DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baba (7,466,334).
Consider claims 1, 15 and 20, Baba teaches a conference recording method, terminal device and non-transitory computer-readable medium for application to a client configured to provide an online conference, the online conference comprises an online audio conference or an online video conference, the method comprising: detecting an online conference trigger operation, the online conference trigger operation being a trigger operation of an online conference end option or a trigger operation of an online conference record viewing option (col. 6 lines 58 – col. 7 line 2; “a subscriber 12 can submit a notification request to the notification subsystem 11, requesting to be notified whenever an event of interest to the subscriber occurs. All notification subscriptions are stored in the management subsystem 10 database and are forwarded to the indexing subsystems 8. When an indexing subsystem detects an event of interest 213, it triggers a notification message, which is sent via the notification system to the subscriber”; col. 11 lines 43-59; “Requests 71 made by a subscriber via the notification and navigation subsystem 11 are in one of three forms: query requests 72, navigation requests 73 and notification requests 74. Query requests are requests to retrieve a set of results that match certain conditions submitted by the subscriber. Query requests are performed in an ad-hoc manner. Navigation requests are requests to retrieve a new recording or recording interval, or give a current recording or interval and a temporal offset or some other iteration offset. Navigation requests can be made only after first obtaining a results set from either a query request of a notification request”); and displaying, in response to the online conference trigger operation an online conference review interface (col. 14 lines 14-21; “FIG. 9 is an illustration of one embodiment of the graphic representation and display of a result sets. The results of user query requests or of a topic notification are displayed as a matrix 170”), comprising timelines of a plurality of participants and a plurality of audio identifiers distributed along the timelines, wherein each of the plurality of audio identifiers identifies a segment of audio data of a participant corresponding to a timeline on which the audio identifier is located, wherein a start position of the audio identifier on the timeline indicates a start time of the segment of audio data of the participant, wherein an end position of the audio identifier on the timeline indicates an end time of the segment of audio data of the participant, and wherein the segment of audio data of the participant is generated by recording a conference speech voice signal of the participant in a time period from the start time to the end time (col. 7 lines 10 – col. 8 lines 16; “The recording subsystem 7 accepts an input stream 25 from the external audio/video conferencing system 5 and records the input stream by segmenting at designated time intervals obtained from the configuration subsystem 6. The recording subsystem performs encoding of the input stream to produce an output audio/video stream 27 suitable for playback via the playback subsystem 9 and informs the management subsystem 10 of the location of the recording. After each recorded segment is encoded, the segment is processed by the indexing subsystem 8”; col. 11 lines 9-32; “The recording information records 56 contain the recording date and time, the meeting leader for the recording, meeting participant information if available, and system identification denoting which recording module and parameters where used to record the conference call. Each recording has a unique recording ID, which is used to associate or join the record to any other record in the system database. The recording location records 62 contain information of where the recording media is stored on one or more playback servers 9. The relevance interval records 58 contain the interval start time and stop time relative to the recording and a weighting to describe the strength or confidence of the interval. Relevance intervals are further associated with recognized words and tasks”).
Consider claims 2 and 16, Baba teaches detecting a first trigger operation corresponding to one of the plurality of audio identifiers; and displaying, in response to the first trigger operation, a keyword of audio data corresponding to the audio identifier (col. 11 lines 9-32; “The recording information records 56 contain the recording date and time, the meeting leader for the recording, meeting participant information if available, and system identification denoting which recording module and parameters where used to record the conference call. Each recording has a unique recording ID, which is used to associate or join the record to any other record in the system database. The recording location records 62 contain information of where the recording media is stored on one or more playback servers 9. The relevance interval records 58 contain the interval start time and stop time relative to the recording and a weighting to describe the strength or confidence of the interval. Relevance intervals are further associated with recognized words and tasks”; col. 13 lines 4-9; “Next, for each associated task we further find 166 from the interval correlation database 167 any other interval that also has a high correlation with the identified task. The results are organized at step 168 and graphically presented to the display system of the user”).
Consider claims 3 and 17, Baba teaches detecting a second trigger operation corresponding to the one of the plurality of audio identifiers, and playing, in response to the second trigger operation, the audio data corresponding to the audio identifier (col. 11 lines 9-32; “The recording information records 56 contain the recording date and time, the meeting leader for the recording, meeting participant information if available, and system identification denoting which recording module and parameters where used to record the conference call. Each recording has a unique recording ID, which is used to associate or join the record to any other record in the system database. The recording location records 62 contain information of where the recording media is stored on one or more playback servers 9. The relevance interval records 58 contain the interval start time and stop time relative to the recording and a weighting to describe the strength or confidence of the interval. Relevance intervals are further associated with recognized words and tasks”; col. 13 lines 4-9; “Next, for each associated task we further find 166 from the interval correlation database 167 any other interval that also has a high correlation with the identified task. The results are organized at step 168 and graphically presented to the display system of the user”).
Consider claims 7 and 19, Baba teaches wherein, before the detecting the online conference trigger operation, the method further comprises: recording and generating at least one piece of audio data of a participant that uses the client, and recording a start time and an end time of the at least one piece of audio data on a timeline of the participant; and sending the start time and the end time of the at least one piece of audio data on the timeline of the participant and the at least one piece of audio data to a server, wherein the start time and the end time of the at least one piece of audio data on the timeline of the participant and the at least one piece of audio data are used to generate the online conference review interface (col. 5 lines 47-67; “The recording subsystem 7 receives the audio/video stream 203 from the external conferencing system 5 in the format and protocol of the conferencing system. To the conferencing system the recording subsystem appears to be just another participant on the conference call. An audio conferencing system can connect to the recording module by dialing a telephone number of the recording subsystem gateway. A video conferencing system can connect to the recording subsystem by dialing the appropriate ISDN or network based address of the recording module or gateway as required”; col. 11 lines 9-32; “The recording information records 56 contain the recording date and time, the meeting leader for the recording, meeting participant information if available, and system identification denoting which recording module and parameters where used to record the conference call. Each recording has a unique recording ID, which is used to associate or join the record to any other record in the system database. The recording location records 62 contain information of where the recording media is stored on one or more playback servers 9”).
Consider claim 8, Baba teaches wherein the start time and the end time of the at least one piece of audio data on the timeline of the participant and the at least one piece of audio data are stored in at least one storage unit, and wherein the at least one storage unit is connected in series by using a time pointer of the participant (col. 11 lines 9-32; “The recording information records 56 contain the recording date and time, the meeting leader for the recording, meeting participant information if available, and system identification denoting which recording module and parameters where used to record the conference call. Each recording has a unique recording ID, which is used to associate or join the record to any other record in the system database. The recording location records 62 contain information of where the recording media is stored on one or more playback servers 9”; col. 12 lines 15-23; “Each match from the SR match module 68 returns the recording ID and the start and end times an interval surrounding the matched word along with a confidence value. Each match from the contextual match module 69 contains the recording ID, topic ID, and the interval IDs previously associated with the topic by the indexing subsystem”).
Consider claim 9, Baba teaches detecting a sixth trigger operation corresponding to the one of the plurality of audio identifiers; and displaying, in response to the sixth trigger operation, a thumbnail of video data corresponding to the audio identifier, wherein the video data corresponding to the audio identifier is generated by recording a main interface picture in a time period between a start time and an end time of audio data corresponding to the audio identifier (col. 14 lines 14-34; “Each graphic icon also displays the interval start and stop times 175 and other recording data 176. Each interval has a player control 177, allowing the user to select and play that recording interval easily”).
Consider claim 10, Baba teaches comprising: detecting a seventh trigger operation of the thumbnail, and playing, in response to the seventh trigger operation, the video data and the audio data that are corresponding to the audio identifier (col. 14 lines 14-34; “Each graphic icon also displays the interval start and stop times 175 and other recording data 176. Each interval has a player control 177, allowing the user to select and play that recording interval easily”; col. 15 lines 20-25; “subscriber 12 may issue a navigation command 108 directly to the media server 103 for intra-recording navigation including: stop, pause, rewind, fast-forward or to jump to a specific time offset within the audio or video stream currently being played. These commands are only appropriate after an audio or video stream has been retrieved”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.) Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Quoc D Tran/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
January 29, 2026