DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuno et al. (US-20190058189-A1, provided in IDS received on 28 May 2024) in view of Zeng et al. (EP-3675245-A1).
As to claim 1, Matsuno discloses an electricity storage device [0034] comprising:
a negative electrode active material layer including a negative electrode active material (figure 1, negative electrode active material layer 12, [0034] and [0051]),
the negative electrode active material including
first particles including silicon [0051], and
second particles that include silicon and are different from the first particles [0080], wherein
an average circularity CR1 of the first particle is 0.5 or more and 0.9 or less ([0080], 0.85), and
an average circularity CR2 of the second particles is more than 0.9 ([0080], 0.93).
However, Matsuno does not disclose wherein a ratio (D2/D1) between an average particle diameter D1 of the first particles and an average particle diameter D2 of the second particles is 0.1 or more and less than 1.
Zeng discloses negative electrode active material for a battery, wherein a ratio (D2/D1) between an average particle diameter D1 of the first particles and an average particle diameter D2 of the second particles is 0.1 or more and less than 1 (table 1, example 1, D2 is .27 µm and D1 is 2.2 µm, [abstract]) to ensure good electrical contact between the negative electrode active material particles. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electricity storage device as disclosed within Matsuno to further require that there is the ratio (D2/D1) between an average particle diameter D1 of the first particles and an average particle diameter D2 of the second particles is 0.1 or more and less than 1 to ensure good electrical contact between the negative electrode active material particles as disclosed within Zeng.
As to claim 2, modified Matsuno discloses the electricity storage device of claim 1, however, Matsuno does not disclose wherein a ratio (C2/C1) between a content C1 of the first particles and a content C2 of the second particles in the negative electrode active material is 0.5 or less.
Zeng discloses negative electrode active material for a battery, wherein a ratio (C2/C1) between a content C1 of the first particles and a content C2 of the second particles in the negative electrode active material is 0.5 or less ([0013], C1 is .1 and C2 is .9, [abstract]) to ensure good electrical contact between the negative electrode active material particles. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the electricity storage device as disclosed within Matsuno to additionally require that there is the ratio (C2/C1) between a content C1 of the first particles and a content C2 of the second particles in the negative electrode active material is 0.5 or less to ensure good electrical contact between the negative electrode active material particles as disclosed within Zeng.
As to claim 3, modified Matsuno discloses the electricity storage device of claim 2, however, Matsuno does not disclose wherein a ratio (D2/D1) between an average particle diameter D1 of the first particles and an average particle diameter D2 of the second particles is 0.5 or less.
Zeng discloses negative electrode active material for a battery, wherein a ratio (D2/D1) between an average particle diameter D1 of the first particles and an average particle diameter D2 of the second particles is 0.5 or less (table 1, example 1, D2 is .27 µm and D1 is 2.2 µm, [abstract]) to ensure good electrical contact between the negative electrode active material particles. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electricity storage device as disclosed within Matsuno to further require that there is the ratio (D2/D1) between an average particle diameter D1 of the first particles and an average particle diameter D2 of the second particles is 0.5 or less to ensure good electrical contact between the negative electrode active material particles as disclosed within Zeng.
As to claim 4, modified Matsuno discloses the electricity storage device of claim 1, and Matsuno further discloses wherein the average particle diameter D2 of the second particles is 1 µm or more and 5 µm or less ([0079], diameter is between 1 µm and 15 µm). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 5, modified Matsuno discloses the electricity storage device of claim 1, and Matsuno further discloses wherein the first particles and the second particles both are composite particles of silicon and carbon [0076].
As to claim 6, modified Matsuno discloses the electricity storage device of claim 1, and Matsuno further discloses wherein the negative electrode active material layer further includes graphite particles [0088].
Conclusion
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727