DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/674,726 filed 05/24/2024 in which claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-24, 29 and 30 are allowed.
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baligh (US 2025/0125904 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baligh teaches a user equipment (UE) (Baligh: Fig. 6, [0099] transmitting device as UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
generate a first candidate codeword that is one of a first set of candidate codewords (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0063], [0091]-[0093], [0106], transmitting device performs source coding on a codeword; codeword from a total number of codewords in this example of length 40/first set);
select, based on the first candidate codeword, a first selected codeword from a second set of codewords in a codebook, wherein the second set of codewords includes a representative codeword that maps to more than one of the first set of candidate codewords, and wherein remaining codewords other than the representative codeword of the second set of codewords are each mapped to a respective one of the first set of candidate codewords; and transmit the first selected codeword (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093], if the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/second set, the codewords are merged into one single codeword/the representative codeword).
Regarding claim 25, Baligh teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
generating a first candidate codeword that is one of a first set of candidate codewords (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0063], [0091]-[0093], [0106], transmitting device performs source coding on a codeword; codeword from a total number of codewords in this example of length 40/first set);
selecting, based on the first candidate codeword, a first selected codeword from a second set of codewords in a codebook, wherein the second set of codewords includes a representative codeword that maps to more than one of the first set of candidate codewords, and wherein remaining codewords other than the representative codeword of the second set of codewords are each mapped to a respective one of the first set of candidate codewords; and transmitting the first selected codeword (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093], if the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/second set, the codewords are merged into one single codeword/the representative codeword).
Regarding claims 2 and 26, Baligh teaches wherein the more than one of the first set of candidate codewords map to the representative codeword of the second set of codewords based on each of the more than one of the first set of candidate codewords satisfying a threshold (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093]; the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/threshold, the codewords are merged into one single codeword).
Regarding claims 3 and 27, Baligh teaches wherein: the threshold is a quantity of hybrid-automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledgment (NACK) bit values, and the first set of candidate codewords each represent a unique combination of HARQ bit values (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093]; the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/threshold, the codewords are merged into one single codeword).
Regarding claim 4, Baligh teaches wherein: the threshold is a quantity of zero bit values, and the first set of candidate codewords each represent a unique combination of bit values (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093]; the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/threshold, the codewords are merged into one single codeword).
Regarding claim 5, Baligh teaches wherein satisfaction of the threshold is not based on dummy bits included in any of the first set of candidate codewords (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093]; the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/threshold, the codewords are merged into one single codeword).
Regarding claim 6, Baligh teaches wherein the threshold is associated with a codeword length of each of the first set of candidate codewords (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093]; the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/threshold, the codewords are merged into one single codeword).
Regarding claim 7, Baligh teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates the threshold (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0102]-[0103]; steps 602/604 where control information are exchanged).
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Baligh teaches wherein each of the second set of codewords corresponds to a same quantity of message bits as each of the first set of candidate codewords (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093], [0106] the bins are comprised of codewords of same length).
Regarding claim 9, Baligh teaches wherein: a probability of generation of individual ones of the first set of candidate codewords is non-uniform (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0106]).
Regarding claim 10, Baligh teaches wherein the more than one of the first set of candidate codewords that map to the representative codeword have respective first probabilities of generation that are less than second probabilities of generation that correspond to the respective ones of the first set of candidate codewords that map to the remaining codewords (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0091]-[0093], [0106] if the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/second set, the codewords are merged into one single codeword/the representative codeword).
Regarding claim 11, Baligh teaches wherein the second set of codewords is a subset of the first set of candidate codewords (Baligh: Fig. 6; [0063], [0091]-[0093], [0106], transmitting device performs source coding on a codeword; codeword from a total number of codewords in this example of length 40/first set; if the number of 0s in a codeword is 15 or above/second set, the codewords are merged into one single codeword).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478