DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 7/2/2026, claims 1, 3- 4, 6, 13, 15- 16 and 20 are amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations. Further previously given rejection is withdrawn in lights of amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 7/2/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claim; hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, therefore new reference Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) has been incorporated. Park teaches the limitations, “wherein the condition comprises a target, a path or a path group being present”; see claim 1 .. receiving a scanning reference signal (i.e. sensing signal); generating a scanning signal report indicating one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal; transmitting the scanning signal report..; now refer to claim 5…determining a measurement value for the scanning reference signal with one or more receive beams; comparing the measurement value obtained on each of the one or more receive beams to a threshold value; and generating the scanning signal report based on the one or more receive beams with measurement values that are greater than the threshold value; now see lines 33- 45 of col. 23…In an embodiment, the UE 810 may be configured to detect a target based on the RSRP of the received signals. For example, the UE 810 may report that the RSRP values associated with the first reference signal 804 and the third reference signal 806 are above a threshold value. The threshold value may be a fixed value, or it may be scaled based on the RSRP of a LOS signal, such as the second reference signal 805. The UE 810 is configured to report one or more channel measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) associated with the received reference signals to the base station 802, or other network node. The measurements obtained during the scanning phase 800 may be used for a subsequent tracking phase; further see Fig. 8A-C,9A-B where “target”, “path” , “target group”, “LOS/NLOS path” terminology used throughout.; further see Fig. 10 and 11 about steps 1006- 1008 and 1108-1112 for transmit/receive second signal (STRS) using those determined parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9- 11, 14, 16, 19- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ko teaches a radio node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the radio node to (see Abstract; …performing wireless communication by a first device (radio node)… ):
receive, from a network entity, a configuration comprising a condition for outputting a second signal using at least one metric of a received sensing signal (see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. [0241].. specific threshold may refer to a threshold pre-defined or (pre-)configured by a higher layer (including an application layer) of the network, the base station (i.e. network entity), or the UE) (i.e. configuration comprising a condition and metric can be a threshold as well)) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0245] and Fig. 15,#S1520-1540 and Table 8);
receive a first sensing signal (already described above see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); ….determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning );
measure the at least one metric of the first sensing signal (already described above; see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0245] and Fig. 15,#S1520-1540);
determine whether the condition is satisfied using the at least one metric; determine transmission parameters for a second signal based on the determination of whether the condition is satisfied; and transmit the second signal using the transmission parameters (see Abstract ….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. condition satisfied) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter (i.e. transmission parameter) related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0250]).
But Ko is silent about the limitations, “wherein the condition comprises a target, a path or a path group being present”.
However Park teaches in claim 1 .. receiving a scanning reference signal (i.e. sensing signal); generating a scanning signal report indicating one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal; transmitting the scanning signal report..; now refer to claim 5…determining a measurement value for the scanning reference signal with one or more receive beams; comparing the measurement value obtained on each of the one or more receive beams to a threshold value; and generating the scanning signal report based on the one or more receive beams with measurement values that are greater than the threshold value; now see lines 33- 45 of col. 23…In an embodiment, the UE 810 may be configured to detect a target based on the RSRP of the received signals. For example, the UE 810 may report that the RSRP values associated with the first reference signal 804 and the third reference signal 806 are above a threshold value. The threshold value may be a fixed value, or it may be scaled based on the RSRP of a LOS signal, such as the second reference signal 805. The UE 810 is configured to report one or more channel measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) associated with the received reference signals to the base station 802, or other network node. The measurements obtained during the scanning phase 800 may be used for a subsequent tracking phase; further see Fig. 8A-C,9A-B where “target”, “path” , “target group”, “LOS/NLOS path” terminology used throughout.; further see Fig. 10 and 11 about steps 1006- 1008 and 1108-1112 for transmit/receive second signal (STRS) using those determined parameters.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of B with the teachings of A to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the condition comprises a target, a path or a path group being present; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, wherein the condition comprises the path or a path group being present; Park teaches in claim 1 .. receiving a scanning reference signal (i.e. sensing signal); generating a scanning signal report indicating one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal; transmitting the scanning signal report..; now refer to claim 5…determining a measurement value for the scanning reference signal with one or more receive beams; comparing the measurement value obtained on each of the one or more receive beams to a threshold value; and generating the scanning signal report based on the one or more receive beams with measurement values that are greater than the threshold value; now see lines 33- 45 of col. 23…In an embodiment, the UE 810 may be configured to detect a target based on the RSRP of the received signals. For example, the UE 810 may report that the RSRP values associated with the first reference signal 804 and the third reference signal 806 are above a threshold value. The threshold value may be a fixed value, or it may be scaled based on the RSRP of a LOS signal, such as the second reference signal 805. The UE 810 is configured to report one or more channel measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) associated with the received reference signals to the base station 802, or other network node. The measurements obtained during the scanning phase 800 may be used for a subsequent tracking phase; further see Fig. 8A-C,9A-B where “target”, “path” , “target group”, “LOS/NLOS path” terminology used throughout.; further see Fig. 10 and 11 about steps 1006- 1008 and 1108-1112 for transmit/receive second signal (STRS) using those determined parameters.
Regarding claim 9, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, wherein Ko teaches the second signal is a carrier wave for a backscattering device; see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. [0241].. specific threshold may refer to a threshold pre-defined or (pre-)configured by a higher layer (including an application layer) of the network, the base station (i.e. network entity), or the UE) (i.e. configuration comprising a condition and metric can be a threshold as well)) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning (i.e. PRS can be used as the carrier wave for a backscattering device).
Regarding claim 10, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, wherein Ko teaches the second signal is a paging signal for paging a second radio node at a location of a detected object or a communication signal transmitted on a physical control channel for communicating with the second radio node at the location of the detected object; see Fig. 14 [0227- 0228]… the UE may perform SL positioning. For example, the UE may perform SL positioning based on the adjusted/determined parameter(s). SL SCI format that can be used as control information transmitted together with the SL PRS (i.e. second signal) for SL positioning may include at least one of the following information.
Regarding claim 11, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, wherein Ko teaches the second signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS) or a positioning reference signal (PRS); see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. [0241].. specific threshold may refer to a threshold pre-defined or (pre-)configured by a higher layer (including an application layer) of the network, the base station (i.e. network entity), or the UE) (i.e. configuration comprising a condition and metric can be a threshold as well)) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning.
Regarding claim 14, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: transmit a signal indicating the determined transmission parameters for the second signal to at least one of the network entity, a recipient of the second signal, and a second radio node; Ko see [0203]… a UE may transmit a SL PRS, and a UE which has received the SL PRS may perform measurement based on the received SL PRS and feedback the measurement result.
Regarding claim 16, Ko teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to
(see Abstract; …performing wireless communication by a first device (radio node)… ):
receive, from a network entity, a configuration comprising a condition for outputting a second signal using at least one metric of a received sensing signal (see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. [0241].. specific threshold may refer to a threshold pre-defined or (pre-)configured by a higher layer (including an application layer) of the network, the base station (i.e. network entity), or the UE) (i.e. configuration comprising a condition and metric can be a threshold as well)) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0245] and Fig. 15,#S1520-1540 and Table 8);
receive a first sensing signal (already described above see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); ….determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning );
measure the at least one metric of the first sensing signal (already described above; see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0245] and Fig. 15,#S1520-1540);
determine whether the condition is satisfied using the at least one metric; determine transmission parameters for a second signal based on the determination of whether the condition is satisfied; and transmit the second signal using the transmission parameters (see Abstract ….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. condition satisfied) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter (i.e. transmission parameter) related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0250]).
But Ko is silent about the limitations, “wherein the condition comprises a target, a path or a path group being present”.
However Park teaches in claim 1 .. receiving a scanning reference signal (i.e. sensing signal); generating a scanning signal report indicating one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal; transmitting the scanning signal report..; now refer to claim 5…determining a measurement value for the scanning reference signal with one or more receive beams; comparing the measurement value obtained on each of the one or more receive beams to a threshold value; and generating the scanning signal report based on the one or more receive beams with measurement values that are greater than the threshold value; now see lines 33- 45 of col. 23…In an embodiment, the UE 810 may be configured to detect a target based on the RSRP of the received signals. For example, the UE 810 may report that the RSRP values associated with the first reference signal 804 and the third reference signal 806 are above a threshold value. The threshold value may be a fixed value, or it may be scaled based on the RSRP of a LOS signal, such as the second reference signal 805. The UE 810 is configured to report one or more channel measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) associated with the received reference signals to the base station 802, or other network node. The measurements obtained during the scanning phase 800 may be used for a subsequent tracking phase; further see Fig. 8A-C,9A-B where “target”, “path” , “target group”, “LOS/NLOS path” terminology used throughout.; further see Fig. 10 and 11 about steps 1006- 1008 and 1108-1112 for transmit/receive second signal (STRS) using those determined parameters.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of B with the teachings of A to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the condition comprises a target, a path or a path group being present; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Ko in view Park teaches as per claim 16, wherein the second signal is a paging signal for paging a second radio node at a location of a detected object or a communication signal transmitted on a physical control channel for communicating with the second radio node at the location of the detected object; Ko see Fig. 14 [0227- 0228]… the UE may perform SL positioning. For example, the UE may perform SL positioning based on the adjusted/determined parameter(s). SL SCI format that can be used as control information transmitted together with the SL PRS (i.e. second signal) for SL positioning may include at least one of the following information.
Regarding claim 20, Ko teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to (see Abstract; …performing wireless communication by a first device (radio node)… ):
receive, from a network entity, a configuration comprising a condition for outputting a second signal using at least one metric of a received sensing signal (see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. [0241].. specific threshold may refer to a threshold pre-defined or (pre-)configured by a higher layer (including an application layer) of the network, the base station (i.e. network entity), or the UE) (i.e. configuration comprising a condition and metric can be a threshold as well)) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0245] and Fig. 15,#S1520-1540 and Table 8);
receive a first sensing signal (already described above see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); ….determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning );
measure the at least one metric of the first sensing signal (already described above; see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0245] and Fig. 15,#S1520-1540);
determine whether the condition is satisfied using the at least one metric; determine transmission parameters for a second signal based on the determination of whether the condition is satisfied; and transmit the second signal using the transmission parameters (see Abstract ….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. condition satisfied) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter (i.e. transmission parameter) related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning; further see [0244- 0250]).
But Ko is silent about the limitations, “wherein the condition comprises a target, a path or a path group being present”.
However Park teaches in claim 1 .. receiving a scanning reference signal (i.e. sensing signal); generating a scanning signal report indicating one or more target groups associated with the scanning reference signal; transmitting the scanning signal report..; now refer to claim 5…determining a measurement value for the scanning reference signal with one or more receive beams; comparing the measurement value obtained on each of the one or more receive beams to a threshold value; and generating the scanning signal report based on the one or more receive beams with measurement values that are greater than the threshold value; now see lines 33- 45 of col. 23…In an embodiment, the UE 810 may be configured to detect a target based on the RSRP of the received signals. For example, the UE 810 may report that the RSRP values associated with the first reference signal 804 and the third reference signal 806 are above a threshold value. The threshold value may be a fixed value, or it may be scaled based on the RSRP of a LOS signal, such as the second reference signal 805. The UE 810 is configured to report one or more channel measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SINR) associated with the received reference signals to the base station 802, or other network node. The measurements obtained during the scanning phase 800 may be used for a subsequent tracking phase; further see Fig. 8A-C,9A-B where “target”, “path” , “target group”, “LOS/NLOS path” terminology used throughout.; further see Fig. 10 and 11 about steps 1006- 1008 and 1108-1112 for transmit/receive second signal (STRS) using those determined parameters.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of B with the teachings of A to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the condition comprises a target, a path or a path group being present; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0370820 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, Ko teaches about wherein the configuration further comprises at least one of parameters for receiving the at least one metric (see Abstract;….obtaining information related to a resource pool (i.e. refer to [0080] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception. For example, the default information may be information related to SLSS, a duplex mode (DM), a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like. (i.e. PSBCH having default information can be received sensing signal (first sensing signal))); measuring sidelink (SL) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for subchannels in the resource pool over a channel busy ratio (CBR) measurement window; obtaining SL CBR based on the measurement, wherein the SL CBR is a portion of subchannels whose SL RSSI measured by the first device exceeds a threshold (i.e. [0241].. specific threshold may refer to a threshold pre-defined or (pre-)configured by a higher layer (including an application layer) of the network, the base station (i.e. network entity), or the UE) (i.e. configuration comprising a condition and metric can be a threshold as well)) among the subchannels in the resource pool; determining a parameter related to SL positioning based on the SL CBR; and transmitting a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) (i.e. outputting a second signal) based on the parameter related to the SL positioning); but Ko fails to explicitly state about wherein the configuration further comprises at least one of parameters for receiving the first sensing signal; however Cheng teaches in [0103] regarding .. A UE 115 may receive, from a base station 105, an indication of a sensing configuration for the UE 115, the sensing configuration indicating one or more parameter values that the UE is to use to perform sensing of objects within a detectable range of the UE 115, and the sensing configuration further indicating a format for providing a sensing report. The UE 115 may receive one or more sensing waveforms based at least in part on the sensing configuration… It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the configuration further comprises at least one of parameters for receiving the first sensing signal; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) in view of karjalainen et al. (US Pat. No. 12399250 B2), hereafter Juha.
Regarding claim 4, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, but Ko fails to teach about wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to:
measure a power value of the first sensing signal;
compare the power value to a first threshold value and a second threshold value; and
when the measured power value is above the first threshold value and below the second threshold value, use a transmission power that is higher than the measured power value to transmit the second signal; however Juha states in lines 2- 30 of col. 13 regarding .. When UE 110 performs beam/antenna panel specific RSTD positioning measurements with the reference signal received power (RSRP) quality metric (two RSRP values associated to determine start time of one subframe from a reference positioning node and another positioning node) and the RSRP values of PRS resources are less than a configured power threshold 1 and above a power threshold 2: UE 110 shall: determine resource ID(s) and/or resource set ID(s) associated with DL PRS resource(s) (PRSs) being below configured threshold 1 and above power threshold 2 and trigger DL PRS transmission adaptation request with determined PRS resource IDs or resource set IDs e.g. via PUCCH/PUSCH….. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Juha with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: measure a power value of the first sensing signal; compare the power value to a first threshold value and a second threshold value; and when the measured power value is above the first threshold value and below the second threshold value, use a transmission power that is higher than the measured power value to transmit the second signal; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 5, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) in view of LI (US Pub. No. 2026/0031916 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 3, but Ko fails to teach about, wherein the at least one metric of the first sensing signal is at least one of an angle of arrival and an azimuth of arrival, and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: measure the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival of the first sensing signal; and transmit the second signal in a direction corresponding to the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival; however Li states in Fig. 4 step S402 regarding see [0123].. The second communication apparatus may measure the received first sensing signal to determine the first measurement result…..the second communication apparatus may perform a measurement based on the first sensing signal separately received on the plurality of paths, to obtain information such as time of arrival (ToA), an azimuth of arrival (AoA), a zenith of arrival (ZoA), signal strength, a beam index, or a time difference of arrival (TDoA) of the first sensing signal separately corresponding to the plurality of paths. In addition, the first measurement result may be determined based on the information obtained through the measurement. For example, the information obtained through the measurement may be used as the first measurement result (i.e. see Fig. 4 #S403). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Li with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the at least one metric of the first sensing signal is at least one of an angle of arrival and an azimuth of arrival, and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: measure the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival of the first sensing signal; and transmit the second signal in a direction corresponding to the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 16, but Ko fails to teach about, wherein the at least one metric of the first sensing signal is at least one of an angle of arrival and an azimuth of arrival, and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: measure the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival of the first sensing signal; and transmit the second signal in a direction corresponding to the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival; however Li states in Fig. 4 step S402 regarding see [0123].. The second communication apparatus may measure the received first sensing signal to determine the first measurement result…..the second communication apparatus may perform a measurement based on the first sensing signal separately received on the plurality of paths, to obtain information such as time of arrival (ToA), an azimuth of arrival (AoA), a zenith of arrival (ZoA), signal strength, a beam index, or a time difference of arrival (TDoA) of the first sensing signal separately corresponding to the plurality of paths. In addition, the first measurement result may be determined based on the information obtained through the measurement. For example, the information obtained through the measurement may be used as the first measurement result (i.e. see Fig. 4 #S403). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Li with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the at least one metric of the first sensing signal is at least one of an angle of arrival and an azimuth of arrival, and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: measure the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival of the first sensing signal; and transmit the second signal in a direction corresponding to the at least one of the angle of arrival and the azimuth of arrival; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 6- 7, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) in view of Manolakos et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0040590 A1), hereafter Mano.
Regarding claim 6, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, but Ko fails to teach about, wherein the radio node is associated with a radio access technology (RAT)-independent sensor, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAT-independent sensor to sense a target or features of a target; however Mano states in abstract regarding a user equipment (UE) receives, over a wireless communication network operating in accordance with a first radio access technology (RAT), a configuration to provide at least one positioning state information (PSI) report, the first RAT associated with at least one first positioning technology, ….transmits the at least one PSI report on physical resources allocated for a physical uplink or sidelink channel of the first RAT, the at least one PSI report including at least the first set of positioning measurements; now refer to [0141].. techniques for reporting RAT-independent (i.e., non-NR) PSI using RAT-dependent (NR) lower layers (e.g., L1/L2). More specifically, a UE can be configured to provide a PSI report that includes measurements derived using RAT-independent technologies on low layer (e.g., PHY or MAC-CE) channels of the NR RAT. A PSI report may use the same framework as a CSI report (e.g., be configured by “ReportQuantity,” have a fixed-size Part 1 and a variable-size Part 2, etc.) except that it includes PSI instead of CSI. In addition, the UE may transmit a PSI report (i.e. set of positioning measurements; further see [0124]… positioning measurements are reported through higher layer signaling, specifically, LTE positioning protocol (LPP) and/or RRC. LPP is used point-to-point between a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) and a UE (e.g., any of the UEs described herein) in order to position the UE using location related measurements obtained from one or more reference sources…) on a PUSCH or PUCCH, as it does a CSI report. Alternatively, the UE may transmit the PSI report to another UE over a sidelink (i.e., a wireless communication link between two UEs configured in accordance with a cellular RAT, such as NR). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Mano with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the radio node is associated with a radio access technology (RAT)-independent sensor, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAT-independent sensor to sense a target or features of a target; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Ko in view of Park and Mono teaches as per claim 6, wherein the configuration further comprises instructions for sensing a detected object using the RAT-independent sensor, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: transmit, to the network entity, a signal indicating at least one of a type, a capability, and sensing data of the RAT-independent sensor; Mono see [0141].. techniques for reporting RAT-independent (i.e., non-NR) PSI using RAT-dependent (NR) lower layers (e.g., L1/L2). More specifically, a UE can be configured to provide a PSI report that includes measurements derived using RAT-independent technologies on low layer (e.g., PHY or MAC-CE) channels of the NR RAT. A PSI report may use the same framework as a CSI report (e.g., be configured by “ReportQuantity,” have a fixed-size Part 1 and a variable-size Part 2, etc.) except that it includes PSI instead of CSI. In addition, the UE may transmit a PSI report (i.e. set of positioning measurements; further see [0124]… positioning measurements are reported through higher layer signaling, specifically, LTE positioning protocol (LPP) and/or RRC. LPP is used point-to-point between a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) and a UE (e.g., any of the UEs described herein) in order to position the UE using location related measurements obtained from one or more reference sources…) on a PUSCH or PUCCH, as it does a CSI report. Alternatively, the UE may transmit the PSI report to another UE over a sidelink (i.e., a wireless communication link between two UEs configured in accordance with a cellular RAT, such as NR.
Regarding claim 18, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 16, but fails to teach about, wherein the radio node is associated with a radio access technology (RAT)-independent sensor, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAT-independent sensor to sense a target or features of a target; however Mano states in abstract regarding a user equipment (UE) receives, over a wireless communication network operating in accordance with a first radio access technology (RAT), a configuration to provide at least one positioning state information (PSI) report, the first RAT associated with at least one first positioning technology, ….transmits the at least one PSI report on physical resources allocated for a physical uplink or sidelink channel of the first RAT, the at least one PSI report including at least the first set of positioning measurements; now refer to [0141].. techniques for reporting RAT-independent (i.e., non-NR) PSI using RAT-dependent (NR) lower layers (e.g., L1/L2). More specifically, a UE can be configured to provide a PSI report that includes measurements derived using RAT-independent technologies on low layer (e.g., PHY or MAC-CE) channels of the NR RAT. A PSI report may use the same framework as a CSI report (e.g., be configured by “ReportQuantity,” have a fixed-size Part 1 and a variable-size Part 2, etc.) except that it includes PSI instead of CSI. In addition, the UE may transmit a PSI report (i.e. set of positioning measurements; further see [0124]… positioning measurements are reported through higher layer signaling, specifically, LTE positioning protocol (LPP) and/or RRC. LPP is used point-to-point between a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) and a UE (e.g., any of the UEs described herein) in order to position the UE using location related measurements obtained from one or more reference sources…) on a PUSCH or PUCCH, as it does a CSI report. Alternatively, the UE may transmit the PSI report to another UE over a sidelink (i.e., a wireless communication link between two UEs configured in accordance with a cellular RAT, such as NR). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Mano with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the radio node is associated with a radio access technology (RAT)-independent sensor, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the RAT-independent sensor to sense a target or features of a target; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) in view of Manolakos et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0040590 A1), hereafter Mano and in further view of Shreevastav et al. (WO 2025/144093 A1), hereafter Shree.
Regarding claim 8, Ko in view of Park and Mono teaches as per claim 6, but Ko fails to teach about, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: determine at least one of whether the condition is satisfied and the transmission parameters for the second signal using sensing data from sensing the target or features of the target with the RAT-independent sensor; however Shree teaches on page 7 second paragraph.. eleventh aspect, there is provided a RAT-independent radar sensor comprising processing circuitry and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the RAT-independent radar sensor is operable to perform a method for enabling determination of spatial and/or movement information associated with a target object by: receiving, from a third network node in a RAT communication network, a recommended transmission characteristic for transmission by the RAT-independent radar sensor of a first signal for providing the spatial and/or movement information; determining a selected transmission characteristic for transmitting the first signal based on one or more of: the recommended transmission characteristic; a radio resource condition; and a network load capacity; and transmitting the first signal according to the selected transmission characteristic. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Shree with the teachings of Ko in view of Park and Mono to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: determine at least one of whether the condition is satisfied and the transmission parameters for the second signal using sensing data from sensing the target or features of the target with the RAT-independent sensor; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 12- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) in view of Elshafie et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0114449 A1), hereafter Ahmed.
Regarding claim 12, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 1, but Ko fails to state about wherein the configuration from the network entity further comprises information for transmitting a third signal that shares radio resources with the second signal, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: transmit the third signal based on the configuration received from the network entity; however Ahmed teaches in [0172] regarding … the component 198 (i.e. of #1204 i.e. UE see [0171]) may be configured to receive a first signal including a first configuration using a first radio at the UE. The component 198 may be configured to operate a second radio at the UE in a first mode based on the first configuration received via the first radio. The first radio may have a lower power consumption than the second radio or the second radio may have the lower power consumption than the first radio…..The apparatus 1204 (i.e. UE see [0171]) may include means for operating the first radio at the UE in the second mode and operating the second radio at the UE in the first mode by simultaneously communicating a second signal at the first radio and communicating a third signal at the second radio during a first time period. The apparatus 1204 may include means for simultaneously communicating the second signal at the first radio and communicating the third signal at the second radio by communicating the second signal using a first set of resources and communicating the third signal using a second set of resources during the first time period. The apparatus 1204 may include means for simultaneously communicating the second signal at the first radio and communicating the third signal at the second radio by multiplexing the second signal and the third signal via TDM to communicate the second signal during a first set of time periods and communicate the third signal during a second set of time periods…. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Ahmed with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the configuration from the network entity further comprises information for transmitting a third signal that shares radio resources with the second signal, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: transmit the third signal based on the configuration received from the network entity; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 12, but Ko fails to state about wherein the third signal is duplexed with the second signal in the time domain, and the third signal is transmitted to a second radio node; however Ahmed states in [0172] regarding….The apparatus 1204 (i.e. UE see [0171]) may include means for operating the first radio at the UE in the second mode and operating the second radio at the UE in the first mode by simultaneously communicating a second signal at the first radio and communicating a third signal at the second radio during a first time period. The apparatus 1204 may include means for simultaneously communicating the second signal at the first radio and communicating the third signal at the second radio by communicating the second signal using a first set of resources and communicating the third signal using a second set of resources during the first time period. The apparatus 1204 may include means for simultaneously communicating the second signal at the first radio and communicating the third signal at the second radio by multiplexing the second signal and the third signal via TDM to communicate the second signal during a first set of time periods and communicate the third signal during a second set of time periods…. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Ahmed with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the third signal is duplexed with the second signal in the time domain, and the third signal is transmitted to a second radio node; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub. No. 2023/0284242 A1) in view of Park et al. (US Pat. No. 11953578 B2) in view of Kim et al. (US Pat. No. 11665695 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Ko in view of Park teaches as per claim 11, but Ko fails to state about, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: measure a first power value associated with a path to the target; measure a second power value of received power not associated with the path to the target; and transmit, to the network entity, an indication of the first power value and the second power value; however Kim states in claim 1 regarding receiving, from a base station, control information configuring a plurality of channel state information (CSI) resource sets for a CSI reporting, wherein each of the plurality of CSI resource sets comprises a first resource set including a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource for channel measurement (i.e. path to target) and a second resource set including a CSI-RS resource for interference measurement (i.e. not for path to target), wherein the control information includes information on a first power offset between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and the CSI-RS resource for channel measurement of the first resource set and information on a second power offset between a PDSCH and the CSI-RS resource for interference measurement of the second resource set; receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) including a CSI request associated with the first resource set and the second resource set among the plurality of CSI resource sets; receiving, from the base station, CSI-RSs on the first resource set and the second resource set corresponding to the CSI request; generating CSI for the CSI reporting based on the first power offset and the second power offset; and transmitting, to the base station, the CSI. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Ko in view of Park to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the radio node to: measure a first power value associated with a path to a target; measure a second power value of received power not associated with the path to the target; and transmit, to the network entity, an indication of the first power value and the second power value; greater way more reliable communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0026550 A1) states in abstract regarding method of tracking targets with bistatic radio frequency sensing includes receiving one or more sensing reference signals, generating a signal report based at least in part on the one or more sensing reference signals, transmitting the signal report, receiving tracking signal configuration information, receiving one or more tracking reference signals identified in the tracking signal configuration information, and tracking one or more targets associated with the one or more tracking reference signals.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479