DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application has Provisional 63/596,672 filed on November 7, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 currently depends from claim 2, but should depend from claim 8 in order to avoid confusion regarding the “a second bolt” and “a second screw hole”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth (US 10,622,177) in view of Bulancea (US 2016/0072266).
In regards to claim 1, Roth teaches a box (4, figure 2), comprising: a lower box (8); an upper cover (8a), the other side of the lower box (8b) being provided with multiple snapping parts (40); and a locking mechanism (50) comprising a crossbar (10b) which is slidably arranged on the upper cover (8b)(The slide element is linearly slidably coupled to the cover by means of the pivoting mechanism, column 4, lines 40-42) and provided with multiple hooks (36a-b); when the lower box (8b) is covered with the upper cover (8a) and the crossbar (10b) slides to a designated locking position (closed position), one of the hooks (36a-b) is snap-fitted on one of the snapping parts (40); and when the crossbar(10b) slides to a designated unlocking position, the hook (36a-b) is detached from the snapping part (40).
Roth does not teach one side of the upper cover being rotatably connected with one side of the lower box, or a sealing ring being arranged on the upper cover, the lower box abutting against the sealing ring when the lower box is covered with the upper cover; and the sealing ring is pressed jointly by the upper cover and the lower box.
Bulancea teaches one side of the upper cover (2) being rotatably connected with one side of the lower box (electrical box (1) via (26)( A hinge pivotally couples the flip lid cover to the electrical box or connector, abstract); and a sealing ring (24) being arranged on the upper cover (2), the lower box (26) abutting against the sealing ring (24) when the lower box is covered with the upper cover (see figure 5); and the sealing ring (24) is pressed jointly by the upper cover and the lower box (see figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included the seal ring between the upper cover and the lower cover of Roth as taught by Bulancea to protect electrical devices, such as receptacles, plugs and connectors that are exposed to the harsh elements of weather, such as moisture, rain, snow, and the like (paragraph [0003] of Bulancea). It also would have been obvious to make the upper cover be rotatably connected with one side of the lower box since hinges provide a continuous seal, ensuring that dust, water, and contaminants are blocked from entering the enclosure. This is particularly important for electrical boxes that are exposed to various environmental conditions. They also provide easier and faster access to the interior of the box.
In regards to claim 2, Roth teaches the box according to Claim 1, wherein the locking mechanism (50) further comprises a lever (10a), wherein the lever is rotatably connected to the upper cover (see figure 1) , and one end of the lever is connected to the crossbar (10b); when the lever is rotated under the action of an external force, the crossbar (10b) may be driven by the lever to move between a designated locking position and a designated unlocking position relative to the upper cover (see figure 1).
In regards to claim 10, Roth teaches an outdoor electric appliance, comprising a box (4, figure 2), comprising: a lower box (8); an upper cover (8a), one side of the upper cover (18a) being rotatably connected with one side of the lower box (8b) (a cover that can pivot about a rotational axis, abstract), the other side of the lower box (8b) being provided with multiple snapping parts (latch pins (34)); and a locking mechanism (50) comprising a crossbar (10b) which is slidably arranged on the upper cover (18)(The slide element is linearly slidably coupled to the cover by means of the pivoting mechanism, column 4, lines 40-42) and provided with multiple hooks (32); when the lower box (8b) is covered with the upper cover (8a) and the crossbar (10b) slides to a designated locking position (A locking or unlocking of the securing device occurs with a pivoting of the cover, abstract), one of the hooks is snap-fitted on one of the snapping parts (32,34), and when the crossbar (10b) slides to a designated unlocking position, the hook is detached from the snapping part (32,34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached USPTO-892 form.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848