one solvent may consist of, e.g., only C and H without O).
The rest of the rejected claims not specifically addressed above are rejected because they depend from one of the claims specifically addressed above and therefore include the same indefiniteness issue(s) via their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliane (U.S. 2017/0141291) in view of Tatemichi (U.S. 2012/0293909) in view of Wu (U.S. 2012/0141757) in view of Connelly (U.S. 4,879,345) in view of Bissinger (U.S. 2018/0257361).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-16, Aliane teaches a dielectric coating composition comprising a fluoropolymer corresponding to the elected species ( [0028]-[0029]) at an amount overlapping claim 5 ([0061]), with a cyclopentanone (consisting of C, H, and O) solvent ([0060], as in the elected species and claims 11-15) that has an amount adjusted to optimize viscosity based on the coating method ([0061], such that it is obvious to optimize the viscosity to within claim 16 based on the applicable coating application method). Aliane does not disclose the claimed vinyl polymer or silicon compound.
However, Tatemichi and/or Wu each independently render obvious the claimed vinyl polymer in a PVDF coating composition. That is, Tatemichi teaches that acrylate polymers (acrylate being a repeating unit as in claims 8-9) may be added to a dielectric PVDF composition to improve temperature dependent dielectric loss (see abstract, [0013], [0031], [0033]) such that it would have been obvious to have added such an acrylate polymer to Aliane (with the amount being obvious to optimize to within claim 10 as part of optimizing the degree of temperature dependent dielectric loss). Also, Wu teaches that acrylate polymers (acrylate being a repeating unit as in claims 8-9) may be added to a dielectric PVDF composition to lower surface tension and improve wetting/leveling (see abstract, [0048], [0053], [0054]) such that it would have been obvious to have added such an acrylate polymer to Aliane (with the amount being obvious to optimize to within claim 10 as part of optimizing the degree of lower surface tension and improve wetting/leveling).
Additionally, Connelly and/or Bissinger each independently render obvious the claimed silane compound in a PVDF coating composition to promote adhesion (Connelly- see abstract, col. 2, lines 1-60, with the elected silane falling within the disclosed formula I, and Bissinger- [0061]-[0064], [0065], mercaptopropylmethyldimethoxysilane), such that it would have been obvious to have added such a silane compound, as in claim 6, into Aliane with the amount of the silane compound being obvious to optimize to within the range of claim 7 as part of optimizing the degree of improved adhesion, as taught by Connelly and/or Bissinger.
Because the silane and acrylate ingredients disclosed above are obvious to optimize in terms of their amounts in the composition (as explained above), and because of the overlapping amount of fluoropolymer and solvent in Aliane, the amount of claim 2 (which is based on the combined amounts of fluoropolymer, silane compound, acrylate compound and solvent in the overall composition) is also obvious via the above described optimization and overlapping ranges. Furthermore, See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was “unexpectedly good”); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-19 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-11, 17-18, 20 of copending Application No. 18/674,593 (the copending application) in view of Aliane (U.S. 2017/0141291). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The two applications recite the same ingredients, except the copending application does not recite a solvent, however, Aliane discloses (citations above) that such PVD based compositions are mixed with a solvent to be more easily formed into a layer (e.g., a monolayer) such that it would have been obvious to have included a solvent as claimed when forming a monolayer as in the copending application (it is noted that the copending application recites uncured ingredients for the monolayer, such that the layer is not a cured product).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection which were necessitated by Applicant's amendment. Remarks which are still deemed relevant are addressed below and are not persuasive.
Applicant makes piecemeal arguments against the references which is not persuasive because the references are combined in the rejection above.
Applicant argues that improved adhesion from Connelly would not be assumed for PVDF based composition in Aliane. There is no explanation for this argument. It is maintained that the adhesion improver would be expected to improve adhesion in Aliane. It is noted that Connelly teaches vinylidene fluoride based fluoropolymers.
Applicant argues that Bissinger teaches a “main embodiment” that is different from the present invention. Bissinger is not limited to a particular embodiment and clearly teaches that the silane compound may be mixed with the fluoropolymer.
Applicant argues that the solvents in the above two references are incompatible with the solvent in the primary reference. There is nothing to indicate that the adhesion promoting properties of the silane compound depends on the solvent.
Applicant argues that Tatemichi does not focus on the teachings mentioned in the rejection which is not required. It also does not matter that the reference teaches non-acrylate (cellulose) alternatives to the claimed acrylate.
Applicant argues that Wu does not seek the benefits of the present inventors, which is not required. The secondary reference may have its own motivation. Furthermore, there is nothing to indicate that the benefits mentioned in Wu are limited to phase separating compositions.
It is further noted that the secondary references (Tatemichi/Wu and Connelly/Bissinger) are paired as alternatives to each other, such that even if one of the above arguments was persuasive for one reference, the alternative would still render obvious the corresponding claim limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787