DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS(s) has/have been considered and placed in the application file.
Title Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “IMAGE ANALYZER FOR MATERIAL STRUCTURE USING FOURIER TRANSFORM AND PRINCIPAL COMPONENET ANALYSIS.” See 37 C.F.R. § 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transformer/analyzer/reconstructor comprising/configured to” in claim(s) 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharati (Image texture analysis: methods and comparisons – hereinafter “Bharati”) in view of Nishi et al. (US 2024/0273701 A1 – hereinafter “Nishi”) in view of Wang (Detection of surface cutting defect on magnet using Fourier image reconstruction – hereinafter “Wang”).
Claim 1.
An image analyzer (Bharati teaches an image analysis system. "Image texture analysis:
methods and comparisons.”), comprising:
a transformer configured to perform a Fourier transform on each of a plurality of original images representing a structure of a material and acquire a plurality of power spectra (Bharati teaches performing Fourier transforms on material structure images (steel). "Surface texture is an important quality characteristic of many products. This paper provides an overview of several different approaches to image texture analysis and demonstrates their use on the problem of classifying a set of rolled steel sheets" (Abstract). It further teaches "performing two-dimensional FFT on the images prior to applying multivariate methods" (Abstract). “The two-dimensional Fast Fourier Transform (2-D FFT) of an image can be thought of as a two-dimensional representation of the spatial power spectrum of the image” (page 5, § 5.1).);
an analyzer configured to perform principal component analysis on the plurality of power spectra and acquire principal components and principal component scores (Bharati teaches applying PCA to the frequency data. "Methods covered include traditional statistical approaches ... multivariate statistical approaches based on PCA" (Abstract; p. 7, § 4.2.1).); and
Bharati discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching “a reconstructor configured to reconstruct an image based on the principal components and principal component scores and output a feature image representing features of the original image, wherein the reconstructor generates a difference image based on a reconstructed changed image obtained by changing one or more of the principal component scores and a reference image, and outputs the generated difference image as the feature image.” However, Nishi in the same field of endeavor teaches a reconstructor configured to reconstruct an image based on the principal components and principal component scores and output a feature image representing features of the original image, wherein the reconstructor generates a difference image based on a reconstructed changed image obtained by changing one or more of the principal component scores and a reference image (Nishi ¶120 “the prediction value x'n obtained by reconstructing each sample xn only with the M-th principal component is calculated by using the coupling coefficient w of the M-th principal component, by the M th principal component, by the following formula.
” When Nishi reconstructs only in the M-th principal component direction, it is mathematically setting all other PC score contributions to zero. Nishi ¶144 “by using the principal component score and the coupling coefficient (eigenvector) obtained by the principal component analysis unit 1073B, the analysis target image data OL (in the embodiment, the analysis target solid portion OS) is reconstructed in the principal component direction selected by the principal component selection unit 1074B, and an image is generated and output to the display unit 111." (p. 1130).), and outputs the generated difference image as the feature image (Nishi ¶¶117-118 selects the PC corresponding to the defect-responsive component and reconstructs separately in that direction versus the non-corresponding direction; generates two distinct reconstructed images (Figs. 12a, 12b) that differ based on which PC direction is used. Nishi ¶194 “).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Bharati and Nishi before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Both reference are in the field of material structure analysis using frequency domain feature extraction. Bharati teaches FFT on material images followed by PCA on the resulting power spectra but stops at classification without reconstructing a spatial output. Nishi addresses this gap, teaching that PC scores and eigenvectors derived from FFT+PCA on material image data can be used to reconstruct a spatial image (¶¶119-120). A PHOSITA would be motivated to incorporate Nishi’s reconstruction step into Bharati’s pipeline in order to visualize which spatial regions of the material image correspond to each extracted feature, enabling a more intuitive analysis of how structural variations in the material manifest in the image.
Claim 2.
The combination Bharati and Wang disclose the image analyzer according to claim 1, wherein the reconstructor generates a reconstructed no-change image obtained without changing the principal component scores as the reference image, and generates and outputs the difference image (Nishi reconstructs the non-corresponding PC direction (Fig. 12b). That image represents a reconstruction using the PCs that do not react to the defect, i.e., a reconstruction from the scores that are not changed (the non-selected PCs carry through at their original values.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied, yet considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed on the PTO-892 form.
/Ross Varndell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674