DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2015/0289076).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a portable electronic device (Fig. 3) configured for adjusting sound output channels according to different orientations, comprising:
a device casing structure having a first side (top side of 10) and a second side (bottom side of 10) corresponding to each other (e.g., corresponding length), and a third side (left side of 10) and a fourth side (right side of 10) corresponding to each other (e.g., corresponding length) (see Fig. 3);
a signal control module (Fig. 6: 502-504) disposed in the device casing structure (¶ 0118-0119);
an image display module (¶ 0077 and depicted by black in Fig. 3) configured to cooperate with the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 7), wherein the image display module has an image display area (¶ 0155);
a first speaker module (A1) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6);
a second speaker module (B1) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6);
a third speaker module (A2) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6);
a fourth speaker module (B2) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6); and
an orientation detection module (Fig. 5: 501) disposed inside the device casing structure (¶ 0118-0120) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6);
wherein the first speaker module and the second speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to the first side and the second side of the device casing structure (see Fig. 3);
wherein the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to the third side and the fourth side of the device casing structure (see Fig. 3);
wherein, when the portable electronic device is placed horizontally or approximately horizontally (as seen in Fig. 2A), the signal control module is configured to turn on the first speaker module and the second speaker module and turn off the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module through a horizontal placement signal provided by the orientation detection module, thereby allowing a first audio signal provided by the first speaker module and a second audio signal provided by the second speaker module to cooperate with each other to present a first stereo sound (see Figs. 2A and 6, and ¶ 0137, and note A2 and B2 outputting the bass is optional, so in the case of not outputting bass, A2 and B2 will be off);
wherein, when the portable electronic device is placed upright or approximately upright (as seen in Fig. 3), the signal control module is configured to turn on the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module and turn off the first speaker module and the second speaker module through an upright placement signal provided by the orientation detection module, thereby allowing a third audio signal provided by the third speaker module and a fourth audio signal provided by the fourth speaker module to cooperate with each other to present a second stereo sound (see Figs. 3 and 6, and ¶ 0137, and note A1 and B1 outputting the bass is optional, so in the case of not outputting bass, A1 and B1 will be off).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses a portable electronic device (Fig. 3), comprising:
a device casing structure having a first side (top side of 10) and a second side (bottom side of 10) corresponding to each other (e.g., corresponding length), and a third side (left side of 10) and a fourth side (right side of 10) corresponding to each other (e.g., corresponding length) (see Fig. 3);
a signal control module (Fig. 6: 502-504) disposed in the device casing structure (¶ 0118-0119);
an image display module (¶ 0077 and depicted by black in Fig. 3) configured to cooperate with the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 7), wherein the image display module has an image display area (¶ 0155);
a first speaker module (A1) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6);
a second speaker module (B1) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6);
a third speaker module (A2) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6); and
a fourth speaker module (B2) disposed inside the device casing structure (see Fig. 3) and electrically connected to the signal control module (see Fig. 6);
wherein the first speaker module and the second speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to the first side and the second side of the device casing structure (see Fig. 3);
wherein the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to the third side and the fourth side of the device casing structure (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu discloses a method for adjusting sound output channels according to different orientations, comprising:
providing a portable electronic device (Fig. 3) including a signal control module (502-504), a first speaker module (A1), a second speaker module (B1), a third speaker module (A2), a fourth speaker module (B2) and an orientation detection module (501) (see Figs. 3 and 6); and
detecting an orientation of the portable electronic device through the orientation detection module to obtain a horizontal placement signal or an upright placement signal (¶ 0137-0138);
wherein, when the portable electronic device is placed horizontally or approximately horizontally (see Fig. 2A), the signal control module is configured to turn on the first speaker module and the second speaker module and turn off the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module through the horizontal placement signal provided by the orientation detection module, thereby allowing a first audio signal provided by the first speaker module and a second audio signal provided by the second speaker module to cooperate with each other to present a first stereo sound (see Figs. 2A and 6, and ¶ 0137, and note A2 and B2 outputting the bass is optional, so in the case of not outputting bass, A2 and B2 will be off);
wherein, when the portable electronic device is placed upright or approximately upright (see Fig. 3), the signal control module is configured to turn on the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module and turn off the first speaker module and the second speaker module through the upright placement signal provided by the orientation detection module, thereby allowing a third audio signal provided by the third speaker module and a fourth audio signal provided by the fourth speaker module to cooperate with each other to present a second stereo sound (see Figs. 3 and 6, and ¶ 0137, and note A1 and B1 outputting the bass is optional, so in the case of not outputting bass, A1 and B1 will be off);
wherein the first speaker module and the second speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to a top side and a bottom side of the portable electronic device (see Fig. 3);
wherein the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to a left side and a right side of the portable electronic device (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Feyh (US 2015/0086050).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 1,
wherein the first speaker module includes a plurality of first speakers speakers
wherein the second speaker module includes a plurality of second speakers speakers
wherein the third speaker module includes a plurality of third speakers speakers
wherein the fourth speaker module includes a plurality of fourth speakers speakers from each other or connected to each other (separate and connected are the only two possibilities, so one of the two possibilities must be true).
Zhu is not relied upon to disclose that the plurality of first speakers, the plurality of second speakers, the plurality of third speakers, and the plurality of fourth speakers are a plurality of first speaker chips, a plurality of second speaker chips, a plurality of third speaker chips, and a plurality of fourth speaker chips, respectively.
In a similar field of endeavor, Feyh discloses that it is advantageous to use speaker chips in miniaturized applications such as cellular phones, smartphones, tablet PCs, flat screens, loudspeakers integrated in wall coatings, or similar applications to reduce structural size and/or increase integration density (¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: the plurality of first speakers, the plurality of second speakers, the plurality of third speakers, and the plurality of fourth speakers are a plurality of first speaker chips, a plurality of second speaker chips, a plurality of third speaker chips, and a plurality of fourth speaker chips, respectively, the motivation being to reduce structural size and/or increase integration density (Feyh - ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 5,
wherein the first speaker module includes a plurality of first speakers speakers
wherein the second speaker module includes a plurality of second speakers speakers from each other or connected to each other (separate and connected are the only two possibilities, so one of the two possibilities must be true);
wherein the third speaker module includes a plurality of third speakers speakers
wherein the fourth speaker module includes a plurality of fourth speakers speakers
Zhu is not relied upon to disclose that the plurality of first speakers, the plurality of second speakers, the plurality of third speakers, and the plurality of fourth speakers are a plurality of first speaker chips, a plurality of second speaker chips, a plurality of third speaker chips, and a plurality of fourth speaker chips, respectively.
In a similar field of endeavor, Feyh discloses that it is advantageous to use speaker chips in miniaturized applications such as cellular phones, smartphones, tablet PCs, flat screens, loudspeakers integrated in wall coatings, or similar applications to reduce structural size and/or increase integration density (¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: the plurality of first speakers, the plurality of second speakers, the plurality of third speakers, and the plurality of fourth speakers are a plurality of first speaker chips, a plurality of second speaker chips, a plurality of third speaker chips, and a plurality of fourth speaker chips, respectively, the motivation being to reduce structural size and/or increase integration density (Feyh - ¶ 0009).
Claim(s) 3, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Feyh in view of Han et al. (US 2024/0073605).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu-Feyh discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 2, and Zhu discloses
wherein, when the first speaker module and the second speaker module are turned on simultaneously, the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module are turned off simultaneously, so that the portable electronic device is configured to provide the first stereo sound through the cooperation of the first speaker module and the second speaker module only (see Figs. 2A and 6, and ¶ 0137, and note A2 and B2 outputting the bass is optional, so in the case of not outputting bass, A2 and B2 will be off);
wherein, when the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module are turned on simultaneously, the first speaker module and the second speaker module are turned off simultaneously, so that the portable electronic device is configured to provide the second stereo sound through the cooperation of the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module only (see Figs. 3 and 6, and ¶ 0137, and note A1 and B1 outputting the bass is optional, so in the case of not outputting bass, A1 and B1 will be off).
Zhu-Feyh is not relied upon to disclose:
wherein the device casing structure has a plurality of first audio openings formed on the first side thereof, a plurality of second audio openings formed on the second side thereof, a plurality of third audio openings formed on the third side thereof, and a plurality of fourth audio openings formed on the fourth side thereof;
wherein, when the first speaker module is configured to generate a first audio signal through the first speaker chips, the first audio signal generated by the first speaker module is transmitted out from the first audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the second speaker module is configured to generate a second audio signal through the second speaker chips, the second audio signal generated by the second speaker module is transmitted out from the second audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the third speaker module is configured to generate a third audio signal through the third speaker chips, the third audio signal generated by the third speaker module is transmitted out from the third audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the fourth speaker module is configured to generate a fourth audio signal through the fourth speaker chips, the fourth audio signal generated by the fourth speaker module is transmitted out from the fourth audio openings of the device casing structure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Han discloses wherein a device casing structure (720) has a plurality of audio openings (705 corresponding to 760) formed on a side thereof (see Fig. 7); wherein, an audio signal generated by a speaker module (760) is transmitted out from the audio openings of the device casing structure (Fig. 7 and ¶ 0133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: configure the device casing structure of Zhu to have a first, second, third, and fourth plurality of audio openings formed on each side thereof for each of the respective first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules of Zhu-Feyh, wherein, an audio signal generated by each of the first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules is transmitted out from the respective audio openings of the device casing structure,
which would result in:
wherein the device casing structure has a plurality of first audio openings formed on the first side thereof, a plurality of second audio openings formed on the second side thereof, a plurality of third audio openings formed on the third side thereof, and a plurality of fourth audio openings formed on the fourth side thereof;
wherein, when the first speaker module is configured to generate a first audio signal through the first speaker chips, the first audio signal generated by the first speaker module is transmitted out from the first audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the second speaker module is configured to generate a second audio signal through the second speaker chips, the second audio signal generated by the second speaker module is transmitted out from the second audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the third speaker module is configured to generate a third audio signal through the third speaker chips, the third audio signal generated by the third speaker module is transmitted out from the third audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the fourth speaker module is configured to generate a fourth audio signal through the fourth speaker chips, the fourth audio signal generated by the fourth speaker module is transmitted out from the fourth audio openings of the device casing structure,
the motivation being to provide a way for the sound waves output from the speaker modules to reach the outside (Han - ¶ 0133).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu-Feyh discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 6.
Zhu-Feyh is not relied upon to disclose
wherein the device casing structure has a plurality of first audio openings formed on the first side thereof, a plurality of second audio openings formed on the second side thereof, a plurality of third audio openings formed on the third side thereof, and a plurality of fourth audio openings formed on the fourth side thereof;
wherein, when the first speaker module is configured to generate a first audio signal through the first speaker chips, the first audio signal generated by the first speaker module is transmitted out from the first audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the second speaker module is configured to generate a second audio signal through the second speaker chips, the second audio signal generated by the second speaker module is transmitted out from the second audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the third speaker module is configured to generate a third audio signal through the third speaker chips, the third audio signal generated by the third speaker module is transmitted out from the third audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the fourth speaker module is configured to generate a fourth audio signal through the fourth speaker chips, the fourth audio signal generated by the fourth speaker module is transmitted out from the fourth audio openings of the device casing structure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Han discloses wherein a device casing structure (720) has a plurality of audio openings (705 corresponding to 760) formed on a side thereof (see Fig. 7); wherein, an audio signal generated by a speaker module (760) is transmitted out from the audio openings of the device casing structure (Fig. 7 and ¶ 0133).
In a similar field of endeavor, Han discloses wherein a device casing structure (720) has a plurality of audio openings (705 corresponding to 760) formed on a side thereof (see Fig. 7); wherein, an audio signal generated by a speaker module (760) is transmitted out from the audio openings of the device casing structure (Fig. 7 and ¶ 0133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: configure the device casing structure of Zhu to have a first, second, third, and fourth plurality of audio openings formed on each side thereof for each of the respective first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules of Zhu-Feyh, wherein, an audio signal generated by each of the first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules is transmitted out from the respective audio openings of the device casing structure,
which would result in:
wherein the device casing structure has a plurality of first audio openings formed on the first side thereof, a plurality of second audio openings formed on the second side thereof, a plurality of third audio openings formed on the third side thereof, and a plurality of fourth audio openings formed on the fourth side thereof;
wherein, when the first speaker module is configured to generate a first audio signal through the first speaker chips, the first audio signal generated by the first speaker module is transmitted out from the first audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the second speaker module is configured to generate a second audio signal through the second speaker chips, the second audio signal generated by the second speaker module is transmitted out from the second audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the third speaker module is configured to generate a third audio signal through the third speaker chips, the third audio signal generated by the third speaker module is transmitted out from the third audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the fourth speaker module is configured to generate a fourth audio signal through the fourth speaker chips, the fourth audio signal generated by the fourth speaker module is transmitted out from the fourth audio openings of the device casing structure,
the motivation being to provide a way for the sound waves output from the speaker modules to reach the outside (Han - ¶ 0133).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 9,
wherein the first speaker module includes a plurality of first speakers
wherein the second speaker module includes a plurality of second speakers
wherein the third speaker module includes a plurality of third speakers
wherein the fourth speaker module includes a plurality of fourth speakers
wherein the portable electronic device includes a device casing structure having a first side (top side of 10) and a second side (bottom side of 10) corresponding to each other (e.g., corresponding length), and a third side (left side of 10) and a fourth side (right side of 10) corresponding to each other (e.g., corresponding length) (see Fig. 3), the first speaker module and the second speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to the first side and the second side of the device casing structure, and the third speaker module and the fourth speaker module are configured respectively adjacent to the third side and the fourth side of the device casing structure (see Fig. 3);
Zhu is not relied upon to disclose that the plurality of first speakers, the plurality of second speakers, the plurality of third speakers, and the plurality of fourth speakers are a plurality of first speaker chips, a plurality of second speaker chips, a plurality of third speaker chips, and a plurality of fourth speaker chips, respectively.
In a similar field of endeavor, Feyh discloses that it is advantageous to use speaker chips in miniaturized applications such as cellular phones, smartphones, tablet PCs, flat screens, loudspeakers integrated in wall coatings, or similar applications to reduce structural size and/or increase integration density (¶ 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: the plurality of first speakers, the plurality of second speakers, the plurality of third speakers, and the plurality of fourth speakers are a plurality of first speaker chips, a plurality of second speaker chips, a plurality of third speaker chips, and a plurality of fourth speaker chips, respectively, the motivation being to reduce structural size and/or increase integration density (Feyh - ¶ 0009).
Zhu-Feyh is not relied upon to disclose
wherein the device casing structure has a plurality of first audio openings formed on the first side thereof, a plurality of second audio openings formed on the second side thereof, a plurality of third audio openings formed on the third side thereof, and a plurality of fourth audio openings formed on the fourth side thereof;
wherein, when the first speaker module is configured to generate a first audio signal through the first speaker chips, the first audio signal generated by the first speaker module is transmitted out from the first audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the second speaker module is configured to generate a second audio signal through the second speaker chips, the second audio signal generated by the second speaker module is transmitted out from the second audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the third speaker module is configured to generate a third audio signal through the third speaker chips, the third audio signal generated by the third speaker module is transmitted out from the third audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the fourth speaker module is configured to generate a fourth audio signal through the fourth speaker chips, the fourth audio signal generated by the fourth speaker module is transmitted out from the fourth audio openings of the device casing structure.
In a similar field of endeavor, Han discloses wherein a device casing structure (720) has a plurality of audio openings (705 corresponding to 760) formed on a side thereof (see Fig. 7); wherein, an audio signal generated by a speaker module (760) is transmitted out from the audio openings of the device casing structure (Fig. 7 and ¶ 0133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: configure the device casing structure of Zhu to have a first, second, third, and fourth plurality of audio openings formed on each side thereof for each of the respective first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules of Zhu-Feyh, wherein, an audio signal generated by each of the first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules is transmitted out from the respective audio openings of the device casing structure,
which would result in:
wherein the device casing structure has a plurality of first audio openings formed on the first side thereof, a plurality of second audio openings formed on the second side thereof, a plurality of third audio openings formed on the third side thereof, and a plurality of fourth audio openings formed on the fourth side thereof;
wherein, when the first speaker module is configured to generate a first audio signal through the first speaker chips, the first audio signal generated by the first speaker module is transmitted out from the first audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the second speaker module is configured to generate a second audio signal through the second speaker chips, the second audio signal generated by the second speaker module is transmitted out from the second audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the third speaker module is configured to generate a third audio signal through the third speaker chips, the third audio signal generated by the third speaker module is transmitted out from the third audio openings of the device casing structure;
wherein, when the fourth speaker module is configured to generate a fourth audio signal through the fourth speaker chips, the fourth audio signal generated by the fourth speaker module is transmitted out from the fourth audio openings of the device casing structure,
the motivation being to provide a way for the sound waves output from the speaker modules to reach the outside (Han - ¶ 0133).
Claim(s) 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Stobbe et al. (US 2022/0286539).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 1,
wherein the image display module is a liquid crystal display or a light-emitting diode display (¶ 0155: LCD display);
wherein, when the image display module is a light-emitting diode display, the light-emitting diode display includes a circuit substrate and a plurality of light-emitting diode chips disposed on the circuit substrate, and the first speaker chips of the first speaker module, the second speaker chips of the second speaker module, the third speaker chips of the third speaker module and the fourth speaker chips of the fourth speaker module are disposed on the circuit substrate and surrounded by the light-emitting diode chips (the claimed condition does not apply for the LCD display, and Zhu teaches the LCD display in ¶ 0155).
Zhu is not relied upon to disclose
wherein a vertical projection of the first speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the second speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the third speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the fourth speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module.
In a similar field of endeavor, Stobbe discloses wherein a vertical projection of a speaker module (620) completely or partially falls on an image display area (active region) of an image display module (610) (¶ 0196 and Fig. 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein a vertical projection of each of the first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules of Zhu completely or partially falls on an image display area of the image display module of Zhu,
which would result in:
wherein a vertical projection of the first speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the second speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the third speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the fourth speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module,
the motivation being to: reduce the non-active area of the display to allow for very thin device borders around the active area of the display (Stobbe - ¶ 0120, 0151).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 5,
wherein the image display module is a liquid crystal display or a light-emitting diode display (¶ 0155: LCD display);
wherein, when the image display module is a light-emitting diode display, the light-emitting diode display includes a circuit substrate and a plurality of light-emitting diode chips disposed on the circuit substrate, and the first speaker chips of the first speaker module, the second speaker chips of the second speaker module, the third speaker chips of the third speaker module and the fourth speaker chips of the fourth speaker module are disposed on the circuit substrate and surrounded by the light-emitting diode chips (the claimed condition does not apply for the LCD display, and Zhu teaches the LCD display in ¶ 0155).
Zhu is not relied upon to disclose
wherein a vertical projection of the first speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the second speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the third speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the fourth speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module.
In a similar field of endeavor, Stobbe discloses wherein a vertical projection of a speaker module (620) completely or partially falls on an image display area (active region) of an image display module (610) (¶ 0196 and Fig. 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: wherein a vertical projection of each of the first, second, third, and fourth speaker modules of Zhu completely or partially falls on an image display area of the image display module of Zhu,
which would result in:
wherein a vertical projection of the first speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the second speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the third speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module;
wherein a vertical projection of the fourth speaker module completely or partially falls on the image display area of the image display module,
the motivation being to: reduce the non-active area of the display to allow for very thin device borders around the active area of the display (Stobbe - ¶ 0120, 0151).
Conclusion
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692