DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application/Election/Restrictions
2. During a telephone conversation with Clarck G. Sullivan on September 9, 2026, affirmation was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of claims 16-36 filed on May 27, 2024.
3. Claims 1-15 are canceled. Claims 16-36 are pending in this application and under examination in this office action.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 16 recites the limitation “the steps of”. However, claim 16 only recites a single step “administering a liquid composition to a subject suffering from….”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 16-36 are indefinite because:
i. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the steps" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
ii. Regarding claim 16, the phrase "one or more fractions of human blood or serum" in claim 16 is indefinite because it is unclear which and what one or more fractions of human blood or serum are. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the metes and bounds of what is encompassed within such a limitation. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention because it is not clear what is included or excluded by the claim language.
iii. Regarding claims 19-21 and 28, the phrase "substantially free of" in claims 19-21 and 28 is indefinite because it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language, which renders the claim indefinite. See Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993). The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the metes and bounds of what is encompassed within such a limitation. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention because it is not clear what is included or excluded by the claim language.
iv. Regarding claim 22, the term “obtainable”, “ultracentrifuging”, “top fraction”, “middle fractions” or “bottom fraction” in claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “obtainable”, “ultracentrifuging”, “top fraction”, “middle fractions” or “bottom fraction” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicant fails to set forth the metes and bounds of what is encompassed within the definition of “obtainable”, “ultracentrifuging”, “top fraction”, “middle fractions” or “bottom fraction”. Since the metes and bounds are unknown, a skilled artisan cannot envision what would be considered as “obtainable”, “ultracentrifuging”, “top fraction”, “middle fractions” or “bottom fraction” as recited in the claim. Thus, the claim is indefinite.
v. Regarding claims 24, 29 and 33, the term “reduce” in claims 24 and 29 or the term “decreases” in claim 33 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reduce” or “decreases” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicant fails to set forth the metes and bounds of what is encompassed within the definition of “reduce” or “decreases”. Since the metes and bounds are unknown, a skilled artisan cannot envision what would be considered as “reduce TNF-a-induced inflammatory response” or what would be considered as “decreases reactive oxygen species (ROS) activity…” recited in the claims. Thus, the claims are indefinite.
vi. Regarding claim 27, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
vii. Regarding claim 29, the limitation "(“ROS activity”)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the claimed TNF-a induced inflammatory response is “ROS activity”. Thus, the claim is indefinite.
viii. Claim 36 recites the limitation "the HIF1a" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
ix. The rest of the claims are indefinite as depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof.
Claims 16-36 are drawn to a method for treating damaged epithelial surface, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, comprising topically administering a liquid composition to an eye of a subject suffering from damaged epithelial surface, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, wherein the liquid composition comprises one or more fractions of human blood or serum derived from more than one donor, and wherein the composition does not comprise the subject’s own blood or serum.
The claims encompass using a genus of one or more middle fractions of human blood or serum that are from more than one donor for treating damaged epithelial surface, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease. Claims 22-36 encompasses using a genus of one or more middle fractions after ultracentrifugation of blood serum or plasma that are characterized as i) reducing TNF-a induced inflammatory response (claims 24 and 29), comprising growth factors including NGF-b (claim 27), inducing wound healing, decreasing ROS activity or protecting against oxidative stress in an HCE-T cells (HCE-T assay) (claims 29, 33-35), protecting against CoCl2-induced oxidative stress in HCE-T cells and reducing HIF1a protein levels (claim 36).
Applicant has not disclosed sufficient species for the broad genus of one or more middle fractions of human blood or serum, the broad genus of a top fraction, one or more middle fraction and a bottom fraction after ultracentrifuging a portion of blood serum or plasma or a genus of one or more fractions that can reduce TNF-a-induced inflammatory response, protect against oxidative stress and/or CoCl2-induced oxidative stress or ROS activity in an HCE-T assay or comprise growth factors including NGF-b.
The specification only describes obtaining human blood fractions by i) obtaining serum by centrifugation of whole blood that is clotted at 3,000xg for 10 minutes; ii) centrifuging 15 ml of serum at 100,000xg for 24hours using an Avanti J-30 ultracentrifuge to obtain four distinct fractions: a top fraction (F1), a bottom fraction (F4) and the two fractions in the middle (F2 and F3); iii) diluting 15 ml of the F2 or F3 serum fraction with sterile saline (NaC1 0.9%) to a protein concentration of 15 mg/ml (BCA protein assay) and pre-filtering through a Virosart Max filter (pore size: 100 nm) via a pressure of 0.2 MPa, and then diluting 5 ml of the pre-filtrate of the F2 or F3 serum fraction with sterile saline to a protein concentration of 5 mg/ml and filtering through a Virosart HC filter (pore size: 20 nm) (see Examples 2-3 shown in the instant specification).
The specification describes testing the filtered F2 or F3 human blood fractions obtained above on wound healing based on HEC-T cells cultured in KbM+ (KbM containing antibiotics and 0.5mM CaCl2) with the filtered F2 or F3 fractions in response to scratch (Example 4 shown in the instant specification); protecting against oxidative stress based on detection of HIF1 in HEC-T cells cultured in KbM+ plus 100uM CoCl2 with the filtered F2 or F3 fractions (Example 5 shown in the instant specification); reducing inflammatory response based on detection of RT-PCR of MMP-9 expression in HCE-T cells cultured in KbM+ plus pro-inflammatory cytokine TNF- (10g/ml) with the filtered F2 or F3 fractions (Example 6 shown in the instant specification); and reducing excessive ROS activity based on CellROX green flow cytometry on HEC-T cells cultured in KbM+ plus 1.5mM H2O2 with the filtered F2 or F3 fractions (Example 7 shown in the instant specification).
However, the claims are not limited to the F2 and F3 fractions obtained from the methods and conditions set forth above but also encompass all possible middle fractions obtained from ultracentrifugation under any conditions.
In making a determination of whether the application complies with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, it is necessary to understand what Applicant is in possession of and what Applicant is claiming.
M.P.E.P. § 2163 instructs:
An invention described solely in terms of a method of making and/or its function may lack written descriptive support where there is no described or art-recognized correlation between the disclosed function and the structure(s) responsible for the function. . . .
An applicant may show possession of an invention by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that are sufficiently detailed to show that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole. . . .
An applicant may also show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics.”
This standard has not been met in this case. From the specification, Applicant is in possession of filtered F2 and F3 fractions of human serum that are four fractions obtained by ultracentrifugation of human serum at 100,000xg for 24hours by the methods shown in Examples 2-3, and filtered with a prefilter having a pore size of 100nM and filtered with a filter having a pore size of 20nM and wherein the filtered F2 and F3 fractions are characterized by being capable of inducing wound and/or protecting against oxidative stress and/or reducing inflammatory response and/or decreasing excessive ROS activity in an HCE-T assay.
However, Applicant is not in possession of a composition comprising undefined middle blood serum or plasma fractions under any ultracentrifugation conditions and are characterized by being capable of inducing wound and/or protecting against oxidative stress and/or reducing inflammatory response and/or decreasing excessive ROS activity in an HCE-T assay.
The specification provides no structural and functional relationship or correlation between the one or more middle blood fractions obtained from any ultracentrifugation and conditions and the F2 or F3 fractions obtained from the methods shown in Examples 2-3 of the instant specification because blood fractions obtained by different ultracentrifugation and filtration conditions are different in view of Cvjetkovic et al. (J. Extracell. Ves. 2014; 3:2, 23111. DOI:10.3402/jev.v3.23111). There is no identification of any particular portion of the structures/composition/contents of the genus of middle fractions that must be conserved. The instant specification fails to provide sufficient descriptive information, such as definitive structural or functional features of the claimed genus of middle fractions obtained from any ultracentrifugation and filtration conditions. There is no description of the conserved regions which are critical to the function of the genus claimed. There is no information regarding the relation of structure of middle fractions obtained from other ultracentrifugation and filtration conditions to the function of the F2 or F3 fraction obtained in Examples 2-3 in inducing wound and/or protecting against oxidative stress and/or reducing inflammatory response and/or decreasing excessive ROS activity in an HCE-T assay. Furthermore, the prior art does not provide compensatory structural or correlative teachings sufficient to enable one of skill to identify what other middle fractions obtained by other ultracentrifugation and filtration conditions might be.
Since the common characteristics/features of other middle fractions obtained by other ultracentrifugation and filtration conditions are unknown, a skilled artisan cannot envision the functional correlations of the genus with the claimed invention.
Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of using the genus of middle fractions obtained by other ultracentrifugation and filtration conditions for treating damaged epithelial surface, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease.
Based on MPEP § 2161.01 and §2163, “to satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116”.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
As discussed above, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of undefined middle fractions used for treating damaged epithelial surface, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483.
Therefore, the claimed method has not met the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115). Applicant is directed to the Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, ¶ 1 "Written Description" Requirement. See MPEP § 2161.01 and 2163.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 25-26, and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rebulla et al. (US2017/0246218, published Aug 31, 2017, priority Oct 6, 2014) as evidenced by Reitberger et al. (Am J. Ophthalmol., 2018; 190:150-163) and Geerling et al. (Br. J. Ophthalmol, 2004; 88:1467-1474. Doi:10.1136/bjo.2004.044347).
Claim 16 is drawn to a method for treating damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, the method comprising the steps of: topically administering a liquid composition to an eye of a subject suffering from damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, the composition comprising one or more fractions of human blood or serum, wherein the human blood or serum is derived from more than one donor, wherein the composition does not comprise the subject’s own blood or serum.
Rebulla et al. (US2017/0246218) teaches a method for treating an eye or corneal disorder (see para. [0013]-[0019]; claims 1-18) in a subject suffering from the eye or corneal disorder, the method comprising topically administering to an eye of the subject a liquid ophthalmic composition in a form of eye drops (see [0048];[0050]), comprising one or more fractions of human blood plasma including obtained from different donors or from umbilical cord blood serum (see para. [0008];[0013]-[0019]; [0052], Example 1); wherein the eye disorder includes a dry eye disease, keratoconjunctivitis sicca (i.e. Sicca syndrome), Stevens-Johnson syndrome, pemphigoid of the eye, marginal blepharitis, allergic conjunctivitis (i.e. dry eye), ulcerations (damaged epithelial surface), viral conjunctivitis, cornea surgery including laser in situ keratomileusis (LASIK) (as in claim 25), cataract surgery, contact lens wearing, or neurotrophic keratitis, Sjogren's syndrome, systemic sclerosis, rheumatoid arthritis and autoimmunity (see para. [0022]-[0023]; [0044], claims 5 and 15), which meets the limitation recited in claim 16 because the human blood plasma is derived from different donors and does not comprise the subject’s own blood or serum. The blood serum or plasma fractions disclosed by Rebulla have a pH of 7-8 because the blood serum or plasma has a pH of 7.3-7.4.
The limitations “reduce TNFa-induced inflammatory response” in claims 24 and 29, “comprise growth factors from blood including NGF-b” in claim 27, “closes about 100% a wound 80hours after adding the composition to damaged HCE-T cells in an amount corresponding to 1%(v/v) of the test medium” in claim 30, “decreases reactive oxygen species (ROS) activity in a human corneal epithelial cell-transformed (HCE-T) assay” in claim 33, “the reduction of ROS activity ranges from 60-40% of the ROS activity of untreated control cells” in claim 34, “protects against oxidative stress in a human corneal epithelial cells-transformed (HCE-T) assay” in claim35 and “protects against cobalt chloride (CoCl2)-induced oxidative stress in HCE-T cells and reduces the HIF1a protein levels upon treatment to 49-18% of untreated control cells as observed in a semi-quantitative analysis by Western blots” in claim 36 are in a wherein clause and are inherent features and results of the composition and administration of the composition because the claimed composition is taught by Rebulla. See MPEP §2111.04. In addition, the blood serum or plasma fractions disclosed by Rebulla are capable of inducing wound and/or protecting against oxidative stress and/or reducing inflammatory response and/or decreasing excessive reactive oxygen species (ROS) activity in a human corneal epithelial cells-transformed (HCE-T) assay as evidenced by Reitberger et al. (Am J. Ophthalmol., 2018; 190:150-163) and Geerling et al. (Br. J. Ophthalmol, 2004; 88:1467-1474. Doi:10.1136/bjo.2004.044347). Thus, claims 16, 25-26, and 32-36 are anticipated by Rebulla as evidenced by Reitberger and Geerling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 and 25-26, and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebulla et al. (US2017/0246218) in view of Schrott et al. (US10300088, issued May 28, 2019, priority Mar 24, 2015) and evidentiary references: Reitberger et al. (Am J. Ophthalmol., 2018; 190:150-163) and Geerling et al. (Br. J. Ophthalmol, 2004; 88:1467-1474. Doi:10.1136/bjo.2004.044347).
Rebulla is set forth above but fails to teach that the composition passes through a filter with a pore size of 15-80nm or at least 20nm or free of virus as in claims 17-19.
Schrott et al. (US10300088) teaches a composition comprising filtered blood serum or plasma fractions, and wherein the composition is formulated as eye drops, eye gel or eye spray, for a medicament or treatment of dry eye syndrome or keratoconjunctivitis sicca (see col. 2, line 31-col. 3, line 5; col.9-10, Examples 1-2; col.11-12, claims 1-8). Schrott teaches that the eye drops comprise filtered blood serum or plasma fractions as in claim 16 (see col. 7, lines 1-47; col.7, line 64-col. 9, line 67), filtered off under sterile conditions, which meets the limitation “ filtered by a filter having a pore size of 20nm” as in claims 17-18 and the limitation “free or substantially free of viruses” as in claim 19 (see col. 8, lines 5-12; example 2), obtained from at least two or more than four donors as in claim 31(see col. 3, lines 60-61).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and applying the known sterile condition of using a filter with a pore size of 15-80nm or at least 20nm to obtain filtered blood or serum that is free of virus and the known technique disclosed by Schrott to the Rebulla’s method would have yielded the predictable result of treating damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, and resulted in an improved method for avoiding infection or further damages to the epithelial surface of the eye to obtain better treatment.
Using the known sterile condition of using a filter with a pore size of 15-80nm or at least 20nm to obtain filtered blood or serum that is free of virus in the Rebulla’s method would avoid infection or maintain better storage of the composition, and expand application of the Rebulla’s method and increase patient’s satisfaction with treatment of damaged epithelial surface of the eye using eye drops comprising filtered blood serum or plasma fractions.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and apply the known sterile condition of using a filter with a pore size of 15-80nm or at least 20nm to obtain filtered blood or serum that is free of virus and the known technique disclosed by Schrott to the Rebulla’s composition and method, and yield the predictable result of treating damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 16-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebulla et al. (US2017/0246218) in view of Schrott et al. (US10300088) and evidentiary references: Reitberger et al. (2018) and Geerling et al. (2004) applied to claims 16-19 and 25-26, and 32-36 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (Intl. J Mol. Sci.2020; 21:1693. Doi:10.3390/ijms21051693), Shelke et al. (J. Extracell. Ves. 2014; 3:1, 24783. DOI:10.3402/jev.v3.24783) and Sorensen et al. (J. Biol. Chem. 1999; 274:22445-22451, as in IDS).
Rebulla and Schrott are set forth above but do not teach that the blood serum or plasma fractions are fractionized by ultracentrifugation as in claim 22, or ultracentrifugation at at least 100,000g for at least 12 hours as in claim 23, or free of extracellular vesicles, free of lipids and lipoproteins as in claims 20-21 and 22 and 28.
Huang et al. teach that plasma comprises IgG-laden extracellular vesicles (EVs) or exosomes that can activate the classical complement pathway which participates in causing microvascular damage in diabetic retinopathy (see p. 1, abstract). Huang teaches that human retinal endothelial cells (HRECs) treated with plasma obtained from an animal model of diabetes result in MAC deposition and cytolytic damage in HRECs (see p.6-9). Huang teaches that HRECs treated with EVs-depleted plasma result in reduced MAC deposition and cytolytic damage as compared with HRECs treated diabetic plasma with no removal of EVs (see p. 6-9).
Sorensen teaches a composition comprising one or more middle blood plasma fractions obtained via ultracentrifugation at 100000xg for 28hrs, and wherein the fractions are free of lipid or lipoprotein and comprise hCAP-18, which meets the limitation recited in claims 22-23 (see p. 22446, 2nd col., 5th paragraph; p. 22448, table 1). Since the one or more blood plasma fractions obtained via ultracentrifugation at 100000xg for 28hrs, which meet the limitations recited in instant claims, the plasma fractions have the same activity as recited in claims 24, 27-30 and 33-36.
Shelke et al. teaches that it is important to deplete and eliminate functional and RNA-containing extracellular vesicles (EVs) including nano-sized exosomes in fetal bovine serum (FBS) because these FBS-derived EVs can induce growth or migration of lung epithelial cells and ultracentrifugation at 120,000xg for 18hours can remove these FBS-derived EVs (see p. 1, abstract and p. 1-p.2; p. 5-6).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and applying the known serum or plasma fractionized via ultracentrifugation and the known technique of fractionizing plasma via ultracentrifugation at 100000-120000xg for >12 hours disclosed by Huang, Shelke and Sorensen to the method of Rebulla and Schrott would have yielded the predictable result of obtaining one or more blood fractions that are free of extracellular vesicles and free of lipids and lipoproteins, and capable of inducing wound healing, having protective effect against oxidative stress, reducing inflammatory response and/or decreasing excessive reactive oxygen species (ROS) activity in HCE-T assay, and better treatment of damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease.
Using the filtered blood serum or plasma fractions obtained by fractionizing blood plasma via ultracentrifugation at 100000-120000xg for >12 hours including 16-24hrs including 100000xg for 24hrs and selecting middle fractions would remove, deplete and eliminate functional and RNA-containing EVs that can activate the classical complement pathway and cause MAC deposition and cytolytic damage to human corneal epithelial and endothelial cells, and lipid and lipoproteins. Using middle fractions of the filtered blood serum or plasma fractions obtained by fractionizing blood plasma via ultracentrifugation at 100000-120000xg for >12 hours including 16-24hrs including 100000xg for 24hrs in the method of Rebulla and Schrott would avoid inflammation or further damage to human corneal epithelial and endothelial cells in subjects suffering from damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, and better treat the subjects with damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease, and would expand application of the method of Rebulla and Schrott, and increase patient’s satisfaction with treatment of damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease using eye drops comprising filtered blood serum or plasma fractions.
The limitations “reduce TNFa-induced inflammatory response” in claims 24 and 29, “comprise growth factors from blood including NGF-b” in claim 27, “closes about 100% a wound 80hours after adding the composition to damaged HCE-T cells in an amount corresponding to 1%(v/v) of the test medium” in claim 30, “decreases reactive oxygen species (ROS) activity in a human corneal epithelial cell-transformed (HCE-T) assay” in claim 33, “the reduction of ROS activity ranges from 60-40% of the ROS activity of untreated control cells” in claim 34, “protects against oxidative stress in a human corneal epithelial cells-transformed (HCE-T) assay” in claim35 and “protects against cobalt chloride (CoCl2)-induced oxidative stress in HCE-T cells and reduces the HIF1a protein levels upon treatment to 49-18% of untreated control cells as observed in a semi-quantitative analysis by Western blots” in claim 36 are in a wherein clause and are inherent features and results of the composition and administration of the composition because the composition taught by Rebulla, Schrott, Huang, Shelke and Sorensen meets the claimed composition. See MPEP §2111.04. In addition, the blood serum or plasma fractions of Rebulla, Schrott, Huang, Shelke and Sorensen are capable of inducing wound and/or protecting against oxidative stress and/or reducing inflammatory response and/or decreasing excessive reactive oxygen species (ROS) activity in a human corneal epithelial cells-transformed (HCE-T) assay as evidenced by Reitberger et al. (Am J. Ophthalmol., 2018; 190:150-163) and Geerling et al. (Br. J. Ophthalmol, 2004; 88:1467-1474. Doi:10.1136/bjo.2004.044347).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and apply the known serum or plasma fractionized via ultracentrifugation and the known technique of fractionizing plasma via ultracentrifugation at 100000-120000xg for >12 hours to the method of Rebulla and Schrott, and yield the predictable result of a better method of treating damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebulla et al. (US2017/0246218) in view of Schrott et al. (US10300088), Huang (2020), Shelke (2014) and Sorensen (1999) and evidentiary references: Reitberger (2018) and Geerling (2004) as applied to claims 16-36 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US7592134, issued Sep 22, 2009, filed Oct 16, 2003).
Rebulla, Schrott, Huang, Shelke and Sorensen are set forth above but fail to teach that the selected fractions are filtered by a filter with a pore size that is exactly identical to the claimed range of 15-80nm or at least 20nm as in claims 17 and 18.
Sato et al. (US7592134) teaches reducing viral contamination for plasma or serum using a filter with a pore size of 75nm or 35nm or 30-60nm or a prefilter having a pore size of 100nm, 100-120nm or 120-150nm or 75-100nm (see col. 3, lines 1-4;col. 3, line 55-col.4, line 14; col. 5, lines 5-11; col. 5-6, examples 1-2; col.6, claims 1-11).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and applying the known filter having a pore size of the claimed range and the known technique of filtration to reduce viral contamination disclosed by Sato to the method of Rebulla, Schrott, Huang, Shelke and Sorensen would have yielded the predictable result of a better composition comprising one or more blood fractions with reduced viral contamination and capable of inducing wound healing, protecting against oxidative stress, reducing inflammatory response and/or decreasing excessive reactive oxygen species (ROS) activity in HCE-T assay and resulted in an improved method for better treatment of damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease.
Using a filter with a pore size of 15-80nm or at least 20nm in the method of Rebulla, Schrott, Huang, Shelke and Sorensen would reduce viral contamination of plasma or serum eye drops and avoid infection or further damages to the epithelial surface of the eye in the subject to achieve better treatment, and would expand application of the method of Rebulla, Schrott, Huang, Shelke and Sorensen, and would increase patient’s satisfaction with treatment of damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease using eye drops comprising filtered blood serum or plasma fractions.
The claimed filter requires a pore size of 15-80nm, or at least 20nm, which overlaps with the range of Sato because Sato teaches a filter with a pore size of 75nm or 35nm or 30-60nm. Because the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Note that
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima faciecase of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), See MPEP §2144.05-I.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and apply the known filter having a pore size of the claimed range and the known technique to filtration to reduce viral contamination disclosed by Sato to the method of Rebulla, Schrott, Huang, Shelke and Sorensen, and yield the predictable result of treating damaged epithelial surfaces, Sicca syndrome and/or dry eye disease.
In addition, routine optimization of Schrott’s or Sato’s filters and pore sizes would have led to the claimed range of a filter having a pore size of 15-80nm or at least 20nm because Sato teaches that using a filter with a pore size of 75nm or 35nm or 30-60nm achieves the reduction of viral contamination desired in Schrott. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize within the range taught by Sato because Sato teaches that this entire range reduces viral contamination in plasma or serum, and also teaches how to optimize the filter to reduce viral contamination.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”; “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert.denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
12. NO CLAIM IS ALLOWED.
Chang-Yu Wang
September 19, 2026
/CHANG-YU WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675