DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed on 5/24/2024, 9/17/2025 are under compliance and has/have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 4 and 10- 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US Pat. No. 10256887).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see col. 2 lines 46- 61…UE as a WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to:
receive configuration information, the configuration information comprising channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resource configuration information and CSI feedback reporting configuration information (see lines 24- 30 of col. 20…the BS may configure the UE (i.e. WTRU) with the codebook parameters of the differential higher resolution (2.sup.nd to m.sup.th) CSI feedback. For example, the BS may signal an indication of one or more codebook parameters for the UE to use for the differential higher resolution CSI (e.g., the at least one second (2.sup.nd to m.sup.th) CSI feedback)…; further see col. 2 lines 46- 61… performed, for example, by a user equipment (UE). The method generally includes receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), determining, for a first CSI feedback stage, one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback based on the CSI-RS, and reporting the one or more first feedback components. The method also includes determining, for at least one second CSI feedback stage, one or more second feedback components associated with at least one second CSI feedback based in part on the one or more first feedback components. The method further includes reporting the one or more second feedback components. In some scenarios, reporting and determination aspects may occur at differing times or substantially at about the same time.);
determine a downlink (DL) CSI estimate based on one or more CSI-RSs received in accordance with the CSI-RS resource configuration information (see col. 2 lines 46- 61 regarding .. The method generally includes receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), determining (i.e. DL CSI estimate), for a first CSI feedback stage, one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback based on the CSI-RS, and reporting the one or more first feedback components..; further see Fig. 8 step 802 and 804 .. at 802, where the UE receives a CSI-RS (e.g., from a BS, such as BS 110). At 804, the UE determines (i.e. DL CSI estimate), for a first CSI feedback stage, one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback based on the CSI-RS. At 806, the UE reports the first feedback components to the BS; see lines 27- 31 of col. 18);
generate a CSI feedback report based on a comparison between the DL CSI estimate and historical DL CSI estimates; and send the CSI feedback report (see lines 3- 21 of col. 18.. present disclosure provides techniques and apparatus for achieving high resolution CSI while reducing the per feedback overhead associated with advanced CSI reporting. As used herein, differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend (i.e. comparing limitations) in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information; further see Fig. 8 step #808 and also step 810; further see Fig. 11 showing multiple historical CSI stages and each subsequent stage is determined relative to prior stages).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to generate content of the CSI feedback report based on a difference between the DL CSI estimate and a DL CSI estimate comprised in a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the WTRU; already described above see lines 3- 21 of col. 18.. present disclosure provides techniques and apparatus for achieving high resolution CSI while reducing the per feedback overhead associated with advanced CSI reporting. As used herein, differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend (i.e. comparing limitations) in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information; further see Fig. 8 step #808 and also step 810; further see Fig. 11 showing multiple historical CSI stages and each subsequent stage is determined relative to prior stages (i.e. differential CSI reporting means at a subsequent reporting instances, it only transmits the differential offsets (delta CQI or delta PMI), effectively sending only the "differences" between the current channel state and the reference state (i.e. previous or historical)).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the CSI feedback report comprises instructions on how to reconstruct the DL CSI estimate at a network node based on historical DL CSI estimates at the network node; see Fig. 9 and col. 18 lines 57- 67.. Operations 900 may begin, at 902, where the BS receives one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback from a UE (e.g., UE 120). At 904, the BS receives one or more second feedback components associated with at least one second CSI feedback from the UE. At 906, the BS determines a precoding to use for MIMO communications based on the first feedback components and the second feedback components. The BS may perform MIMO communications with the UE based on the determined precoding. i.e. BS reconstructs the channel from its accumulation of historical reconstructed CSI stage plus the incremental differential report; further see Abstract (i.e. regarding feedback encodes details about how to reconstruct).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the comparison comprises a difference between the DL CSI estimate and a DL CSI estimate comprised in a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the WTRU (already discussed above see col 18 lines 3- 21… differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information.);
wherein, when the difference is lower than a first threshold, the processor is configured to generate the CSI feedback report such that the CSI feedback report comprises a first portion that comprises an indication to the network node to use a previously reconstructed DL CSI estimate comprised in a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the network node based on a sequence of historical reconstructed DL CSI estimates at the network node to configure a DL transmission; already discussed above see lines 3- 21 of col. 18 and also refer to Fig. 9 (i.e. BS receiving/accumulating feedbacks and determining accordingly) and Fig. 11 (i.e. having multiple stages)… differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information…. (i.e. here in context with Fig. 11 and Fig. 9 “differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time” explains that BS reconstructs from receiving these differential reporting and accordingly accumulates all these historical stages and also delta/differnce is small (not exceeded threshold) and that’s why each report inherently instructs the BS to rely on the previous reconstructed DL CSI estimate and here indication portion can be the low overhead indication means channel has not changed significantly (i.e. difference <threshold) and BS should use its previously reconstructed estimate..
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches as per claim 1,, wherein the CSI feedback reporting configuration information comprises a CSI-RS configuration type, and wherein the processor is configured to generate the CSI feedback report based on the CSI-RS configuration type; see lines 4- 22 of col. 20… the BS may signal an indication of a codebook configuration for the UE to use for the 1.sup.st CSI feedback. In one example, the codebook configuration may be based on LTE class A type codebook with antenna port number, oversampling rate, and other configuration parameters (e.g., ‘Config’ 1, ‘Config’ 2, etc.). In one example, the codebook configuration can be based on Type II CSI reporting in NR-MIMO with 2 beams combination; further see claim 13.
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches a method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (see col. 2 lines 46- 61…UE as a WTRU):
receiving configuration information, the configuration information comprising channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resource configuration information and CSI feedback reporting configuration information (see lines 24- 30 of col. 20…the BS may configure the UE (i.e. WTRU) with the codebook parameters of the differential higher resolution (2.sup.nd to m.sup.th) CSI feedback. For example, the BS may signal an indication of one or more codebook parameters for the UE to use for the differential higher resolution CSI (e.g., the at least one second (2.sup.nd to m.sup.th) CSI feedback)…; further see col. 2 lines 46- 61… performed, for example, by a user equipment (UE). The method generally includes receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), determining, for a first CSI feedback stage, one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback based on the CSI-RS, and reporting the one or more first feedback components. The method also includes determining, for at least one second CSI feedback stage, one or more second feedback components associated with at least one second CSI feedback based in part on the one or more first feedback components. The method further includes reporting the one or more second feedback components. In some scenarios, reporting and determination aspects may occur at differing times or substantially at about the same time.);
determining a downlink (DL) CSI estimate based on one or more CSI-RSs received in accordance with the CSI-RS resource configuration information (see col. 2 lines 46- 61 regarding .. The method generally includes receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), determining (i.e. DL CSI estimate), for a first CSI feedback stage, one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback based on the CSI-RS, and reporting the one or more first feedback components..; further see Fig. 8 step 802 and 804 .. at 802, where the UE receives a CSI-RS (e.g., from a BS, such as BS 110). At 804, the UE determines (i.e. DL CSI estimate), for a first CSI feedback stage, one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback based on the CSI-RS. At 806, the UE reports the first feedback components to the BS; see lines 27- 31 of col. 18);
generating a CSI feedback report based on a comparison between the DL CSI estimate and historical DL CSI estimates; and send the CSI feedback report (see lines 3- 21 of col. 18.. present disclosure provides techniques and apparatus for achieving high resolution CSI while reducing the per feedback overhead associated with advanced CSI reporting. As used herein, differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend (i.e. comparing limitations) in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information; further see Fig. 8 step #808 and also step 810; further see Fig. 11 showing multiple historical CSI stages and each subsequent stage is determined relative to prior stages).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches as per claim 11, wherein the CSI feedback report is generated based on a difference between the DL CSI estimate and a DL CSI estimate included in a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the WTRU; already described above see lines 3- 21 of col. 18.. present disclosure provides techniques and apparatus for achieving high resolution CSI while reducing the per feedback overhead associated with advanced CSI reporting. As used herein, differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend (i.e. comparing limitations) in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information; further see Fig. 8 step #808 and also step 810; further see Fig. 11 showing multiple historical CSI stages and each subsequent stage is determined relative to prior stages (i.e. differential CSI reporting means at a subsequent reporting instances, it only transmits the differential offsets (delta CQI or delta PMI), effectively sending only the "differences" between the current channel state and the reference state (i.e. previous or historical)).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches as per claim 11, wherein the CSI feedback report comprises instructions on how to reconstruct the DL CSI estimate at a network node based on historical DL CSI estimates at the network node; see Fig. 9 and col. 18 lines 57- 67.. Operations 900 may begin, at 902, where the BS receives one or more first feedback components associated with first CSI feedback from a UE (e.g., UE 120). At 904, the BS receives one or more second feedback components associated with at least one second CSI feedback from the UE. At 906, the BS determines a precoding to use for MIMO communications based on the first feedback components and the second feedback components. The BS may perform MIMO communications with the UE based on the determined precoding. i.e. BS reconstructs the channel from its accumulation of historical reconstructed CSI stage plus the incremental differential report; further see Abstract (i.e. regarding feedback encodes details about how to reconstruct).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches as per claim 11, wherein the comparison comprises a difference between the DL CSI estimate and a DL CSI estimate comprised in a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the WTRU (already discussed above see col 18 lines 3- 21… differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information.);
wherein, when the difference is lower than a first threshold, the processor is configured to generate the CSI feedback report such that the CSI feedback report comprises a first portion that comprises an indication to the network node to use a previously reconstructed DL CSI estimate comprised in a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the network node based on a sequence of historical reconstructed DL CSI estimates at the network node to configure a DL transmission; already discussed above see lines 3- 21 of col. 18 and also refer to Fig. 9 (i.e. BS receiving/accumulating feedbacks and determining accordingly) and Fig. 11 (i.e. having multiple stages)… differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time. Using the differential CSI reporting scheme described herein (as opposed to a CSI reporting scheme in which each CSI feedback is independent) enables the BS to more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) that the BS can use for subsequent MIMO communications. That is, the BS may not have to perform additional calculations to obtain the channel information…. (i.e. here in context with Fig. 11 and Fig. 9 “differential CSI reporting may refer to reporting multiple CSI feedback reports in an incremental way over time via multiple CSI feedback stages. That is, each CSI feedback reported by the UE in a given CSI feedback stage may depend in part on a previous CSI feedback reported by the UE in a previous CSI feedback stage. Each CSI feedback stage may occur at a different point in time” explains that BS reconstructs from receiving these differential reporting and accordingly accumulates all these historical stages and also delta/differnce is small (not exceeded threshold) and that’s why each report inherently instructs the BS to rely on the previous reconstructed DL CSI estimate and here indication portion can be the low overhead indication means channel has not changed significantly (i.e. difference <threshold) and BS should use its previously reconstructed estimate..
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches as per claim 1,, wherein the CSI feedback reporting configuration information comprises a CSI-RS configuration type, and wherein the processor is configured to generate the CSI feedback report based on the CSI-RS configuration type; see lines 4- 22 of col. 20… the BS may signal an indication of a codebook configuration for the UE to use for the 1.sup.st CSI feedback. In one example, the codebook configuration may be based on LTE class A type codebook with antenna port number, oversampling rate, and other configuration parameters (e.g., ‘Config’ 1, ‘Config’ 2, etc.). In one example, the codebook configuration can be based on Type II CSI reporting in NR-MIMO with 2 beams combination; further see claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pat. No. 10256887) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0017254 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, via downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), activation information, wherein the activation information comprises one or more of a size of a time window, a length of a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the WTRU, or one or more thresholds to trigger an adaptive filter parameter update; and
wherein the processor is configured to generate the CSI feedback report based on the activation information.
However Lee states in [0106] regarding .. by providing embodiments on adaptive/multi-stage UL precoding mechanism (and relevant sub-embodiments) wherein UL precoding to be used at a current scheduling time instant is generated based on the UL precoding used at the previous scheduling time instant and an update matrix (vector) which is selected from adaptive/multi-stage UL precoding codebook and indicated by the NW via DCI/MAC-CE/higher parameter. In addition, this disclosure provides several adaptive/multi-stage codebook mechanisms wherein elements of update matrix are selected from adaptive/multi-stage resolutions of codebooks that can be updated via the NW's control signaling (e.g., DCI); further see [0108] regarding .. a UE is configured/indicated via DCI/MAC-CE or higher layer parameter to apply for UL precoding based on adaptive filter or differential or multi-stage techniques wherein, for example, the current UL precoding vector (matrix) is determined using a first UL precoding vector (matrix) and a second UL precoding vector (matrix), namely P.sub.1 and P.sub.2, respectively….; further see [0110- 0120] describing P.sub.1 and P.sub.2.; further see [0003] regarding estimate the DL channel conditions, the gNB may transmit a reference signal, e.g., CSI-RS, to the UE for DL channel measurement, and the UE may report (e.g., feedback) information about channel measurement, e.g., CSI, to the gNB. With this DL channel measurement, the gNB is able to select appropriate communication parameters to efficiently and effectively perform wireless data communication with the UE; further see [0122].. all embodiments/sub-embodiments/examples provided in this disclosure can be applicable to CSI codebooks/mechanisms for reporting DL channels. Compared to UL cases, in DL cases, a UE is configured to report DL channels (precoding matrix) using adaptive filter or differential or multi-stage techniques… It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein to receive, via downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), activation information, wherein the activation information comprises one or more of a size of a time window, a length of a sequence of historical DL CSI estimates at the WTRU, or one or more thresholds to trigger an adaptive filter parameter update; and wherein the processor is configured to generate the CSI feedback report based on the activation information; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5- 8 and 15- 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US Pat. No. 11706751 B2) states in claim 1 about wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a temporal filter configuration; transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) value, the CSI value being based on the temporal filter configuration; and receiving, from the base station, a beam selection based on the CSI value, wherein the beam selection is based on a first beam selection algorithm when the temporal filter configuration configures the UE to apply a temporal filter to generate the CSI value and is based on a second beam selection algorithm when the temporal filter configuration configures the UE to report a CSI measurement as the CSI value without applying a temporal filter.
Zhang et al. (US Pub. No. 2026/0100736 A1) teaches in abstract about method (700) by a user equipment, UE (112), for reporting Channel State Information, CSI, includes transmitting, to a network node (110), an Artificial Intelligence-based, AI-based, CSI report. The AI-based CSI report includes a plurality of parts. Each of the plurality of parts are transmitted on a respective one of a plurality of uplink control information, UCI, parts. An interpretation of at least one bit of at least one of the plurality of parts is based on an output of a machine learning model.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479