DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson (US2014/0248819). Nelson discloses in the Figures and specification (see in particular Figs. 1 & 6-8 and paragraphs [0033-37] of the specification) an inflatable display comprising a balloon B, a balloon holder comprising a weighted base 200 and a hole 212 positioned within the base, a securement tube 14 configured to be at least partly within the hole of the base, and a support structure S1 comprising a first end configured to be positioned at least partly within the securement structure (see Figs 2 & 3) and a second end configured to be secured to the balloon such that the balloon is coupled to the balloon holder. With respect to claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16 and 17, Nelson shows in Figures 7 and 8 an embodiment where the base is provided with additional holes and corresponding securement structures and support structures which collectively are configured to support a plurality of balloons vertically above the balloon holder. With respect to claims 4 and 11, the securement tube of Nelson comprises an inner diameter and an outer diameter (as shown e.g. in Fig. 1). With respect to claim 7, Nelson shows in Figs. 4 and 7 a hole with a perpendicular axis as recited. With respect to claim 8, each of the recited limitations is disclosed by Nelson as discussed above with respect to claim 1. With respect to claim 15, Nelson discloses the recited method of assembling the structure as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson. While Neslon does not explicitly recite an expanding inner diameter or a deforming outer diameter of the securement tube as recited, these features are suggested by Nelson, which discloses a mechanism 16 within the securement tube such that the securement tube is operable to create a friction fit with both the inner and outer portions of the support structure. This suggests some degree of flexibility in the support structure and/or the securement tube.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson in view of Novak. Nelson discloses the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of a decorative feature as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Novak at col. 2, lines 14-21, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an aesthetic choice of design and for the purpose of providing a more visually appealing supporting device. With respect to claims 19 and 20, Novak discloses a method of applying a decorative feature which comprises wrapping the balloon holder such that the base is at least partially covered.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KURT FERNSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
February 17, 2026