DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the temperature sensor, temperature reference channel, temperature reference light transmitter, temperature reference light receiver, and an internal temperature reference target, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7,16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210223374A1, Wojciech KUDLA in further view of EP3392679A1, Wendel Simon.
Regarding claim 1, Wojciech teaches:
An optoelectronic sensor for the detection of at least one object in a monitored zone,
comprising a housing having a front screen ([0002] Remote sensing unit to detect one or more objects, [0003] front window where light is transmitted through); a measuring unit having at least one measurement light transmitter for transmitting measurement light through the front screen and at least one measurement light receiver for generating a received measurement signal from measurement light remitted by the object ([0021] light source transmits light into a FoV and a light receiver receiving light reflected from one or more objects); a movable deflection unit for the periodic deflection of the measurement light ([0035] mechanically moving deflection mirror):
Wojciech does not teach:
a contamination test unit moved along with the deflection unit and having at least one contamination test light transmitter for transmitting contamination test light onto the front screen and at least one contamination test light receiver for generating a received contamination test signal from contamination test light remitted at the front screen; and a control and evaluation unit that is configured to detect the object by evaluating the received measurement signal and to evaluate the contamination of the front screen by evaluating the received contamination test signal, wherein the contamination test unit has at least two contamination test light transmitters and/or at least two contamination test light receivers to form a plurality of contamination test channels; and wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to evaluate the contamination of the front screen using the received contamination test signals of the plurality of contamination test channels.
Wendel teaches,
a contamination test unit moved along with the deflection unit and having at least one contamination test light transmitter for transmitting contamination test light onto the front screen and at least one contamination test light receiver for generating a received contamination test signal from contamination test light remitted at the front screen ([0067] the transmitting/receiving unit is arranged to rotate about an axis of rotation, i.e. in this case the deflection of the light beams takes place by rotating the entire transmitting/receiving unit) ([0009] measuring the contamination of a screen utilizing a test light transmitter and a test light receiver);
and a control and evaluation unit that is configured to detect the object by evaluating the received measurement signal and to evaluate the contamination of the front screen by evaluating the received contamination test signal ([0073] to carry out object detection vie received light beams
[0009] – the test transmitted beams of light are fed into a receiving element so that the quality of light incident can be evaluated for contamination of the window),
wherein the contamination test unit has at least two contamination test light transmitters and/or at least two contamination test light receivers to form a plurality of contamination test channels; and wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to evaluate the contamination of the front screen using the received contamination test signals of the plurality of contamination test channels ([0106] – test device has a plurality of test detectors, [0077] – test device comprises a plurality of test emitters, [0009] – test transmitted light to evaluate the contamination of a window).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the scanner of Wojiech to include dedicated window contamination test light transmitters/receivers to rotate about an axis of rotation with a rotating deflector similar to that of Wendel. This would have the predictable result of reducing the interference between the measurement channels and the test channels as well as keeping the measurement function independent from the contamination test function to improve processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the optoelectronic sensor is a laser scanner (Woj, [0002] lidar is a remote sensor method that uses light in the form of a pulsed laser).
Regarding claim 3, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1,
wherein a direction of radiation of the contamination test light is transverse to a direction of radiation of the measurement light ([0031] laser beams have shape extending perpendicular to a scanning direction).
Regarding claim 4, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1,
wherein a direction of radiation of the contamination test light is perpendicular to a direction of radiation of the measurement light ([0031] laser beams have shape extending perpendicular to a scanning direction).
Regarding claim 5, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1,
wherein the control and evaluation is configured to compare a respective received contamination test signal with a reference value for the evaluation of the contamination of the front screen ([0007] Compare time of flight of a transmitted light beam to a threshold value to detect window contamination).
Regarding claim 7, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1,
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to measure a received contamination test signal with an inactive contamination test light transmitter to compensate it as a background signal of a received contamination test signal detected with an active contamination test light transmitter ([0164] at least one processor is configured to deactivate the transmitter while receiving the ambient light for each of the plurality of scanning positions).
Regarding claim 16, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to compare measured results of the measuring unit and of the contamination test unit with one another ([0176] processor configured to compare a transmit light beam and a reflected light beam).
Regarding claim 17, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 16
wherein the control and evaluation unit is further configured not to evaluate the contamination of the front screen ([0085] time of flight is equal to or greater than a threshold, controller determines that no dirt is present and ignores the light detection).
Regarding claim 18, Wojciech as modified above teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to treat a fast increase in the contamination of the front screen as a detected object on a detection of an object by the measuring unit in this position of the deflection unit (Wendal, [0075] optical sensor configured to detect an intrusion of an object).
Regarding claim 19, Wojciech teaches:
A method of measuring the contamination of a front screen of an optoelectronic sensor
that transmits measurement light through the front screen by at least one measurement light transmitter and that generates a received measurement signal from measurement light remitted by the object by at least one measurement light receiver; ([0003] the light is transmitted and received through a window of the sensor module)
that periodically deflects the measurement light by a movable deflection unit ([0035] mechanically moving deflection mirror)
Wojciech does not teach;
that transmits contamination test light onto the front screen by at least one contamination test light transmitter moved along with the deflection unit and that generates a received contamination test light signal from contamination test light reflected at the front screen by at least one contamination test light receiver; the object is detected by evaluating the received measurement signal; and the contamination of the front screen is evaluated by evaluating the received contamination test signal, wherein a plurality of contamination test channels and formed by means of at least two contamination test light transmitters and/or by means of at least two contamination test light receivers; and wherein the contamination of the front screen is evaluated using the received contamination test signals of the plurality of contamination test channels.
Wendel teaches,
that transmits contamination test light onto the front screen by at least one contamination test light transmitter moved along with the deflection unit and that generates a received contamination test light signal from contamination test light reflected at the front screen by at least one contamination test light receiver ([0067] the transmitting/receiving unit is arranged to rotate about an axis of rotation, i.e. in this case the deflection of the light beams takes place by rotating the entire transmitting/receiving unit) ([0009] measuring the contamination of a screen utilizing a test light transmitter and a test light receiver); the object is detected by evaluating the received measurement signal ([0073] to carry out object detection vie received light beams); and the contamination of the front screen is evaluated by evaluating the received contamination test signal ([0009] the test transmitted beams of light are fed into a receiving element so that the quality of light incident can be evaluated for contamination of the window), wherein a plurality of contamination test channels and formed by means of at least two contamination test light transmitters and/or by means of at least two contamination test light receivers; and wherein the contamination of the front screen is evaluated using the received contamination test signals of the plurality of contamination test channels ([0077] test device comprises a plurality of test emitters, [0106] plurality of test detectors, [0009] test transmitter light beams are fed to receiving elements so that the quality of light incident can be evaluated as a measure for the contamination of the window).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the scanner of Wojciech to include dedicated window contamination test light transmitters/receivers to rotate about an axis of rotation with a rotating deflector similar to that of Wendel. This would have the predictable result of reducing the interference between the measurement channels and the test channels as well as keeping the measurement function independent from the contamination test function to improve processing efficiency.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210223374A1, Wojciech KUDLA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US11237117B2, Havener Aaron.
Regarding claim 6, Wojciech teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 5,
Wojciech does not teach,
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured for a teaching mode in which received contamination test signals are stored as reference values.
Havener teaches,
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured for a teaching mode in which received contamination test signals are stored as reference values. ([0045] a unit configured to store previously determined film thickness as a reference table)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Wojciech to include a teaching mode to store test signals as reference values similar to that of Aaron, where film thickness values on a substrate are stored as a reference table. This would have the predictable result of allowing the sensor system to calibrate itself to a desired state improving contamination detection accuracy.
Claim(s) 8,9,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210223374A1, Wojciech KUDLA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US9476828B2, KRAMER JOACHIM.
Regarding claim 8, Wojciech teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1
Wojciech does not teach;
that has a temperature sensor, and wherein the control and evaluation is configured to adapt a received contamination test signal or a reference value using a temperature measured by the temperature sensor
Kramer teaches,
that has a temperature sensor, and wherein the control and evaluation is configured to adapt a received contamination test signal or a reference value using a temperature measured by the temperature sensor ([0027] the reference test light can be used to compensate other effects such as temperature).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor of Wojiech to include a temperature sensor similar to that of Kramer. This would have the predictable result of allowing the received test signal to compensate for changes in temperature within the sensor system allowing the received contamination test signals to have greater accuracy
Regarding claim 9, Wojciech as modified above teaches,
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1
that has a temperature reference channel having a temperature reference light transmitter, a temperature reference light receiver, and an internal temperature reference target arranged within the housing to adapt a received contamination test signal or a reference value using a temperature reference signal of the temperature reference light receiver ([0009] temperature reference path to adapt transmitted/received test light, [0027] the reference test light can be used to compensate other effects such as temperature).
Regarding claim 13, Wojciech as modified above teaches, The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1
wherein the contamination test channels have at least one indirect channel that is formed by a contamination test light transmitter and a contamination test light receiver not directly adjacent (Kramer, [FIG. 1] light transmitter 12 not directly adjacent to light receiver 26).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210223374A1, Wojciech KUDLA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP1087221A1, SCHALLER UWE.
Regarding claim 10, Wojciech teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1,
Wojciech does not teach;
wherein the contamination test unit has at least two contamination test light transmitters and at least two contamination light receivers in an alternating linear arrangement.
Schaller teaches,
wherein the contamination test unit has at least two contamination test light transmitters and at least two contamination light receivers in an alternating linear arrangement ([0026] Accordingly, the transmitter-receiver arrangement consists of three transmitters and three receivers, which are alternating on a circular ring).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Wojciech to incorporate the alternating transmitter and receiver arrangement similar to that of Schaller. It would be obvious to try redistributing the circular arrangement of Schaller into a linear alternating arrangement with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the sensor to take a series of both direct and indirect channel measurements to more accurately determine screen contamination.
Regarding claim 11, Wojciech as modified above teaches, The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 10,
wherein the arrangement is slanted to or in parallel with an axis of rotation of the movable deflection unit (Wendel, [0009] receiving element rotating together with deflection unit, [0067] the transmitting/receiving unit is arranged to rotate about an axis of rotation, i.e. in this case the deflection of the light beams takes place by rotating the entire transmitting/receiving unit).
Regarding claim 12, Wojciech as modified above teaches, The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1
wherein the contamination test channels have at least one direct channel that is formed by a contamination test light transmitter and a directly adjacent contamination test light receiver ([0026] the transmitter-receiver arrangement consists of three transmitters and three receivers, which are alternating on a circular ring).
Claim(s) 14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210223374A1, Wojciech KUDLA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP3862780A1, KRÄMER JOACHIM.
Regarding claim 14, Wojciech teaches;
The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 1
Wojciech does not teach;
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to evaluate the contamination of the front screen in a plurality of angular segments corresponding to positions of the movable deflection unit.
KRÄMER teaches,
wherein the control and evaluation unit is configured to evaluate the contamination of the front screen in a plurality of angular segments corresponding to positions of the movable deflection unit ([0049] recognition of contamination takes place by random sampling large angle segments).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Wojciech to evaluate the contamination of the front screen utilizing a plurality of angle segments similar to that of KRÄMER. This would have the predictable result of processing the contamination of smaller segments of the screen thus increasing the processing efficiency of the contamination test signals as well as allowing different angular segments to be treated differently thus the sensor can prioritize screen segments where measurement is required.
Regarding claim 15, Wojciech as modified above teaches, The optoelectronic sensor in accordance with claim 14
wherein the control and evaluation unit is further configured not to evaluate the contamination for at least one configurable angular segment ([0025] the window monitoring based on the evolution of the reflex beam cab remain restricted to particularly critical sub-regions, where in there can also be a plurality of such sub-regions or angle intervals).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20080158555A1 - Toshihiro Mori - Optical window contamination detecting device for optical apparatus
DE19706612A1 - OTTENBACHER THOMAS - Optoelectronic device for monitoring surveillance zone
EP2237065B1 - SATZKY UWE - Optical sensor according to the time-of-flight principle
DE4340756A1 - Hainer Wetteborn - Laser range finder, e.g. for driverless transport system - measures distance using pulse travel time and light deflection angle to determine position of object in measuring region
EP2388619B1 - Lutz Dr. Lohmann - Optical sensor
EP3511739A1 - Armin Werber - Testing device for optical measuring system
DE10025511C1 - Thomas Meinert - Object location device for surveillance system with integrated detection of soiling level of housing window
EP3078985B1 - Michael Engler - Optoelectronic sensor and method for transmission monitoring a windshield
EP2508914A1 - Stefan Dr. Mack - Optical detection device
DE19706612A1 - Thomas Ottenbacher - Optoelectronic device for monitoring surveillance zone
DE102016111615B3 - Michael Engler - Optoelectronic sensor and method for detecting objects
DE19757849B4 - Johann F. Dipl.-Phys. Hipp - Scanner and device for the optical detection of obstacles and their use
DE19757849A1 - Johann F Dipl Phys Hipp - Scanner for arrangement for optical detection of objects
DE4340756A1 - Hainer Wetteborn - Laser range finder, e.g. for driverless transport system - measures distance using pulse travel time and light deflection angle to determine position of object in measuring region
DE102010061382A1 - Kirsten Gosch - Opto-electronic sensor and method for detection and distance determination of objects
DE4345446C2 - Hainer Wetteborn - Laser range finder, e.g. for driverless transport system
EP2388619A1 - Lutz Dr. Lohmann - Optical sensor
DE19706612A1 - Thomas Ottenbacher - Optoelectronic device for monitoring surveillance zone
EP3078985B1 - Michael Engler - Optoelectronic sensor and method for transmission monitoring a windshield
EP4086661A1 - Fabian Jachmann - Optoelectronic sensor and method for monitoring a windshield
/JOHN CESARE TRIDICO/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645