DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallerberg (US7576276) in view of Shimada (20060081115A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hallerberg discloses a system, comprising: a percussion instrument mounted grip; and a saddle attachment mechanism that is mountable to a percussion instrument (12) carrier at a front side thereof and between shoulder straps (on the harness 10) and a belly plate (in the front of the harness) thereof so as to form an upper anchor point, wherein the saddle attachment mechanism is configured to receive the grip (11) therein so as to thereby couple the percussion instrument (12) to the carrier such that the percussion instrument (12) is rotatable about an x-axis of the upper anchor point and rests on a support member of the percussion instrument (12) carrier, and wherein the adjustment of the support member rotationally (via the swivel 13) adjusts the playing position of the percussion instrument about the x-axis of the upper anchor point (see the upper anchor point in figure 1).
Hallerberg does not disclose a vertical adjustment.
Shimada discloses the use of a system comprising a percussion instrument (12) with a vertical adjustment means.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Hallerberg to include the vertical rotation means as disclosed in Shimada in order to provide a drum with varying playing positions.
Regarding claim 2, Hallerberg discloses wherein the system further comprises the percussion instrument carrier (see the carrier in figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the saddle attachment mechanism comprises:
a receiver configured to receive the grip therein via a drop-in action (see the receiver that receives the grip 11 and the drop in capabilities in figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hallerberg discloses wherein wherein the saddle attachment mechanism further comprises: a saddle mount configured to mount the receiver to the carrier (see the attachment means that mount the receiver in figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Shimada discloses wherein the support member includes a mechanical assist (91) configured to vertically adjust the support member relative to the belly plate (see paragraph 0065).
Claims 4, 5, 7-9, and 11-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837