DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2012204087A, Mishiro et al. (hereinafter “Mishiro”).
Regarding claim 1
Mishiro teaches a secondary battery (corresponding to lithium-ion battery, 1) [Figs. 1-2 and para. 0017] comprising:
an electrode assembly (corresponding to electrode group 9) including a first electrode (corresponding to positive electrode plate 10) and a second electrode (corresponding to negative electrode plate 21) having a polarity different from a polarity of the first electrode (19) [Figs. 1-2 and paras. 0018-0020]; and
an exterior package (corresponding to battery container body 3) that accommodates the electrode assembly (9) and an electrolyte solution (the electrode group 9 is immersed in electrolyte) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017], wherein the exterior package (3) includes a first wall (positive electrode battery cover 5) and a second wall (negative electrode battery cover 7) disposed to face each other [Fig. 1 and para. 0017],
the first wall (5)includes a first gas-discharge valve (corresponding to gas outlet 5a) that discharges a gas in the exterior package to outside of the exterior package when pressure in the exterior package becomes equal to or more than a predetermined value (the safety valve within gas outlet 5a ruptures and releases the generated gas when the pressure inside the battery container exceeds a certain level due to gas generation within the container) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017], and
the second wall (7) includes a second gas-discharge valve (corresponding to gas outlet 7a) that discharges the gas in the exterior package to the outside of the exterior package when the pressure in the exterior package becomes equal to or more than a predetermined value (the safety valve within gas outlet 7a ruptures and releases the generated gas when the pressure inside the battery container exceeds a certain level due to gas generation within the container) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017].
Fig. 1
Fig. 2
Regarding claim 2
Mishiro teaches the secondary battery as set forth above, wherein the exterior package (3) includes a case main body (see below) provided with a first opening (see notation O1 in Fig. 1 below) at one end portion of the case main body and a second opening (see notation O2 in Fig. 1 below) at the other end portion of the case main body [Fig. 1],
a first sealing plate (corresponding to positive electrode battery cover 5) that seals the first opening (the openings at both ends of the battery container body 3 are closed by the positive electrode side battery cover 5 and the negative electrode side battery cover 7) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017], and
a second sealing plate (corresponding to negative electrode battery cover 7) that seals the second opening (the openings at both ends of the battery container body 3 are closed by the positive electrode side battery cover 5 and the negative electrode side battery cover 7) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017],
the first wall is the first sealing plate (5) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017],
the second wall is the second sealing plate (7) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017],
the first sealing plate (5) is provided with a first electrode terminal (corresponding to output terminal portion 37) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017],
the second sealing plate (7) is provided with a second electrode terminal (corresponding to output terminal portion 57) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017],
the electrode assembly (9) includes a first electrode tab group (corresponding to multiple positive electrode lead pieces 29) located at one end portion of the electrode assembly (9) and constituted of a plurality of first electrode tabs (29) electrically connected to the first electrode (19) [Figs. 1-2 and paras. 0020-0022], and
a second electrode tab group (corresponding to multiple negative electrode lead pieces 33) located at the other end portion of the electrode assembly (9) and constituted of a plurality of second electrode tabs (33) electrically connected to the second electrode (21) [Figs. 1-2 and paras. 0020-0022],
the first electrode tab group (29) is electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (37) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0020-0022], and
the second electrode tab group (33) is electrically connected to the second electrode terminal (57) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0020-0022].
Fig. 1
Regarding claim 3
Mishiro teaches the secondary battery as set forth above, wherein in a long-side direction of the first wall (5), the first gas-discharge valve (5a) is displaced to a side in a first direction with respect to a center of the first wall (5) (the first gas outlet 5a is positioned displaced from the center of positive electrode battery side cover 5) [see Fig. 1], and
in a long-side direction of the second wall (7), the second gas-discharge valve (7a) is displaced to a side in the first direction with respect to a center of the second wall (5) (the second gas outlet 7a is positioned displaced from the center of negative electrode battery side cover 7) [see Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 4
Mishiro teaches the secondary battery as set forth above, wherein the first gas-discharge valve (5a) has a shape with a long axis (l) and a short axis (s) when viewed in a plan view (see elongated shape having a long axis and a short axis) [Fig. 1], and
the long axis (l) is disposed to extend in a short-side (e.g, thickness direction) direction of the first wall (see Fig. 1 below), and in a long-side direction of the first wall (5), a center of the first gas-discharge valve (5a) is disposed at a position displaced with respect to a center of the first wall (5) [Fig. 1].
Fig. 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by JP2012-204087A, Mishiro et al.* (hereinafter “Mishiro”) in view of US 2009/0035647 A1, Takagi.
*Cited in IDS.
Regarding claim 5
Mishiro teaches a secondary battery (corresponding to lithium-ion battery, 1) [Figs. 1-2 and para. 0017] comprising:
an electrode assembly (corresponding to electrode group 9) including a first electrode (corresponding to positive electrode plate 10) and a second electrode (corresponding to negative electrode plate 21) having a polarity different from a polarity of the first electrode (19) [Figs. 1-2 and paras. 0018-0020]; and
an exterior package (corresponding to battery container body 3) that accommodates the electrode assembly (9) and an electrolyte solution (the electrode group 9 is immersed in electrolyte) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017], wherein the exterior package (3) includes a first wall (positive electrode battery cover 5) and a second wall (negative electrode battery cover 7) disposed to face each other [Fig. 1 and para. 0017],
the first wall (5) includes a first gas-discharge valve (corresponding to gas outlet 5a) that discharges a gas in the exterior package to outside of the exterior package when pressure in the exterior package becomes equal to or more than a predetermined value (the safety valve within gas outlet 5a ruptures and releases the generated gas when the pressure inside the battery container exceeds a certain level due to gas generation within the container) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017], and
the second wall (7) includes a second gas-discharge valve (corresponding to gas outlet 7a) that discharges the gas in the exterior package to the outside of the exterior package when the pressure in the exterior package becomes equal to or more than a predetermined value (the safety valve within gas outlet 7a ruptures and releases the generated gas when the pressure inside the battery container exceeds a certain level due to gas generation within the container) [Fig. 1 and para. 0017], and
each of a long-side direction of the first wall (5) and a long-side direction of the second wall (7) is disposed to extend in a vertical direction [Fig. 1].
Regarding the limitations “in the long-side direction of the first wall, the first gas-discharge valve is disposed above a center of the first wall in the vertical direction” and “in the long-side direction of the second wall, the second gas-discharge valve is disposed above a center of the second wall in the vertical direction,” Fig 1 of Mishiro shows, in the long-side direction of the first wall (5), the first gas discharge valve (5a) is disposed below a center of the first wall (5) in the vertical direction, and “in the long-side direction of the second wall (7), the second gas-discharge valve (7a) is disposed below a center of the second wall (7) in the vertical direction.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position the gas discharge valves (5a and 7a) above, rather than below, the centers of the respective first and second walls (5 and 7) because such positioning merely represents an alternative location on the respective first and second walls and would not alter the gas-discharge function of the valves. Applicant has not disclosed that positioning the discharge valves above the respective wall centers is critical, produces unexpected results, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is essential and/or significant, the position of the gas discharge valves (5a and 7a) within the first and second walls (5 and 7) would be an obvious matter of design choice to one ordinarily skilled in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Mishiro does not teach a battery assembly comprising a plurality of secondary batteries.
Takagi teaches connecting a plurality of secondary batteries in series or parallel thereby forming a battery assembly [para. 0005], for the purpose of providing a high-power density for use in, for example, electrically powered vehicles [paras. 0005 and 0035].
Mishiro and Takagi are analogous inventions in the field of secondary batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to have connected a plurality of secondary batteries having the structure disclosed in Mishiro, thereby providing an assembly as disclosed in Takagi, for the purpose of providing a high-power density such that the assembly may be used in, for example, electrically powered vehicles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2008/0318121 A1, Takagi teaches a power storage unit 1 having a battery assembly 12 constituted of a plurality of cylindrical batteries 122 electrically connected to each other ("power storage assembly"), a battery case ("casing") 13 containing the battery assembly 12 and coolant 23, and a case cover ("casing") 14 serving as a lid of the battery case 13 [Figs. 1-2 and para. 0026].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721