Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 28, 2025, and October 26, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites, “an upper fixture configured to move towards the lower fixture to sandwich with the lower fixture the device under test therebetween,” in ll. 4-5, recommend rewriting an inserting a comma after”…. lower fixture, the device under test therebetween,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku et al. (US 2015/0204908 A1, Pub. Date Jul. 23, 2015, hereinafter, Ku), in view of Ambler et al. (US 2007/0069756 A1, Pub. Date Mar. 29, 2007, hereinafter, Ambler), and further in view of Nayman (US 2021/0188562 A1, Pub. Date Jun. 24, 2021, hereinafter, Nayman).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ku, teaches:
An electrical testing equipment ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]: discloses electrical testing equipment including a base structure), comprising:
a main machine ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]: electrical testing machine 10);
Ku, is silent in regard to:
a pair of conveyor rails movably disposed on the main machine and configured to deliver a device under test; and
a first moving device disposed on the main machine and connected with the conveyor rails, the first moving device being configured to move the conveyor rails close to or away from each other.
However, Nayman, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Ambler and Nayman, by implementing Ku’s disclosure of parallel rails on a base machine ([0015]) and Ambler’s rail-guided base to slide and delivery the DUT ([0030]).
a pair of conveyor rails movably disposed on the main machine and configured to deliver a device under test ([Abstract], [0026] & [0031]: teaches paired conveyor belt structures (walls) configured to deliver workpieces like PCBs); and
a first moving device disposed on the main machine and connected with the conveyor rails, the first moving device being configured to move the conveyor rails close to or away from each other ([0026] & [0030]-[0031]: teaches a motor-driven wall mover and ball screw mechanism (first moving device) connected to the movable wall supporting the conveyor belt, this translates the wall to narrow or widen the distance between the belts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing machine 10 having a base 11 of Ku with the rail 206 for delivering a DUT 108 taught by Ambler, and further incorporate the motor-driven wall mover 230 and ball screws 240 connected to a movable wall 250 taught by Nayman, through the substitution of standard adjustable conveyor components into a testing base. This combination teaches a pair of conveyor rails movably disposed to deliver a device under test, as well as a first moving device connected to the rails configured to move them close to or away from each other because Nayman’s mover mechanism translates the wall 120 to narrow or widen the distance between the belts. A POSITA would make this modification to allow the testing equipment to safely accommodate and transport work pieces of varying physical dimensions, such as seamlessly switching between large rigid pallets 299 and delicate printed circuit boards 295 without requiring a physical teardown of the track (Nayman: [0033]-[0034]). Implementing Nayman’s automated adjustment mechanism into the rail-guided handling environment of Ku and Ambler is a predictable variation of applying known mechanical tracking and positioning techniques (KSR).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku, in view of Ambler, in view of Nayman, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2001/0026152 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 4, 2001, hereinafter, Kang).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]), wherein the main machine has a supporting surface ([0015]: discloses a main testing machine built upon a base, which serves as the supporting surface for the internal components),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
the electrical testing equipment further comprises:
a lower fixture disposed on the supporting surface, the lower fixture has a working surface, the working surface is configured to support the device under test, the working surface has a first height relative to the supporting surface, the conveyor rails have a second height relative to the supporting surface, the second height is larger than the first height.
However, Kang, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Kang, by implementing Ku’s platform disposed directly upon the supporting surface/base ([0014]-[0016] & [0022]).
the electrical testing equipment further comprises:
a lower fixture disposed on the supporting surface ([0044]: provides the testing architecture of a test socket functioning as the lower fixture), the lower fixture has a working surface ([0044]): discloses that the flat connection plate serves as the working surface), the working surface is configured to support the device under test ([0044]: flat connection plate serves as the working surface to physically support and electrically engage the semiconductor package (device under test)),
The examiner is combining Ku in view of Nayman and Kang, by implementing Nayman’s conveyor rails/walls for transport ([0026]).
the working surface has a first height relative to the supporting surface, the conveyor rails have a second height relative to the supporting surface, the second height is larger than the first height ([0009]-[0010], [0040], [0044], [0047]-[0048], [0050]-[0051], & [Claim 7]: teaches moving the package over the socket and dropping it downward, the delivery plane inherently sits at a second height that is larger than the first height of the lower fixture’s working surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing machine 10 of Ku, which features a base 11 acting as a supporting surface for a lower fixture platform 12, with the elevated adjustable conveyor walls 115120 of Nayman and the testing architecture of Kang, which utilizes a recessed test socket 200. Integrating Kang’s test socket below Nayman’s conveyor system teaches the working surface having a first height and the conveyor rails having a larger second height, as Kang teaches moving the semiconductor package 116 over the socket 200 and dropping it downward into place. Furthermore, incorporating the downward actuating receiving seat 15 of Ku of an upper fixture configured to move towards the lower fixture to support the device under test. A POSITA would be motivated to make this combination to allow the delivery mechanism to pass the workpiece cleanly over the testing fixture without mechanical interference, improving testing throughput and preventing collisions. This structural integration represents a substitution of known semiconductor handling configurations to ensure the device under test can be transported at an elevated clearance height before an upper fixture actuates downward to seat and test the device (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 2 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein when the conveyor rails move away from each other, the conveyor rails have a first distance therebetween,
However, Nayman, further teaches:
wherein when the conveyor rails move away from each other (Figs. 5A & 5B; [0026] & [0052]: teaches conveyor rails (movable walls supporting belts) configured to move away from each other to a wider configuration), the conveyor rails have a first distance therebetween (Figs. 5A & 5B; [0026], [0051]-[0052], & [0055]: establishing a first distance between the rails to accommodate transport),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku and Ambler by incorporating the adjustable walls 115/120 of Nayman and the upper and lower testing fixture architecture of kang as a substitution of known mechanical handling techniques. Applying Nayman’s capability to move the movable wall 120 away from the fixed wall 115 fulfills the limitation of conveyor rails moving away from each other to establish a first distance therebetween. Furthermore, integrating Kang’s descending main nozzle body 112 that moves towards the test socket 200 to press the package 116 directly satisfies an upper fixture configured to move towards a lower fixture to sandwich the device under test therebetween. A POSITA would make this combination to provide sufficient mechanical clearance of the upper fixture to freely actuate downward and securely seat a device under test without colliding with or crushing the surrounding transport infrastructure (KSR).
Ku, and Nayman, are silent in regard to:
the electrical testing equipment further comprises:
an upper fixture configured to move towards the lower fixture to sandwich with the lower fixture the device under test therebetween, the upper fixture has a width, the first distance is larger than the width.
However, Kang, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku and Nayman in view of Kang, by implementing Ku’s upper fixture (receiving seat 15) actuating downward toward a lower fixture (platform 12) to physically contact, seat, and sandwich the device under test between the upper and lower assemblies ([0014], [0016]-[0018], [0020], & [0022]).
the electrical testing equipment further comprises:
an upper fixture configured to move towards the lower fixture to sandwich with the lower fixture the device under test therebetween ([0041] & [0047]-[0048]: teaches an upper fixture (depressing head 118) actuating downward toward a lower fixture (test socket 200) to physically contact, seat, and sandwich the device under test between the upper and lower assemblies),
The Examiner is combining Ku and Nayman in view of Kang, by implementing Nayman’s conveyor space, the distance between the widened conveyor rails (the first distance) must inherently and purposefully be larger than the width of the upper fixture to avoid physical collision (Figs. 5A & 5B; [0020], [0026], [0052], & [0055]).
the upper fixture has a width, the first distance is larger than the width ([0018], [0021], [0043], [0049], [0052], [Claim 1], [Claim 7], & [Claim 14]: to allow Kang’s descending upper fixture (main nozzle body 112/depressing head 118) to move downward to the lower fixture through Nayman’s conveyor space, the distance between the widened conveyor rails (the first distance) must inherently and purposefully be larger than the width of the upper fixture to avoid collision).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing machine 10 of Ku and Ambler with the adjustable conveyor walls 115/120 of Nayman and the upper/lower testing fixture architecture of Kang. Integrating Kang’s descending main nozzle body 112 (upper fixture) that moves towards the test socket 200 (lower fixture) to sandwich the package 116 fulfills an upper fixture configured to move towards a lower fixture to sandwich the device under test. Furthermore, applying Nayman’s capability to widen the distance between the conveyor rails such that this first distance is larger than the width of the descending upper fixture satisfies the dimension. Sizing the widened conveyer rail configuration of Nayman to be wider than the descending main nozzle body 112 of Kang fulfills the upper fixture has a width and the first distance is larger than this width. A POSITA would make this substitution of incorporating an appropriately sized overhead testing actuator between adjustable conveyor rails to prevent mechanical collisions between the moving upper fixture and the rails during testing operations. This arrangement is a predictable variation of known mechanical clearance techniques used to ensure an upper test head can freely actuate downward and securely seat a device under test without crushing the surrounding transport infrastructure (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 3 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein when the conveyor rails move close to each other, the conveyor rails have a second distance therebetween, the second distance is less than the width.
However, Nayman, further teaches:
wherein when the conveyor rails move close to each other (Figs. 5A & 5B; [0026] & [0052]: teaches conveyor rails (movable walls) configured to move close to each other to establish a narrower configuration),
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Nayman and Kang, by implementing Kangs teachings of testing miniaturized devices (chip scale packages) using a macroscopic upper fixture assembly that includes a depressing head extending broadly around a central nozzle ([0017], [0041] & [0047]-[0048]).
the second distance is less than the width (Figs. 5A & 5B; [0020]: when conveyor rails are moved close to each other (the second distance) to transport miniaturized packages, the narrowed rail gap is inherently less than the overall structural width).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku and Ambler with the adjustable conveyor walls 115/120 of Nayman and the upper fixture architecture of Kang. Integrating Nayman’s capability to move the movable wall 120 close to the fixed wall 115 into a narrower configuration satisfies the conveyor rails moving close to each other to establish a second distance therebetween. Furthermore, configuring this second distance to support miniaturized devices, such as the chip scale packages taught by Kang, results in a rail gap that is inherently less than the macroscopic width of Kang’s overarching upper fixture, which includes the socket cover depressing head 118 extending around the main nozzle body 112. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of adjustable conveyor mechanics to improve equipment versatility, allowing a single testing machine to securely accommodate both large pellets and highly miniaturized electronic components. This arrangement constitutes a predictable variation of known testing handlers to transport small-scale devices underneath a standard-sized multi-component test head (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 3 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]), further comprising: a clamping device configured to clamp the upper fixture ([0019], & [0021]-[0023]: teaches receiving seat 15 (clamping device) configured to detachable engage, secure, and clamp the probe set 20 (upper fixture) during operation); and
a second moving device connected with the main machine and the clamping device ([0007], [0018]- [0019], & [0022]: discloses test arm 14 and vertical support structure (second moving device) that connects the base/main machine to the receiving seat (clamping device)), the second moving device being configured to move the clamping device relative to the main machine, such that the clamping device is moved close to or away from the lower fixture ([0022]: teaches that the moving device (test arm) actuates the clamping device (receiving seat) downward relative to the main machine, moving it close to the platform (lower fixture) to physically contact the device under test).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku, in view of Ambler, in view of Nayman, in view of Kang, and further in view of Kiyokawa et al. (US 2022/0011343 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 13, 2022, hereinafter, Kiyokawa).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 5 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein the upper fixture comprises a fixture body and a plurality of first snapping portions, the first snapping portions are disposed on the fixture body, the clamping device comprises a device body and a plurality of second snapping portions, the second snapping portions are movably connected with the device body and configured to snap with the first snapping portions.
However, Kiyokawa, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Kiyokawa, by implementing Ku’s upper fixture (probe set 20) with a fixture body (frame 21) ([0021]).
wherein the upper fixture comprises a fixture body and a plurality of first snapping portions, the first snapping portions are disposed on the fixture body ([0047], [0050],& [0053]: teaches a testing body incorporating recesses 42 (first snapping portions) disposed on the body’s side surface to receive a snap-fit latch),
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Kiyokawa, by implementing Ku’s clamping device equivalent (probe holder 16/receiving seat 15) possessing a device (main body 161) ([0020]-[0021]).
the clamping device comprises a device body and a plurality of second snapping portions ([0047], [0050], & [0053]: teaches equipping clamping member’s main body 61 with a pair of latches 70), the second snapping portions are movably connected with the device body and configured to snap with the first snapping portions ([0047], [0050], & [0053]: teaches that the latches 70 (second snapping portions) are rotatably supported (movably connected) via shafts to the main body and are spring-urged to snap their claws 72 into the corresponding recesses 42 (first snapping portions)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku, Ambler, Nayman, and Kang by incorporating the resilient snap-latch fastening mechanism taught by Kiyokawa. Ku discloses an upper fixture frame 21 and a clamping receiving seat 15 utilizing rigid positioning posts for alignment but lacks a resilient snapping mechanism to lock the components together. Kiyokawa teaches a modular testing assembly that utilizes spring-urged, rotatably supported latches 70 (movable second snapping portions) on a clamping body 60 that automatically snap into corresponding recesses 42 (first snapping portions) on a mating fixture body 40. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of known fastening mechanisms to replace Ku’s post-and-hole configuration with Kiyokawa’s spring-biased latches. This represents a predictable variation designed to provide a secure, tool-less “snap-fit” connection, reducing the time and complexity required for an operator to swap out different probe sets while ensuring the upper fixture remains securely clamped to the actuating arm during rigorous Z-axis testing movement (KSR).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku, in view of Ambler, in view of Nayman, in view of Kang, and further in view of Tamura (US 2018/0017594 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 18, 2018, hereinafter, Tamura).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 3 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein the upper fixture and the lower fixture are respectively a vacuum fixture.
However, Tamura, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Kang and Tamura, by implementing Kang’s upper fixture (main nozzle body 112 and head 114) that operates as a vacuum fixture by utilizing vacuum suction to hold the device under test ([0041]).
wherein the upper fixture and the lower fixture are respectively a vacuum fixture ([0054]-[0056]: teaches a lower fixture (waver 50) configured as a vacuum fixture to secure the device under test).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined electrical testing equipment of Ku, Ambler, Nayman, and Kang by incorporating a vacuum chuck for the lower fixtures as taught by Tamura. Kang teaches the upper fixture being a vacuum fixture by teaching an upper assembly equipped with a vacuum suction head 114 to securely hold the semiconductor package 116 via vacuum suction. While Kang’s lower fixture is a standard mechanical test socket, Tamura cures this deficiency by teaching a lower testing fixture (wafer chuck 50) configured to suck and fix the device under test utilizing vacuum suction. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of integrating a known vacuum chuck into the lower testing platform of the combined system to teach both the upper and lower fixtures as being vacuum fixtures. This modification represents a predictable variation of applying standard vacuum-assisted securing techniques to both the upper and lower testing interfaces to improve workpiece stability and prevent delicate microelectronic devices from shifting during dynamic Z-axis testing engagements (KSR).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku, in view of Ambler, in view of Nayman, and further in view of Simmons et al. (US 2013/0075982 A1, Pub. Date Mar. 28, 2013, hereinafter, Simmons).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 2 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]), further comprising:
Ku, is silent in regard to:
at least one supporting portion at least partially disposed inside the lower fixture, the supporting portion being configured to move relative to the lower fixture in order to at least partially protrude out of the working surface to support the device under test.
However, Simmons, further teaches:
at least one supporting portion at least partially disposed inside the lower fixture ([0096]: teaches a supporting portion (lift pin 1707) that is housed and at least partially disposed inside the lower fixture (chuck 1700/chuck top-force layer 1701)), the supporting portion being configured to move relative to the lower fixture in order to at least partially protrude out of the working surface to support the device under test ([0096]: teaches that the supporting portion (lift pin 1707) is configured to be moved relative to the lower fixture by an actuator (lift mechanism 1750) to protrude out of the working surface (wafer-supporting surface) through a hole (1740) to vertically support and transfer the device under test (wafer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined electrical testing of Ku, Ambler, and Nayman by incorporating the lift pin mechanism taught by Simmons. Simmons teaches at least one supporting portion (lift pin 1707) disposed inside the lower fixture (chuck 1700) that is configured to move relative to the lower fixture via a lift mechanism 1750 to protrude out of the working surface (lift pin 1707) disposed inside the lower fixture (chuck 1700) that is configured to move relative to the lower fixture via a lift mechanism 1750 to protrude out of the working surface (lift pin hole 1740) to support the device under test. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of known automatic wafer loading and unloading techniques to allow the device under test to be gently supported and elevated from the working surface, preventing damage to the delicate device during transfer operations. This modification represents a predictable variation of utilizing standard motorized lift pins within a testing chuck to improve the efficiency and safety of transferring semiconductor devices into and out of the testing equipment (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein the conveyor rails are configured to deliver the test under device along a first direction, the first moving device is configured to move the conveyor rails close to or away from each other along a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
However, Nayman, further teaches:
wherein the conveyor rails are configured to deliver the test under device along a first direction ([0020] & [0026]: teaches a conveyor system with rails (walls supporting moving belts) that are designed to transport a workpiece (the device under test/PCB) longitudinally down the length of the track, establishing delivery along a first direction), the first moving device is configured to move the conveyor rails close to or away from each other along a second direction ([0026] & [0052]: discloses a moving device (supports 125 and associated mechanics) configured to move the conveyor rail (movable wall 120) close to or away from the opposing rail to narrow or widen the configuration), the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction ([0026]: adjusting the width between two parallel linear conveyor belts inherently requires lateral adjustment; the lateral movement (narrowing or widening) occurs along a direction that is geometrically perpendicular to the longitudinal transport path (first direction)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined electrical testing of Ku by incorporating the adjustable conveyor walls 115/120 of Nayman. Nayman teaches conveyor rails configured to deliver a device along a longitudinal first direction while utilizing a moving device, such as supports 125, to move the movable wall 120 close to or away from the fixed wall 115 to narrow or widen the configuration. Since the rails are parallel to the transport path, adjusting the distance between them inherently requires lateral movement, satisfying that the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction. A POSITA would make this combination to accommodate workpieces of varying widths on a single testing handler, improving the machine’s versatility and operational efficiency. This structural integration represents a substitution of known adjustable conveyor mechanics to predictably vary the transport track width without requiring entirely different handling machines for different sized devices (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 9 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein the supporting portion is configured to move along a third direction relative to the lower fixture, the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
However, Simmons, further teaches:
wherein the supporting portion is configured to move along a third direction relative to the lower fixture ([0096]: teaches the supporting portion (lift pin 1707) configured to move/push upward (a third direction) relative to the lower testing fixture (chuck/chuck to-force layer 1701)),
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Nayman and Simmons, implementing Nayman’s teachings that the conveyor rails deliver the device longitudinally along the belt (first direction) and are adjusted laterally to narrow or widen the gap (second direction) ([0026] & [0052]).
the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction ([0096]: the upward, vertical actuation of the supporting portion (third direction) is geometrically perpendicular to both the longitudinal x-axis and lateral y-axis of Nayman’s horizonal conveyor plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined electrical testing equipment of Ku, Ambler, and Nayman by incorporating the lift pin mechanics of Simmons. Nayman teaches transporting the device along a longitudinal first direction and adjusting the conveyor rails laterally along a perpendicular second direction. Simmons teaches a supporting portion comprising a lift pin 1707 that is configured to be pushed upwardly relative to the lower fixture by a lift mechanism 1750, fulfilling the supporting portion moving along a third direction. Due to the upward vertical movement of the lift pins in Simmons being inherently geometrically orthogonal to the horizontal delivery and lateral width-adjustment plane of the conveyor rails in Nayman, the third direction being perpendicular to the first and second direction is fulfilled. A POSITA would make this substitution of known automated staging techniques to ensure the device under test can be safely elevated off the testing surface, preventing physical friction or damage to the delicate device during horizontal transfer operations. This integration represents a predictable variation of combining standard XYZ-axis positioning mechanics to effectively route, align, and vertically support electronic components within a multi-stage environment (KSR).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku, in view of Ambler, in view of Nayman, in view of Simmons, and further in view of Doyle (US 2010/0125359 A1, Pub. Date May 20, 2010, hereinafter, Doyle).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein the first moving device is further configured to move the conveyor rails close to or away from the lower fixture.
However, Doyle, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Nayma and Doyle, by implementing Nayman’s teachings of a moving device for adjusting the lateral width of the conveyor rails ([0026]).
wherein the first moving device is further configured to move the conveyor rails close to or away from the lower fixture ([0170]-[0172]: teaches a unified, multi-axis moving device where dynamic lane-sizing tracks 780 (conveyor rails moving close to/away from each other) are mounted on a moving z-axis casting 720 that moves the entire track assembly up and down).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined electrical testing equipment of Ku and Nayman by incorporating the multi-axis conveyor rail actuation mechanics of Doyle. Nayman teaches a first moving device that laterally adjusts conveyor walls 115/120 to narrow or widen the track distance but lacks vertical actuation of the entire rail assembly toward the lower fixture. Doyle teaches an SMT handling assembly where conveyor tracks 780 that feature dynamic lane sizing (width adjustment) are mounted to a moving z-axis casting 720 configured to move the tracks 780 vertically up and down relative to the machine base. Integrating Doyle’s z-axis casting and dynamic lane sizing mechanics into the combined testing handler satisfies the first moving device being further configured to move the conveyor rails close to or away from the lower fixture. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of known automated staging actuators to allow a single unified moving device to handle both workpiece width adjustment and z-axis displacement. This structural modification represents a predictable variation of utilizing multi-axis plunging track mechanisms to accommodate varied-width devices and directly lower them onto a testing interface without requiring separate handoff robotics (KSR).
Claims 12-13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku, in view of Nayman, in view of Kang, and further in view of Tamura.
Regarding independent claim 12, Ku, teaches:
An electrical testing equipment ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]: discloses electrical testing equipment including a base structure), comprising:
a main machine ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]: electrical testing machine 10);
Ku, is silent in regard to:
a fixture module, comprising:
a lower vacuum fixture disposed on the main machine and configured to support a device under test; and
However, Tamura, further teaches:
a fixture module ([0055]), comprising:
a lower vacuum fixture disposed on the main machine and configured to support a device under test ([0055]: teaches a lower fixture (wafer chuck 50) configured to support and secure the device under test (wafer) utilizing vacuum suction); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku, Nayman, and Kang by incorporating the vacuum chuck assembly taught by Tamura. While the base combination teaches a testing environment utilizing an upper vacuum suction head 114, its lower fixture relies on a standard mechanical test socket rather than vacuum securing. Tamura teaches a lower fixture utilizing a wafer chuck 50 configured to suck and fix the device under test utilizing vacuum suction. Integrating Tamura’s vacuum chuck into the main machine base of the combined system satisfies a lower vacuum fixture disposed on the main machine and configured to support a device under test. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of utilizing a known vacuum-assisted securing technique in the lower testing platform to ensure fragile microelectronic components remain securely supported and flush against the lower fixture without shifting during dynamic testing engagements (KSR).
Ku, and Tamura, are silent in regard to:
an upper vacuum fixture movably connected with the main machine and defining a working space with the lower vacuum fixture therebetween; and
a pair of conveyor rails connected with the main machine and configured to move close to each other to get into the working space or away from each other to leave from the working space.
However, Kang, further teaches:
an upper vacuum fixture movably connected with the main machine and defining a working space with the lower vacuum fixture therebetween ([0041]: teaches an upper vacuum fixture (vacuum suction head 114) movably connected above the lower test socket, inherently defining a functional testing or working space between the descending head and the socket below); and
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Nayman and Kang, by implementing Nayman’s teachings of conveyor rails configured to move close to or away from each other ([0026]).
a pair of conveyor rails connected with the main machine and configured to move close to each other to get into the working space or away from each other to leave from the working space ([0043]: teaches guide rails that move close to each other to hold the package in the working space and then open wide (move away from each other) to clear or leave the working space, preventing structural obstruction when the upper fixture descends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku by incorporating the adjustable conveyor rails of Nayman, the dual-fixture testing architecture and rail clearing mechanics of Kang, and the vacuum-assisted lower testing fixture of Tamura. Ku’s baseline machine lacks vacuum securing mechanisms and dynamic rail clearance, but Tamura teaches the lower fixture deficiency by teaching a wafer chuck 50 configured as a lower vacuum fixture to securely support a device under test using vacuum suction. Kang provides the upper vacuum fixture through its vacuum suction head 114 that moves vertically, establishing a defined working space between it and the lower test socket 200. Furthermore, integrating Kang’s lower guide members 108, which are opened wide to prevent obstruction during testing, into Nayman’s movable conveyor walls 115/120, satisfies a pair of conveyor rails that move close to each other to enter the working space for transport and move away from each other to leave the working space during testing. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of known automated staging and vacuum-securing techniques to ensure that fragile microelectronic components are safely gripped during testing while providing sufficient mechanical clearance for the testing heads to actuate without collision. This integration represents a predictable variation of utilizing horizontally actuating conveyor tracks and dual-vacuum interfaces to enhance testing throughput and prevent damage to both the handling infrastructure and the device under test (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]: discloses electrical testing equipment including a base structure),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein when the upper vacuum fixture is separated from the lower vacuum fixture, the conveyor rails are configured to be moved close to each other to get into the working space to support the device under test.
However, Kang, further teaches:
wherein when the upper vacuum fixture is separated from the lower vacuum fixture ([0043]: describes the coordination between the guide rails and the upper vacuum fixture (vacuum suction head 114), states where the upper fixture is lowered into the working space versus when it is separated/retracted to allow package support),
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Nayman and Kang, by implementing Nayman’s teachings of adjustable conveyor rails that narrow or widen to hold devices ([0026]).
the conveyor rails are configured to be moved close to each other to get into the working space to support the device under test ([0043]: establishes the operational timing: the guide members (rails) must open wide to clear the working space when the upper fixture acts, inherently, when the upper vacuum fixture is safely retracted (separated) from the lower fixture, the conveyor rails act in reverse-moving close to each other to enter the working space and mechanically support the device under test for transport).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku and Tamura by incorporating the adjustable conveyor rails of Nayman and the staging clearance mechanics of Kang. Integrating Kang’s lower guide members 108, which hold the semiconductor package 116 and open wide to prevent obstruction by the descending vacuum suction head 114, into Nayman’s movable conveyor walls 115/120 satisfies the conveyor rails moving close to each other to get into the working space to support the device under test when the upper vacuum fixture is separated from the lower vacuum fixture. A POSITA would make this combination a substitution of known automated material handling sequences to ensure the device is firmly supported during transit, while guaranteeing the transport infrastructure dynamically clears the path before testing begins. This synchronization provides improved efficiency and maintained alignment by preventing physical collisions between the horizontal transport rails and the upper testing fixture during vertical actuation. The resulting architecture constitutes a predictable variation of synchronizing movable conveyor mechanics with testing head actuation to securely shuttle devices into a working space without risking structural damage (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]: discloses electrical testing equipment including a base structure),
Ku, is silent in regard to:
wherein the upper vacuum fixture is configured to move towards the lower vacuum fixture,
However, Kang, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Kang, by implementing Ku’s fundamental mechanical movement of an upper testing fixture actuating downwardly toward the lower fixture ([0022]).
wherein the upper vacuum fixture is configured to move towards the lower vacuum fixture ([0043], [0047]-[0050], [0050], & [Claim 15]: applies this downward z-axis movement to an upper vacuum fixture (main nozzle body 112/suction head 114) moving toward the lower testing socket),
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Kang and Tamura, by implementing Tamura’s teachings of the lower vacuum fixture (wafer chuck 50) securing the bottom side of the wafer ([0055]).
such that the upper vacuum fixture and the lower vacuum fixture contact with opposite sides of the device under test ([0041]: teaches the upper vacuum fixture gripping the top side of the semiconductor package. The combined architecture, as the upper fixture lowers toward the lower fixture, they inherently contact opposite sides (top and bottom) of the device under test to secure it for probing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku and Tamura by incorporating the vertically moving upper vacuum fixture mechanics of Kang. Ku teaches an upper fixture that is moved downwardly towards the lowering platform to contact the device under test but lacks the dual-vacuum contact on opposite sides. Kang teaches an upper vacuum fixture utilizing a main nozzle body 112 and a vacuum suction head 114 that moves downward to contact and hold the top side of the semiconductor package 116, while Tamura teaches a lower vacuum fixture comprising a wafer chuck 50 that contacts and fixes the bottom side of the wafer. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of known vacuum staging actuators to ensure the upper vacuum fixture is configured to move towards the lower vacuum fixture such that they respectively contact opposite sides of the device under test simultaneously. This modification represents a predictable variation of utilizing opposing upper and lower vacuum grips to provide stabilization of the microelectronic component, improving the efficiency by preventing shifting or misalignment during dynamic electrical probing (KSR).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku, in view of Nayman, in view of Kang, in view of Tamura, and further in view of Simmons.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Ku, teaches:
The electrical testing equipment of claim 12 ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], & [0014]: discloses electrical testing equipment including a base structure), further comprising:
Ku, is silent in regard to:
at least one supporting portion at least partially disposed inside the lower vacuum fixture, the supporting portion being configured to move relative to the lower vacuum fixture to at least partially protrude out of the lower vacuum fixture in order to lift up the device under test from the lower vacuum fixture.
However, Simmons, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Ku in view of Tamura and Simmons, by implementing Tamura’s lower fixture as a vacuum fixture ([0055]: chuck 50).
at least one supporting portion at least partially disposed inside the lower vacuum fixture ([0096]: teaches a supporting portion (lift pin 1707) housed and at least partially disposed inside the lower fixture body (chuck 1700)),
the supporting portion being configured to move relative to the lower vacuum fixture to at least partially protrude out of the lower vacuum fixture in order to lift up the device under test from the lower vacuum fixture ([0096]: teaches that the supporting portion (lift pin 1707) is configured to move relative to the lower vacuum fixture by an actuator (lift mechanism 1750) to protrude out of the working surface through a hole 1740 in order to vertically lift up the device under test (wafer) from the fixture for unloading).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical testing equipment of Ku and Tamura by incorporating the lift pin mechanics taught by Simmons. Ku provides the base testing machine, while Tamura provides a lower vacuum fixture (wafer chuck 50), but the combination lacks an internal mechanism to elevate the workpiece for removal. Simmons teaches at least one supporting portion (lift pin 1707) disposed inside the lower fixture (chuck 1700) that is configured to be moved relative to the lower vacuum fixture by a lift mechanism 1750. Simmons discloses that this movement causes the lift pins to at least partially protrude out of the lower vacuum fixture through a hole 1740 in order to lift up the device under test (wafer) from the fixture’s surface. A POSITA would make this combination as a substitution of incorporating standard automated lift pins into the lower vacuum chuck to improve the efficiency of loading and unloading delicate semiconductor devices by providing mechanical clearance for automated handling arms. This structural modification represents a predictable variation of utilizing known internal workpiece rejection mechanisms to safely separate the device under test from the vacuum fixture without causing physical damage or relying on manual extraction (KSR).
Conclusion
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 October 4, 2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 10/15/2026