Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes that while the “attempted” language has been corrected, and the claims reconsidered under the improved language, the claim has still has issues relating to its clarity. Namely, Applicants amendment that K is an index, renders many further references to a “k-th” element as being unclear as K has been defined in the claim as an index and not a specific variable. As such, many of the uses of K are unclear according to current language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “table information.” However, this is unclear as the claims reference both “second management table information” and “first management table information.” The claim is unclear whether “table information” is related to the first/second management table information.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the table information added to the k-th hash table and the (k+1)-th hash table does not include a key.” The claim is unclear because “K” has been defined by the claim as “an index that increases sequentially from 1,” and thus is not a variable. It is unclear then how the claim can use K in reference to a specific hash table when K is not a variable, i.e. K is a set of variable, such as K = {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} rather than K = 7.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (US 20170078200 A1).
Claim 1 Jin teaches a method performed by an apparatus for constructing a multi-stage hash table composed of n hash tables and n management tables, (Examiner notes that as a “hash table” is stated as comprising “n hash tables and n management tables” Examiner interprets a hash and management table as being identical) the method comprising:
generating first management table information, (FIG. 5A, ¶0059, creating a first table, i.e. the first management table information) the first management table information including a key and a hash value obtained by hashing the key with a hash function; (FIG. 5A, step 508, generating a hash value using a key and applying the hash function to the key)
determining whether second management table information having the same hash value as the hash value included in the first management table information is present (FIG. 4B, step 428, ¶0048, determining whether has values in a first table are present within another table) in a k-th management table; (Examiner interprets this as being a non-specific second table, i.e. determining whether the information is present in another table) and
adding table information to the k-th management table and a k-th hash table among n hash tables (FIG. 4B, ¶0049, generating additional hash values for the tables) or to a (k+1)-th management table and a (k+1)-th hash table based on the determination result,
wherein k is an index that increases sequentially from 1, (Examiner interprets this as being a commonly understood semantic designation, i.e. K being a series integers starting from 1; ¶0037, for example Jin uses “k1” as wherein K is a integer sequence starting from 1) such that the determining and the adding are performed starting from a first management table and a first hash table, (Examiner notes that similarly this is merely a semantic convention, i.e. K is a integer sequence starting from one, and “first” table are the start of the method performance) wherein the table information added to the k-th hash table and the (k+1)-th hash table does not include a key. (See 112b, Examiner notes that this is incoherent according to Applicant’s claim language as “K” is not a variable, but rather an “index” as such there is no specific “k-th or (k+1)-th” tables)
Claim 2 Jin teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein attempting to add the table information comprises:
adding third management table information and fourth management table information to the (k+1)-th management table and adding first hash table information and second hash table information to the (k+1)-th hash table, (FIG. 4B, ¶0049, generating additional hash values for the tables) when the second management table information having the same hash value as the hash value included in the first management table information is present (FIG. 4B, step 428, ¶0048, determining whether has values in a table are present within another table) in the k-th management table. (Examiner interprets this as being a non-specific second table, i.e. determining whether information is present in other table)
Claim 3 Jin teaches Claim 2, and further teaches wherein a key included in the first management table information is the same as a key included in the third management table information, wherein a key included in the second management table information is the same as a key included in the fourth management table information, and wherein a hash value included in the third management table information and a hash value included in the fourth management table information are values calculated using a hash function of the (k+1)-th management table. (Examiner notes that Claim 2 does not have patentable weight as an intended use statement)
Claim 4 Jin teaches Claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first hash table information and the second hash table information include a hash value obtained by hashing a key with a hash function, a value, and a collision bit, and wherein the first hash table information and the second hash table information do not include a key. (Examiner notes that Claim 2 does not have patentable weight as an intended use statement)
Claim 5 Jin teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the (k+1)-th management table and the (k+1)-th hash table exist when k is less than n. (See 112b rejection for Claim 1, K is not an integer, thus the comparison being made is unclear; further as N is a undefined variable and thus can be any number, it is obvious that N can be any number greater than another other number)
Claim 6 Jin teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first management table information includes a value and a collision bit. (¶0002, wherein the cells store respective collision elements, i.e. collision bits, and where these bits are values)
Claim 7 Jin teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein a hash function of the k-th management table is the same as a hash function of the k-th hash table. (Jin, ¶0020, wherein the hash function is the same for the management and hash tables)
Claim 8 Jin teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein attempting to add the table information comprises:
adding the first management table information to the k-th management table and adding third hash table information to the k-th hash table (Jin, ¶0006, generating tables and hash values, Examiner notes that the third hash table information has not been distinguished in anyways and so be read as generic hash table information) when the second management table information having the same hash value as the hash value included in the first management table information is not present in the k-th management table. (Examiner notes that Claim 8 does not have patentable weight as an intended use statement; in particular Examiner notes that Claim 8 with Claim 1 does not cover all possible continencies, as the second management table information may not have the same hash value as the hash value indicated in the first management table information)
Claim 10 Jin teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein a hash function of the k-th hash table and a hash function of the (k+1)-th hash table are independent of each other, (Jin, ¶0020, wherein there are multiple hash functions) and wherein a hash function of the k-th management table and a has function of the (k+1)-th management table are independent of each other. (See 112b rejection for Claim 1, K is not a variable, it is an index and therefore the claim is unclear when attempting to use K to referenced specific elements; Furthermore, Examiner notes that table data is innately independent of each other)
Claim 11 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 1.
Claim 12 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 2.
Claim 13 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 3.
Claim 14 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 4.
Claim 15 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 5.
Claim 16 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 6.
Claim 17 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 7.
Claim 18 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 8.
Claim 20 is taught by Jin as described for Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 20170078200 A1) in view of Sano (US 20210111922 A1).
Claim 9 Jin teaches Claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein a collision bit included in the first management table information and a collision bit included in the third hash table information are set to 0.
From a related technology, Sano teaches wherein a collision bit included in the first management table information and a collision bit included in the third hash table information are set to 0. (Sano, ¶0070, wherein the collision bit is set to 0)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jin to incorporate table values taught in Sano in order to more effectively processes network resources.
Claim 19 is taught by Jin in view of Sano as described for Claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444