DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed January 12, 2026. As directed by the amendment: Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 13-18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 7, 10, 12, and 19 have been cancelled. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 13-18, and 20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: In ll. 1, the phrase “The baseplate system of claim 10” should be re-written as --The baseplate system of claim 9--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 9, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, ll. 11-13, the phrase “wherein the first spacer coupling comprises at least one of a first recess and a first process, wherein the first spacer includes at least one of a second process and a second recess that is configured to mate with the first spacer coupling” is confusing because it is unclear how the coupling and the spacer can comprise both the recess and the process. It appears it is one or the other. Amendment and clarification are required.
Claims 11 and 13-17 are rejected on being dependent to a rejected base claim.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cloutier (US 4,211,228).
Regarding claim 9, Cloutier discloses a tibial baseplate system (figure 5), comprising a tibial baseplate (45) having a first surface (e.g. bottom surface, see figure 5) and a second surface (e.g. top surface, see figure 5) that is substantially opposite to the first surface (e.g. bottom surface, see figure 5), the first surface (e.g. bottom surface, see figure 5) being configured to (i.e. capable of) be seated on a resected surface at a proximal end of a tibia (43) (figure 5), wherein the tibial baseplate (45) comprises a first spacer coupling (considered wherein element 69 situated in) that is configured to (i.e. capable of) couple a first spacer (69) to at least one of: (i) a lateral side (figure 5) and (ii) a medial side of the tibial baseplate (45) such that the first spacer (69) is disposed between (figure 5), and is configured to (i.e. capable of) maintain a set minimal distance between, the proximal end of the tibia (43) and a distal end of a femur (53) (figure 4) when the tibial baseplate (45) is seated on the resected surface at the proximal end of the tibia (43) and the first spacer (69) is coupled to the tibial baseplate (45), wherein the first spacer coupling (considered wherein element 69 situated in) comprises at least one of a first recess (figure 5) and a first process, wherein the first spacer (69) includes at least one of a second process (considered as a portion of element 69) (figure 5) and a second recess that is configured to (i.e. capable of) mate with the first spacer coupling (considered wherein element 69 situated in).
Regarding claim 11, Cloutier discloses wherein the first recess (figure 5) comprises an elongated groove (figure 5), wherein the first process (considered as a portion of element 69) comprises an elongated process (figure 5), and wherein the first spacer coupling (considered wherein element 69 situated in) is configured to (i.e. capable of) couple with the first spacer (69) and to guide the first spacer (69) across the second surface (e.g. top surface, see figure 5) of the tibial baseplate (45) in substantially an anteroposterior direction (considered as a top/down direction).
Regarding claim 14, Cloutier discloses further comprising a trial tibial component (67), wherein the trial tibial component (67) couples (has been interpreted as indirect coupling) with the first spacer coupling (considered wherein element 69 situated in).
Regarding claim 15, Cloutier discloses further comprising a second spacer coupling (considered wherein element 67 is situated in) that runs substantially parallel (figure 5) to the first spacer coupling (considered wherein element 69 situated in).
Regarding claim 16, Cloutier discloses further comprising the first spacer (69), the first spacer (69) being coupled to the first spacer coupling (considered wherein element 69 situated in) (figure 5), and a second spacer (67), the second spacer (67) being coupled to the second spacer coupling (considered wherein element 67 is situated in) (figure 5).
Regarding claim 17, Cloutier discloses wherein the first spacer (69) is taller (e.g. different thicknesses, col. 3, ll. 44-51) than the second spacer (67) such that the first spacer (69) and the second spacer (67) are configured to (i.e. capable of) maintain different sized gaps between (i) the resected surface and a portion of the distal end of the femur (figure 4) that touches the first spacer (69) and (ii) the resected surface and a portion of the distal end of the femur (figure 4) that touches the second spacer (67) when the tibial baseplate (45) is seated on the resected surface at the proximal end of the tibia (43) and the first spacer (69) and the second spacer (67) are coupled to the tibial baseplate (20).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,230. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the USP claims lies in the fact that the USP claims includes more elements and are thus, more specific. Thus, the USP is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the instant application’s claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-10, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), of the Remarks are directed to the amended claims 1, 9, 18 and the references Waite and Cloutier. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the reference Waite has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues Cloutier does not describe the amended features in claim 9. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, see Office Action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775