DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 06/25/2026, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims rejected, the Applicant states, see Pg. 7, 3rd Para., that the rejection is made by anticipation under 35 USC 102 and should conform to the requirement set forth under that said statue. It should be noted herein that the rejection is made under 35 USC 103 instead of 102.
Furthermore, the Applicant argues, see Pg. 8, last Para., Pg. 9, 1st Para. of the filed Remarks, that Lee does not disclose first network and a second network and “a connection between a first wireless communication device of a first network and a second network via the CPE”.
Examiner cannot concur. As clearly illustrated in Fig 16B, two networks are present, including a first network, e.g. internet, and a second network, e.g. home network, being connected through CPE and home gateway device such as a router, as evident in numerous disclosure portions throughout the entire Lee reference as well as one of the most fundamental and commonly known knowledge in the relevant field.
The Applicant further argues that Lee does not teach “communicate one or more messages to establish a connection between a first wireless communication device of a first network and a second network” by asserting that service/app flows do not connect to the CPE, thus there is no connection, and flows are not messages.
The Applicant seemingly equates service flows as merely movements of sequence for performing services. Examiner cannot concur. Packets are generated in the flows, which are essentially packets of data stream, see at least Para. [0080] as well as numerous other disclosures, serving as messages transmitted and received between the first network and the second network, and thus establish a connection between the first network and the second network. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee (US Pub. 20210099913 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee disclosures, in a first embodiment, a customer premises equipment (CPE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the CPE to: (Lee; Fig. 16B, 17, Para. [0056]. A 5G CPE (QoS controller, including a memory with instructions and a processor for performing instructions, is used to facilitate communication.).), but communicate one or more messages to establish a connection between a first wireless communication device of a first network and a second network via the CPE; map a traffic flow associated with the connection to a first port within a first port range of a plurality of port ranges of the second network based at least in part on a first traffic classification of a plurality of traffic classifications of the first network assigned to the traffic flow, wherein the first port range is associated with a first set of Quality of Service (QoS) characteristics of a plurality of sets of QoS characteristics of the second network, and wherein each port range of the plurality of port ranges is associated with a different set of QoS characteristics of the plurality of sets of QoS characteristics; and communicate, via the CPE, data traffic of the traffic flow between the first wireless communication device and the second network via the first port in accordance with the first traffic classification and the first set of QoS characteristics.
However, Lee teaches, in a second embodiment, communicate one or more messages to establish a connection between a first wireless communication device of a first network and a second network via the CPE (Lee; Fig. 16B, 17, Para. [0180-183]. Messages for service flow, f1, f2, etc, are used to form a connection between a first wireless device of a first network and a second network, Packets are generated in the flows, which are essentially packets of data stream, see at least Para. [0080] as well as numerous other disclosures, serving as messages transmitted and received between the first network and the second network.);
map a traffic flow associated with the connection to a first port within a first port range of a plurality of port ranges of the second network based at least in part on a first traffic classification of a plurality of traffic classifications of the first network assigned to the traffic flow (Lee; Para. [0180-182]. Traffic flows for service flows for a connection are mapped to a first terminal/port, also see Fig. 16B, within a first port range of different port ranges for a second network in accordance with a first traffic type of different traffic types.), wherein the first port range is associated with a first set of Quality of Service (QoS) characteristics of a plurality of sets of QoS characteristics of the second network, and wherein each port range of the plurality of port ranges is associated with a different set of QoS characteristics of the plurality of sets of QoS characteristics (Lee; Para. [0181-183]. A first port/terminal range, see Para. 16B different terminal corresponding to different ports, is associated with a first set of QoS of different QoS for a second network, wherein each port/terminal is associated with a different set of QoS of different QoS.); and
communicate, via the CPE, data traffic of the traffic flow between the first wireless communication device and the second network via the first port in accordance with the first traffic classification and the first set of QoS characteristics (Lee; Fig. 17, Lee; Para. [0180-182]. Data traffic of service flow is communicated between a first wireless device and a second network through a first terminal/port in accordance with a first traffic type and a first set of QoS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Lee in a first embodiment to adapt a communication approach, by incorporating Lee’s teaching in a second embodiment wherein different ports/terminals are associated with different sets of QoS and traffic types, for the motivation to combine a 5G communication system with IoT technology (Lee; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee further teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the CPE to: communicate one or more second messages to establish a second connection between a second wireless communication device of the first network and the second network (Lee; Fig. 16B, 17, Para. [0181-183]. Messages for service flows are used to form a second connection between a second wireless device of a first network and a second network.); and
map a second traffic flow associated with the connection to a second port number within a second port range of the plurality of port ranges of the second network based at least in part on a second traffic classification assigned to the traffic flow (Lee; Fig. 16B, 17, Para. [0181-183]. A second traffic flow associated with a connection is mapped to a second port number, see Fig. 16B for corresponding terminals/ports, within a second port range of different port ranges of a second network in accordance with a second traffic types for the traffic flow.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Lee in a first embodiment to adapt a communication approach, by incorporating Lee’s teaching in a second embodiment wherein different ports/terminals are associated with different sets of QoS and traffic types, for the motivation to combine a 5G communication system with IoT technology (Lee; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lee further teaches the second port range is associated with a second set of QoS characteristics different from the first set of QoS characteristics (Lee; Para. [0181-183]. A second set of QoS tags from a first set of QoS tags are assigned to a second port/terminal range.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Lee in a first embodiment to adapt a communication approach, by incorporating Lee’s teaching in a second embodiment wherein different ports/terminals, including at least a first device and a second device, are associated with different sets of QoS and traffic types, for the motivation to combine a 5G communication system with IoT technology (Lee; Abstract.).
Claims 9-11 are directed to a method for wireless communications at a customer premises equipment (CPE), comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-3, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claims 17-19 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-3, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claims 4-8, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Pub. 20210099913 A1) in view of Wheelock (US Pub. 20220345439 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee teaches the limitation in claim 1 (Lee; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.), but reserve a plurality of ports of the second network, wherein the traffic flow associated with the connection is mapped to the first port within the first port range based at least in part on the plurality of ports being reserved.
However, Wheelock teaches reserve a plurality of ports of the second network, wherein the traffic flow associated with the connection is mapped to the first port within the first port range based at least in part on the plurality of ports being reserved (Wheelock; Para. [0031], Ln. 15 to 26. A range/plurality of ports are reserved for a second network, wherein traffic flow associated with a connection is assigned to a first port with a first range in accordance with the range/plurality of ports being reserved.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the communication system of modified Lee in a first embodiment to adapt a communication approach, by incorporating Wheelock’s teaching wherein a range of ports are reserve from available ports, for the motivation to support control over traffic that needs low latency handling (Lee; Para. [0031], Ln. 1-5.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee further teaches identify the plurality of port ranges based at least in part on the reserved plurality of ports (Wheelock; Para. [0031], Ln. 15 to 26. Different port ranges are identified in accordance with reserved different ports), wherein each port range of the plurality of port ranges is associated with a respective subset of the reserved plurality of ports (Wheelock; Para. [0031], Ln. 15 to 26. Each port range of different port ranges is associated with a subset of reserved different ports, wherein different QoS is assigned.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the communication system of modified Lee in a first embodiment to adapt a communication approach, by incorporating Wheelock’s teaching wherein a range of ports are reserve from available ports for assigning different QoS, for the motivation to support control over traffic that needs low latency handling (Lee; Para. [0031], Ln. 1-5.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lee further teaches select the first port from the first port range based at least in part on the first traffic classification assigned to the traffic flow, wherein the traffic flow is mapped to the first port based at least in part on selection of the first port (Wheelock; Para. [0031], Ln. 15 to 26. A first port from a first range is determined/selected in accordance with a first traffic classification of low latency, wherein the traffic flow is mapped to a first port in accordance with the determined first port.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the communication system of modified Lee in a first embodiment to adapt a communication approach, by incorporating Wheelock’s teaching wherein a range of ports are reserve from available ports for assigning different QoS, for the motivation to support control over traffic that needs low latency handling (Lee; Para. [0031], Ln. 1-5.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee further teaches the first network comprises a local area network, and the second network comprises a cellular network (Lee; Fig. 16B, 17. A first network includes a local area network, and a second network includes a cellular network.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee teaches, in a first embodiment, the first wireless communication device is one of a plurality of wireless communication devices (Lee; Fig. 16B, 17. A first wireless device is one of different wireless devices), but one of a plurality of wireless communication devices of an automotive system.
However, Lee teaches, in a second embodiment, one of a plurality of wireless communication devices of an automotive system (Lee; Abstract. A first wireless device is one of different wireless device of an automotive system.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the communication system of modified Lee in a first embodiment to adapt a communication approach, by incorporating Lee’s teaching wherein a communication system is used to connect a set of connected smart cars with a 5G communication, for the motivation to control traffic for the flow of the terminal within a 5G network (Lee; Abstract.).
Claims 12-16 are directed to a method for wireless communications at a customer premises equipment (CPE), comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 4-8, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claims 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 4, and is non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lavian (US Pub. 20040076161 A1) teaches a communication system that performs dynamic assignment of traffic classes to a priority queue in a packet forwarding device.
Wheelock (US Pub. 20210243131 A1) teaches a communication system that enables end-to-end QoS-Low latency-prioritization for NAT enabled networks.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485