CTNF 18/674,594 CTNF 88022 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is responsive to application 18/674,594 filed 05/24/2024 in which claims 2-25 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 2-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Cherian et al (US 2018/0206190 A1) . Regarding claim 2 , Cherian teaches a method for communicating in a wireless local area network (WLAN) that utilizes a plurality of WLAN communication links in respective frequency segments ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3 ), the method comprising: determining, at a first communication device, that a second communication device is in a first state with respect to a first WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links, wherein the first state with respect to the first WLAN communication link corresponds to the second communication device not receiving transmissions via the first communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0053]-[0055] device 105a/first communication device determining that device 115a/second device is not communication via link 205b/first link ); transmitting, by the first communication device, one or more first packets to the second communication device via a second WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056], device 105a transmits an indication to device 115a via link 205a/second link ); in response to i) a traffic load related to one or both of a) traffic on the second WLAN communication link and ii) traffic for the second communication device, determining, at the first communication device, that the first communication device is to transmit packets to the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0053]-[0059]; based on load, device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a ) prompting, by the first communication device, in between successive beacon frame transmissions, the second communication device to transition to a second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link in connection with determining that the first communication device is to transmit packets to the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link, the prompting including the first communication device transmitting a second packet to the second communication device via the second WLAN communication link, the second state corresponding to the second communication device being ready to transmit and receive via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a ) and after prompting the second communication device to transition to the second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link, transmitting, by the first communication device, a third packet to the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a and performing data communication ). Regarding claim 7 , Cherian teaches a first communication device ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; AP 105a ), comprising: a wireless network interface device that is configured to communicate via a plurality of wireless local area network (WLAN) communication links in respective frequency segments, the wireless network interface device having one or more integrated circuit (IC) devices configured to: determine that a second communication device is in a first state with respect to a first WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links, wherein the first state with respect to the first WLAN communication link corresponds to the second communication device not receiving transmissions via the first communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0053]-[0055] device 105a/first communication device determining that device 115a/second device is not communication via link 205b/first link ), control the wireless network interface device to transmit one or more first packets to the second communication device via a second WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056], device 105a transmits an indication to device 115a via link 205a/second link ), in response to i) a traffic load related to one or both of a) traffic on the second WLAN communication link and ii) traffic for the second communication device, determining, at the first communication device, that the first communication device is to transmit packets to the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0053]-[0059]; based on load, device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a ) prompt in between successive beacon frame transmissions, the second communication device to transition to a second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link in connection with determining that the first communication device is to transmit packets to the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link, the prompting including the first communication device transmitting a second packet to the second communication device via the second WLAN communication link, the second state corresponding to the second communication device being ready to transmit and receive via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a ) and after prompting the second communication device to transition to the second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link, transmitting, by the first communication device, a third packet to the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a and performing data communication ). Regarding claim 14 , Cherian teaches a method for communicating in a wireless local area network (WLAN) that utilizes a plurality of WLAN communication links in respective frequency segments ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; device 115a ), the method comprising: setting, at a first communication device, the first communication device to a first state with respect to a first WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links, wherein the first state corresponds to the first communication device not receiving transmissions via the first communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0053]-[0055] device 115a/first communication device not communication via link 205b/first link ); receiving, by the first communication device, one or more first packets from a second communication device via a second WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056], device 105a transmits an indication to device 115a via link 205a/second link ); receiving, by the first communication device, in between successive beacon frame transmissions, a second packet from the second communication device via the second WLAN communication link, the second packet indicating that the first communication device is to transition to a second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link, the second state corresponding to the second communication device being ready to transmit and receive via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a ); in connection with receiving the second packet via the second WLAN communication link, transitioning, at the first communication device, the first communication device to the second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link; and after transitioning the first WLAN communication link to the second state, receiving, by the first communication device, a third packet from the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a and performing data communication ). Regarding claim 19 , Cherian teaches a first communication device ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; device 115a ), comprising: a wireless network interface device that is configured to communicate via a plurality of wireless local area network (WLAN) communication links in respective frequency segments, the wireless network interface device having one or more integrated circuit (IC) devices configured to: set the wireless network interface device to a first state with respect to a first WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links, wherein the first state corresponds to the wireless network interface device not receiving transmissions via the first communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0053]-[0055] device 115a/first communication device not communication via link 205b/first link ), receive one or more first packets from a second communication device via a second WLAN communication link among the plurality of WLAN communication links ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056], device 105a transmits an indication to device 115a via link 205a/second link ), receive, in between successive beacon frame transmissions, a second packet from the second communication device via the second WLAN communication link, the second packet indicating that the first communication device is to transition to a second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link, the second state corresponding to the wireless network interface device being ready to transmit and receive via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a ), in connection with receiving the second packet via the second WLAN communication link, transition the wireless network interface device to the second state with respect to the first WLAN communication link, and after transitioning the wireless network interface device to the second state, receive a third packet from the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a and performing data communication ). Regarding claims 3, 8, 15 and 20 , Cherian teaches transmitting, by the first communication device, a fourth packet via the second WLAN communication link simultaneously with transmitting the third packet to the second communication device via the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a and performing multi-link data communication; see Fig. 3:330 ). Regarding claims 4, 9, 16 and 21 , Cherian teaches wherein transmitting the fourth packet via the second WLAN communication link comprises: transmitting, by the first communication device, the fourth packet to the second communication device via the second WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [0056]-[0062], device 105a indicating to device 115a to activate link 205b to receive data from device 105a and performing multi-link data communication; see Fig. 3:330 ). Regarding claims 5, 10, 17 and 22 , Cherian teaches wherein the first state corresponds to a doze state of a power save mode of the second communication device with respect to the first WLAN communication link; and wherein the second state corresponds to a wake state of the power save mode of the second communication device with respect to the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Figs. 2-3; [005]; [0039], [0055], [0066] sleep/low power state ). Regarding claims 6, 11, 18 and 23 , Cherian teaches wherein determining that the second communication device is in the first mode with respect to the first WLAN communication link comprises: receiving, by the first communication device, a fourth packet transmitted by the second communication device via only the second WLAN communication link, wherein the fourth packet includes information indicating that the second communication device is in the first state with respect to the first WLAN communication link ( Cherian: Fig. 3:335; [0071]-[0772] ). Regarding claims 12 and 24 , Cherian teaches wherein the wireless network interface device comprises: one or more transceivers implemented at least partially on the one or more ICs ( Cherian: Fig. 8; [0008], [0078] ). Regarding claims 13 and 25 , Cherian teaches a host processor coupled to the wireless network interface device ( Cherian: Fig. 8; [0008] ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KODZOVI ACOLATSE whose telephone number is (571)270-1999. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 10 am to 6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Avellino Joseph can be reached at (571) 272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 10 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/674,594 Page 11 Art Unit: 2478