DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits based on the 18/674,825 application filed on 05/25/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
Securement buttons of claim 3
frictional fits of claim 4
the sensor system of claims 6-9
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claims 15-18, Line 1, the limitation “The system of claim 14” should be ---The cover apparatus of claim 14---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the first layer having a top” in line 6 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a top” is the same as the “a top” in line 3 as the structure seem to be the same structure of a top surface of the first main body. Claims 2-12 are rejected as being dependent off of claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a bottom” in line 6 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a bottom” is the same as the “a bottom” in line 3 as the structure seems to be the same structure of a bottom surface of the first main body.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the first layer having a top” in line 19 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a top” is the same as the “a top” in line 16 as the structure seem to be the same structure of a top surface of the second main body.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a bottom” in line 19 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a bottom” is the same as the “a bottom” in line 16 as the structure seems to be the same structure of a bottom surface of the second main body.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a plurality of attachment features” in line 27 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a plurality of attachment features” is the same as the “a plurality of attachment features” in line 14.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “the first layer having a top” in line 6 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a top” is the same as the “a top” in line 3 as the structure seem to be the same structure of a top surface of the main body. Claim 13 is rejected as being dependent off of claim 12.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “a bottom” in line 6 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a bottom” is the same as the “a bottom” in line 3 as the structure seems to be the same structure of a bottom surface of the main body.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “the first layer having a top” in line 7 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a top” is the same as the “a top” in line 4 as the structure seem to be the same structure of a top surface of the main bodies. Claims 15-20 are rejected as being dependent off of claim 14.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “a bottom” in line 7 lacks antecedent basis and clarity. It is unclear if the “a bottom” is the same as the “a bottom” in line 4 as the structure seems to be the same structure of a bottom surface of the main bodies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent No. 7,494,445; FD: 11/03/2007) in view of NPL 1 (https://www.amazon.com/Ft-Round-Blue-Trampoline-Pad/dp/B006JBRVKG/ref=sr_1_3_sspa?c=ts&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.-3asHUJ5pRcpOFGTzel9uH0n_pqYBMxb-8mGFVwiR8A.AcHbl45cmxoKTuY-3AZ7TmStkpII9H4GJ1pB1xDIUoE&dib_tag=se&keywords=Trampoline%2BPads&qid=1763054147&refinements=p_89%3ASkyBound&s=leisure-sports-games&sr=1-3-spons&ts_id=7427942011&sp_csd=d2lkZ2V0TmFtZT1zcF9hdGY&th=1&psc=1; Date first available: 12/07/2011).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a reversible cover system (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above); comprising: a first main body (Main pad portion 80; Figure 6); the first main body having a top (i.e., the top surface of flap pad 150 seen in Figure 3) and a bottom (i.e., the bottom surface of flap pad 150 seen in Figure 3); the first main body having: a first layer (Flap pad 150; Figure 3); the first layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 150); the first layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a second layer (Flap pad 170; Figure 3); the second layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 170); the second layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a third layer (Middle portion pad 160; Figure 3); the third layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); the third layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a plurality of attachment features (Loop portions 34 or straps 39; Figures 6 and 7); a second main body (First extension section 180; Figure 6; i.e., the extension section 180 is the same in structure as the section 80 having a first, second, and third layer as seen in Figure 4; Col. 4 Lines 1-8); the second main body having a top (i.e., the top surface of flap pad 150 seen in Figure 3) and a bottom (i.e., the bottom surface of flap pad 150 seen in Figure 3); the second main body having: a first layer (Flap pad 150; Figure 3); the first layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 150); the first layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a second layer (Flap pad 170; Figure 3); the second layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 170); the second layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a third layer (Middle portion pad 160; Figure 3); the third layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); the third layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a plurality of attachment features (Hook portions 35 or straps 38; Figures 6 and 7); wherein the first main body and the second main body secure at a first attachment point (i.e., the loop portion 34 is the first attachment point) and a second attachment point (i.e., the hook portion 35 is the second attachment point).
The Office notes that the sections 80, 180 form circular loops but do not exactly form semi-circular loops. Chen does not disclose a first main body extending a length in a semi-circular connecting loop a second main body extending a length in a semi-circular connecting loop.
NPL 1 teaches an analogous trampoline (See NPL 1 above) comprising a first main body and a second main body (i.e., the two bodies split into the semi-circular shapes as seen above) both extending a length in a semi-circular connecting loop.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the main bodies of Chen to have the semi-circular shape of NPL 1 in order to have an easy to set up uniform shape for attaching the two main bodies together. Additionally, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features are formed from hook and loop (Hook and loop fasteners 34 and 35; Figure 7 of Chen).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features are formed from frictional fits (Hook and loop fasteners 34 and 35; Figure 7 of Chen; i.e., the hook and loop fasteners are frictional fits that hole the pads together).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features are a plurality of straps (Straps 38 and 39; Figure 7 of Chen).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses a reversible cover apparatus (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above), comprising: a main body (Main pad portion 80; Figure 6); the main body having a top (i.e., the top surface of flap pad 150 seen in Figure 3) and a bottom (i.e., the bottom surface of flap pad 150 seen in Figure 3); the main body having: a first layer (Flap pad 150; Figure 3); the first layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 150); the first layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a second layer (Flap pad 170; Figure 3); the second layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 170); the second layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a third layer (Middle portion pad 160; Figure 3); the third layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); the third layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a plurality of attachment features (Loop portions 34 or straps 39 and Hook portions 35 or straps 38; Figures 6 and 7); wherein the plurality of attachment features are configured to secure the system to an exercise device.
The Office notes that the sections 80, 180 form circular loops but do not exactly form semi-circular loops. Chen does not disclose a main body extending a length in a semi-circular connecting loop.
NPL 1 teaches an analogous trampoline (See NPL 1 above) comprising a first main body and a second main body (i.e., the two bodies split into the semi-circular shapes as seen above) both extending a length in a semi-circular connecting loop (i.e., the trampoline is split into two main bodies as seen above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the main bodies of Chen to have the semi-circular shape of NPL 1 in order to have an easy to set up uniform shape for attaching the main body on a trampoline. Additionally, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the exercise device is a trampoline (Trampoline frame 130; Figure 1 of Chen).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a cover apparatus (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above), comprising: a plurality of main bodies (Main pad portion 80 and extension section 180; Figure 6); each of the plurality of main bodies having a top and a bottom (i.e., the extension section 180 is the same in structure as the section 80 having a first, second, and third layer as seen in Figure 4; Col. 4 Lines 1-8); each of the plurality of main bodies having: a first layer (Flap pad 150; Figure 3); the first layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 150); the first layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a second layer (Flap pad 170; Figure 3); the second layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the top and bottom surface of the flap pad 170); the second layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the flap pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a third layer (Middle portion pad 160; Figure 3); the third layer having a top and a bottom (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); the third layer extending a length in a circular connecting loop (i.e., the middle portion pad is a circular connecting loop as seen in Figure 3); a plurality of attachment features (Loop portions 34 or straps 39 and Hook portions 35 or straps 38; Figures 6 and 7); wherein the plurality of attachment features are configured to secure the system to an exercise device (Trampoline frame 130; Figure 1); wherein each of the plurality of main bodies are secured to one another via attachment features to form a singular protective surface (i.e., the attachment portions/ Loop portions 34 or straps 39 and Hook portions 35 or straps 38 connect to from a loop around a trampoline 130).
The Office notes that the sections 80, 180 form circular loops but not exactly form semi-circular loops. Chen does not disclose each of the plurality of main bodies extending a length in a semi-circular connecting loop
NPL 1 teaches an analogous trampoline (See NPL 1 above) comprising a first main body and a second main body (i.e., the two bodies split into the semi-circular shapes as seen above) both extending a length in a semi-circular connecting loop.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the main bodies of Chen to have the semi-circular shape of NPL 1 in order to have an easy to set up uniform shape for attaching the two main bodies together. Additionally, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features are formed from hook and loop (Hook and loop fasteners 34 and 35; Figure 7 of Chen).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features are formed from frictional fits (Hook and loop fasteners 34 and 35; Figure 7 of Chen; i.e., the hook and loop fasteners are frictional fits that hole the pads together).
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features are a plurality of straps (Straps 38 and 39; Figure 7 of Chen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent No. 7,494,445; FD: 11/03/2007) in view of NPL 1 (https://www.amazon.com/Ft-Round-Blue-Trampoline-Pad/dp/B006JBRVKG/ref=sr_1_3_sspa?c=ts&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.-3asHUJ5pRcpOFGTzel9uH0n_pqYBMxb-8mGFVwiR8A.AcHbl45cmxoKTuY-3AZ7TmStkpII9H4GJ1pB1xDIUoE&dib_tag=se&keywords=Trampoline%2BPads&qid=1763054147&refinements=p_89%3ASkyBound&s=leisure-sports-games&sr=1-3-spons&ts_id=7427942011&sp_csd=d2lkZ2V0TmFtZT1zcF9hdGY&th=1&psc=1; Date first available: 12/07/2011) in further view of Vereenigde (DE202019103674; Date Pub. 10/11/2019).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features (Hook portions 35 or straps 38; Figures 6 and 7 of Chen).
Chen in view of NPL 1 does not disclose the plurality of attachment features are a plurality of securement buttons.
Vereenigde teaches an analogous protective pads (Pad 1; Figure 5) comprising the plurality of attachment features are a plurality of securement buttons (Para. [0025] “For example, a zipper, a hook-and-loop fastener, one or more buttons, one or more snaps, and / or one or more other fasteners may be used.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment features of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have the buttons of Vereenigde in order to have attachment features that are secure in joining and releasing with one another (Para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the plurality of attachment features (Hook portions 35 or straps 38; Figures 6 and 7 of Chen).
Chen in view of NPL 1 does not disclose the plurality of attachment features are a plurality of securement buttons.
Vereenigde teaches an analogous protective pads (Pad 1; Figure 5) comprising the plurality of attachment features are a plurality of securement buttons (Para. [0025] “For example, a zipper, a hook-and-loop fastener, one or more buttons, one or more snaps, and / or one or more other fasteners may be used.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment features of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have the buttons of Vereenigde in order to have attachment features that are secure in joining and releasing with one another (Para. [0025]).
Claims 6-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent No. 7,494,445; FD: 11/03/2007) in view of NPL 1 (https://www.amazon.com/Ft-Round-Blue-Trampoline-Pad/dp/B006JBRVKG/ref=sr_1_3_sspa?c=ts&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.-3asHUJ5pRcpOFGTzel9uH0n_pqYBMxb-8mGFVwiR8A.AcHbl45cmxoKTuY-3AZ7TmStkpII9H4GJ1pB1xDIUoE&dib_tag=se&keywords=Trampoline%2BPads&qid=1763054147&refinements=p_89%3ASkyBound&s=leisure-sports-games&sr=1-3-spons&ts_id=7427942011&sp_csd=d2lkZ2V0TmFtZT1zcF9hdGY&th=1&psc=1; Date first available: 12/07/2011) in further view of Liang (US Patent Pub. No. 2017/0144052; FD: 11/18/2016).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the trampoline (Trampoline frame 120; Figure 1 of Chen) and trampoline pad (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above) as substantially claimed above.
Chen in view of NPL 1 does not teach a sensor system.
Liang teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 22; Figure 2) comprising a sensor system (Sensor 50; Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trampoline frame of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a sensor system of Liang in order to measure physical parameters of a user in a trampoline competition (Para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the trampoline (Trampoline frame 120; Figure 1 of Chen) and trampoline pad (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above) as substantially claimed above.
Chen in view of NPL 1 does not teach a sensor system.
Liang teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 22; Figure 2) comprising a sensor system (Sensor 50; Figure 2), wherein the sensor system includes various contact reference points (i.e., the sensors of system as seen in Figure 2; Claim 5: “In claim 1, wherein if more than two sensors are applied, the sensors are in odd numbers (1, or 3, or 5, or, 7 or 9) and are dispensed evenly around the trampoline peripheral so that any active bounce on any spot of the trampoline mat will be monitored and leaves no dead spot on the trampoline mat.”); wherein the sensor system includes a plurality of force sensors (Sensors 60; Figures 2 and 3; i.e., the sensors 60 of the sensor system 50); wherein the sensor system is configured to detect the number of times various locations of the main body have been contacted (i.e., the three sensors 50/60 can detect the deflection of the bouncing mat at multiple areas of the jumping mat 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trampoline frame of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a sensor system of Liang in order to measure physical parameters of a user in a trampoline competition.
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the trampoline (Trampoline frame 120; Figure 1 of Chen) and trampoline pad (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above) as substantially claimed above.
Chen in view of NPL 1 does not teach a sensor system.
Liang teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 22; Figure 2) comprising a sensor system (Sensor 50; Figure 2), wherein the sensor system includes various contact reference points (i.e., the sensors of system as seen in Figure 2; Claim 5: “In claim 1, wherein if more than two sensors are applied, the sensors are in odd numbers (1, or 3, or 5, or, 7 or 9) and are dispensed evenly around the trampoline peripheral so that any active bounce on any spot of the trampoline mat will be monitored and leaves no dead spot on the trampoline mat.”); wherein the sensor system includes a plurality of force sensors (Sensors 60; Figures 2 and 3; i.e., the sensors 60 of the sensor system 50); wherein the sensor system is configured to detect the number of times various locations of the main body have been contacted (i.e., the three sensors 50/60 can detect the deflection of the bouncing mat at multiple areas of the jumping mat 39); wherein the sensor system is configured to detect a number of bounces (i.e., each number of bounces are recorded as seen in Figure 7; Para. [0028] “A typical dynamic deflection curve 80 measured from bouncing sensor unit is printed in FIG. 7. For simplicity, a typical jump can be represented by FIG. 8, where a.sub.n can be acceleration, force or impact amplitude of the nth jump and t.sub.n the period of this jump.”), force of each of the number of bounces (Para. [0028] “A typical dynamic deflection curve 80 measured from bouncing sensor unit is printed in FIG. 7. For simplicity, a typical jump can be represented by FIG. 8, where a.sub.n can be acceleration, force or impact amplitude of the nth jump and t.sub.n the period of this jump.”), duration of use (i.e., the duration of the jumps are seen in Figure 7), and duration of each of the number of bounces (Para. [0028] “A typical dynamic deflection curve 80 measured from bouncing sensor unit is printed in FIG. 7. For simplicity, a typical jump can be represented by FIG. 8, where a.sub.n can be acceleration, force or impact amplitude of the nth jump and t.sub.n the period of this jump.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trampoline frame of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a sensor system of Liang in order to measure physical parameters of a user in a trampoline competition.
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the trampoline (Trampoline frame 120; Figure 1 of Chen) and trampoline pad (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above) as substantially claimed above.
Chen in view of NPL 1 does not teach a sensor system; wherein the sensor system is configured to detect when the system is in use.
Liang teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 22; Figure 2) comprising a sensor system (Sensor 50; Figure 2); wherein the sensor system is configured to detect when the system is in use (Para. [0028] “A typical dynamic deflection curve 80 measured from bouncing sensor unit is printed in FIG. 7. For simplicity, a typical jump can be represented by FIG. 8, where a.sub.n can be acceleration, force or impact amplitude of the nth jump and t.sub.n the period of this jump.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trampoline frame of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a sensor system of Liang in order to measure physical parameters of a user in a trampoline competition.
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the trampoline (Trampoline frame 120; Figure 1 of Chen) and trampoline pad (Cover system seen in Figure 3 and 6 above) as substantially claimed above.
Chen in view of NPL 1 does not teach a sensor system; wherein the sensor system is configured to detect when the system is in use.
Liang teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 22; Figure 2) comprising a sensor system (Sensor 50; Figure 2); wherein the sensor system is configured to detect when the system is in use (Para. [0028] “A typical dynamic deflection curve 80 measured from bouncing sensor unit is printed in FIG. 7. For simplicity, a typical jump can be represented by FIG. 8, where a.sub.n can be acceleration, force or impact amplitude of the nth jump and t.sub.n the period of this jump.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trampoline frame of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a sensor system of Liang in order to measure physical parameters of a user in a trampoline competition.
Claims 10, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent No. 7,494,445; FD: 11/03/2007) in view of NPL 1 (https://www.amazon.com/Ft-Round-Blue-Trampoline-Pad/dp/B006JBRVKG/ref=sr_1_3_sspa?c=ts&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.-3asHUJ5pRcpOFGTzel9uH0n_pqYBMxb-8mGFVwiR8A.AcHbl45cmxoKTuY-3AZ7TmStkpII9H4GJ1pB1xDIUoE&dib_tag=se&keywords=Trampoline%2BPads&qid=1763054147&refinements=p_89%3ASkyBound&s=leisure-sports-games&sr=1-3-spons&ts_id=7427942011&sp_csd=d2lkZ2V0TmFtZT1zcF9hdGY&th=1&psc=1; Date first available: 12/07/2011) in further view of Sun (US Patent No. 12,311,237; FD: 05/04/2023).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the third layer (Middle portion pad 160; Figure 3 of Chen).
Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the third layer does not teach having a second pattern.
Sun teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 1; Figure 1) with a pad (Hoop cover 14; Figure 1) with different patterns and colors (Col. 6 Lines 9-28 “The cover top surface 141 can be a structure having a single-layer fabric or at least two layers of fabric. When it is the single-layer fabric, the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 can be designed to have the same color or different colors. When the upper and lower surfaces are of different colors, the color of the hoop cover 14 of the trampoline can be changed when the cover top surface 141 is turned over for use. Likewise, when the cover top surface 141 is of a multi-layer fabric structure, the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 can be designed to have the same color or different colors. When the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 are designed to have different colors, the use color of the hoop cover 14 of the trampoline can be changed when the cover top surface 141 is turned over for use. In addition, the cover top surface 141 of the hoop cover 14 may be formed by a plurality of fan-ring shaped patchwork fabric pieces stitched together, to form a different color patchwork, which enriches the color of the hoop cover 14 and can meet the preferences of different consumers.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the colors/patterns of the pad of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a second pattern as taught by Sun in order to meet the preferences of different consumers (Col. 6 Lines 9-28).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the third layer (Middle portion pad 160; Figure 3 of Chen).
Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the third layer does not teach having a second color.
Sun teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 1; Figure 1) with a pad (Hoop cover 14; Figure 1) with different patterns and colors (Col. 6 Lines 9-28 “The cover top surface 141 can be a structure having a single-layer fabric or at least two layers of fabric. When it is the single-layer fabric, the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 can be designed to have the same color or different colors. When the upper and lower surfaces are of different colors, the color of the hoop cover 14 of the trampoline can be changed when the cover top surface 141 is turned over for use. Likewise, when the cover top surface 141 is of a multi-layer fabric structure, the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 can be designed to have the same color or different colors. When the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 are designed to have different colors, the use color of the hoop cover 14 of the trampoline can be changed when the cover top surface 141 is turned over for use. In addition, the cover top surface 141 of the hoop cover 14 may be formed by a plurality of fan-ring shaped patchwork fabric pieces stitched together, to form a different color patchwork, which enriches the color of the hoop cover 14 and can meet the preferences of different consumers.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the colors/patterns of the pad of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a second color as taught by Sun in order to meet the preferences of different consumers (Col. 6 Lines 9-28).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the third layer (Middle portion pad 160; Figure 3 of Chen).
Chen in view of NPL 1 teaches the third layer does not teach having a second pattern.
Sun teaches an analogous trampoline (Trampoline 1; Figure 1) with a pad (Hoop cover 14; Figure 1) with different patterns and colors (Col. 6 Lines 9-28 “The cover top surface 141 can be a structure having a single-layer fabric or at least two layers of fabric. When it is the single-layer fabric, the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 can be designed to have the same color or different colors. When the upper and lower surfaces are of different colors, the color of the hoop cover 14 of the trampoline can be changed when the cover top surface 141 is turned over for use. Likewise, when the cover top surface 141 is of a multi-layer fabric structure, the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 can be designed to have the same color or different colors. When the upper and lower surfaces of the cover top surface 141 are designed to have different colors, the use color of the hoop cover 14 of the trampoline can be changed when the cover top surface 141 is turned over for use. In addition, the cover top surface 141 of the hoop cover 14 may be formed by a plurality of fan-ring shaped patchwork fabric pieces stitched together, to form a different color patchwork, which enriches the color of the hoop cover 14 and can meet the preferences of different consumers.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the colors/patterns of the pad of Chen in view of NPL 1 to have a second pattern as taught by Sun in order to meet the preferences of different consumers (Col. 6 Lines 9-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited for additional pertinent prior art.
/ANDREW M KOBYLARZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3784