DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-18, applicant argues that “The above names are codebook names and will be known to a person of skill in the art. Paragraph [0289] of the present patent application discloses that "the terminal device reports a codebook type supported by the terminal device to the network device. The network device configures corresponding codebook configuration information for the terminal device based on the codebook type reported by the terminal device. The terminal device performs measurement based on the codebook configuration information configured by the network device". Paragraph [0290] of the present patent application discloses that "the network device reconstructs, based on the channel state information fed back by the terminal device, the coding matrix used to send downlink service data. Currently, codebook types supported by the terminal device are a codebook 1, a codebook 2, and a codebook 3". Paragraph [0290] lists various codebook types that are currently reported by the terminal device to the network device, listing fourteen (14) such codebooks. Paragraphs [029 1]- [0297] give information on the support for the codebook types as defined in the 3GPP TS 38.214 standard (see https://www.3gpp.org/ftp/Specs/archive/38_series/38.214/). Paragraphs [0303]-[0311] lists twenty (20) such codebooks. Therefore, the patent application as originally filed sufficiently defines codebooks and the codebook combination list. The Office Action asserts that the term "maximum" in claims 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "maximum" is allegedly not defined by the claims, the specification allegedly does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention. Applicant respectfully disagrees. A maximum number in a range of working data is inherently understood by a reader. Paragraph [0290] specifies the maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity as given in the 3GPP TS 38.2 14 standard, including for a type 1 single-panel codebook, a typel multi-panel codebook, an enhanced TypeII codebook, and a TypeII Port Selection codebook as given in paragraphs [0304]-[0307]. Such maximums (or maximum values) are limitations on the quantities of ports and/or resources that can be used in a communication system according to the various embodiments disclosed herein. Paragraphs [0304]-[0305] specify the maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity as given in the 3GPP TS 38.2 14 standard, including for an angle-delay reciprocity-based R17 codebook as given in paragraphs [0306]-[0308]” in pages 8-9.
In response to applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Paragraphs [0291]-[0297] only disclose that the 3GPP TS 38.214 give information on the support for the codebook types type1SP, type1MP, eType2R1, eType2R2, Type2PS, eType2R1PS, eType2R2PS. The claims 2, 5, 8, 11, 14 and 17 recite the codebook types “type1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1” without defining them. Therefore, claims 2, 5, 8, 11, 14 and 17 are unclear and indefinite.
The term “maximum” is not defined in claims 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the term “maximum” in claims 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation “a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity” in the claims has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “maximum”.
In view of the above response, claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-18 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, and 16, applicant argues that “In contrast, the present application requires the terminal device to send a codebook combination list comprising explicitly defined codebook type identifiers (e.g., type 1 SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type 1MP-FeType2M2R1-null), where each identifier is a structured semantic label encoding multiple technical dimensions (single-panel vs. multi- panel, angle-delay reciprocity-based codebook type, M value, R value, and a null flag indicating partial-band support status). Thus, whereas Hao reports a disjointed collection of generic numerical capability values that the network must independently interpret and combine, the present application reports a structured inventory of known codebook types, enabling the network to directly identify which specific codebook configurations the UE supports and to configure CSI feedback accordingly. The two are not the same kind of information: Hao's capability parameter set operates at the level of raw hardware/processing numbers, while the claimed codebook combination list operates at the level of semantic codebook type identification. Beyond the fundamental difference in information type, Hao's reported capability parameters and the claimed "codebook combination list" differ at the data structure level. Hao's paragraph [0094] discloses a "set of at least two capabilities" - the term "set" and the formulation "at least any two of" confirm that Hao reports individual, independently selectable parameters that bear no structural relationship to one another. The network receives a collection of numbers (e.g., P=32, M=2, B=4) and must independently interpret and assemble them to infer the UE's codebook support. There is no concept in Hao of a "combination" - the reported parameters are not grouped, paired, or otherwise structured into meaningful codebook type definitions. The claimed "codebook combination list," by contrast, is a list of pre-defined codebook type identifiers, each of which is already a semantically meaningful combination encoding multiple technical dimensions. As disclosed in paragraph [290] of the present application, the codebook combination list may be "{codebook 1, codebook 2, codebook 3}," where each entry is a self-contained codebook type designation. Paragraphs [0290]-[0311] of the present application illustrate this distinction concretely: the codebook combination list comprises entries such as type1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, where a single identifier simultaneously conveys panel type (single-panel), codebook category (angle-delay reciprocity-based R17 codebook), M value (M=2), R value (R=2), and partial-band support status (null = not supported). Each list entry is thus a pre- assembled combination, not a raw parameter value. This structural difference has practical significance for network-side processing. Under Hao's approach, the network receives discrete numerical parameters and must perform its own inference to determine what codebooks the UE can support - an error- prone process that may result in suboptimal configuration. Under the claimed approach, the UE provides a curated list of known codebook types, enabling the network to directly select from the reported inventory without independent interpretation or assembly. Hao provides no teaching of structuring capability information into pre-defined codebook type combinations, nor any recognition of the configuration efficiency gained by doing so. Neither FIG. 14 nor paragraph [0094] of Hao disclose sending, by the terminal device, a ternary information list or a quaternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list to the network device. Neither FIG. 14 nor paragraph [0094] of Hao disclose sending, by the terminal device, a ternary information list, the ternary information list comprising a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity. Neither FIG. 14 nor paragraph [0094] of Hao disclose sending, by the terminal device, a quaternary information list, the quaternary information list comprising the maximum port quantity of each resource, the maximum resource quantity, the maximum total port quantity, and a value of R. Independent claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, and 16 therefore include features that are neither taught nor suggested by the Hao reference” in pages 10-13.
In response to applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., where each identifier is a structured semantic label encoding multiple technical dimensions (single-panel vs. multi- panel, angle-delay reciprocity-based codebook type, M value, R value, and a null flag indicating partial-band support status) … reports a structured inventory of known codebook types, enabling the network to directly identify which specific codebook configurations the UE supports and to configure CSI feedback accordingly … the claimed codebook combination list operates at the level of semantic codebook type identification … a list of pre-defined codebook type identifiers, each of which is already a semantically meaningful combination encoding multiple technical dimensions … the codebook combination list may be "{codebook 1, codebook 2, codebook 3}," where each entry is a self-contained codebook type designation … where a single identifier simultaneously conveys panel type (single-panel), codebook category (angle-delay reciprocity-based R17 codebook), M value (M=2), R value (R=2), and partial-band support status (null = not supported) … the UE provides a curated list of known codebook types, enabling the network to directly select from the reported inventory without independent interpretation or assembly … structuring capability information into pre-defined codebook type combinations … sending, by the terminal device, a quaternary information list, the quaternary information list comprising the maximum port quantity of each resource, the maximum resource quantity, the maximum total port quantity, and a value of R) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Hao discloses A method for configuring a capability of a terminal device [see Fig. 14, para. 93-96; a method performed by a UE for CSI reporting], comprising: sending, by the terminal device, a codebook combination list to a network device, the codebook combination list comprising a first-type codebook [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook], and the first-type codebook is based on an angle-delay reciprocity [see Fig. 6-7, para. 74-83; the port-selection codebook is based on angle and delay reciprocity]; and receiving, by the terminal device, codebook configuration information configured by the network device based on the codebook combination list [see Fig. 14, step 1404, para. 94; receiving, by the UE, a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting configured by the network entity based on the reported capability], the codebook configuration information being used by the terminal device to feedback channel state information (CSI) [see Fig. 14, steps 1406-1408, para. 96; the configuration being used by the UE to report CSI]; and sending, by the terminal device, a ternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list to the network device, wherein the ternary information list comprises a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook. The set of capabilities include at least any two of a number of CSI-RS ports P, information regarding a number SD-FD pairs P′, information regarding FD bases on each port or SD-FD pair (e.g., a number of FD bases M identified on each port or SD-FD pair), and information regarding partial bands B; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
In view of the above response, Hao discloses every element of claims 1-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5, 8, 11, 14 and 17 recite “type1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1” without defining it. It is unclear what “type1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1” is referring to. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
The term “maximum” in claims 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maximum” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity” in the claims has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “maximum”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (US 2023/0353210 A1, hereinafter “Hao”).
Regarding claim 1, Hao discloses A method for configuring a capability of a terminal device [see Fig. 14, para. 93-96; a method performed by a UE for CSI reporting], comprising:
sending, by the terminal device, a codebook combination list to a network device, the codebook combination list comprising a first-type codebook [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook], and the first-type codebook is based on an angle-delay reciprocity [see Fig. 6-7, para. 74-83; the port-selection codebook is based on angle and delay reciprocity]; and
receiving, by the terminal device, codebook configuration information configured by the network device based on the codebook combination list [see Fig. 14, step 1404, para. 94; receiving, by the UE, a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting configured by the network entity based on the reported capability], the codebook configuration information being used by the terminal device to feedback channel state information (CSI) [see Fig. 14, steps 1406-1408, para. 96; the configuration being used by the UE to report CSI].
Regarding claim 2, Hao discloses wherein the first-type codebook comprises at least one of the following: type 1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1 SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1 [see Fig. 10-11, para. 66, 71, 86-87, 91-92, 94, 98; the port-selection codebook comprises Type II port-selection codebook; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 3, Hao discloses sending, by the terminal device, a ternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list to the network device, wherein the ternary information list comprises a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook. The set of capabilities include at least any two of a number of CSI-RS ports P, information regarding a number SD-FD pairs P′, information regarding FD bases on each port or SD-FD pair (e.g., a number of FD bases M identified on each port or SD-FD pair), and information regarding partial bands B; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 4, Hao discloses A method for configuring a capability of a terminal device [see Fig. 15, para. 97-99; a method performed by a network entity (e.g., a base station, such as an eNB or gNB), to configure and receive CSI reports from a UE], comprising:
receiving, by a network device, a codebook combination list sent by the terminal device, the codebook combination list comprising a first-type codebook [see Fig. 15, step 1502, para. 98; receiving, from the UE, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook], and the first-type codebook is based on an angle-delay reciprocity [see Fig. 6-7, para. 74-83; the port-selection codebook is based on angle and delay reciprocity]; and
sending, by the network device, codebook configuration information to the terminal device, the codebook configuration information being configured by the network device based on the codebook combination list [see Fig. 15, step 1504, para. 98; sending to the UE, by the network entity, a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting configured by the network entity based on the reported capability], and the codebook configuration information is used by the terminal device to feedback channel state information (CSI) [see Fig. 15, step 1506, para. 98; the configuration being used by the UE to report CSI].
Regarding claim 5, Hao discloses wherein the first-type codebook comprises at least one of the following: type 1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type 1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type 1 SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1 [see Fig. 10-11, para. 66, 71, 86-87, 91-92, 94, 98; the port-selection codebook comprises Type II port-selection codebook; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 6, Hao discloses receiving, by the network device, a ternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list from the terminal device, wherein the ternary information list comprises a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity [see Fig. 15, step 1502, para. 98; receiving, from the UE, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook. The set of capabilities include at least any two of a number of CSI-RS ports P, information regarding a number SD-FD pairs P′, information regarding FD bases on each port or SD-FD pair (e.g., a number of FD bases M identified on each port or SD-FD pair), and information regarding partial bands B; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 7, Hao discloses A communication apparatus [see Fig. 1, 3, 23, para. 53, 118-119; a UE], comprising:
a memory storing instructions [see Fig. 23, para. 53, 118-119; memory storing instructions]; and
at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions [see Fig. 3, 23, para. 53, 118-119; a processor in communication with the memory, the processor configured, upon execution of the instructions], to perform the following steps:
determining a codebook combination list [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; determining information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook];
sending the codebook combination list to a network device, the codebook combination list comprising a first-type codebook [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook], and the first-type codebook is based on an angle-delay reciprocity [see Fig. 6-7, para. 74-83; the port-selection codebook is based on angle and delay reciprocity]; and
receiving codebook configuration information configured by the network device based on the codebook combination list [see Fig. 14, step 1404, para. 94; receiving, by the UE, a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting configured by the network entity based on the reported capability], and the codebook configuration information being used by the apparatus to feedback channel state information (CSI) [see Fig. 14, steps 1406-1408, para. 96; the configuration being used by the UE to report CSI].
Regarding claim 8, Hao discloses wherein the first-type codebook comprises at least one of the following: type1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1 [see Fig. 10-11, para. 66, 71, 86-87, 91-92, 94, 98; the port-selection codebook comprises Type II port-selection codebook; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 9, Hao discloses wherein the computer program, when executed by the at least one processor, further causes the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising: sending a ternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list to the network device, wherein the ternary information list comprises a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook. The set of capabilities include at least any two of a number of CSI-RS ports P, information regarding a number SD-FD pairs P′, information regarding FD bases on each port or SD-FD pair (e.g., a number of FD bases M identified on each port or SD-FD pair), and information regarding partial bands B; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 10, Hao discloses A communication apparatus [see Fig. 3, 15, 24, para. 97-99; a network entity (e.g., a base station, such as an eNB or gNB) to configure and receive CSI reports from a UE], comprising:
a memory storing instructions [see Fig. 24, para. 120-121; a memory storing instructions]; and
at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions [see Fig. 24, para. 120-121; a processor in communication with the memory, the processor configured, upon execution of the instructions], to perform the following steps:
receiving a codebook combination list sent by the terminal device, the codebook combination list comprising a first-type codebook [see Fig. 15, step 1502, para. 98; receiving, from the UE, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook], and the first-type codebook is based on an angle-delay reciprocity [see Fig. 6-7, para. 74-83; the port-selection codebook is based on angle and delay reciprocity];
determining codebook configuration information, the codebook configuration information being configured by the apparatus based on the codebook combination list [see Fig. 15, step 1504, para. 98; determining a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting configured by the network entity based on the reported capability], and the codebook configuration information is used by the terminal device to feedback channel state information (CSI) [see Fig. 15, step 1506, para. 98; the configuration being used by the UE to report CSI]; and
sending the codebook configuration information to the terminal device [see Fig. 15, step 1504, para. 98; sending the configuration for codebook based CSI reporting to the UE].
Regarding claim 11, Hao discloses wherein the first-type codebook comprises at least one of the following: type 1 SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1 [see Fig. 10-11, para. 66, 71, 86-87, 91-92, 94, 98; the port-selection codebook comprises Type II port-selection codebook; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 12, Hao discloses receiving a ternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list from the terminal device, wherein the ternary information list comprises a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity [see Fig. 15, step 1502, para. 98; receiving, from the UE, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook. The set of capabilities include at least any two of a number of CSI-RS ports P, information regarding a number SD-FD pairs P′, information regarding FD bases on each port or SD-FD pair (e.g., a number of FD bases M identified on each port or SD-FD pair), and information regarding partial bands B; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 13, Hao discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer instructions that configure at least one processor, upon execution of the instructions [see Fig. 3, 23, para. 53, 118-119; a computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that configure at least one processor, upon execution of the instructions], to perform the following steps:
sending a codebook combination list to a network device, the codebook combination list comprising a first-type codebook [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook], and the first-type codebook is based on an angle-delay reciprocity [see Fig. 6-7, para. 74-83; the port-selection codebook is based on angle and delay reciprocity]; and
receiving codebook configuration information configured by the network device based on the codebook combination list [see Fig. 14, step 1404, para. 94; receiving, by the UE, a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting configured by the network entity based on the reported capability], the codebook configuration information being used by the terminal device to feedback channel state information (CSI) [see Fig. 14, steps 1406-1408, para. 96; the configuration being used by the UE to report CSI].
Regarding claim 14, Hao discloses wherein the first-type codebook comprises at least one of the following: type1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type 1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null or type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1 [see Fig. 10-11, para. 66, 71, 86-87, 91-92, 94, 98; the port-selection codebook comprises Type II port-selection codebook; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 15, Hao discloses sending a ternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list to the network device, wherein the ternary information list comprises a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook. The set of capabilities include at least any two of a number of CSI-RS ports P, information regarding a number SD-FD pairs P′, information regarding FD bases on each port or SD-FD pair (e.g., a number of FD bases M identified on each port or SD-FD pair), and information regarding partial bands B; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 16, Hao discloses A communication chip [see Fig. 1, 3, 23, para. 53, 118-119, 126-129; an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip], comprising:
a memory storing instructions [see Fig. 3, 23, para. 53, 118-119; memory storing instructions]; and
at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions [see Fig. 3, 23, para. 53, 118-119; a processor in communication with the memory, the processor configured, upon execution of the instructions], to perform the following steps:
sending a codebook combination list to a network device, the codebook combination list comprising a first-type codebook [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook], and the first-type codebook is based on an angle-delay reciprocity [see Fig. 6-7, para. 74-83; the port-selection codebook is based on angle and delay reciprocity]; and
receiving codebook configuration information configured by the network device based on the codebook combination list [see Fig. 14, step 1404, para. 94; receiving a configuration for codebook based CSI reporting configured by the network entity based on the reported capability], the codebook configuration information being used by the terminal device to feedback channel state information (CSI) [see Fig. 14, steps 1406-1408, para. 96; the configuration being used by the UE to report CSI].
Regarding claim 17, Hao discloses wherein the first-type codebook comprises at least one of the following: type1SP-FeType2M2R2-null, type1MP-FeType2M2R2-null, type 1 SP-FeType2M2R1-null, type1SP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1, type1MP-FeType2M2R1-null o type1MP-eType2R1-FeType2M2R1 [see Fig. 10-11, para. 66, 71, 86-87, 91-92, 94, 98; the port-selection codebook comprises Type II port-selection codebook; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Regarding claim 18, Hao discloses sending a ternary information list for each codebook combination in the codebook combination list to the network device, wherein the ternary information list comprises a maximum port quantity of each resource, a maximum resource quantity, and a maximum total port quantity [see Fig. 14, step 1402, para. 94; UE transmitting, to a network entity, information regarding a set of at least two capabilities for the UE to support a port-selection codebook. The set of capabilities include at least any two of a number of CSI-RS ports P, information regarding a number SD-FD pairs P′, information regarding FD bases on each port or SD-FD pair (e.g., a number of FD bases M identified on each port or SD-FD pair), and information regarding partial bands B; also see Fig. 16-22 which illustrate how a UE may indicate its capabilities to support a port selection codebook and how a network entity may configure the UE, based on the indicated capabilities].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469