DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 3 and 4 recite “wherein the first region of thermoplastic is extruded” which appears to be a misstatement of “wherein the first region of thermoplastic foam is extruded”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (WO 2018/152180 cited by US 2020/0009823, already of record).
For claim 1, Baker teaches a method of forming a panel for use on a trailer, the method comprising: extruding a portion of a panel member core of thermoplastic foam ([0078] – reinforced strips 304a/304b).
Though Baker does not teach extruding a panel member core of thermoplastic foam with a first region having a first density and a second region, adjacent the first region, having a second density less than the first density, Baker does teach a panel member core’s partially hollow structure and the reinforced strips, which are adjacent (Figs 3 & 8 – elements 302 & 304a/304b), may comprise the same composition, but a different volumetric mass density ([0019]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extrude a panel member core of thermoplastic foam with a first region having a first density and a second region, adjacent the first region, having a second density less than the first density in order to lighten the weight of the panel.
Baker further teaches cutting the panel member core at a predetermined length ([0083]); and laminating a sheet to the panel member core, extending over the first and second regions ([0014] & [0020]).
For claim 2, Baker teaches a third region adjacent the second region, opposite the first region, the third region having the first density (Figs 3 & 8 – elements 304a & 304b would have the same first density); and wherein the sheet would extend over the first, second, and third regions.
For claim 3, though Baker does not teach the first region of thermoplastic foam is extruded from a first extruder and the second region of thermoplastic is extruded from a second extruder, Baker does teach the first structure 302 and the second structure 304 of the core member 204 may be defined by different properties including, for example, density, tensile strength, and the like ([0065]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region of thermoplastic foam be extruded from a first extruder and the second region of thermoplastic be extruded from a second extruder. Baker further teaches the method further comprising thermally welding the first region with the second region ([0011] & [0063]).
For claim 4, though Baker does not teach the first region of thermoplastic foam is extruded with a first thickness and the second region of thermoplastic is extruded with a second thickness, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness, Baker does teach the first structure 302 is made to a desired thickness ([0076]) and the second structure 304 is made to a desired thickness ([0078]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first region of thermoplastic foam be extruded with a first thickness and the second region of thermoplastic be extruded with a second thickness, wherein the first thickness is greater than the second thickness in order to have stronger reinforcing first region. Baker further teaches the method further comprising compressing at least the first region ([0083]) which would form a panel member core with a uniform thickness.
For claim 5, though Baker does not teach heating the first region after the sheet is laminated to the panel member core it is well known to heat laminations in order to strengthen bonding. Further, Baker teaches compressing the heated first region ([0076]) which would increase the density.
For claim 6, further regarding extruding adjacent regions taught as obvious by Baker above, Baker also teaches extruding a first region, a second region, a third region, a fourth region, and a fifth region to extend along the length in parallel (Fig. 8 – elements 304a, 302, 304b, 302, 304b); the first, third, and fifth regions would be configured to have a greater density than the second and fourth regions; and cutting the extruded first, second, third, fourth, and fifth regions at the length (see citation above).
For claim 7, Baker teaches thermally welding the first, second, and third regions the fourth and fifth regions (see citation above).
For claim 8, Baker teaches compressing the first, second, and third regions ([0083]).
Conclusion
/JAMES SANDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743