Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification (“spec”) are to the published application US-2024-0313362-A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed 27MAY2024, 11MAR2025, and 05JUL2025 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Tyler (US-20160329542-A1; “Tyler”) in view of Yanagihara (JP-5916500-B2; “Yanagihara”).
Regarding Claims 1-2, Tyler teaches a bus bar carrier 60 (bus bar bracket – please refer to Fig. 4 of Tyler below, duplicated from Sheet 3 of 7 of Drawings of Tyler), which may include one or more bus bars 61 (forming a busbar assembly), shown in Fig. 5 of Tyler, duplicated from Sheet 3 of 7 of Tyler [0039].
[AltContent: textbox (Positioning Slot)][AltContent: textbox (60 – Bus Bar Carrier
82 – Various Sensing Components
84 – Cabling
86 – Grooves/Slots Configured to Receive the Bus Bars 61 and Position Them in a Predetermined Location [0044])][AltContent: textbox (Positioning Hole)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Wiring)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (Plurality of Guide Portions )][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Preset Direction)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (61 – Bus Bars
100 – Cell-to-Cell Bus Bars (Bus Bar Body)
102 – Stack-to-stack Bus Bar (Bus Bar Body)
104 – Cell-to-Load Bus Bar (Bus Bar Body)
105 – First Portion
106 – Second Portion
107 – Elevated Portion
108 – Indentations (Notches))][AltContent: textbox (Plurality of Second Notches)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 4 of Tyler, duplicated from Sheet 3 of 7 of Drawings of Tyler
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Plurality of First Notches)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Preset Direction)]
Fig. 5 of Tyler, duplicated from Sheet 3 of 7 of Drawings of Tyler
[AltContent: textbox (58 – Battery Cell Terminal
60 – Bus Bar Carrier (Bus Bar Bracket)
104 – Cell-to-Load Bus Bars (Bus Bar Body)
108 – Indentations (Notches)
120 – First Interface
121 – Base Portion
122 – Locking Member (At an Abutting Portion – Clamping Block)
123 – Carrier Portion
124 – Cell Portion
125 – Second Interface
126 – Cell-to-cell Bus Bar (Bus Bar Body)
127 – Third Interface
128 – Protrusions (Blocking Plates)
129 – Second Locking Member (At an Abutting Portion – Clamping Block)
130 – Carrier/Load Portion
131 – First Segment
132 – Second Segment)]Tyler teaches a plurality of abutting portions and a plurality of indentations (plurality of first notches) that are alternately distributed along a preset direction - please refer to the below Fig. 8 of Tyler.
[AltContent: textbox (Bent Busbar Body and Extending Toward the Preset Direction from the Busbar Body, with Positioning Notch )]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: oval]
Fig. 8 of Tyler, duplicated from Sheet 5 of 7 of Tyler
Additionally, the bus bar carrier 60 may include grooves and/or slots 86 (forming the plurality of abutting portions) that may be configured to receive the bus bars 61 and position the bus bars 61 in a predetermined location (e.g., directly over the terminals 58 of the battery cells 56). Accordingly, during assembly of the battery module 20, the bus bars 61 may simply be placed into the pre-manufactured grooves and/or slots 86 to align the bus bars 61 with the terminals 58 prior to welding (a busbar connected to at least part of the abutting portions).
Tyler teaches each of the first indentations 108 may be used to establish electrical connection [0051] – the bus bar 61 and the battery terminal 58 materials can be melted to form an electrical connection between bus bar 61 and the battery terminal 58 [0052] Moreover, the tab 141 may be formed from the indentations 108 of the bus bars 61 (e.g., the indentations 108 create a protrusion extending from the first surface 135 of the bus bars 61 creating the tab 141) [0081] (a busbar used for electrical connection; each of busbar bodies being used for electrically connecting tabs inserted into the first notches adjacent thereto).
Tyler teaches the busbar bodies as shown above in Fig. 5 of Tyler, wherein the busbar comprises a plurality of busbar bodies spaced apart from each other. Moreover, Tyler teaches that every two adjacent ones of the busbar bodies being spaced apart from each other by one of the abutting portions (labeled above in the Fig. 8 of Tyler).
Tyler does not teach tabs in the battery cell assembly, wherein each of the first notches of the busbar bracket are used for insertion of a tab of a battery cell assembly.
[AltContent: textbox (21 – Electrode Tab
2 – Battery )]
Figure 4 of Yanagihara, duplicated from Page 16 of Yanagihara
[AltContent: textbox (21 – Electrode Tab
2 – Battery
5 – Bus Bar Module
6 – Battery Module
41 – Two Surfaces
31 – Bus Bars )]
Figure 8 of Yanagihara, duplicated from Page 16 of Yanagihara
Yanagihara teaches multiple batteries connected in series by inserting the electrode tabs into the slits (notches) of busbar modules 5 and 6 and bonding the electrode tabs 21 with the busbars 31 [0023]. Please refer to Figures 4 and 8 of Yanagihara above for a depiction of this feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the busbar assembly of Tyler by inserting the electrode tabs of the electrode assembly into the notches of the busbar modules as taught by Yanagihara. Tyler and Yanagihara each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to claimed invention (MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)) by falling in the same field of endeavor of batteries.
Yanagihara seeks to improve battery performance in terms of heat dissipation through the electrode tabs which extend out of the battery to the heat transfer plate [0006]. In addition, the electrode tabs serve as a means of electrical connection to the bus bar [0021], providing the motivation for incorporating these features readily known in the art. Tyler teaches that the tab, although associated with the busbar and not the electrode assembly, creates a gap between the first and second surfaces such that the gap 146 may enable gas generated during the welding process (e.g., fumes) to be directed away from the lap weld spot before the molten metal material re-solidifies and forms a finalized lap weld. Further, the tab 141 may enable the second metal alloy of the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 to melt without melting the first metal alloy of the cell terminals 58. Molten, second metal alloy may fall from the first surface 135 and into the gap 146 to form a weld between the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 and the cell terminals 58. The tab 141 and the gap 146 may also reduce the weld porosity of the lap weld [0083].
[AltContent: textbox (58 – Cell Terminal
100 – Cell-to-Cell Bus Bar
108 – Indentations
134 – Block
141 – Tab
146 – Gap)]
Fig. 11 of Tyler, duplicated from Sheet 7 of 7 of Tyler
Regarding Claim 3, Tyler teaches wiring 84 in the preset direction that is coupled to the sensing component 82 carried to the control unit 24. The sensing components 82 (e.g., sensors) may include voltage sense components, which are configured to sense voltages at each bus bar 61, as well as temperature sense components, which are configured to sense temperatures at certain bus bars 61 [0043]. The wiring portion, provided with one of the busbar bodies located outermost in the preset direction, extends from the busbar bodies in a direction away from the busbar bodies – please refer to Fig. 4 of Tyler above. Additionally, Tyler teaches the busbar bracket is provided with a positioning slot, labeled in Fig. 4 of Tyler above, for snapping to the wiring portion.
Regarding Claim 4, Tyler teaches the wiring portion is provided with a through hole – please refer to Fig. 4 of Tyler above.
Additionally, Tyler teaches that in certain embodiments, the bus bars 61, the sensing components 82, and the cabling 84 (wiring) are all integrated onto a one-piece structure (e.g., the bus bar carrier 60) configured to carry and integrate these components [0044].
Regarding Claims 5-6, Tyler teaches the cell-to-cell bus bar may snap (snap-fit portion) into the first interface 120 such that the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 is substantially secure with respect to the bus bar carrier 60 (e.g., even before laser welding the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 to the cell terminals 58) through the locking member 122 (clamping block) [0062]. In addition, Fig. 8 of Tyler above illustrates a bent busbar body and extending toward the preset direction from the busbar body, with positioning notch.
Tyler teaches the third interface 127 may include one or more protrusions 128 configured to receive and contact the cell-to-load bus bars 104. Additionally, the third interface 127 includes a second locking member 129 that may be utilized to prevent movement of the cell-to-load bus bars 104 such that the cell-to-load bus bars 104 remain substantially stationary with respect to the bus bar carrier 60, wherein the cell-to-load bus bars 104 may snap into place [0066].
Fig. 8 of Tyler above further illustrates the busbar bracket is provided with a plurality of protrusions (blocking plates) distributed along the preset direction that are located between the snap-fit portions of two adjacent ones of the busbar bodies.
Regarding Claim 9, Tyler teaches accordingly, at block 134, one of the bus bars 61 may be disposed over (e.g., against) at least one cell terminal 58. In such embodiments, the bus bar carrier 60 may include the grooves and/or slots 86 that may substantially align the indentations 108 of the bus bar 61 with the at least one cell terminal 58 [0069].
In addition, please refer to Fig. 5 of Tyler for the plurality of first and second notches and Fig. 4 of Tyler for the plurality of guide portions protruding towards a side far from the busbar.
Regarding Claim 10, Tyler teaches that the busbar bracket is provided with a positioning hole on a side close to the plurality of second notches – please refer to the Fig. 8 of Tyler above.
Regarding Claim 11, Tyler teaches a battery assembly [0001] including modules that may include a number of interconnected electrochemical cells coupled together via bus bars extending between terminals of the electrochemical cells (e.g., cell terminals) using the improved welding technique of Tyler [0006].
Tyler does not teach tabs in the battery cell assembly, wherein each of the first notches of the busbar bracket are used for insertion of a tab of a battery cell assembly.
[AltContent: textbox (21 – Electrode Tab
2 – Battery )]
Figure 4 of Yanagihara, duplicated from Page 16 of Yanagihara
[AltContent: textbox (21 – Electrode Tab
2 – Battery
5 – Bus Bar Module
6 – Battery Module
41 – Two Surfaces
31 – Bus Bars )]
Figure 8 of Yanagihara, duplicated from Page 16 of Yanagihara
Yanagihara teaches multiple batteries connected in series by inserting the electrode tabs into the slits (notches) of busbar modules 5 and 6 and bonding the electrode tabs 21 with the busbars 31 [0023], establishing an electrical connection. Please refer to Figures 4 and 8 of Yanagihara above for a depiction of this feature (two busbar assemblies being provided oppositely on two sides of the battery cell assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the busbar assembly of Tyler by inserting the electrode tabs into the notches of the busbar modules as taught by Yanagihara. Tyler and Yanagihara each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to claimed invention (MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)) by falling in the same field of endeavor of batteries.
Yanagihara seeks to improve battery performance in terms of heat dissipation through the electrode tabs which extend out of the battery to the heat transfer plate [0006]. In addition, the electrode tabs serve as a means of electrical connection to the bus bar [0021]. Tyler teaches that the tab, although associated with the busbar and not the electrode assembly, creates a gap between the first and second surfaces such that the gap 146 may enable gas generated during the welding process (e.g., fumes) to be directed away from the lap weld spot before the molten metal material re-solidifies and forms a finalized lap weld. Further, the tab 141 may enable the second metal alloy of the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 to melt without melting the first metal alloy of the cell terminals 58. Accordingly, molten, second metal alloy may fall from the first surface 135 and into the gap 146 to form a weld between the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 and the cell terminals 58. The tab 141 and the gap 146 may also reduce the weld porosity of the lap weld [0083] (please refer to Fig. 11 of Tyler below).
[AltContent: textbox (58 – Cell Terminal
100 – Cell-to-Cell Bus Bar
108 – Indentations
134 – Block
141 – Tab
146 – Gap)]
Fig. 11 of Tyler, duplicated from Sheet 7 of 7 of Tyler
Regarding Claim 12, Tyler teaches the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 may be utilized to establish an electrical connection between two battery cells 56 (plurality of battery cells arranged) that are positioned adjacent to one another, for example. When the battery cells 56 are in a series arrangement, the cell-to-cell bus bar 100 may be coupled (e.g., welded) to a positive terminal of a first battery cell of the battery cells 56 and to a negative terminal (and tab) of a second battery cell of the battery cells 56 , which is adjacent to the first battery cell 56 [0046]. Moreover, as illustrated in the embodiment of Fig. 5 of Tyler, the bus bars 61 (e.g., the cell-to-cell bus bars 100 may include indentations 108 (notches). The indentations 108 may provide a target for performing a weld that establishes a physical connection (and thus an electrical connection) between the bus bars 61 (including the cell-to-cell bus bars 100 and the cell terminals 58 [0051].
Regarding Claim 13, Tyler teaches that the interconnection of the battery cells 56 (plurality of battery cells) using the bus bars 61 may enable a plurality of series and/or parallel connections to be made [0042].
Regarding Claim 14, Tyler in view of Yanagihara teach an electrical apparatus comprising the battery according to claim 11 ([0012] - [0013]).
Regarding Claim 15, Tyler teaches the electrical apparatus is a battery vehicle ([0012]-[0013]).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Tyler (US-20160329542-A1; “Tyler”) in view of Yanagihara (JP-5916500-B2; “Yanagihara”) and Bürg (JP-2010519686-A; “Bürg”).
Tyler in view of Yanagihara teach the limitations of Claims 1 and 2 as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 7-8, Tyler teaches the bus bar carrier 60 may include grooves and/or slots 86 (holes) that may be configured to receive the bus bars 61 and position the bus bars 61 in a predetermined location (e.g., directly over the terminals 58 of the battery cells 56). Tyler teaches that during assembly of the battery module 20, the bus bars 61 may simply be placed into the pre-manufactured grooves and/or slots 86 to align the bus bars 61 with the terminals 58 prior to welding [0044].
Tyler does not teach a hot-melt post specifically for fixing and connecting a corresponding one of the busbar bodies to the busbar bracket through hot-melting.
Yanagihara teaches that the bus bar 31 is fixed and supported on a rectangular synthetic resin substrate 30; for example, the bus bar is integrally molded with the substate, after which the busbar may be attached by some means [0020].
Yanagihara does not teach a hot-melt post specifically for fixing and connecting a corresponding one of the busbar bodies to the busbar bracket through hot-melting.
Bürg teaches a reactive hot melt adhesive bonded (hot-melt posts are present) bus 50, wherein a dielectric layer 52 (bus bar bracket) is sandwiched between first and second subassemblies (bus bar bodies) (second full paragraph of Page 4 and please refer to Fig. 2 of Bürg below).
[AltContent: textbox (50 -Bonded Bus Bar
58, 60 – Subassemblies (Bus Bar Bodies)
52 – Dielectric Layer (Bus Bar Bracket))]
Fig. 2 of Bürg, duplicated from Page 23 of Bürg
Bürg also teaches holes and notches in the dielectric layer wherein these features are aligned when assembled with the subassembly (second full paragraph of Page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the busbar assembly of Tyler by inserting the electrode tabs into the notches or holes of the busbar modules as taught by Yanagihara. Bürg constitutes prior art which is directly analogous to claimed invention (MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)) by falling in the same field of endeavor of batteries.
Bürg teaches high power multilayer bus bars assembled using reactive hot melt adhesives can significantly reduce bus assembly time, while improving the physical properties and environmental resistance of the bus assembly by increasing bond strength and improving electrical performance (first full paragraph of Page 3). This provides the motivation for incorporating these features readily known in the art.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20140017542-A1 to Suzuki T. teaches battery pull-out tabs [0037] and insertion holes formed on the holder member [0076] improving efficiency [0128]; application is electric bicycles [0009]
Conclusion
/WILLIAM FADDOUL SAVAGE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782