DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the Applicant’s Application filed on June 16, 2026.
Claims 1, 7-8, and 10-19 have been amended.
Claim 3 has been cancelled.
Applicant's amendments necessitated new grounds of rejection.
This action is made final in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are independent. As a result claims 1-2 and 4-19 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed June 16, 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 9-16 under 35 U.S.C 101, has been fully considered and is persuasive.
Applicants argue in substance:
Regarding claims 9-16, the applicants submit that the steps are being performed are directed to statutory subject matter under 101. The argument of claims 9-16 have been fully considered and is persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 9-16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's argument filed June 16, 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 10 and 19 under 35 U.S.C 112 (a) has been fully considered and is persuasive.
Applicants argue in substance:
a. Regarding claim 19 the applicants submit that claim 19 comply with written description requirement for containing subject matter in specification under 35 USC § 112(a), and claim 10 does not invoke interpretations under USC § 112(f) and have sufficient structure.
The argument of claims 10 and 19 have been fully considered and is persuasive; and the 35. U.S.C. 112 (a) rejection of claims 10 and 19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1, 10, and 19 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholomew et al. (US 2021/0297355)(hereinafter Bartholomew) in view of Yang et al. (US 2017/0344749)(hereinafter Yang), and in further view of Huang et al. (US 2011/0142141)(hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Bartholomew teaches a method for data processing, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of filtering conditions for filtering data in a data table and a logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 1A-1B, para [0078], para [0080-0082], discloses obtaining states (plurality of filtering conditions) in a table as shown in Fig. 1B, and a logical relationship between states that may be triggered by change of a value in input variables); determining a first numerical value corresponding to each filtering condition among the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 1A-1B, para [0077-0078], discloses determining a ‘decimal (base 10) representation’ (first numerical value) as shown in Fig. 1B corresponding to respective state), wherein the first numerical value corresponding to a filtering condition is obtained by converting a first binary number determined by at least one first record in the data table (see Fig. 1B, para [0016], para [0078], discloses a 3-digit binary word converted into an equivalent decimal (base 10) representation), and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition (see Figs. 1B-1C, para [0016], para [0082-0083], discloses a record of initial state transition to a resulting state).
Bartholomew does not explicitly teach each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to a respective bit in the first binary number, the respective bit corresponds to an order number of the first record in the data table, and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition; performing a bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions; and determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table.
Yang teaches each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to a respective bit in the first binary number, the respective bit corresponds to an order number of the first record in the data table, and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition (see Figs. 1-2B, para [0043], para [0050], discloses first data record for a security tab corresponding to a respective bit position (order number) for the first data record according to access filter (filtering condition)); performing a bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 3A-3B, Fig. 7, para [0043,0050], para [0059], discloses performing a bitwise operation between security tag and privilege tag to determine user access to data records based on bit position and access filter).
Bartholomew/Yang are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew to include a bitwise logical operation from disclosure of Yang. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Yang as “alter data and alter a data storage to improve querying and processing of data” (para [0049]) and including a bitwise logical operation is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table.
Huang teaches determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table (see Fig. 4, para [0065], para [0088], discloses elements resulting from bitwise operation used in generating a pivot element table).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang to include a pivot table from disclosure of Huang. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Huang as “new pivot element may be used to further simplify other received code packets” (para [0061]) and including a pivot table is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claim 10, Bartholomew teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; at least one memory, configured for storing one or more programs (see para [0019], discloses hardware processors); the one or more programs, when executed by the at least one processor, causing the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: obtaining a plurality of filtering conditions for filtering data in a data table and a logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 1A-1B, para [0078], para [0080-0082], discloses obtaining states (plurality of filtering conditions) in a table as shown in Fig. 1B, and a logical relationship between states that may be triggered by change of a value in input variables); determining a first numerical value corresponding to each filtering condition among the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 1A-1B, para [0077-0078], discloses determining a ‘decimal (base 10) representation’ (first numerical value) as shown in Fig. 1B corresponding to respective state), wherein the first numerical value corresponding to a filtering condition is obtained by converting a first binary number determined by at least one first record in the data table(see Fig. 1B, para [0016], para [0078], discloses a 3-digit binary word converted into an equivalent decimal (base 10) representation), and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition(see Figs. 1B-1C, para [0016], para [0082-0083], discloses a record of initial state transition to a resulting state).
Bartholomew does not explicitly teach each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to a respective bit in the first binary number, the respective bit corresponds to an order number of the first record in the data table, and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition; performing a bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions; and determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table.
Yang teaches each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to a respective bit in the first binary number, the respective bit corresponds to an order number of the first record in the data table, and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition (see Figs. 1-2B, para [0043], para [0050], discloses first data record for a security tab corresponding to a respective bit position (order number) for the first data record according to access filter (filtering condition)); performing a bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 3A-3B, Fig. 7, para [0043,0050], para [0059], discloses performing a bitwise operation between security tag and privilege tag to determine user access to data records based on bit position and access filter).
Bartholomew/Yang are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew to include a bitwise logical operation from disclosure of Yang. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Yang as “alter data and alter a data storage to improve querying and processing of data” (para [0049]) and including a bitwise logical operation is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table.
Huang teaches determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table (see Fig. 4, para [0065], para [0088], discloses elements resulting from bitwise operation used in generating a pivot element table).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang to include a pivot table from disclosure of Huang. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Huang as “new pivot element may be used to further simplify other received code packets” (para [0061]) and including a pivot table is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claim 19, Bartholomew teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by processor (see para [0019-0020], discloses processor and medium) , performing operations comprising: obtaining a plurality of filtering conditions for filtering data in a data table and a logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 1A-1B, para [0078], para [0080-0082], discloses obtaining states (plurality of filtering conditions) in a table as shown in Fig. 1B, and a logical relationship between states that may be triggered by change of a value in input variables); determining a first numerical value corresponding to each filtering condition among the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 1A-1B, para [0077-0078], discloses determining a ‘decimal (base 10) representation’ (first numerical value) as shown in Fig. 1B corresponding to respective state), wherein the first numerical value corresponding to a filtering condition is obtained by converting a first binary number determined by at least one first record in the data table (see Fig. 1B, para [0016], para [0078], discloses a 3-digit binary word converted into an equivalent decimal (base 10) representation), and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition (see Figs. 1B-1C, para [0016], para [0082-0083], discloses a record of initial state transition to a resulting state).
Bartholomew does not explicitly teach each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to a respective bit in the first binary number, the respective bit corresponds to an order number of the first record in the data table, and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition; performing a bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions; and determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table.
Yang teaches each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to a respective bit in the first binary number, the respective bit corresponds to an order number of the first record in the data table, and wherein the at least one first record is determined based on the filtering condition (see Figs. 1-2B, para [0043], para [0050], discloses first data record for a security tab corresponding to a respective bit position (order number) for the first data record according to access filter (filtering condition)); performing a bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions (see Figs. 3A-3B, Fig. 7, para [0043,0050], para [0059], discloses performing a bitwise operation between security tag and privilege tag to determine user access to data records based on bit position and access filter).
Bartholomew/Yang are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew to include a bitwise logical operation from disclosure of Yang. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Yang as “alter data and alter a data storage to improve querying and processing of data” (para [0049]) and including a bitwise logical operation is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table.
Huang teaches determining a record based on a result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the record is used for generating a pivot table (see Fig. 4, para [0065], para [0088], discloses elements resulting from bitwise operation used in generating a pivot element table).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang to include a pivot table from disclosure of Huang. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Huang as “new pivot element may be used to further simplify other received code packets” (para [0061]) and including a pivot table is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a method of claim 1 and a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew further teaches wherein the filtering condition is a filtering condition for a field of the data table (see Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, para [0016], para [0119], discloses data fields with filter for acceptable (1) or unacceptable (2)).
Claims 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholomew et al. (US 2021/0297355)(hereinafter Bartholomew) in view of Yang and Huang as applied to claims 1 and 10, and in further view of Guendert et al. (US 2021/0263824) (hereinafter Guendert).
Regarding claim 12, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew/Yang do not explicitly teach wherein each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to one bit in the first binary number.
Guendert teaches wherein each first record in the at least one first record corresponds to one bit in the first binary number (see Fig. 6E, Fig. 11B, para [0258], discloses bits corresponding to an unsigned binary integer that specifies format of Diagnostic Parameter Record).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang/Huang to include a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number from disclosure of Guendert. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Guendert as “facilitate communication within a computing environment, improving performance” (para [0275]) and including a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a method of claim 1 and a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the first numerical value corresponding to a filtering condition for each filtering condition among the plurality of filtering conditions is determined by: determining respective first identifiers corresponding to at least one first record satisfying the filtering condition in the data table; determining the first binary number based on the respective first identifiers corresponding to the at least one first record; and obtaining the first numerical value by converting the first binary number.
Guendert teaches wherein the first numerical value corresponding to a filtering condition for each filtering condition among the plurality of filtering conditions is determined by: determining respective first identifiers corresponding to at least one first record satisfying the filtering condition in the data table (see Fig. 4, Fig. 8B, para [0058-0059], para [0147-0151], discloses determining port address identifiers corresponding to bit binary value); determining the first binary number based on the respective first identifiers corresponding to the at least one first record (see Fig. 8B, para [0158-0160], discloses determining length in bytes of Diagnostic Information Record for port address identifiers); and obtaining the first numerical value by converting the first binary number (see para [0161-0163], discloses obtaining values with bit 0 equal indicating healthy port).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang/Huang to include a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number from disclosure of Guendert. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Guendert as “facilitate communication within a computing environment, improving performance” (para [0275]) and including a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a method of claim 1 and a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the determining the first binary number based on the respective first identifiers corresponding to the at least one first record comprises: determining bits in respective binary numbers corresponding to each of the first identifiers; and determining the first binary number based on the bits in the respective binary numbers corresponding to each of the first identifiers.
Guendert teaches wherein the determining the first binary number based on the respective first identifiers corresponding to the at least one first record comprises: determining bits in respective binary numbers corresponding to each of the first identifiers (see Fig. 8B, par [0163], para [0167], discloses bits indicated in specific fields); and determining the first binary number based on the bits in the respective binary numbers corresponding to each of the first identifiers (see Fig. 8B, Fig. 9A, para [0168-0169], discloses bits corresponding to respective identifiers).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang/Huang to include a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number from disclosure of Guendert. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Guendert as “facilitate communication within a computing environment, improving performance” (para [0275]) and including a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a method of claim 1 and a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach wherein a first numerical value corresponding to a filtering condition comprises at least one numerical value, and a first binary number obtained by converting the first numerical value comprises at least one segment of binary numbers; wherein each numerical values is obtained by converting a segment of binary numbers comprised in the first binary number and each segment of the binary numbers corresponds to a numerical interval representing a numerical range of an order number corresponding to each first record determined based on the filtering condition.
Guendert teaches wherein a first numerical value corresponding to a filtering condition comprises at least one numerical value, and a first binary number obtained by converting the first numerical value comprises at least one segment of binary numbers (see Table 5, para [0102-0103], discloses bit groups containing respective binary values); wherein each numerical values is obtained by converting a segment of binary numbers comprised in the first binary number and each segment of the binary numbers corresponds to a numerical interval representing a numerical range of an order number corresponding to each first record determined based on the filtering condition (see Table 8, para [0123-0124], para [0132-0133], discloses 8-bit binary integer that specifies version number and 16-bit binary integer that identifies a data block).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang/Huang to include a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number from disclosure of Guendert. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Guendert as “facilitate communication within a computing environment, improving performance” (para [0275]) and including a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a method of claim 1 and a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the determining the record based on the result of the bitwise logical operation comprises: determining a second binary number corresponding to the result of the bitwise logical operation, wherein the second binary number corresponds to at least one record in the data table; and determining the record based on the second binary number.
Guendert teaches wherein the determining the record based on the result of the bitwise logical operation comprises: determining a second binary number corresponding to the result of the bitwise logical operation(see Fig. 8B, par [0163], para [0167], discloses second binary numbers indicated in specific fields), wherein the second binary number corresponds to at least one record in the data table (see Fig. 4, Fig. 8B, para [0058-0059], para [0147-0151], discloses determining port address identifiers corresponding to bit binary value); and determining the record based on the second binary number (see Fig. 8B, para [0163], para [0167], discloses determining a record based on a second binary number).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang/Huang to include a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number from disclosure of Guendert. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Guendert as “facilitate communication within a computing environment, improving performance” (para [0275]) and including a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a method of claim 1 and a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang do not explicitly teach wherein each record in the at least one record corresponds to a bit in the second binary number.
Guendert teaches wherein each record in the at least one record corresponds to a bit in the second binary number (see Fig. 6E, Fig. 11B, para [0258], discloses bits corresponding to a second unsigned binary integer that specifies format of Diagnostic Parameter Record).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang/Huang to include a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number from disclosure of Guendert. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Guendert as “facilitate communication within a computing environment, improving performance” (para [0275]) and including a record corresponding to one bit in a binary number is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholomew et al. (US 2021/0297355)(hereinafter Bartholomew) in view of Yang and Huang as applied to claims 1 and 10, and in further view of Guendert et al. (US 2021/0263824) (hereinafter Guendert) and Yamato (US 2023/0334037)(hereinafter Yamato).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Bartholomew/Yang/Huang teaches a method of claim 1 and a device of claim 10.
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert do not explicitly teach wherein the performing the bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the bitwise logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions comprises: determining at least one numerical value comprised in the respective first numerical values corresponding to the plurality of filtering conditions; determining respective numerical intervals corresponding to each numerical value and respective segments of binary numbers corresponding to each numerical value; and performing, based on the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions, the bitwise logical operation on binary numbers corresponding to a same numerical interval in the plurality of filtering conditions.
Yamato teaches wherein the performing the bitwise logical operation based on the first numerical value and the logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions comprises: determining at least one numerical value comprised in the respective first numerical values corresponding to the plurality of filtering conditions (see para [0101], para [0174], discloses values indicating a sequential range of logical block addresses and generating bitimask filters); determining respective numerical intervals corresponding to each numerical value and respective segments of binary numbers corresponding to each numerical value (see para [0025], para [0185], discloses time period in which certain records have been read and purging of data occurs); and performing, based on the bitwise logical relationship between the plurality of filtering conditions, the bitwise logical operation on binary numbers corresponding to a same numerical interval in the plurality of filtering conditions (see para [0174], para [0185], discloses compound bitwise operations in filtering records).
Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert/Yamato are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bartholomew/Yang/Huang/Guendert to include a bitwise logical operation from disclosure of Yamato. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Yamato as “create a highly efficient flow of records read from one or more block storage devices” (para [0032]) and including a bitwise logical operation is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Courtney Harmon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159