DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9-15, 17-20, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamada et al. (US 2021/0261268) in view of Haga (US 2023/0202664) and Kuster (US 2018/0009542).
Regarding independent claims 2, 10, and 17, and claims 3, 11, 18, and 22:
Tamada discloses an aircraft comprising:
a fuselage (e.g. 1101), wings (e.g. 1106) and wing booms (e.g. 1103);
a plurality of flight components comprising a lift propulsor (e.g. 1001) and a thrust propulsor (e.g. 1109);
a power system comprising a battery (e.g. 1004, 2002) and a fuel system (e.g. 1020, et al.) to power the flight components; and
a flight controller (e.g. 1105) “configured to” command the thrust propulsor into a plurality of flight modes (e.g. Fig 6) based on at least in part on a flight stage and an environmental datum detected by sensors (e.g. Fig. 5).
Tamada discloses sensors (Fig 5) configured to detect a flight mode of the aircraft ([0090]-[0098] indicates the sensors detecting the flight modes via various types of flight, such as “takeoff, landing, climb, ascent, descent,” etc., which the sensors of Tamada are capable of detecting), but does not disclose the controller configured to select between the battery, fuel system/generator, and a combination thereof based on a state of charge of the battery and a flight mode of the aircraft, with the SOC and flight mode detected by respective sensors.
Haga teaches an aircraft having a controller configured to select between the battery and generator ([0040]-[0044]) based on a flight mode and SOC which are determined by respective sensors, including speed sensors (Fig 3; [0046]; [0048]; [0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Tamada to use a power selection system as taught by Haga for the predictable advantage of ensuring the appropriate amount of power is available and supplied to the propulsors for the desired flight performance, while reducing excessive consumption when not needed (e.g. more power for hover, less for forward flight) in order to save fuel and energy, which can then be used to extend flight.
Tamada discloses a series arrangement (e.g. Fig 2), but does not disclose parallel or series parallel arrangements.
Kuster teaches series, parallel, and series-parallel arrangements to permit use by each engine and/or motor in the event of failure and/or to supply added power as required ([0039]; [0045])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Tamada to use parallel and series-parallel arrangements as taught by Kuster for the predictable advantage of permit use by each engine and/or motor in the event of failure and/or to supply added power as required.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 19:
The discussion above regarding claims 2, 10, and 17 is relied upon.
Tamada discloses the datum comprising temperature (1041, 1042, 1043), pressure (1044, 1045), velocity (indirectly via GPS, 1048), and altitude (1046).
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 20:
The discussion above regarding claims 2, 10, and 17 is relied upon.
As best understood, Tamada discloses a machine-learning model configured to determine an optimum profile (this is a product-by process limitation that results from the design process, as such the result of the system operation meets the claim).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 14, and 15:
The discussion above regarding claims 2 and 10 is relied upon.
Tamada as modified renders the SOC detected by one sensor (via Haga) and the flight mode detected by another ([0090]-[0098]).
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 21:
The discussion above regarding claims 2, 10, and 17 is relied upon.
Tamada discloses a series, parallel, and series-parallel configuration of the battery and fuel systems (e.g. Fig 10).
Regarding claim 9:
The discussion above regarding claim 2 is relied upon.
Tamada discloses a generator (e.g. 1030, 2020).
Regarding claims 23 and 24:
The discussion above regarding claim 2 is relied upon.
Kuster discloses the controller “configured” for use during climb or descent modes (e.g. take-off or landing) based at least in part on pressure or velocity (e.g. altitude for climbing, cruise flight, velocity for landing/take-off, etc.).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-7, 9-15, 17-20, 23, and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11 993368. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims generally recite the same structure of the hybrid system having wings and booms, thrust/lift propulsors, and battery/fuel systems, with control via SOC detection. Further, specific sensors, flight modes, etc., are well-known in the art (e.g. as disclosed above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Although the amendments overcome the 102 rejection in view of Kuster, the remaining rejections rely on a combination of Tamada, Haga, and Kuster. There are no remarks regarding how the amendments overcome this combination of references.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619