DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Application filed on 05/24/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 9 and 17 are independent. This Application was published as U.S. Pub. No. 20250363141.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Setlur et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0110779, hereinafter, Setlur).
Regarding Claim 1,
Setlur discloses a method for generating data visualizations from natural language expressions (Setlur, par [003], "…systems, methods, and user interfaces that enable users to interact with data visualizations and analyze data using natural language expressions..."), comprising: at a computing device having a display, one or more processors, and memory storing one or more programs configured for execution by the one or more processors (Setlur, Figs. 2, 9, par [159], "…a computing device 200 that has (904) a display 212, one or more processors 202, and memory 206. The memory 206 stores (906) one or more programs configured for execution by the one or more processors 202..."):
receiving a user input to specify a natural language command directed to a data source (Fig.2, par [055], "…the graphical user interface includes a user input module 234 for receiving user input through the natural language box 124...a user inputs a natural language command or expression into the natural language box 124 identifying one or more data sources 242 (which may be stored on the computing device 200 or stored remotely) and/or data fields from the data source(s)...");
generating a prompt for generating a data visualization based on relevant data fields and data values, one or more rules that characterize the data visualization, and a context free grammar, wherein the relevant data fields and data values are identified based identifying key phrases in the natural language command (Fig.2,9, par [164], "…The computing device 200 forms (918) a first intermediate expression ( e.g., using the natural language processing module 238) according to a context-free grammar and a semantic model 248 of data fields in the data source by parsing the natural language command...");
prompting a trained large language model using the prompt to generate a structured document following a domain-specific schema based on a shorthand notation (Fig.2, par [061], "…The semantic model 248 represents the database schema and contains meta data about attributes..."; par [079], "…ArkLang can be generated from a set of semantic models (e.g., the semantic model 248) representing their corresponding database, a context-free grammar (CFG), and a set of semantic constraints….a dialect of ArkLang is a set of all syntactically valid and semantically meaningful analytical expressions ..."; par [166], "…the computing device 200 forms (920) the first intermediate expression using one or more pre-defined grammar rules governing the context free grammar...").
using a parser that uses the context free grammar to map the structured document to a visual specification (Fig.2, par [057], "…The natural language processing module 238 also translates (e.g., compiles)
the intermediate expressions into database queries by employing a visualization query language to issue the queries against a database or data source 242 and to retrieve one or more data sets from the database or data source 242..."), wherein the visual specification specifies the data source, a plurality of visual variables, and a plurality of data fields from the data source (Fig.2, par [058], "…visual specifications 240, which are used to define characteristics of a desired data visualization. In some implementations, the information the user provides (e.g., user input) is stored as a visual specification..."); and
generating and displaying a data visualization based on the visual specification, including displaying a plurality of visual marks representing data, retrieved from the data source, for the plurality of data fields (Fig.2, paras [055, 056, 060], "…The selected fields are used to define a visual graphic. The data visualization application 230 then displays the generated visual graphic in the user interface 100… generates and displays a corresponding visual graphic (also referred to as a "data visualization" or a "data viz") using the user input (e.g., the natural language input)...zero or more databases or data sources 242, which are used by the data visualization application 230...").
Regarding Claim 2,
Setlur discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Setlur further discloses encoding data, for a current visualization, based on the shorthand notation and the context free grammar (Fig.2,9, par [164], "…The computing device 200 forms (918) a first intermediate expression ( e.g., using the natural language processing module 238) according to a context-free grammar and a semantic model 248 of data fields in the data source by parsing the natural language command..."; ); and
while prompting the trained large language model, inputting the encoded data along with the prompt, to generate the structured document (Fig.2, par [057], "…The natural language processing module 238 also translates (e.g., compiles) the intermediate expressions into database queries by employing a visualization query language to issue the queries against a database or data source 242 and to retrieve one or more data sets from the database or data source 242...").
Regarding Claim 3,
Setlur discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Setlur further discloses parsing the natural language command to identify key phrases (Setlur, par [057], "…the natural language processing module 238 parses the natural language command (e.g., into tokens) and translates the command into an intermediate language (e.g., ArkLang)…."); and
identifying the relevant data fields and data values from the data source using semantic search, based on the key phrases (Fig.2, par [061], "…The semantic model 248 represents the database schema and contains meta data about attributes..."; par [079], "…ArkLang can be generated from a set of semantic models (e.g., the semantic model 248) representing their corresponding database, a context-free grammar (CFG), and a set of semantic constraints...").
Regarding Claim 4,
Setlur discloses the method of claim 1,
Setlur further discloses wherein the context free grammar includes one or more grammar rules for specifying data fields from an underlying data source to be used in the data visualization, field type, how field values are mapped to visual properties including color, size, shape and position, filters to apply to data used in the data visualization, and how data in the data visualization is to be sorted, type of chart to be used in the data visualization (Setlur, par [061], "…The semantic model 248 represents the database schema and contains metadata about attributes…The semantic model 248 includes data types, attributes, and a semantic role for data fields of the respective database or data source 242…the semantic model 248 is augmented with a grammar lexicon 250 that contains a set of analytical concepts 258 found in many query languages (e.g., average, filter, sort)...the semantic model 248 helps with inferencing and choosing salient attributes and values...").
Regarding Claim 5,
Setlur discloses the method of claim 1,
Setlur further discloses wherein the trained large language model is trained on a dataset of JSON, YAML, XML, and/or Python code, which represents a desired structure of output documents (Setlur, Fig.2, par [060], "…zero or more databases or data sources 242 which are used by the data visualization application230...the data sources are stored as spreadsheet files, CSV files, XML files, flat files, or JSON files, or stored in a relational database...a user selects one or more databases or data sources 242, selects data fields from the data source(s), and uses the selected fields to define a visual graphic...").
Regarding Claim 8,
Setlur discloses the method of claim 1,
Setlur further discloses wherein the domain-specific schema captures visualization components, including fields, filters, and sorting criteria, which are common across various visualization types (Setlur, par [061], "…The semantic model 248 represents the database schema and contains metadata about attributes…The semantic model 248 includes data types, attributes, and a semantic role for data fields of the respective database or data source 242…the semantic model 248 is augmented with a grammar lexicon 250 that contains a set of analytical concepts 258 found in many query languages (e.g., average, filter, sort)...the semantic model 248 helps with inferencing and choosing salient attributes and values..."; Fig.2D, paras [081-086], "…The analytical expressions along with their canonical forms in the dialect of ArkLang include...aggregation expressions 290...group expressions 292...filter expressions 294...limit expressions 296...sort expressions 298...").
Claim 9 is a computer device claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 10 is a computer device claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 is a computer device claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 is a computer device] claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 4 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is a computer device claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 5 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is a computer device claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 8 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally,
Setlur discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs configured for execution by a computing device (Setlur, Figs. 2, 9, par [159], "…correspond to instructions stored in the memory 206 or other non-transitory computer readable storage medium. The computer-readable storage medium may include...")
Claim 18 is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 4 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. ("SJSON: A succinct representation for JSON documents." Information Systems 97 (2021): 101686) discloses a set of succinct representations for JSON documents, which we call SJSON, achieving both reduced RAM and disk usage while supporting efficient queries on the documents. The representations we propose are mainly based on the idea that JSON documents can be decomposed into structural part and raw data part. .
/JANGWOEN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2656 /BHAVESH M MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2656