DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application, filed 27 May 2024, is a Continuation of PCT/JP2022/027505, filed 13 July 2022, which claims priority to JP2021-193258, filed 20 November 2021.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, Applicant claims: “the starting point is first position information included in map information….” The examiner recommends amending this limitation to recite: “the starting point is a position indicated by first position information…,” similarly to claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takai (JP2021086203A), hereafter Takai.
Regarding claim 1, Takai teaches an autonomous mobile object control method for controlling a drive unit that causes a body to move (0013, drive unit 130 has two drive wheels 131 that are in contact with the floor surface), the autonomous mobile object control method comprising:
A first step of determining an approach route that is to be followed by the autonomous mobile object to a starting point outside of an elevator, and of moving the body by controlling the driving unit based on the approach route (0035, mobile robot 100 receives an instruction to depart from the checkpoint CP1, board the elevator EV1, and move between floors, in this case, the movement command extraction unit 111 refers to the floor map stored in the storage unit 114, extracts the following movement commands from the above instructions, and generates the route P1, first, the mobile robot 100 moves from checkpoint CP1 to checkpoint CP2, then the mobile robot 100 travels from checkpoint CP2 through passage 902 to elevator hall 903 and waits at checkpoint CP3 to wait for the elevator); and
A second step of determining a boarding route that is a route to be followed by the autonomous mobile object from the starting point to an end point inside the elevator, and of moving the body by controlling the driving unit based on the boarding route (0035, then, when the elevator EV1 arrives, the mobile robot 100 boards the elevator EV1 from checkpoint CP3, 0041, when boarding the elevator EV1, the mobile robot 100 can board the elevator car by moving in a substantially straight line).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takai, and further in view of Takai (US 20200363802 A1), hereafter Takai ‘802.
Regarding claim 2, Takai teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach it further comprising a third step of causing the body to make a turn at the starting point, about a turn center that is a point eccentric toward one side of the body, the turn being a turn in a direction moving another side of the body away from the end point, by controlling the driving unit,
Wherein the third step is performed between the first step and the second step.
Takai '802, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach causing the body to make a turn at the starting point, about a turn center that is a point eccentric toward one side of the body, the turn being a turn in a direction moving another side of the body away from the end point, by controlling the driving unit (0044, it is not preferable to adjust the orientation of the mobile robot 100 inside the car before the mobile robot 100 exits the car on the destination floor after it has got on the car since in this case the mobile robot 100 may contact other passengers, in order to solve this, the mobile robot 100 adjusts the orientation of itself based on the exiting direction from the car on the destination floor before the mobile robot 100 gets on the car of the elevator, 0050, when the exiting direction is opposite to the entering direction, the orientation adjustment unit 202 starts turning so as to reverse the orientation of the mobile robot 100, see also Figs. 3-7, 0031-0032, cart part 110 supports two driving wheels 111 and two casters 112, each of which is grounded on a traveling surface, inside a cover having a rectangular shape, the two driving wheels are disposed such that the rotational axes thereof match each other, the mobile robot 100 turns about the vertical axis that passes substantially the center part of the two driving wheels 111 of the cart part 110 when the two driving wheels 111 are rotated at the same rotational speed in the opposite direction, Examiner's note: since the driving wheels of the robot are offset from the center of the body in at least Fig. 1, the vertical axis between the center part of the two driving wheels would necessarily be eccentric towards one side of the body),
Wherein the third step is performed between the first step and the second step (0044, the mobile robot 100 adjusts the orientation of itself based on the exiting direction from the car on the destination floor before the mobile robot 100 gets on the car of the elevator, see also Figs. 3-7).
Takai and Takai ‘802 are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the re-orientation before boarding of Takai ‘802 in order to provide a means of ensuring the robot faces the correct direction when boarding. The motivation to combine is to ensure the robot can change orientation conveniently and safely.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Takai and Takai ‘802 teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 2, and Takai further teaches wherein:
The starting point is first position information included in map information that includes a position of the elevator (0035, mobile robot 100 receives an instruction to depart from the checkpoint CP1, board the elevator EV1, and move between floors, in this case, the movement command extraction unit 111 refers to the floor map stored in the storage unit 114, extracts the following movement commands from the above instructions, and generates the route P1, first, the mobile robot 100 moves from checkpoint CP1 to checkpoint CP2, then the mobile robot 100 travels from checkpoint CP2 through passage 902 to elevator hall 903 and waits at checkpoint CP3 to wait for the elevator), and
In the first step, execution of the second step is determined based on the first position information (0035, mobile robot 100 receives an instruction to depart from the checkpoint CP1, board the elevator EV1, and move between floors, in this case, the movement command extraction unit 111 refers to the floor map stored in the storage unit 114, extracts the following movement commands from the above instructions, and generates the route P1, first, the mobile robot 100 moves from checkpoint CP1 to checkpoint CP2, then the mobile robot 100 travels from checkpoint CP2 through passage 902 to elevator hall 903 and waits at checkpoint CP3 to wait for the elevator).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Takai and Takai ‘802 teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 2, and Takai further teaches wherein:
The starting point is a position indicated by first position information included in map information that includes a position of the elevator (0035, mobile robot 100 receives an instruction to depart from the checkpoint CP1, board the elevator EV1, and move between floors, in this case, the movement command extraction unit 111 refers to the floor map stored in the storage unit 114, extracts the following movement commands from the above instructions, and generates the route P1, first, the mobile robot 100 moves from checkpoint CP1 to checkpoint CP2, then the mobile robot 100 travels from checkpoint CP2 through passage 902 to elevator hall 903 and waits at checkpoint CP3 to wait for the elevator), and
In the first step, execution of the third step is determined based on the first position information (0035, mobile robot 100 receives an instruction to depart from the checkpoint CP1, board the elevator EV1, and move between floors, in this case, the movement command extraction unit 111 refers to the floor map stored in the storage unit 114, extracts the following movement commands from the above instructions, and generates the route P1, first, the mobile robot 100 moves from checkpoint CP1 to checkpoint CP2, then the mobile robot 100 travels from checkpoint CP2 through passage 902 to elevator hall 903 and waits at checkpoint CP3 to wait for the elevator).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Takai and Takai ‘802 teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 3, and Takai further teaches wherein
The autonomous mobile object includes a position estimation unit that estimates a position of the body (0031, the overall control unit 510 is configured with a calculation device such as a CPU, and performs various information processing, the overall control unit 510 receives signals relating to the operating status of the mobile robot 100 from the mobile robot 100, and detects the position of the mobile robot 100 from the received signals, 0034, checkpoint CP1 is provided at a predetermined location within the room 901), and
In the first step, the approach route is determined based on the map information and the position of the body, the position being estimated by the position estimation unit (0035, mobile robot 100 receives an instruction to depart from the checkpoint CP1, board the elevator EV1, and move between floors, in this case, the movement command extraction unit 111 refers to the floor map stored in the storage unit 114, extracts the following movement commands from the above instructions, and generates the movement route P1).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takai in view of Choi (US 20210154843 A1), hereafter Choi.
Regarding claim 6, Takai teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein
The autonomous mobile object includes a ranging sensor that measures a relative distance and direction between an object around the body and the body (0015, front-rear distance sensors 152 are provided above the storage room door 151 of the housing unit 150 and on the surface opposite to the surface on which the storage room door 151 is provided, the front-rear distance sensor 152 detects an object around the mobile robot 100, thereby detecting the distance between the mobile robot 100 and the object, left and right distance sensors 153 are provided at the bottom of each of the left and right surfaces of the housing 150 that can detect the distance between the mobile robot 100 and objects around it, by providing front-to-rear distance sensors 152 on each of the front and rear surfaces of the housing unit 150 and providing left-to-right distance sensors 153 on each of the left and right surfaces of the housing unit 150, the mobile robot 100 can detect the distance to objects in all directions)
Takai fails to explicitly teach, however, wherein in the second step, a relative position between the body and each part of the elevator is obtained based on a measurement result of the ranging sensor, and the boarding route is determined based on the relative position.
Choi, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein in the second step, a relative position between the body and each part of the elevator is obtained based on a measurement result of the ranging sensor, and the boarding route is determined based on the relative position (0096, the robot 100a may determine whether boarding on the elevator is possible S510, when the processor 180 detects that a door of the elevator is opened, the processor 180 may determine whether boarding on the elevator is possible based on sensing data of the internal space of the elevator obtained through the distance sensor 144, 0100, the robot 100a may board the elevator by controlling the driving motor 160 to move to a boarding position set based on the obtained information).
Takai and Choi are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the relative position determination of Choi in order to provide a means of ensuring that the robot enters the elevator with consideration of potential occupants of the elevator. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robot is able to enter the elevator safely and conveniently.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Takai and Choi teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 6, and Choi further teaches wherein, in the second step, the end point is set based on relative positions of the body, and both ends of an entrance of the elevator, and a rear wall of a car of the elevator with a door of the elevator opened (0106-0107, the processor 180 may set a predetermined position in a region REG corresponding to the immediate area behind the doorway 301 as the boarding position for easy boarding and deboarding of the robot 100a, that is, the width of the region REG may be equal to or smaller than the width DW of the doorway 301, in this case, since the robot 100a may board and deboard the elevator only by a straight movement, a driving algorithm may be simplified, in addition, the processor 180 may minimize discomfort during boarding and deboarding of another passengers or an object by setting a position corresponding to the rearmost area among available boarding positions in the region REG as the boarding position).
Takai and Choi are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the end point determination of Choi in order to provide a means of ensuring the robot is in a convenient placement in the elevator. The motivation to combine is to minimize difficulties while boarding or exiting the elevator (see at least 0106-0107 of Choi).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takai in view of Choi, and further in view of Dai (CN112130574A), hereafter Dai.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Takai and Choi teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 7, but fails to teach wherein, in the second step, the end point is set on a perpendicular line passing through a center between the both ends of the entrance, and extending to the rear wall.
Dai, however, in an analogous field of endeavor, does teach wherein, in the second step, the end point is set on a perpendicular line passing through a center between the both ends of the entrance, and extending to the rear wall (0101, Fig. 2, A5 and A6 represent the positions of the elevator doors, the second target position is point C inside the elevator, if the distance between the center points of the elevator entrance positions is greater than the radius of the circular area where the robot is located, then the line BC between point B and point C is the target path, Examiner's note: a line extending through points B, C, D1, D2, and D3 would extend through the rear wall).
Takai, Choi, and Dai are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the starting and end point alignment of Dai in order to provide a means of ensuring that the starting position is a position capable of entering the elevator. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robot is located at a position where it is capable of entering the elevator.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Takai, Choi, and Dai teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 8, and Dai further teaches wherein, in the second step, by setting a via point on the perpendicular line outside the elevator, from the center between both ends, and setting the end point on the perpendicular line inside a car of the elevator, the boarding route for moving the body from the starting point to the end point via the via point is generated (0101, Fig. 2, A5 and A6 represent the positions of the elevator doors, that is, the entrance positions of the elevator, suppose the robot wants to enter the elevator, currently the robot is at a preset waiting position point E outside the elevator, the first target position is point B, which is also located outside of the elevator, the distance between point B and the center point of the elevator entrance position is less than the radius of the circular area where the robot is located, the second target position is point C inside the elevator, if the distance between the center points of the elevator entrance positions is greater than the radius of the circular are where the robot is located, then the line BC between point B and point C is the target path).
Takai, Choi, and Dai are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the starting and end point alignment of Dai in order to provide a means of ensuring that the starting position is a position capable of entering the elevator. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robot is located at a position where it is capable of entering the elevator.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Takai, Choi, and Dai teaches the autonomous mobile object control method according to claim 9, and Dai further teaches wherein, in the second step, the via point is set at a position separated by a predetermined distance from the center between corners of the entrance, outside the elevator (0101, Fig. 2, first target position is point B, which is also located outside the elevator, the distance between point B and the center point of the elevator entrance position is less than the radius of the circular area where the robot is located).
Takai, Choi, and Dai are analogous because they are in a similar field of endeavor, e.g., robot control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have included the start point position separation of Dai in order to provide a means of ensuring that the starting position is a position capable of entering the elevator. The motivation to combine is to ensure that the robot is located at a position where it is capable of entering the elevator.
Conclusion
/BLAKE A WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3658