Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10 and 16-20) in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/23/2024, 10/08/2024, 11/24/2024, 6/4/2025, 1/7/2026 and 3/11/2026 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 5/24/2024 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 20 recite the limitation “wherein filling with the metal in the metal filling step is a treatment performed on a region from a bottom of the pore to a middle of an opening portion out of an entire region from the bottom of the pore to the opening portion.” A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1314, 110 USPQ 2d 1785, 1789 (Fed. Cir. 2014). How the treatment is performed is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hotta et al. (US2017/0125330) in view of Kuznetsov et al (Int. J. Corros. Scale Inhib., 2016, 5, no. 4, 282–318)
Regarding claim 1, Hotta discloses a method for producing a metal nanowire, the method comprising: an anodization step of forming an anodized film having pores on a surface of a valve metal substrate (para 0242-249); a metal filling step of filling the pores with a metal (para 0265); a mold removing step of removing the anodized film and the valve metal substrate to obtain an acicular metal (para 0266-0270). Hotta does not disclose a protective layer forming step of forming a protective layer containing a corrosion inhibitor on the acicular metal. Kutznetsov discloses a step of forming a protective layer containing a corrosion inhibitor on metal surfaces to prevent the corrosion of the metal (Abstract and page 289). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling ate of the invention to add to the method for producing a metal nanowire of Hotta a step of forming a protective layer containing a corrosion inhibitor on metal surfaces taught by Kuznetsov, to prevent the metal nanowire from corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, Hotta discloses the method for producing a metal nanowire according to claim 1, further comprising, between the mold removing step and the protective layer forming step: a step of reducing or removing a surface oxide layer of the acicular metal (para 0177-181).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Hotta discloses the method for producing a metal nanowire according to claim 1, wherein the valve metal substrate includes aluminum (para 0242-249).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Hotta discloses the method for producing a metal nanowire according to claim 1, wherein the metal filling step includes a plating step (para 0113-114).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Hotta discloses the method for producing a metal nanowire according to claim 1, wherein the mold removing step includes a two-stage removal step of removing the valve metal substrate and then removing the anodized film (para 0147-149, 0177-181).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Hotta discloses the method for producing a metal nanowire according to claim 1, wherein the mold removing step includes a dissolution step (para 0149).
Regarding claims 8-10, Kuznetsov discloses the method for producing a metal nanowire according to claim 1, wherein the corrosion inhibitor includes a heterocyclic compound containing at least one of a nitrogen atom or a sulfur atom (1,2,3-benzotriazole, page 289), wherein the corrosion inhibitor includes at least one of a polar group-containing acid or a polar group-containing base, and wherein the corrosion inhibitor includes a carboxy group (abstract, myristic acid, stearic acid, page 291).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
9/2/2026