DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (upon further consideration Group II is included with Group I), and the following species (upon further consideration the election requirement of species 3 is withdrawn), claims 1-16, 18, 19, in the reply filed on 03/13/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden in examining the various inventions (not persuasive in view of their different classification and legal interpretations, e.g., product by process, of the different inventions) and on the grounds that the species have not been shown to be non-obvious variants (not persuasive because different embodiments in the claimed scope are properly presumed to be non-obvious variants).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/13/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 1-16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a monolayer comprising an unreacted silicon sulfur compound (see the above elected species) having reactive groups (i.e., methoxy) which will react upon exposure to ambient moisture, such that it is unclear if the claim is intended to be interpreted literally (i.e., would only encompass a monolayer as it exists for the brief period of time in which the silane compound remains unreacted) or if the claim is instead intended to encompass a monolayer including the reacted product of such silane compound (in which case the claims should be amended to recite something like “monolayer formed by curing a composition comprising…”).
The rest of the rejected claims not specifically addressed above are rejected because they depend from one of the claims specifically addressed above and therefore include the same indefiniteness issue(s) via their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-16, 18-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aliane (U.S. 2017/0141291) in view of Tatemichi (U.S. 2012/0293909) in view of Wu (U.S. 2012/0141757) in view of Connelly (U.S. 4,879,345) in view of Bissinger (U.S. 2018/0257361), in view of Vibrational spectroscopic studies of (3-mercaptopropyl)trimethoxylsilane sol–gel and its coating (2005)
Regarding claims 1-16, 18, 19, Aliane teaches a dielectric coating, 18, applied as a single layer (monolayer) contacting a gold/copper substrate, 12 and 14, to form an assembly/component/device as in claims 12-16, 18 and 19, wherein the coating is formed with a thickness overlapping claim 10 (see FIG. 5C, [0054]-[0056]) after evaporating the solvent ([0064]), wherein the dielectric layer includes a fluoropolymer corresponding to the elected species (as in claims 2 and 3, [0028]-[0029]) at an amount overlapping claim 4 ([0061], after accounting for evaporation of the solvent). Aliane does not disclose the claimed vinyl polymer or silicon compound.
However, Tatemichi and/or Wu each independently render obvious the claimed vinyl polymer in a PVDF coating composition. That is, Tatemichi teaches that acrylate polymers (acrylate being a repeating unit as in claims 7-8) may be added to a dielectric PVDF composition to improve temperature dependent dielectric loss (see abstract, [0013], [0031], [0033]) such that it would have been obvious to have added such an acrylate polymer to Aliane (with the amount being obvious to optimize to within claim 9 as part of optimizing the degree of temperature dependent dielectric loss). Also, Wu teaches that acrylate polymers (acrylate being a repeating unit as in claims 7-8) may be added to a dielectric PVDF composition to lower surface tension and improve wetting/leveling (see abstract, [0048], [0053], [0054]) such that it would have been obvious to have added such an acrylate polymer to Aliane (with the amount being obvious to optimize to within claim 9 as part of optimizing the degree of lower surface tension and improve wetting/leveling).
Additionally, Connelly and/or Bissinger each independently render obvious the claimed silane compound in a PVDF coating composition to promote adhesion (Connelly- see abstract, col. 2, lines 1-60, with the elected silane falling within the disclosed formula I, and Bissinger- [0061]-[0064], [0065], mercaptopropylmethyldimethoxysilane), such that it would have been obvious to have added such a silane compound, as in claim 5, into Aliane with the amount of the silane compound being obvious to optimize to within the range of claim 6 as part of optimizing the degree of improved adhesion, as taught by Connelly and/or Bissinger.
Further to the above, although the adhesion promotion benefit disclosed by Connelly and/or Bissinger is already sufficient motivation to render the claimed silane compound obvious, the Vibrational NPL further discloses that mercapto groups of such silane compounds are specifically suitable for covalent bonding to copper and gold (see introduction) such that this motivation makes such silane compounds from Connelly and/or Bissinger even more obvious to include in the dielectric layer of Aliane to promote adhesion to the copper/gold substrates taught by Aliane.
Because the silane and acrylate ingredients disclosed above are obvious to optimize in terms of their amounts in the composition (as explained above), and because of the overlapping amount of fluoropolymer in Aliane, the amount of claim 11 (which is based on the combined amounts of fluoropolymer, silane compound, acrylate compound in the monolayer) is also obvious via the above described optimization and overlapping ranges (after the solvent evaporates). Furthermore, See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was “unexpectedly good”); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/674,593 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method claims include the same application/mixing steps for the same ingredients as presently claimed and because the presently claims “improving adhesion strength” is inherent from mixing such ingredients in the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787