DETAILED ACTION
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Santarone et al (Santarone et al. – 2019/0050502; herin after referred to as “Santarone”).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Santorone discloses a method comprising (Santarone; par. 0133 - In some embodiments, a fourth dimension in addition to the three spatial dimensions will include date and time and allow for an historical view of a life of a structure to be presented in the virtual model. Accordingly, in some embodiments, onsite cameras and/or Sensors may be deployed and data may be gathered from the on-site cameras and Sensors either periodically or upon command. Data gathered may be incorporated into the improved virtual model):
receiving, via at least one processor, a first set of data associated with a plurality of positions of one or more components of a Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system, from one or more sensors, over a predefined time period (Santarone; par. 0084, 0086, 0159, 0160, 0271; 0084 – “Although data may be gathered in various disparate and/or related ways, an aggregate of data may be quickly and readily accessed via the creation of indexes. Accordingly, indexes may be according to one or more of: date/time stamp; feature; popularity; cost; User-specific query; Plumbing; Electrical; HVAC; Structural aspects; Access areas; Periodic data and position capture with camera/Sensor attached to a fixed position; indexed according to events, such as during construction, during modification, or during Deployment; airflow; HVAC; machinery; traffic flows during use of structure; audible measurements for noise levels; and almost any other aspect of captured data”; par. 0159 – “As Built Features and biometrics may be further utilized to control various structure automation devices. Structure automation devices may include, by way of non-limiting example one or more of: automated locks or other security devices; thermostats, lighting, heating, chemical processing, cutting, molding, laser shaping, 3D printing, assembly, cleaning, packaging and the like.“; automated sensors – for tracking and gathering information)
determining, via the at least one processor, a second set of data associated with the plurality of positions of the one or more components of the HVAC system, based at least on a predefined width constant (K), in the predefined time period (Santarone; par. 0084, 0086, 0159, 0160, 0271; 0084 – “Although data may be gathered in various disparate and/or related ways, an aggregate of data may be quickly and readily accessed via the creation of indexes. Accordingly, indexes may be according to one or more of: date/time stamp; feature; popularity; cost; User-specific query; Plumbing; Electrical; HVAC; Structural aspects; Access areas; Periodic data and position capture with camera/Sensor attached to a fixed position; indexed according to events, such as during construction, during modification, or during Deployment; airflow; HVAC; machinery; traffic flows during use of structure; audible measurements for noise levels; and almost any other aspect of captured data”; par. 0159 – “As Built Features and biometrics may be further utilized to control various structure automation devices. Structure automation devices may include, by way of non-limiting example one or more of: automated locks or other security devices; thermostats, lighting, heating, chemical processing, cutting, molding, laser shaping, 3D printing, assembly, cleaning, packaging and the like.“; automated sensors – for tracking and gathering information; par. 0358 – “According to the present invention, a smart device may be placed into a case, such as a smart receptacle 1302 that includes two or more wireless position devices 1303-1310. The wireless position devices 1303-1310 may include, for example, one or both of: a receiver and a transmitter, in logical communication with an antenna configured to communicate with reference transceivers 1311-1314. Communications relevant to location determination may include, for example, one or more of: timing signals; SIM information; received signal strength; GPS data; raw radio measurements; Cell-ID; round trip time of a signal; phase; and angle of received/transmitted signal; time of arrival of a signal; a time difference of arrival; and other data useful in determining a location”; par. 0375 – “ In exemplary embodiments, as described herein, the distances may be triangulated based on measurements of WiFi strength at two points. WiFi signal propagates outward as a wave, ideally according to an inverse square law. Ultimately, the crucial feature of the present invention relies on measuring relative distances at two points. In light of the speed of WiFi waves and real-time computations involved in orienteering, these computations need to be as computationally simple as possible. Thus, depending upon the specific application and means for taking the measurements, various coordinate systems may be desirable. In particular, if the smart device moves only in a planar direction while the elevation is constant, or only at an angle relative to the ground, the computation will be simpler” ; par. 0306 – “In some embodiments, the present invention includes a method of tracking attainment of a stated Performance Level relating to a Structure, including: a) determining a geographic position of a Structure via a global positioning system device in a smart device proximate to the Structure; b) identifying a digital model of the Structure based upon the geographic position of the Structure, the digital model comprising virtual representation of structural components included in the Structure; c) referencing multiple positioning reference devices within the Structure; d) measuring a distance to at least three of the multiple positioning reference devices from a point of measurement; e) calculating a position within the Structure, the calculation based upon a relative distance of the at least three positioning reference devices to the point of measurement and a triangulation calculation; f) calculating an elevation of the point of measurement; g) measuring a first state within the Structure with a sensor; h) specifying a location of the first state within the Structure via reference to the position of the point of measurement and the elevation of the point of measurement; i) recording a first time designation for the step of measuring a first state within the Structure with a sensor; and i) correlating the first state within the Structure and the first time designation attainment of the stated Performance Level”);
determining, via the at least one processor, at least one real travel distance (Sr) associated with the plurality of positions of the one or more components of the HVAC system in the predefined time period based at least on the first set of data (Santarone; par. 0084, 0086, 0159, 0160, 0271; 0084 – “Although data may be gathered in various disparate and/or related ways, an aggregate of data may be quickly and readily accessed via the creation of indexes. Accordingly, indexes may be according to one or more of: date/time stamp; feature; popularity; cost; User-specific query; Plumbing; Electrical; HVAC; Structural aspects; Access areas; Periodic data and position capture with camera/Sensor attached to a fixed position; indexed according to events, such as during construction, during modification, or during Deployment; airflow; HVAC; machinery; traffic flows during use of structure; audible measurements for noise levels; and almost any other aspect of captured data”; par. 0159 – “As Built Features and biometrics may be further utilized to control various structure automation devices. Structure automation devices may include, by way of non-limiting example one or more of: automated locks or other security devices; thermostats, lighting, heating, chemical processing, cutting, molding, laser shaping, 3D printing, assembly, cleaning, packaging and the like.“; automated sensors – for tracking and gathering information; par. 0358 – “According to the present invention, a smart device may be placed into a case, such as a smart receptacle 1302 that includes two or more wireless position devices 1303-1310. The wireless position devices 1303-1310 may include, for example, one or both of: a receiver and a transmitter, in logical communication with an antenna configured to communicate with reference transceivers 1311-1314. Communications relevant to location determination may include, for example, one or more of: timing signals; SIM information; received signal strength; GPS data; raw radio measurements; Cell-ID; round trip time of a signal; phase; and angle of received/transmitted signal; time of arrival of a signal; a time difference of arrival; and other data useful in determining a location”; par. 0375 – “ In exemplary embodiments, as described herein, the distances may be triangulated based on measurements of WiFi strength at two points. WiFi signal propagates outward as a wave, ideally according to an inverse square law. Ultimately, the crucial feature of the present invention relies on measuring relative distances at two points. In light of the speed of WiFi waves and real-time computations involved in orienteering, these computations need to be as computationally simple as possible. Thus, depending upon the specific application and means for taking the measurements, various coordinate systems may be desirable. In particular, if the smart device moves only in a planar direction while the elevation is constant, or only at an angle relative to the ground, the computation will be simpler” ; par. 0306 – “In some embodiments, the present invention includes a method of tracking attainment of a stated Performance Level relating to a Structure, including: a) determining a geographic position of a Structure via a global positioning system device in a smart device proximate to the Structure; b) identifying a digital model of the Structure based upon the geographic position of the Structure, the digital model comprising virtual representation of structural components included in the Structure; c) referencing multiple positioning reference devices within the Structure; d) measuring a distance to at least three of the multiple positioning reference devices from a point of measurement; e) calculating a position within the Structure, the calculation based upon a relative distance of the at least three positioning reference devices to the point of measurement and a triangulation calculation; f) calculating an elevation of the point of measurement; g) measuring a first state within the Structure with a sensor; h) specifying a location of the first state within the Structure via reference to the position of the point of measurement and the elevation of the point of measurement; i) recording a first time designation for the step of measuring a first state within the Structure with a sensor; and i) correlating the first state within the Structure and the first time designation attainment of the stated Performance Level”);
determining, via the at least one processor, at least one baseline travel distance (Sb) associated with the plurality of positions of the one or more components of the HVAC system in the predefined time period based at least on the second set of data ; and determining, via the at least one processor, one or more Key Performance Indicator (KPI) values of the one or more components for the predefined time period based at least on the determined Sr and Sb (Santarone; par. 0066, 0306, 0307, 0321, 0324 – measuring distance; par. 0277 – monitoring various KPIs for an HVAC system).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 29, Santarone discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of data corresponds to a time series of historical data associated with the plurality of positions of the one or more components of the HVAC system (Santarone; par. 0084 – “ In some embodiments, a fourth dimension in addition to the three spatial dimensions will include date and time and allow for an historical view of a life of a structure to be presented in the virtual model. Accordingly, in some embodiments, onsite cameras and/or Sensors may be deployed and data may be gathered from the on-site cameras and Sensors either periodically or upon command. Data gathered may be incorporated into the improved virtual model”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Santarone discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second set of data corresponds to a baseline time series data associated with the plurality of positions of the one or more components of the HVAC system. (Santarone; par. 0087 – “Although data may be gathered in various disparate and/or related ways, an aggregate of data may be quickly and readily accessed via the creation of indexes. Accordingly, indexes may be according to one or more of: date/time stamp; feature; popularity; cost; User specific query; Plumbing; Electrical; HVAC; Structural aspects; Access areas; Periodic data and position capture with camera/Sensor attached to a fixed position; during construction; during modification; during Deployment; airflow; HVAC; machinery; traffic flows during use of structure; audible measurements for noise levels; and almost any other aspect of captured data”).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Santarone discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprises at least one of limit switch sensors, potentiometers, encoders, hall effect sensors, proximity sensors, ultrasonic sensors, optical sensor, linear variable differential transformer (LVDT) sensors, and pressure sensors (Santarone; 0151 – “ Built design features and vibration sensors may track activities in a structure and determine that a first occupant associated with a first vibration pattern of walking is in the structure. Recorded vibration patterns may indicate that person one is walking down a hallway and automatically turn on appropriated lighting and adjust one or more of: temperature, sound and security. Security may include locking doors for which person one is not programmed to access. For example, a first pattern of vibration may be used to automatically ascertain that a person is traversing an area of a structure for which a high level of security is required or an area that is designated for limited access due to safety concerns. As Built data has been collected. Other structure automation may be similarly deployed according to As Built data, occupant profiles, biometric data, time of day, or other combination of available sensor readings”; par. 0259 – “Sensors may be deployed and data may be gathered from the on-site cameras and Sensors either periodically or upon command. Data gathered may be incorporated into the improved virtual model”).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Santarone discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the predefined time period corresponds to a monitored time period comprising at least one of hours, days, months, quarters, or years in which the first set of data is received and the second set of data is determined (Santarone; 0151 – “ Built design features and vibration sensors may track activities in a structure and determine that a first occupant associated with a first vibration pattern of walking is in the structure. Recorded vibration patterns may indicate that person one is walking down a hallway and automatically turn on appropriated lighting and adjust one or more of: temperature, sound and security. Security may include locking doors for which person one is not programmed to access. For example, a first pattern of vibration may be used to automatically ascertain that a person is traversing an area of a structure for which a high level of security is required or an area that is designated for limited access due to safety concerns. As Built data has been collected. Other structure automation may be similarly deployed according to As Built data, occupant profiles, biometric data, time of day, or other combination of available sensor readings”; par. 0259 – “Sensors may be deployed and data may be gathered from the on-site cameras and Sensors either periodically or upon command. Data gathered may be incorporated into the improved virtual model”).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Santarone disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more KPI values corresponds to lifespan loss and energy loss in percentage related to estimated lifespan and consumed energy during a nominal operation of the one or more components of the HVAC system in the predefined time period (Santarone; par. 0165 – time factors associated with a physical built may be estimated , measured; par. 0020, 0085, 0170 – data relating services of electrical wiring and components are modified, updated during the life of a structure, allow for a view of a life structure; par. 0170 - “The AVM may model and present alternatives including one or more of: cost versus efficiency, quality 240, time to build, life expectancy, market valuation over time. A cost to build may be correlated with cost to deploy and eventual resale”).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Santarone discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprises at least one of a valve, and an air damper of the HVAC system (Santarone; 0151 – automatically turn on, adjust one or more of temperature, sound, security implies the use of a valve).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
i. The prior fails to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the predefined width constant (K) defines a width of a centered weighted moving average window technique and having the features and characteristics as recited as recited in claims 6 and 15.
ii. The prior art fails to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one real travel distance (Sr) and the at least one baseline travel distance (Sb) correspond to a sum of absolute values of changes in the plurality of positions as recited in claims 7 and 16.
Conclusion
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876